reviews for: listing #269375vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

SUN LOVERS DESTINATION | YEAR ROUND SUNSETS | INFINITY EDGE POOL
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 1,650 - $ 3,500 / week
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

The home was just as described, and Clinton was a great, helpful host. My daughters played and played in the pool, and we all enjoyed the fabulous view. The house is very nice, well equipped, and geographically situated for doing whatever suits you. Within a 45 km radius, we went whitewater rafting, did a zip line canopy tour, rode horses to waterfalls, went on a whale-watching tour, and enjoyed the local flavor. Do rent a 4-wheel drive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Stars!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

This was the best family vacation we have had in a long time. Dominical is a great quiet, surfer town with lot to do. It's even better when you have your own house over looking the bay and an infinity pool. Our two kids, both under 11, really enjoyed the adventure activities that Clinton help us set up. By far the least stress I've had in planning and taking a week long vacation.

I highly recommend Clinton and his vacation homes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Justin for your kind review. It was a pleasure organizing the Dominical and Uvita activities for you and your lovely family and having you at Casa Antigua. You are always welcome here. I appreciate you taking such great care of my home. How about the Costa Rica National team game you watched against Uruguay? You got to see the 1st game of a long run in the World Cup. Vamos Ticos!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Antigua a Oasis of Serenity in Beautiful Dominical!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

I just returned from spending a week at Casa Antigua located in Dominical, Costa Rica. My host, Clinton, worked with me during the search for a property on my Costa Rican vacation after I had spent the better part of a month trying to decide where I would stay. Because of Dominical's central location between Uvita and Quepos (Manuel Antonio National Park) I focused my search for a rental home in that area. Casa Antigua was the BOMB!! Awesome secured & gated community with 24 hour security guard, beautiful construction and furnishings,,, and Oh,, What a VIEW!! Every afternoon was spent outside in the Infinity Pool gazing at the most beautiful sunsets and afternoon rain storms coming in over the Pacific. The view alone was worth the price, however, the home was 1st rate for 1 or 2 couples. Grilling outside, the meats from local markets in Dominical, Uvita & Quepos,, as well as being close to the Awesome Nauyaca Waterfall made Clinton's home the perfect location for serene and romantic time, but, just 30 minutes from Manuel Antonio National Park, 15 minutes from Uvita and Hermossa Beach, and 20 minutes to Nauyaca Water Falls. Clinton even provided a pound of his own fresh coffee from his farm so that I had awesome breakfast time each morning gazing across the Pacific with my hot cup of bean punctuating the view!! If your looking for nature, solitude away from the tourist traps of Manuel Antonio and Quepos,, with unspoiled beauty,, but, peace of mind with a secure and gated community,, this is the place to stay!! Be sure that you get a 4-wheel drive vehicle for your stay here,,, it is required transportation for anyone exploring Costa Rica on their own. Casa Antigua Rocks!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mark, YOU are the BOMB! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am glad am happy to hear that you got to experience the real Costa Rica! Next time you come down I will take you to my coffee farm which is also blessed with 3 spectacular waterfalls that are every bit as beautiful as the San Cristobal (real name for Nauyaca) falls but private. You are welcome anytime! Roll Tide and GO BIG RED!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

We are just returning home and our stay was exceptional. The property listing was accurate and described the property well. The photos on the site listing are an understatement to the beauty of the rentals appearance, the actual view, and the surroundings. The property was clean and well maintained. It was also well equipped with everything you could possibly need & a few extra's (like Beach Towels) you might forget to pack. The hospitality of the owner (Clinton) was 5 star. His recommendations and directions were spot on; given they were in English truly helped as well. Our overall experience was outstanding. The price is a bargain considering the amenities and quality of the property. I will definitely stay here again and enjoy the infinity pool as I gaze at a beautiful sunset over the Pacific. Pura Vida!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Brittney for your kind review. You and Mark are welcome at Casa Antigua anytime. I look forward to your next vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home with breathtaking views

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at Casa Antigua. The house is perfectly appointed and that view!!! That view is just jaw dropping. We were surrounded by all the modern conveniences of home in a lush tropical setting. It was exactly what we were looking for.
Clinton was a great host, helping us with requests before and during our stay in Dominical. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review Allison. It was my pleasure hosting your family and friends at Casa Antigua. I appreciate you taking such great care of my home during your stay. Yes the view is impressive and it never gets old. Dominical, the Pacific Ocean and the beautiful sunsets that it produces will all be here for your next stay at Casa Antigua. I look forward to it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Every bit as good as the pictures suggest!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

I'd never used VRBO before and I'd felt a little bit of hesitation about it all, worrying that somehow this place was too good to be true, particularly given all the 5 star reviews. Now having been at Casa Antigua and having met Clinton, I see that I had no reason to worry. My wife and I absolutely LOVED the house; though we'd originally planned several activities in the area, we ended up deciding that we'd rather stay at the house much of the day, as the setting is just perfect for a honeymooning couple like us.

