reviews for: listing #26882 - Asheville, North Carolina House rental

Rhododendron Cabin - 10 Min to Downtown - MTN VIEWS!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $185 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Rhododendron Cottage

Review submitted: May 29, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at RC. It was like staying in a cozy gallery. Loved the views and the location. We felt we were away from the crowds, but only a few minutes to great places to eat and attractions. It was our first visit to Asheville. When we go again we would plan on staying at RC!

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 

Very Good

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

The place is great, it's a fair drive into Asheville. It would be impossible to find first time in the dark. The third bedroom is very small with very small bunk beds, suitable for very small sleepers. The main bedroom is enormous. Overall it is a very decent rental.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy to see that these guests gave us 5 stars. Just wanted to add a bit of info on a couple of the comments. The house is located just under 10 miles south of downtown Asheville and can be driven in 10-15 minutes. We provide very specific directions to the house and leave the outside porch light on. We have had a number of guests come in after dark without any problems. The third bedroom is a small bedroom, but the twin bunk beds are full size twin beds. Again, thanks to the guests for their feedback!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Spent a weekend in the cabin to celebrate a birthday and anniversary and had a delightful time. The first night we arrived, there was a thunderstorm but we didn't mind one bit! We sat on the enclosed screened porch and played scrabble for hours. The next day we wandered to the nature preserve next door for a nice hike. We cooked all but one meal at the house and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. This cabin would be really great for families, as there is lots of space for everyone to spread out and enjoy the AMAZING atmosphere. When you are in the cabin you feel very remote and serene yet when you want to take off and head downtown Asheville you are just a few minutes away. We are hoping to stay again perhaps with some friends to share the charm of this cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is for every guest to have a wonderful experience. We look forward to your return and are excited to hear that you will be bringing friends with you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for family group attending college graduation.

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We loved the space. Comfortable, access to local amenities and quick drive to down town. If you like BBQ then 12 bones is A must and is so close. Hiking trails also near by. Everyone enjoyed the stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

One BAD vaction rental!

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to this relaxing retreat. We booked months in advance. Just a week before our stay, we were notified that the owner has put this home up for sale, so we would have to endure agents showing the place during our month stay. We reluctantly agreed with a $50 refund for each showing, since our options for finding another place was impossible in October. Our first night, we had to smell mildew from the wet carpet and listen to a leaking roof in the master bedroom. The property management team did respond immediately to our complaints, but we had to endure several roofing contractors and realtor agents during our NOT so relaxing month long retreat. We had to leave a few days early because the roof began to leak again! We wish the owner luck in selling her home.

Owners response: Unfortunately, there was a problem with a leak in the roof that occurred during this guests' stay. As the guest himself states, we addressed the problem immediately when he notified us. In order to address this problem properly, we did obtain estimates from 3 roofers within a week. We took immediate precautions to avoid leaks by placing a tarp over this section of the roof while the estimates were obtained. We had a cleaning company come out within hours and had the carpet cleaned. The leak itself was fixed within a day. Two days after the guests checked out early they called us saying they had some additional water that came in. When our site manager went out to assess the situation, she discovered that the bucket they put under the leak had a very miniscule amount of rain water in it. We immediately called the roofer back out and had him fix this remaining problem. This only took a matter of a few hours from the time we were notified til the time the problem was fixed. The guests still had 4 days remaining on his reservation and could have enjoyed the rest of his stay if he would have given us just a few hours for this minor repair. However, in view of the fact that he had experienced the leaking problem before, we did go ahead and refund the remainder of his stay. I had also not charged him for two nights that he had checked in early since he had the leak. We felt that we did everything within our power to make this situation right for the guest as we would for any of our guests. As all homeowners are aware, sometimes there are unforeseen problems that occur and must be addressed right away. We had to address this problem for this guest as well as for all future guests and are sorry that it had to happen during his stay.

It was almost 3 weeks (rather than 1 week as he states) prior to his arrival when the owner listed the house for sale and I notified the guests immediately. Upfront we offered him a $50 rebate if the house was shown during his stay. We offer this to ALL our guests. We also worked with him to limit the number of showings during his stay. The house was acutally only shown 2 times total during his month stay and he was compensated for those showings as agreed upon. Those showings incurred in one week and there were no showings for the remainder of his stay.

We've had MANY satisfied guests over the last 5 years and will do everything within our power to make sure your stay is a pleasant one!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great location for 3 generations

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Great location up in the hills in southern part of Asheville, really only 15 minutes from Biltmore House and downtown restaurants and night life. Quiet...you don't even see neighboring houses. Loved the crow's nest deck which offered great sunset view. But pack mosquito repellent for decks and all outside hiking, etc. Nature preserve across the street offered nice hike and pretty view of lake, also great picnic facilities. House has huge master bedroom with fireplace. Decor is very artsy and mountain craft-y. Loved it. Kitchen is well-stocked with plenty of dishes and tableware, so don't have to run dishwasher every meal, even with 6 adults and toddler. 3rd br with bunk beds is very small, but great closet space in all bedrooms and well set up for travelers. Absolutely loved the screen porch, on which we ate all breakfasts and dinners (just have dinner after 7 PM, so will be cool enough as sun sets, plus great view then anyway. Easy to get up the mountain curvy roads to the house and plenty of parking, including 2-car garage. Home locking system worked great, so didn't have to pass around keys to the whole family, but we could all go and come as needed. Harris Teeter and Ingles within 10 minutes of house. 12 Bones is great rib and pulled pork restaurant within 5 minutes--just get your take-out before 6 and eat whenever you want! Easy to get to Biltmore, which we totally enjoyed--cheapest to go Monday thru Thursday and beat the crowds, too. Great picnic area beside Mallard Lake. They don't advertise it, but you don't have to eat at their really expensive restaurants. Great waterfalls near Brevard off Hwy 64 within 40 minutes of house. Highly recommend Triple Falls, but it is a steep hike--gorgeous beside stream and under shady trees the whole hike. We did it with a stroller and sleeping baby part of the way. House really has all the comforts of home, including great books on the area and notebook of nearby restaurants and their menus. Go, relax and enjoy! Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice cabin- but for summer only

