reviews for: listing #26884 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

Coquina in Hibiscus Bay,panoramic views from beach to bay
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hibiscus Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $200 /nt
    $790 - $1,190 /wk

sort by:

Awesome property if you just want to relax!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at this property. The location is great and it was much bigger inside than we expected. We loved having two bathrooms and the wraparound deck is excellent. The house is very well equipped, you really only need to bring linens and food. It's very private. When we were there none of the neighbours were there so we had complete privacy even though the main road runs out front. The washer and dryer downstairs were very handy.

The views are amazing, and you can see the gulf out front and you can just make out the bay out back. The back deck overlooks one of two bass ponds that are full of bass and sunfish. I ended up catching over 20 bass the week I was there without really spending much time at it. The water is very clear and clean. I also fished quite a bit off the dock in the bay, but it was a little too shallow do have much action. There are tons of birds around the cottage and a deer showed up one day to drink from the pond behind the house.

The beach is just a few minutes walk and the sand is snow white and firm to walk on. We had a bonfire on the beach and roasted up some hot dogs. Lots of birds on the beach including some fairly rare snowy plovers.

The place is very quiet around Christmas so we slept like babies. There are two convenience stores just a couple of minutes away by car or bike and they sell groceries, pizza, hot dogs, beach wear, alcohol, gas, a little bit of everything.

There is a bike path the length of the cape that is paved and separate from the road so it's great for getting some exercise.

The owners are super friendly and great to deal with. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing family rental!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We spent 3 weeks there in May during paternity and maternity leave with two parents, a 3 year old, and a newborn.
It's a great location on the Cape, with equal distance to the bay and beach. We actually found that this was better than being on the beach. We spent more time at the bay walking in the clear, knee high water with our three year old, looking at crab, fish, and ray. The beach was wonderful, although a little windy the days we were there. It is a 5 minute walk to the Bay on a small subdivision street and a boardwalk. It is a 2 minute drive to the beach (you could also walk, but we found it easier to throw the kids in the front seat and drive across the street).
There is also a pond behind the house. I don't fish, and I caught a BIG fish the first time I went out there. I attribute it to beginner's luck and the fact that the pond is very well stocked.
It's not a modern, swanky condo, but it it was perfect, comfortable, and affordable for us.
Maria and Kurt were also very generous and hospitable and spent many a summer in this house. They have an emotional connection to the house. They want to make sure people have as good as en experience as they do.
The Cape is also amazing. I'll let the other reviews speak for this.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Spent a Wonderful 3 Weeks - Perfect for Small Families

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

We spent 3 weeks there in May during paternity and maternity leave with two parents, a 3 year old, and a newborn.

It's a great location on the Cape, with equal distance to the bay and beach. We actually found that this was better than being on the beach. We spent more time at the bay walking in the clear, knee high water with our three year old, looking at crab, fish, and ray. The beach was wonderful, although a little windy the days we were there. It is a 5 minute walk to the Bay on a small subdivision street and a boardwalk. It is a 2 minute drive to the beach (you could also walk, but we found it easier to throw the kids in the front seat and drive across the street).

There is also a pond behind the house. I don't fish, and I caught a BIG fish the first time I went out there. I attribute it to beginner's luck and the fact that the pond is very well stocked.

It's not a modern, swanky condo, but it it was perfect, comfortable, and affordable for us.

Maria and Kurt were also very generous and hospitable and spent many a summer in this house. They have an emotional connection to the house. They want to make sure people have as good as en experience as they do.

The Cape is also amazing. I'll let the other reviews speak for this.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

We spent New Years at Coquina and had a great time. There were 2 couples, a six year old, and our 3 month old. The bedrooms were very quiet and the living area was plenty spacious for all of us. The bay is a very short walk but the walk to the beach is a bit longer. There are a couple of fishing ponds directly behind the house that offer some great bass fishing. There is a deck that surrounds the home and is enclosed that makes it perfect for dogs. We brought out dog and he spent most of the time hanging out on the deck. The house sits pretty close to the main road but we didn't find it to be a problem. Maria was very hospitable. Overall, you won't find a better place on the cape for the price. We will definitely be heading back to Coquina.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Fall Visit!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We had a great fall visit to Cape San Blas the week of Oct 7 to Nov 3rd. The Hofer's were very hospitable and we were able to meet them while we were there. The rental home, Coquina, was in very good shape and we enjoyed the visit as well as our two small pups. The fishing in the freshwater pond behind the house was good; we caught many large bluegill and bream on a couple of outings. We tried our luck also from the pier, but the tides were not in our favor for prime fishing although I did spy quite a number of redfish from the end of the pier. I am sure we will try and stay here on our next visit to the Cape!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