We decided not to adjust to Costa Rican time, which at this time of year is 2 hours behind East Coast time. So we rose with the sun at 5.30 a.m. and went to bed around 9 each night. From the moment the sun rose, we were up and out by the pool, sipping coffee (from Clinton's own coffee farm, which he was kind enough to give us), reading books, taking dips in the pool, and just lounging around. We'd usually then take a late lunch or early dinner at a restaurant in town (the Jolly Roger and Roadshack in Uvita were some of our favorites), and then come back to the house to watch the sun set over the ocean (a real treat for we East Coasters who never get to see such).

In short, the house was wonderful in every way. The kitchen was well stocked and very modern. The beds were great. The view was nearly priceless. Having your own private pool just made the experience completely sublime. We loved the walk in showers that had ample hot water.

I would suggest Casa Antigua and Dominical in general for anyone who wants to get away from it all but still have modern luxuries. We had told everyone that we were going to be in Costa Rica and out of contact, but we still had fast internet and satellite tv for when we did want to reconnect. Dominical has a very different kind of vibe than other places I've been - friendly, laid back, but still definitely pure Costa Rica. We went to the beach a couple of times, but the waves were rougher than our liking, given the time of year. Plus, in the end, with the pool, the view, and the privacy Casa Antigua offers, we just didn't want to go to beach most days. We definitely recommend taking a day trip to Manuel Antonio to see some of the wildlife and to spend time on that beach.

My wife and I have been home for over a week now, and yet each morning we've wished we were at Casa Antigua, looking out over the ocean, taking dips in the pool, and drinking Clinton's great coffee.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words Evan. It was a pleasure having you and Maria at Casa Antigua for your honeymoon. Thank you for trusting me with such an important event in your lives. I'm glad you enjoyed the coffee. Thank you very much for taking such great care of my home. I hope to see you back for your anniversary! Best of luck to you both.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A room with a view

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

We stayed at Villa Antigua for 10 nights in April and it was a wonderful holiday. The villa is spacious and clean and has all the amenities you could want for a holiday. Clinton was very helpful, meeting us on arrival and showing us all we needed to know. He was also at the end of a phone if we needed something, and fixed a couple of tours for us. The view from the pool is fabulous and a highlight of the holiday was watching the stunning sunsets from the terrace and listening to the toucans calling, truly relaxing.

Owners response: Thank you Woodman family for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Antigua. It was my pleasure having you as guests in my home and for booking the tour to Manuel Antonio National Park.
Sunsets are the norm here at Casa Antigua where you will see them 365 days a year. If you can see the sun, you will see it set into the Pacific Ocean here at Casa Antigua.
Thank you very much for being such wonderful guests! I will be here to host you again for your next holiday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Property for a vacation in Costa Rica

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

This home and the view from the pool is stunning. You are located high on the side of a hill and can see for miles around. The home is about 3,000 sq. ft., but with an open concept and high ceilings it seems even larger. It is very well decorated, has every appliance and piece of furniture you need to be comfortable and a great sound system with indoor and outdoor speakers. The bathrooms and closets are really spacious. The outdoor deck and pool are great for entertaining or just relaxing and provide a magnificant panoramic view of the surrounding area and ocean below.

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days, but would have liked to stay much longer. This area is much nicer than the Tamarindo area which is much drier and the roads are poor. We spent a week in the Tamarindo area before coming here and found the difference to be incredible. This area is like Hawaii with lush vegetation and plants surrounding the entire area and the roads are paved for the most part.

The property manager and security went far beyond the call of duty to make sure we were looked after. Their response to small requests and information about the area, restaurants and snorkelling was great. We felt extremely safe.