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

My family stayed at this cabin over the New Year. On the positive side, the cabin is tastefully decorated, convenient to Asheville and Hendersonville and has a very well stocked kitchen. However, we recommend that only those with older children stay at this cabin. The 'kids room' is basically a closet with a bunk bed. Also, there are many breakables and antiques in the home so we had to put many things away and bring them back out. Also, we recommend this cabin only for warm weather stays. It is THE draftiest house I've ever been in. The big suite was constantly 50 degrees- we could literally see our breath in the morning- and this was with the heat turned all the way up. We had to wear 3 layers of clothing indoors at all times. Again, it is a nice place with good location but only for warm weather.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so sorry that these guests experienced a draftiness in the house. They did not call to let us know that there was a problem or we could have told them to check the damper in the fireplace. We discovered after their stay that the damper in the fireplace in the master suite (which they refer to as the "big suite" had been left open.) This explains the draftiness in that room and throughout the house. We always strive to provide a comfortable environment for our guests and wish that we could have addressed this problem for them during their stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Great location!

Review submitted: May 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 15, 2008

We really enjoyed our time at the Rhododendron Cabin. It's so convenient to many attractions..Asheville, Biltmore House, BlueRidge Pkwy, Lake Lure. The cabin is in a neighborhood, but you wouldn't know it. It's high up on a hill, in the woods with a great view. Very private and a sweet little house.
Thanks!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 14, 2007   Date of arrival: July 14, 2007

Loved the warm feel of the cabin, the cool mornings and the sounds of birds singing in the trees! A lovely place to relax and enjoy the outdoors and we'll likely return in the fall. Thanks for the wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2007   Date of arrival: June 29, 2007

We have enjoyed every minute of our stay here. The scenery, hiking and town's are beautiful. This area is sure to be our choice vacation destination. Your home is beautiful - what perfect decor. I have appreciated all the fine touches - from the bathroom faucets to the art on the walls. You have spared no expense and have set such a high standard! Thank you for sharing this wonderful and relaxing get away with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2007   Date of arrival: May 12, 2007

Loved our first visit to Asheville. This lovely cottage is a work of art. Felt like we were staying in a gallery! The location is ideal. Felt far away yet still close to all the great places to eat and shop. Thanks for sharing this home with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2007   Date of arrival: January 2, 2007

What a lovely cabin! We had a wonderful stay and hope to return one day soon. The Maxwell Family, Fayetteville, NC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2006   Date of arrival: December 30, 2006

We had a wonderful Christmas in this cabin! Very comfortable and had everything we needed. Loved the fireplaces, hiking, peacefulness and close to everything too. The Braddys - Florida

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 11, 2006   Date of arrival: December 11, 2006

We truly needed a break from our "everyday lives" and found Rhododendron the haven we needed!!! Since we were both born in the 50's (of course not our so). It mixed nostalgia with the current conveniences. Thanks too for the Christmas deorations and poinsettas - helped us enjoy the holiday season! Mary, Neil and Luke Hille - Lexington, KY

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 18, 2006   Date of arrival: November 18, 2006

Wow! What a clean, clean, clean beautiful cabin. It is adorable. The decor is delightful and homey! We've enjoyed our short stay here. Loved the fireplace in our bedroom and watching the gorgeous woodpeckers off the back deck. Thanks! Joe & Paula Harle - Longview, TX Lindsey Harle - Galveston, TX

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 18, 2006   Date of arrival: November 18, 2006

Wow! What a clean, clean, clean, beautiful cabin. It is adorable. The decor is delightful and homey! We've enjoyed our stay here. Loved the fireplace in our bedroom and watching the gorgeous woodpeckers off the back deck. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 9, 2006   Date of arrival: October 9, 2006

You truly have a beautiful cabin! So peaceful and quiet . . . just what we needed. The Harris Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 7, 2006   Date of arrival: October 7, 2006

What a great cabin - Beautiful views, great location! A very nice retreat. Thanks! The Bauers of NC & The Knaufs of Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 27, 2006

We had such a wonderful experience. What a lovely home. The sunsets are just beautiful. We will definitely be back. Thanks Again! The Lukoffs

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2006   Date of arrival: August 15, 2006

We had such a wonderful time in your lovely cabin - just too short. It really felt like home. We will surely be back. Thank You! The Sims Family - Chicago

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 6, 2006   Date of arrival: August 6, 2006

This cabin was fabulous. All the comforts of home and more. What a wonderful experience that will never be forgotten!!! W. J. Murphy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2006   Date of arrival: August 3, 2006

We had a great time! The cabin is beautiful and we felt right at home. Thank you for sharing Rhododendron with us! The Avalos Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2006   Date of arrival: July 22, 2006

It was just like being at home in Florida. (3 week stay) Thank you for the wonderful experience! The Arenholz Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review