This was our second stay at Coquina. We have been coming to Cape San Blas since we were introduced to it in the early 90's by my sister who was stationed @ Eglin. We have stayed at many places from camping at St. Joseph Park to beach and bay front houses but rarely have we rented the same place more than once. Coquina is the perfect blend of old and new Cape San Blas. Watching the sun rise over the bay and set over the gulf every day. The scenery from every angle is beautiful. There were hundreds of butterflies sipping nectar among the flowers every day. We caught bass and blue gill in the ponds, flounder and trout in the bay. The pool is fabulous and very private. The bay and the ocean, both close by, hold endless hours of exploration and discovery. This year we were a bit too late too see the fluorescence in the water which is something that everyone should experience. But even if we didn't see it, I'm sure the magic was still there. Great vacation destination.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay!!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We really emjoyed our stay here!!! The house was very nice and also very clean! Maria was a wonderful person to rent from. She was very nice and was very concerned that we were enjoying ojur stay. We will definitly come back for another vacation. Cant get back soon enough!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet Escape at Coquina

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Several weekends ago a couple of friends and I stayed at the Coquina at Hibiscus Bay on Cape San Blas. I have stayed there several times over the years and always love the comfort of the home situated high enough to view both the bay and gulf. The house is well-kept and maintained and comfortably furnished with all the amenities of home. The grounds are gorgeous with a couple of ponds and lovely landscaping. It seemed like everything was in bloom when we were there. I like being able to swim and sunbathe on the white sandy beaches of the gulf, relax on the dock extending long into the bay, watch a sunset over the gulf from the gazebo, take a leisurely ride along the bike path extending the length of the peninsula or take a dip in the private fenced pool. I hope it will not be long before I can stay at the Coquina again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

My grandmother, Mother, Daughter, and I had a wonderful 4 generations get away here. The panoramic views are great! We had the beach and pool to ourselves. It was very nice and relaxing. The house had everything we needed for a 4 night stay. We are already planning to visit more in the future. We had the pleasure of meeting Kurt and Maria (the owners) and they were very pleasant.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coquina in Hibiscus Bay

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Randy,

Check out the link below. This is the house that we stayed at. It was wonderful! There are ponds behind the house and we caught an 8 lb. large mouth while we were there. The ocean is right across the street. The bay is right behind the house. Pull out of the driveway and turn right and you are only 5 - 10 minutes from St. Joe's state park. The landlady is Maria Hofer. She was very nice. The house was very clean and had everything you need to stay for a week. This is a quiet type of beach area. Not a lot of commercialism. Panama City Beach is only about 45 minutes away if you want to get around the crowds. Anyway, hope this information is helpful!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mixed

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Rented January and February 2012

Pros:
*Lovely bayside location; unobstructed views from the house, all directions.
*Beach/Bay access and neighboring pier; very nice.
*Grounds beautifully maintained; manicured w/pride by owner, wildlife a pleasure.
*Home maintenance and repairs; received immediate & cheerful response/regard.
*Pool/poolside; great asset … in warmer months (not heated). Well maintained.
*Mattresses; newer and comfortable. New recliner, nice addition to this rental.

Cons:
*Home interior; extremely dirty in places, clearly longstanding.
*Surface cleaned only; turn-key fashion. (Owner informed that good help is hard to find and standard turnaround time does not allow for a deeper clean).
*Laundry room and pet relief area surrounding carport; likewise, unattended.
*Furniture; older as pictured, sleeper sofa required attention for our sitting comfort alone. Do not recommend for sleeping.
*Reading lights, table lamps; absent of.
*Bed linens and towels; well worn. Recommend bringing your own.
*Kitchen; minimally stocked. If eating out and cooking very little, you’ll be okay.

Please note:
*Coquina sits directly on the Cape road, not set back. An excitable or curious pet may find himself on the traveled road. Traffic not a problem. Noise not an issue.
*Laundry room under the house, inside carport area. (not on the living level.)
*Do not recommend more than family of 4. Likewise, maximum 2 couples.

Trusting this review is found helpful to a prospective renter. A similar review would have been very helpful and appreciated as we considered rentals, particularly for an extended stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Perfect Spot

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Even though the weather did not cooperate this past weekend, we still enjoyed our visit. We loved the location and what seemed to be at times our own private beach and pool. We did meet the neighbors across the street, they all seemed very nice and gave us good advice about activities and restaurants. The area is very suitable for families that want a low key vacation!! We will definitely be back and will recommend Coquina to others.

Port St. Joe is a very small community that meets the needs of eating out and grocery shopping. We recommend the Dockside Restaurant at the Marina and Peppers Mexican restaurant. Papa Joes restaurant in nearby Apalachicola was worth the drive as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice, Good Value!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The house is clean and the beds are very comfortable. You will enjoy the sunrise over the bay through the back windows and the sunset over the gulf through the front! The window seat in the front is a great place to curl up with a book. Although the house is on CSB Road there are no houses between Coquina and the beach, but the dunes partially obscure the gulf view. The owner is very nice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Relaxing Getaway!!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