We would certainly recommend this property to anyone looking for a great home, reasonably priced for their stay in Costa Rica' Dominical area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Sandy and Ed for the kind review and for being such great guests of Casa Antigua. I will get you the photos from your snorkeling tour with Isidro. I appreciate you taking such great care of my home. I am standing by ready to host your next vacation which needs to be a little longer and spent entirely at Casa Antigua at Las Olas in Dominical.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

Casa Antigua is an amazing villa nestled in the foothills of Dominical, where the mountains and rain forests meet the ocean. With an unparalleled view of the ocean, the sunsets were spectacular, especially when viewed from the Infinity pool. Travel in either direction for twenty minutes and there are so many options for restaurants and beaches. We were there for March Break and the beaches were practically deserted. Our favourite beaches were
Playa Ventana and Playa Hermosa. We loved Cuna del Angel for its amazing gluten free menu, best ceviche with warm plantain fritters and Whales and Dolphins restaurants where I had the delectable seared Tuna, cooked to perfection. Clinton was quick to respond to our questions and arranged our rental car and excursions. He even provided us with coffee beans from his plantation. Everything was exactly as seen in the photos. We enjoyed the spacious rooms and big windows, all had screens so we could take advantage of the warm tropical breezes. One week was not long enough, next year we will book for at least two weeks. Wish we were still there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind review Tim and Kathy. It was a pleasure having you as guests in Casa Antigua. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for taking such great care of my home. You are welcome back anytime. I am standing by, ready to reserve your next vacation at Casa Antigua. Have a great weekend.
Clinton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extordinary vacation experience

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

Our vacation experience at Casa Antigua was remarkable. The home was very clean, well equipped and the view was spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed the infinite pool. The added feature of 24/7 security added to our comfort at this property.
The owner was a great host and willingly provided all the information we could possibly need for the local area. We heartily recommend this property to anyone wishing to enjoy a secure and peaceful vacation hosted by an owner that will do everything possible to make your stay a remarkable memory.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for you kind review Stephen. It was a pleasure having you and Laura as guests in my home. Thank you for taking such wonderful care of my home. I very much appreciate that.
I look forward to your next vacation at Casa Antigua.
I hope you enjoyed the coffee as well.

Pura Vida!
Clinton

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just...WOW

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Our family has been lucky enough to travel extensively over the last 2 years and I can honestly say that this is the first (and only) house that really felt like a "home". Clinton is the consummate host. He offers to take care of everything from car rental to tour arrangements. The area (Dominical) the house is situated in is a perfect blend of comfort for those who want to experience the "tico" culture but still be able to find the creature comforts without feeling like you are out of your element (Dominical has an amazing expat population). The food is amazing with multiple REALLY good restaurants within a 5 minutes drive.
If waking up to howler monkeys and more species of birds than you can count is what you are looking for coupled with INCREDIBLE views of the Pacific, then you, like our family, will feel right at home in Antigua.

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words, Phil. I am very pleased to hear that you and your lovely family of five enjoyed your stay at Casa Antigua. I very much appreciate you taking such great care of my home. You are correct, there are several great restaurants very near the house and the monkeys are all around as well. The mix of Ticos and Ex Pats here in Dominical set this area apart from all others in Costa Rica. You are welcome at Casa Antigua anytime!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything promised and more

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

The place was fabulous! It is well built and thoughtfully designed to provide a very comfortable, tropical get away. It was immaculately clean and well cared for. The owner was extremely helpful and always willing to provide helpful connections to touring and activities and even an intro to the fun, local expats. The pool area is great, night or day and the views are spectacular--even from the bedrooms where you will go to sleep with starlight views over the ocean and wake up to beautiful early morning light over Domincalito Bay. The only problem is the place is so welcoming, it is hard to break away to see more of Costa Rica but you definitely will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rich and Kate,

Thank you very much for being such great guests in my home and for taking such great care of it. I hope you enjoyed the tour of the area and the fishing trip. The view from the ocean looking back at the mountains is quite spectacular. I look forward to your next visit to Casa Antigua. You are welcome here anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular View Property

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

Casa Antigua has the best view in the Dominical area ... looking into the cove of Dominicalito Beach plus a sweeping view north towards Manual Antonio. We spent many happy hours in the pool admiring the view, seeing the local fishing boats, and watching the flocks of song birds in the yard.

The house is immaculate and very comfortable to live in. The kitchen has everything needed to prepare a great dinner and, of course, you can grill fresh fish from La Mancha (conveniently located just below the property).

The landscaping is colorful with many different sizes, shapes, and heights of plants and trees to create a visual delight from the patio and pool. And, an added bonus in the Jan/Feb time frame is there are no cicadas!

