reviews for: listing #26937 - Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina Cottage rental

* Lively Up Yourself * Great SUMMER Rates!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $175 /nt
    $600 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Awesome and Affordable!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

The cottage is exactly as described and the photos listed reflect the cottage exactly how it is today- clean and crisp! The amazing landscaping, color of the cottage, interior decor, and the beautiful artwork is bright and beachy-it immediately sends you into vacation mode!
The owners were very nice and let us know upon checking in that if we needed anything at all to give them a call. The owner does come by on Wednesdays and before you arrive on Saturday to service the hot tub, It was no surprise because it is listed on the fridge, and it did not interfere with our vacation at all...I am glad it gets serviced as often as it does...it makes me more comfortable about getting in it!
The cottage is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need, even a pack n' play and high chair!
The cottage is close to everything! Shopping, restaurants, etc.
The kids LOVED the fact that Dairy Queen was within walking distance... it made it easier to harass mom and dad about it...okay, they didn't have to harass me at all!! I am game for a blizzard anytime! There is also a convenience store/gift shop within walking distance that my husband made the mistake of sending my daughter and I to get beer, because a 5 minute trip turned into a 45 minute souvenir extravaganza!
I would recommend this cottage to everyone! It is absolutely beautiful and well taken care of!
I chose to clean the cottage myself upon leaving. I started at 7am and followed the list on the fridge- I started in the back kids room and worked my way out--around 10am I was leaving a message thanking John & Cindi for such a beautiful place to stay! I received all money back from my security deposit.

We look forward to booking our 2013 OBX vacation at 'Lively up yourself!'

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jules!! We always appreciate such great renters as yourself...John and I hope you visit again :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

favorite getaway

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

This cottage is awesome. It's like home away from home. Beautifully decorated, great amenities especially the outdoor space. My family and I love the hot tub, hammock, outdoor games and grass!

The cottage is a short walk to the beach and the local Dairy Queen, which my boys loved. Plenty of things to do in the vicinity.

This is the fourth time that we have stayed in the cottage; a true testament to the owners, who maintain the home as their own. House is as shown on the pictures and VERY clean. The price is very reasonable.

We will return again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lively Up Yourself

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

"Lively Up Yourself" is a great place to stay while in OBX. It is close to the beach, a good location for food and activities, and the back yard is an ultimate retreat for the nighttime with the hot tub and the hammock to watch the stars. The property is exactly what you see in the pictures.

Keep in mind when renting this house that the owners will be on the property during your stay---whether you are there or not. They will come to service the hot tub and walk around the grounds. Also---go ahead and add in the cleaning fee to the rent because it will come out of your deposit regardless of if you clean the cottage or not. I have never been charged a cleaning fee in all the years I have been renting for vacation and I have been in the OBX area for 3 summers now. We followed all the instructions on cleaning the house and it was in the same condition as when we arrived but we were still charged a $125 cleaning fee because it wasn't "clean enough"...and although the owner contradicted himself saying that a cleaning crew cleaned it and the next sentence he said he cleaned it, the house was in top condition. During our stay it even flooded and we took preventative measures to ensure that the front room did not flood and we were still charged the additional fee. Please keep this in mind because it was a shock to us!

In closing--The house is exactly what you see. You are minutes from the beach and in prime location to shops and restaurants. Be aware of the additional fee and calculate it in your total and that the owner will be on the grounds.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: In response to superfrann. This is the first review that we have received of this nature. I would like to point out a few things that were not mentioned above. I need access to the rear yard to service the hot tub, that is done once during the week on Wednesday. It clearly states the day on the fridge. If you are talking about cleaning the mounds of cigarette butts out of the children sand toys that we supply, well then so be it. That is just disgusting. I appreciate you sand bagging the front door so the six inches of rain from a tropical storm that we received in three hours would not enter the house. We have had many satisfied renters and we have only held one other deposit due to some one bringing in a puppy. The cleaning crew I was referring to was myself and my wife,so I don't understand what you mean about contradiction. The house when I arrived was left in filthy condition, I can tell you what you had for dinner the night before because it was all over the floor, table and chairs. (Rice)In addition to that, the carpets were loaded with sand and broken glass around the bar area floor. The bathroom had a sad attempt of a slight wipe down. We try to make this an affordable, clean home for a great family vacation stay and the only way we can do that is if you elect to clean the house and you follow the cleaning list on the fridge, it's as simple as that. The house takes me approximately three hours to clean when I follow the list. Your lack of response to my multiple phone calls was to me, an affirmation that you left this house in an unfit manner. You say you left the house in top condition and that it was in the same manner when you arrived, that is a bold face lie. It's bad enough that you left the house in this condition, but you lie and try to look like a victim, shame, shame, shame.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lively Up Yourself

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

"Lively Up Yourself" is a great place to stay while in OBX. It is close to the beach, a good location for food and activities, and the back yard is an ultimate retreat for the nighttime with the hot tub and the hammock to watch the stars. The property is exactly what you see in the pictures.

