reviews for: listing #269568ha - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

A Special Place

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

This is a wonderful oasis in Mal Pais. Convenient to the surf towns, secluded and private, a gorgeous view. The open environment is one of a kind. Had to pull ourselves away. You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing experience

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

The whole experience of staying in this location was absolutely amazing, the people, environment, architecture, and vibe! We felt safe and secure but also had absolute privacy. It's the perfect place to feel at one with nature without having to sleep outdoors and sacrifice modern conveniences. We only left the house to get food and then couldn't wait to get back!!!! Thank you for the most relaxing vacation I have ever had!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reset Button is here!

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

We just arrived home from an amazing reset at the Hacienda Okhra!

We are absolutely thrilled with our stay in Mal Pais but it was this property which sealed the deal.

After a red eye flight we arrived later in the day and went off to sleep. When we woke in the morning to this unbelieveable view, complete with pool and lush foliage, we agreed it was more stunning than the photos let on.

This is our third time to Costa Rica but this property with it's stunning view is in a league of it's own.

We will be back next year - we miss this gem already!

Stephanie & Brad

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous Home!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

This home is located in the "jungle" yet was in a gated community so we felt safe. The area is undeveloped and we saw plenty of wildlife. It is remote and private and yet just minutes away from the beach. The house is absolutely beautiful and feels very Zen and relaxing. I love the open air shower and open air feel to the entire house. The caretakers are wonderful people, and the owner was wonderful and easy to work with.

You MUST go to Koji's sushi restaurant in Santa Teresa (get the drink called a Caprioska) and Habanero's beachside Mexican restaurant (get the seabass). There is a great beachside bar/restaurant in Playa Carmen that we went to every day (best mojitos I've ever tasted). There is a bakery in Playa Carmen that has wonderful breakfast foods and authentic Italian pizza for dinner. We also enjoyed Burger Ranchero. There are zipline tours and boat/island tours available in Montezuma and gorgeous beaches along the road between Montezum and Cabo Blanco. We can't wait to come back!

Owners response: I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed my house and its setting. It is a special place.
Thanks
Andrew

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Harmony

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

This is a beautiful property. The design delivers a sublime harmony between architecture and nature. The placement on the hillside gives you incredible views, a refreshing breeze and a synergy with all the flora and fauna that make Costa Rica special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Mountain House in a Great Location

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

This house, in the Hacienda Okra community, is a great place to stay if you want a bit of solitude away from the main surf/tourist beaches. It's only about 10 minutes away, but as it's situated both in the mountains as well as in a private, gated community, we found that it was definitely tranquil.

The house itself is a great piece of architecture, using the already present breeze to cool the house. Without an A/C present, it still provides 24/7 breeze that makes the rooms comfortable. The house is complete with all the amenities you need, including a full kitchen, dining area (the dining table can be rolled onto the patio for a better experience), living area, and full bedroom/bathroom. The pool, as is obvious from the pictures, is also something to write home about. The forest/vegetation goes right up to the house, and thus hanging over the edge of the pool, you can look right into the trees. We got both howler monkey and lemur company during our week stay. I'll also point out that the shower was also very noteworthy, as it faces west, and provides a great view of the sunset while taking a shower.

Leaving the community, multiple beaches abound; Playa Carmen for surfing, and Mal Pais below for canopy/fishing. Go right up the coast for beaches Theresa, Hermosa, and then the town of Manzanilla, for great sand beaches.

Andrew and Laurin were excellent at giving suggestions, and we went through at least half of the restaurants and shops suggested, all with great results. The owners of the Hacienda Community, George and Stephanie, were great at taking care of us, arranging the meet-up. Additionally, the staff onsite provided maid and maintenance service, and were extremely helpful.

All in all, the girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed Costa Rica from what we have seen at the house, and given another opportunity, would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise at a great price

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

“To start, the owner of the house, Andrew, was great to deal with. He gave us advice via email that turned out to be bang on. Once we arrived we were greeted by George and his wife Stephanie.