Clinton is easy to work with and was kind enough to give us oranges from his orchard for juicing in the morning. Delicious!

Casa Antigua is definitely a great choice for your vacation stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Richard and Andrea,

It was a pleasure having you at my house. Thank you for being such great guests and for taking such great care of my home. You are very welcome for the oranges. Next time I will have some coffee from my farm for you as well. I look forward to your next visit. You are welcome at Casa Antigua anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous house and location

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

If you are going to Costa Rica, you already love being outdoors. This house is the perfect house in the perfect location. We were so happy to have central air (three units!) after our outings. There are so many activities within 10 minutes of the house (we enjoyed kayaking in the ocean through the sea caves and an ATV tour out of Uvita). The house is ideal for families but we were lucky enough to travel with another couple and it is nice to have two master bedrooms with the common areas in the center so there was privacy and an area to gather.

The pool is wonderful and perfectly maintained and the ocean breeze and sounds of the surf are so calming while enjoying the fabulous view and bird watching. Toucans came by every morning and the howler monkeys were heard but not seen. From our lounge chairs, we watched the fishermen heading towards the shore and decided to walk down the hill to the beach through the jungle, purchased two large snappers (they were kind enough to bag them with ice) and walked back up the hill to cook our meal in a well stocked kitchen on a grill that had ready to go charcoal.

We had intended to do more activities, but found we were so happy with the house and view and pool that we spent a lot of time at or around the house. The house is in a jungle setting with guards and gates and there are private roads that we explored for two hours one day and we never saw got to the end but saw plenty of birds and heard the sounds of the jungle. If I was there with my kids, I would have spent more time exploring the roads around the house with them and I would have felt comfortable and safe letting my kids explore without me because of the setting.

Many properties in Costa Rica look nice in photographs but when you get there, you realize they are not as comfortable or well maintained as you expected. This house is exactly what you want in the right location with everything you need to enjoy your vacation and explore one of the best places in Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Michelle! This was your second visit in 3 years and I am glad to hear you had such a great time, AGAIN!
The white faced and howler monkeys are in the jungle. The important thing to look for is not the monkey itself, but the moving branches as they swing from tree to tree. You, your husband and your friends are great guests and you are all welcome at Casa Antigua anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Property and great location

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Location was fantastic with excellent food nearby not to mention the obvious which are all of the activities available throughout Costa Rica. I think a real differentiator was the owner/host. He organized everything including rental car including driver from San Jose for a nominal charge. Our plans were fluid and he was able to assist in last minute additions and changes and went out of his way to organize an incredible last day private trip snorkeling, water cave adventure and a by chance sighting of a baby and mother humpback whale. We had tried to organize it privately the day before but people were booked but'"he made it work" on our last day, last minute. That was in addition to ziplining, horseback riding up to waterfalls and other options. The house was perfect. The outdoor areas were ideal for down time and the kitchen was perfect for cooking which we did most evenings after a day out and about. The friends I traveled with are all foodies one being a chef who I worked with at the Sea Grill in Rockefeller Center and the other an accomplished cook as well. The local grocery store was amazing if you don't mind tight spaces. When he said best variety of food per square foot than the larger stores, it was no exaggeration. We spent mornings active and fabulous lunches at restaurants with fantastic views not to mention food. We wrote about our favorite lunch spots in the guest book so make sure you take a look. Bought fish at the local spot along with a great crevice roadside spot. Private gated community seals the deal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Amy, Cathy and Barbara,

Thank you very much for your kind words! Honestly, you all did more activities in one week than I have in my 12 years here in Costa Rica. I am happy to know that your tours and rental car went smoothly and that you enjoyed them. It was my pleasure to assist and I look forward to hosting you in the near future. You are all welcome at Casa Antigua anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

One of the best vacations ever! Aside from Dominical being awesome (not too overpriced and touristy like Jaco) the home was perfect. My family of four: my wife, 2 young children, (5 & 3 y.o.) as well as my sister and brother in law stayed there for 8 nights and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets in the infinity pool almost every night.

The home is situated in a great spot over looking the ocean. We spent hours everyday in the pool just staring out into the horion. My sister spotted some whales one afternoon. The closest beach is Dominicalito, probably walkable (maybe 1km) but we always drove since we had little ones. The drive up to the home is gravel and very steep, but the SUV we had did fine (did not need to put it in 4wd; maybe if it was raining???) Dominical is about 5km away, has better waves and a few restaurants/surf shops/souvenirs. Uvita is about 15 minutes south and Manuel Antonio is about 45 min north. So a great central spot for many places along the coast.