Keep in mind when renting this house that the owners will be on the property during your stay---whether you are there or not. They will come to service the hot tub and walk around the grounds. Also---go ahead and add in the cleaning fee to the rent because it will come out of your deposit regardless of if you clean the cottage or not. I have never been charged a cleaning fee in all the years I have been renting for vacation and I have been in the OBX area for 3 summers now. We followed all the instructions on cleaning the house and it was in the same condition as when we arrived but we were still charged a $125 cleaning fee because it wasn't "clean enough"...and although the owner contradicted himself saying that a cleaning crew cleaned it and the next sentence he said he cleaned it, the house was in top condition. During our stay it even flooded and we took preventative measures to ensure that the front room did not flood and we were still charged the additional fee. Please keep this in mind because it was a shock to us!

In closing--The house is exactly what you see. You are minutes from the beach and in prime location to shops and restaurants. Be aware of the additional fee and calculate it in your total and that the owner will be on the grounds.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Lively Up Yourself"

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We had a spectacular time in OBX this year during bike week, at "Lively Up Yourself". The rates were awesome, the house was just like being in a beach house with all the comforts of home, we enjoyed every aspect from the hot tub to the bar, to the walking-distance to entertainment. I plan on doing it again next year, and thank you so much!!!!

Pencil me in for next year!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and Comfortable

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had an excellent time at this cottage. I was pleasantly surprised to find it exactly as portrayed by the owner... very clean, well-stocked, and comfortable. The cottage was decorated in charming, beachy colors. Our bed in the master bedroom was comfortable, and the kids loved their bunkbeds, video games, and board games. We LOVED the hottub and the private back yard for the kids. The ocean was about a block and a half away. There were also tons of restaurants, shops, and sightseeing to do in the vicinity.

We can tell that the owners enjoy maintaining and renting this property by their upkeep of the amenities and their promptness in responding to any questions we had either before or during the vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome place!!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This home is great. It had everything we needed. Very close to the beach and in a good location. The lawn and property was very well maintained. I would like to add we went to the outer banks brewing station which is right up the road and it was great! Best food I have had and very friendly staff.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely home and great vacation!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

This is really a lovely home. Very clean, nicely decorated and well stocked. Close to everything. The store at the end of the street has all the essentials. Hot tub was heavenly! Very short walk to the beach. Bikes there for your convenience and lawn chairs to sit out on. Small grill that we did not use, but seemed ok. Some restaurant recommendations: Stack 'em High and Jolly Roger are good for breakfast. Mama Kwan's and Mexi Cali Brewz are good for casual dining. Colington Cafe is very nice but kinda pricey. Duck Donuts are yummy! Port O'Call is horrible...rude staff don't waste your time even thought it's near by! I would definately go back! Maybe next year...

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful OBX Home!

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This is a wonderful home for a relaxing vacation! The home is immaculate and well maintained. I would certainly recommend this property to a friend. We liked it so much we decided to return next month with friends. The kitchen has everything you will need which helps save money and keeps you from having to pack so many things. The store at the end of the street has everything so you don't have to go far for things you may need or have forgotten. We enjoyed the hot tub and tiki bar while entertaining friends/family who were also staying in the OBX. Our children enjoyed the movies, board games, and video games that were in their room as well as the nice yard in which to play. The beach was a short walk and is made quite simple if you have a wagon to pull your things. This is a great place to stay for your OBX vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Late spring visit 2010

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

Very clean, decorated beautifully, nice yard to play in. The hot tub, hammock, bikes, and outside shower were all used by my 2 and 4 year old. The yard was almost completely fenced in which kept the kids safer. We all walked to the beach easily on a daily basis. My son was able to get into the water up to his waist so it wasn't unbearably cold. No bathtub, but a plastic bin worked fine to bathe my daughter. The owners were the best folks to deal with, very helpful and personable. We ate at Kill Devil Grill which had some good food. Port-o-Call Restaurant had horrible food-don't go there! We may go back next year!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This cottage is a gem!!!

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

This cottage is a gem! Beautifully decorated, close to the beach, great yard to relax in. Hot tub, horse shoes, hammock, awesome outside shower! The owners have thought of everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

home away from home

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Cozy and comfortable for a retreat away from the busy life, or plenty of room for a group of friends to celebrate and have fun. I've had the whole cottage to myself once in October (and the weather was still awesome) and shared it with 6 friends in September. Either way it was like a home away from home. Walking distance to everything...shopping, the beach, and restaurants. The hot tub was awesome for breezy nights and the house had everything you needed plus a few extras like an outside shower, xm stereo, bikes, beach chairs, and just that aaahhhhh atmosphere. Relax awhile and then lively up yourself:) The owners are awesome too, they make you feel like you are part of the family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

What a wonderful beach house. Bright, cheerful and beautifully decorated. The house is in close proximity to a beach access. It was also convenient to many restaurants and shops. We loved relaxing in the spacious hot tub and showering in the outside shower. It was very clean, the furniture was in excellent condition and it obvious that it is well loved by the owners. The kitchen was well equipped for those who love to cook and the appliances were new. I would highly recommended this house for anyone looking for a beach get away. We had an awesome time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

This cottage is so comfortable and clean, anyone would feel at home staying here. It is close to the beach and great shopping. The backyard is adorable and is a great place for eating outside.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review