The Coquina was more than we expected! Pictures do not show the real beauty of this home. Home was very comfortable and easy to clean with the nice tile floors. There was a constant breeze under the home in the carport. The wonderful breeze came from the pond and bay directly behind and the ocean straight across from us (3 minute walk tops through natural beautiful dunes). The bay was loaded with interesting creatures and shells. It was nice using the 500 foot dock the owners provide. It made for fun fishing nights! The owners have done such a great job at landscaping and setting things up nicely. They live on the property so it may be your pleasure to meet them. They were so kind during the whole process answering all our questions and accomadating all our needs. Super nice people that we will rent again from soon. Home is on the "Cape" which only has 1 restaurant named "Coney Heads" i believe. If you eat there you should call in the order and have a picnic on the nice gazebo facing the ocean that's included in your rental. They also have icecream but close @ 9:00 pm. There are 2 gas stations and one has a very good pizza (last one on left before the Coquina). The drive is not bad at all to find restaurants. 10 to 20 minute drive tops. Sunset pictures are amazing, beaches are the whitest we've ever saw, shells were the largest unbroken we'd ever found, pontoon boat rental to the state park was AMAZING, catching our limit on the "Fishing Express" party boat ~ unforgettable, whole trip great. If you like to relax this is definately the place for you!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

The pictures do not do this wonderful home justice! It is absolutely beautiful and my family had a great time! We got to meet Mrs. Hofer one morning walking down to the beach. She was great and even let my family and I come a night early because we couldnt wait any longer to start our vacation! I caught around 10 bass from the fishing ponds behind the house and that was only spending around 30 minutes a day by the pond. The gate around the porch of the house was perfect because my daughter is only 1 year old. I did not have to worry about her falling down the stairs. The beach and pool are just right across the street and every day we were the only ones at the pool and there were maybe only a handful of people down at the beach. It was the perfect vacation and we plan on going back next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Our family had a very enjoyable time at the Coquina, it's very pet friendly. Peaceful and it has many beautiful views. The owners Maria and Kurt were very nice and had some great stories for us. My husband an amateur photographer shot the most wonderful pictures there. The whole area of Cape San Blas and Port St. Joe is so welcoming and friendly. This was our second time there, we will return again, with hopes of getting the Coquina.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week @ Cape San Blas

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We had a great week @ the Coquina, great weather and a nice place to stay made it most enjoyable. The house was as pictured, and everything was in good working condition. It was great to rent from very nice people! I would recommend this rental for future vacationers!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

coquina revies

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at the Coquina house this spring break. We had a blast! The pictures are very accurate. The house comfortably accomodated our family of 5. Two adults and three teens. The property owners are convieniently located nearby and are very nice. This house has access to ocean as well as the bay which is an awesome bonus because some rental properties only give access to one or the other. The place was clean and nice. The pool was in close walking distance as was the acccess to both bodies of water. If you are looking for a laid back, quiet and relaxing place to vacation with your family we highly reccomend this one. We plan to go back again in the future.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful time

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Maria,

We had a wonderful time at your place! You have the perfect set-up down there! Thank you for allowing us to visit. I did sign the guest book, but I wanted to touch base and let you know the light in the upstairs bathroom is flickering. It is the bathroom with the Queen bedroom. Everything else was great and we did not have any problems.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

The rental itself was great. There is tile throughout the house which makes it super pet friendly. Overall, it was clean. We didn't realize this from the photos, but it is across the highway from the beach and pool, and only a short walk to the bay and pier. If you are traveling with small children or pets, you may want to be aware of its proximity to the main road / hwy. on the cape. The pool area is superb and the bay was very interesting for our children. It is also great for kayaking or scalloping during season. The beaches were beautiful, though the water was not clear during our stay. There is a coffee shop in Port St. Joe called the No Name Cafe & Bookstore which is very nice and a pet store right beside which we enjoyed. You should be aware that most of these establishments close at 5 or 6 in the afternoon.

You definitely need to walk the house when you first arrive and contact the owner if anything at all looks out of sorts. Because we didn't phone the issue upon arrival, we were charged for the repair of a towel bar in one of the bathrooms. We found it broken and assumed the owner knew. The owner was polite in the email after our stay, but insisted that the cleaning staff had left it intact before our arrival. Thus, according to our rental agreement, we were required to pay the handyman fee.

Owners response: I appreciate the praise for the house, the swimming pool, and the beach and bay. The Cape and Hibiscus Beach really are as beautiful as the reviewers describe. As for the repair bill, the cleaners tell me that the towel rack was intact when they cleaned the house after the previous renter. However, the reviewers feel that they may not have caused the damage, but they are not certain about that. In the interest of fairness I offered to apply the entire repair fee (which anyhow was a only a small amount) as a credit towards their next rental of the house.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coquina in Hibiscus Bay

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Maria,

Dick and I have so enjoyed our stay here during January and February. The location is so beautiful with our view of the Gulf and dunes on one side, and the view of the two ponds, palm trees and then the bay on the other. Your house is a delight! It's very comfortable, well appointed and with views from every window! The quality of the house and furnishings are far above what we have experienced in vacation rentals elsewhere. We're so impressed with how friendly everyone is in this area, as well as all the great restaurants and shops we've found in Port St. Joe and Apalachicola. We've also really enjoyed getting to know you and Kurt - you're good folks!

Thanks for providing such a lovely place for our winter getaway.

Fondly,
Donna and Dick

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review