Clinton is a nice guy and very responsive. When one of the a.c. units went down, he was on it right away and had it working in no time. Thankfully, the house is equipped with 3 central a.c. units.

The home has everything you need for a relaxing time and memorable views. We miss it already!!!! You will not regret staying here. We had so much fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Nelson for the kind words and for taking such great care of my home. I appreciate that very much. You are great guests and are welcome again anytime. The road coming up to the house is an all weather road and actually stays more compacted in the rainy season.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazining

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

I am very pleased to review Casa Antigua. It is nice to be able and say that this property is exactly as seen on VRBO. A beautiful property that has a view unsurpassed - along with that comes a property that is equipped with everything anyone would need except your own food. Clinton - the owner manager was very accommodating and left us alone to enjoy this beautiful place on the side of a hill. Nature surrounds you, the grounds are beautiful and the sound of the Pacific is so calming. Take time time check this place out - you will not be disappointed!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: A huge thanks to Steve and his crew. You were great guests and took great care of my home. You are welcome here anytime in the future. I look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Above and Beyond

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

This house is stunning. My favorite element of this home was the infinity pool which overlooks the Pacific and provides incredible sunset views. This is where we spent the majority of our time. The house was clean and well organized. We had everything we needed including a garage, a washer and dryer, and a fridge with filtered ice and water! We chose to cook breakfast and lunch at the house. There is a grocery store a few minutes away. If you choose to go out, there are also many great restaurant options in the area - our favorites were Jolly Roger and Exotica. The rooms are spacious and have comfortable beds, charming window seats and gorgeous views. The bathrooms are well laid out, with huge showers and double sinks. I love the attention to detail and the style of this home. The architectural details and design elements are classic and elegant. As an added bonus, the area is filled with activities (if you choose to leave the poolside). We hiked into the rainforest around the house and found exotic birds and wildlife. There are incredible beaches and rainforest surrounding the house. It is minutes from Dominical and Hacienda Baru and not far from Manuel Antonio (you can actually see Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula from the pool). We had an incredible experience and would highly recommend this property to friends, family and anyone looking for a luxurious stay in Costa Rica. Be warned - you will not want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Shayla. It was a pleasure having you at Casa Antigua. You were great guests are welcome again anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home with tremendous view & superb amenities!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Staying at this beautiful home in scenic Domenical for a week was incredible!!! The view of the Pacific from the infinity edge pool is unmatched! The home interior was perfect for our party of 2 couples. The interior of the home is very well laid out for privacy and / or socializing. The spacious deck enables dining, reading, relaxing & a tremendous view of the setting sun to the West. The yard is beautifully manicured. The city of Domenical is approximately 3 KMs enabling easy access to groceries and a laid back night life. The home was just as described, yet better in person! The home is clean & well maintained. The owner responded immediately to all our questions. I would definitely return to this beautiful home in the future and strongly recommend it to my relatives & close friends as a rare treasure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Villa and it Lived Up to the Description!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Just returning from an incredible 10 day trip to Costa Rica. We stayed in Casa Antiqua for 7 fabulous nights. Everything is good with this rental, location, view, pool, amenities. I would mention that the short drive up the hill from the main road does require four wheel drive but most roads off of the main road require it.

Views for both Sunrise and Sunset are incredible! We used the pool at least 2 or 3 times a day/night. The pool is a beautiful vanish edge design that for us was warm and comfortable the whole time we were there.

The house and yard is very private and in a gated area shared by maybe 6 homes or so and there is a guard at the gate 24 hours a day. We could not have felt more safe and secure.

The amenities at the home are amazing. We played music from my iphone most of the time through the great stereo system which also provides music to the pool and patio. We could even satisfy our need to check in with Fox news or ESPN via the Satelite system. Wireless is also available although the service itself is a little up and down.

Clinton is the owner and he was very helpful, friendly, and we feel like he is now a friend of ours that was nice enough to let us share his home for a week.