They gave us information and insight into Mal Pais and the surrounding area that was incredible. You would run into George daily on the drive between Hacienda Okhra and Mal Pais, he would quickly check in to see if everything was alright. He was there if needed but never crowding you, so you felt the house was your own.

The house was beautiful, the open design can only be described as Luxury camping, with all the amenities, gas range, fridge, freezer, orange juice maker and coffee maker. (Costa Rican coffee every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice, it doesn’t get much better, expect the incredible sunsets from the porch)

The open shower with views of the ocean, jungle, sunset and animals was amazing.

The salt water infinity pool was only steps from the bedroom. (enough said)

The house is far enough away from the other residences to give you complete privacy but close enough to provide a sense of security.

Haceinda Okhra is gated and routinely patrolled by George’s staff. The staff were also great, Marta, came by every second day to clean, as did the grounds keepers and pool staff.

Daily we saw countless species of birds, whitetail deer, iguanas and each evening we sat and listen to the howler monkeys and coyotes. Incredible (lots of curious insects as well will come to visit!!!!)

The house is a five to seven minute drive into Mal Pais and St. Teresa. A rental vehicle, 4×4 is a must. Once there you have a choice of any and every kind of food and restaurants you can think of, Italian, sushi, seafood, hamburgers, crepes, fresh baked goods. You can shop in Mal Pais at several grocery stores that sell everything you would be accustomed to in North America.

The house is also within an adventurous drive to the towns of Cobano, Montezuma and hiking in Curu and Cabo Blanco parks.

Dont miss – Sushi night at Milarepa Hotel, a salad from Harlen at Chop It, sunset dinner at Brisas del Mar, lunch or dinner at Playa De los Artista in Montezuma, homemade lemonade, baked goods,broadband and air conditioning at “The Bakery” Dinner at Marys is also a must.

The southern tip of the Nicoya Pennisula has dozens of beautiful, raw and private beaches all within driving distance.

This is not Cozumel or Hawaii, it takes some work to get here but well worth it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

"When we married in the mountains of Colorado (*cold weather destination wedding,) I had my heart set on a Costa Rican honeymoon.. but it didn't make sense to leave one destination for another... so we waited for our first anniversary for this trip-- SO WORTH THE WAIT!! Andrew was wonderful to work the details out with on this amazing house. Knowing we'd need some help (driving directions, travel advice, and helpful tips abt the culture of Costa Rica, etc,) he provided us with a great packet of information. As the previous reviewer said, "its not easy to get to" but its certainly best because of that fact-- the town + people are totally 'tranquillo' and untouched by annoying tourists (*this is NOT a cruise ship destination.) The secluded nature of Santa Teresa + Mal Pais is what has kept this area a genuine hidden gem! Same applies to the location of the house-- Hacienda Okhra is a community staying as true with the natural environment as possible-- so you don't encounter noisy neighbors, or even see many other homes/people. You can rest assured you'll have your own hideaway in the hills on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. The caretakers + staff at the house are wonderfully accommodating + so great at sneaking in + out you don't really even know they've been taking care of you. I can't say there were any cons at all abt our trip-- we learned the roads in Costa Rica really are as bad as they say (*definitely get the 4x4 vehicle)-- but it was all a part of the adventure. Yes there were bugs + frogs + lizards + critters -- but again, this is hopefully why you're visiting Costa Rica-- for the natural beauty. Just minutes from the beach or the nature preserve, it's the perfect mix of secluded hideaway + beach/jungle adventure... it's up to you! We had a truly AMAZING adventure in Costa Rica-- loved the house, loved the kitchen where we cooked our own gourmet meals nightly, loved the infinity pool, open-air shower, the breathtaking views of the ocean + lush green hills, the friendly people of Mal Pais + Santa Teresa, the ocean + natural beauty. We can't wait to go back! "

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dream Second Honeymoon!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

When we married in the mountains of Colorado (*cold weather destination wedding,) I had my heart set on a Costa Rican honeymoon.. but it didn't make sense to leave one destination for another... so we waited for our first anniversary for this trip-- SO WORTH THE WAIT!!