It is every bit as good as advertised. If you are going to Dominical, go for it. You will love it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words and for being such great guests. I appreciate you taking such great care of my home. You are all welcome here anytime. I hope to see you up in Cali sometime in the near future. It was a pleasure meeting you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jackie

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Best vacation at the best vacation house ever! This was our first trip to Costa Rica. After spending 3 days in the Arenal area, we came to Dominical and had a fabulous 4 days at The Antigua. My husband and I, along with our teenage children (14 yr old daughter, 16 yr old son) agreed that we felt very spoiled here. Everything about this house is awesome. The views are KILLER! We watched the sunset (early, around 5:30pm) each night while lounging in and around the gorgeous infinity pool. It was the perfect spot to relax after our active days. We grilled our dinner each night - there is a store close by with everything you need. The house is very private, very safe. We enjoyed the birds singing around the beautifully landscaped yard and even saw toucans on the road behind the house. We recommend surfing lessons, ATV tour, Ventana Caves, Manuel Antonio National Park. Clinton is great to work with. I hope we can return some day and will definitely recommend the house to any friends traveling to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jackie,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking such great care of my home. You and your wonderful family are great guests and you are welcome here anytime. I look forward to your next stay.

Clinton

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home with amazing views and exceptional customer care!

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

My husband and I took a romantic vacation to Costa Rica with another couple. It was our first time to this beautiful country and we had great time! There were a few key factors that made our trip unforgettable:

1) A home with a view! - The pictures do not do this home justice. There are amazing details and upgrades throughout the home from the kitchen that opens up to the patio to the private suites with balconies. The infinity edge pool enhanced the view of the ocean. Waking up to the view every morning was so relaxing and finishing up the day with the picture prefect sunset every night really made our trip. The property was clean and well kept.

2) The exceptional customer service - Clinton really went out of his way to make sure we had a great trip. He made great recommendations for sight seeing spots, where to shop for local seafood, and where to dine. He even made Valentines reservations for us and let us rent a cellphone (since we did not have any service). He even booked an excursion for us and the guides took very good care of us.

3) The location - Dominical was an ideal location for relaxation. The locals were very friendly and the town was low key but there was tons of activities, restaurants and shops to keep us busy. We went cannoning through the waterfalls and discovered some caves by the ocean. Cooked some delicious meals at the home and watched the sunset from the infinity pool. It was great.

We would (and have) recommend this property to friends and family and we do plan on renting Clinton's home in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shelly,

Thank you so very much for being such great guests in my home. I really appreciate that as well as your wonderful comments. You and your crew are welcome here anytime!!

Clinton

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Spot in Dominical

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

My wife and I currently stayed at Casa Antingua and it was absolutely perfect. The location is very convenient, it's only a short drive up the hill but you still have nice privacy and a great view that overlooks the Dominicalito Bay. The house itself is very comfortable and laid out in a way that makes you feel right at home. We will be coming back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

paradise

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

This was the best vacation ever!!! The house was even more beautiful than the pictures. Clinton(the home owner) lives nearby and is extremely helpful. He helped us arrange activities like ziplining, atv riding, and horse back riding. He also found us a great chef to prepare us a wonderful at home meal one night, such a treat! The infinity pool and views of the ocean make this the perfect vacation home. The house was very clean, had large bathrooms with beautiful stone and tile showers and many unique details throughout that will make anyone want to come back again and again.The master bedroom has a view of the pool and ocean that is literally breathtaking. Thank you again Clinton for sharing your paradise with us. Hope to be back soon. We will definitely be recommending your home to our friends. Best Wishes
Shannon & D.R
Christian & Monir

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shannon, Don, Christian and Mo--Thank you very much for the excellent review and for being such great guests. I look forward to having you stay here again in the future.

Best of luck in all of your endeavors.

Pura Vida!!

Clinton

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

We just recently stayed here and had an amazing time. The location was amazing with wonderful views of the ocean. We enjoyed watching the sunset from our patio every night. The main town and beach was a very short drive from our place. Our highlight of our trip was eating at La Parcela, which is also very close to the house. Best lobster I have ever had!!! I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Dominical.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Eva. It was a pleasure having you and your crew as guests at The Antigua. You are always welcome here. Best of luck to you all. Pura Vida, Clinton.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Eastern

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

The house was amazing, the views from the pool were spectacular, we really had a great time. Everything you need is include it in the house....thanks Clinton for let us use your spectacular house.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Paula for your positive review and for being such great guests. I highly recommend you and Mauricio to all owners. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. You are always welcome at The Antigua. Best regards, Clinton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden Luxury in the middle of Costa Rica

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

What a genuinely amazing trip... the goal was to unplug and fall off the grid, just a little bit. Who knew we had found the most wonderful home to relax and reconnect. The views are breathtaking, and when we weren't exploring the nearby beaches or zip lining through the jungle, we were chillin' in the infinity pool taking in the sights & sounds right from our vacation home. Clinton offers not only a wonderful home but all the luxurious amenities you could think to need as well. Clinton's picturesque restaurant was also an amazing place to grab a bite and an Imperial. It was so wonderful we will undeniably return when we can escape the daily grinds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Kim and her lovely family were fantastic guests. I highly recommend them to all owners.

I really appreciate your kind review of my property and I look forward to your prompt return so that you can disconnet again. Best of luck in all of your endeavours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We just returned from Costa Rica and stayed at Antigua for 10 marvelous days. First off, the house is gorgeous, the rooms spacious and the views amazing. The terrace is where we spent most of our time with the panoramic view of the Pacific and the infinity pool. Our mantra was eat, sleep, drink, read and repeat! We also enjoyed climbing the road up the mountain for a little exercise, the views kept your mind off how difficult it was. Sitting on the terrace at sunset with a cool drink and watching the toucans fly by and the parrots in the trees and hearing the surf was heaven. The house is well stocked with everything you should need, we found at the bottom of the road, a restaurant that sold fresh mahi mahi, tuna and shrimp and of course ceviche. We couldn't have been more pleased, hope to be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for the marvelous review. It was an absolute pleasure having you as guests in my home. I hope to see you in the future and you are always welcome in my home.

Best regards from the Antigua

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

I stayed at this property with my husband and two friends for a week. It is a beautiful house. The location of the home is convenient for going to either Dominical or Uvita. Playa Dominical is a great beach within walking distance. The infinity pool is amazing. We all really enjoyed relaxing out there for sunsets after a busy day of activities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Antigua at Las Olas. Thank you very much for your very kind comments. You are always welcome here.

Regards,

Clinton

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

I have visited many parts of Costa Rica but I keep coming back to Dominical. This was the first time I stayed in a home and this home was ideal. The set up is great with two master bedrooms that are on opposite ends of the home to allow privacy but joined by a comfortable and beautiful great room. The kitchen was fully stocked and the local store has everything needed to create fabulous meals and drinks. We purchased fish off of the boats on the beach down the hill and the fishermen were kind enough to filet the fish for us. The pool and sunset can not be beat. We watched the sunset while identifying birds and woke up to coffee on the patio watching the fishermen go out in their boats and listening to howler monkeys. Having a washer and dryer was a change for me and it was so nice. The community was gated with 24 hour guard who was very helpful. Wifi was available at the house and it was so nice to use Skype to call the states to keep in touch. There are many activities within 30 minutes of the house and we enjoyed horseback riding, beaches, zip lines, hiking, numerous restaurants, national parks and wonderful roads. There is a short and steep road to the house that is unpaved but well maintained, but that elevation allows excellent views and a quick escape from the town with only a 5 minute drive. There aren't as many tourists in this part of Costa Rica, and that is one of the things that makes this area so special. We will definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Antigua at Las Olas. Thank you very much for your very kind comments. You are always welcome here.

Regards,

Clinton

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional in Every Way

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

This home has it all. Its comfort, view, pool, internet, satellite TV, and location all combine to provide an exceptional stay in Dominical. We spent many wonderful, relaxing hours in and around the gorgeous infiniti pool and patio. The grounds and landscaping are magnificent. Clinton, thank you again for your hospitality and helpfulness with information about the home and area. We look forward to our next stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and Relaxing

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Casa Antigua. It was absolutely gorgeous, private, secure, and perfect. Beautiful views of the bay, you are surrounded by nature and it is only a two minute drive from the main road. If you are thinking about the ultimate in luxury without breaking the bank, Casa Antigua is the way to go. I look forward to my next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Repeat guests. Great respect for the house. It was a pleasure having them again. You are always welcome at Casa Antigua.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FABULOUS

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

What a wonderful time we had in this spectacular home - it was hard to leave. We love this area of Costa Rica and this was our 4th visit...and definitely the nicest spot we've rented so far. I don't think the photos did it justice - and the view!! We spent a lot of time in the infinity pool just gazing at the ocean and early mornings were magical listening to the howler monkeys and the many varieties of birds. Clinton, the owner, was very helpful and quick to respond when we had questions. As we had been travelling for a number of months, it was great to have satellite tv and also very good internet speed. All in all a fabulous time spent in Dominical!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review