Andrew was wonderful to work the details out with on this amazing house. Knowing we'd need some help (driving directions, travel advice, and helpful tips abt the culture of Costa Rica, etc,) he provided us with a great packet of information. As the previous reviewer said, "its not easy to get to" but its certainly best because of that fact-- the town + people are totally 'tranquillo' and untouched by annoying tourists (*this is NOT a cruise ship destination.) The secluded nature of Santa Teresa + Mal Pais is what has kept this area a genuine hidden gem! Same applies to the location of the house-- Hacienda Okhra is a community staying as true with the natural environment as possible-- so you don't encounter noisy neighbors, or even see many other homes/people. You can rest assured you'll have your own hideaway in the hills on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. The caretakers + staff at the house are wonderfully accommodating + so great at sneaking in + out you don't really even know they've been taking care of you.

I can't say there were any cons at all abt our trip-- we learned the roads in Costa Rica really are as bad as they say (*definitely get the 4x4 vehicle)-- but it was all a part of the adventure. Yes there were bugs + frogs + lizards + critters -- but again, this is hopefully why you're visiting Costa Rica-- for the natural beauty. Just minutes from the beach or the nature preserve, it's the perfect mix of secluded hideaway + beach/jungle adventure... it's up to you!

We had a truly AMAZING adventure in Costa Rica-- loved the house, loved the kitchen where we cooked our own gourmet meals nightly, loved the infinity pool, open-air shower, the breathtaking views of the ocean + lush green hills, the friendly people of Mal Pais + Santa Teresa, the ocean + natural beauty. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing !!

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

To start, the owner of the house, Andrew, was great to deal with. He gave us advice via email that turned out to be bang on. Once we arrived we were greeted by George and his wife Stephanie. They gave us information and insight into Mal Pais and the surrounding area that was incredible. You would run into George daily on the drive between Hacienda Okhra and Mal Pais, he would quickly check in to see if everything was alright. He was there if needed but never crowding you, so you felt the house was your own.
The house was beautiful, the open design can only be described as Luxury camping, with all the amenities, gas range, fridge, freezer, orange juice maker and coffee maker. (Costa Rican coffee every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice, it doesn’t get much better, expect the incredible sunsets from the porch)
The open shower with views of the ocean, jungle, sunset and animals was amazing.
The salt water infinity pool was only steps from the bedroom. (enough said)
The house is far enough away from the other residences to give you complete privacy but close enough to provide a sense of security.
Haceinda Okhra is gated and routinely patrolled by George's staff. The staff were also great, Marta, came by every second day to clean, as did the grounds keepers and pool staff.
Daily we saw countless species of birds, whitetail deer, iguanas and each evening we sat and listen to the howler monkeys and coyotes. Incredible (lots of curious insects as well will come to visit!!!!)
The house is a five to seven minute drive into Mal Pais and St. Teresa. A rental vehicle, 4x4 is a must. Once there you have a choice of any and every kind of food and restaurants you can think of, Italian, sushi, seafood, hamburgers, crepes, fresh baked goods. You can shop in Mal Pais at several grocery stores that sell everything you would be accustomed to in North America.
The house is also within an adventurous drive to the towns of Cobano, Montezuma and hiking in Curu and Cabo Blanco parks.
Dont miss - Sushi night at Milarepa Hotel, a salad from Harlen at Chop It, sunset dinner at Brisas del Mar, lunch or dinner at Playa De los Artista in Montezuma, homemade lemonade, baked goods,broadband and air conditioning at "The Bakery" Dinner at Marys is also a must.
The southern tip of the Nicoya Pennisula has dozens of beautiful, raw and private beaches all within driving distance.
This is not Cozumel or Hawaii, it takes some work to get here but well worth it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review