reviews for: listing #269673vb - Grenada, Caribbean rental

New Villa with Spectacular Views & Pool in Unspoiled Grenada
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 342 - $ 414 / night
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Great Place

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2014

Beautiful house with all the amenities, great layout including outside living area with great views. The constant breeze keeps everything comfortable. Kitchen well-stocked, unlike some rentals. Two master suites makes it ideal for two couples (our situation), and the 3rd BR was very functional. The owner is very helpful and accomodating with infomation and help, as are the on-island staff. Having gotten lost at night looking for a rental at night on another island, the pick-up at the airport as part of the rental is a great idea and indicative of the care shown by the owner to renters. Grenada is a beautiful, interesting and varied island with lovely beaches and decent diving. Really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Modern, Spotless, Beautiful Location - Great Base for a Grenada Vacation

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

My family and I just got back from a two week stay at Hibiscus Villa. What a wonderful experience. First of all, the house is wonderful - modern with all the amenities one could wish for, beautiful location on a hill overlooking the sea, and maintained to the highest level by friendly caring Grenadians.

Grenada is a beautiful mountainous island offering the opportunity to lay on a white sand beach, snorkel in breathtaking bays and hike through jungle right out of Jurassic Park (without the dinosaurs).

We're looking forward to our next visit back to Hibiscus Villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hibiscus Villa a paradise within the paradise of Grenada!

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

It was unanimous that this was the best family vacation ever! Our driver George, whom the owner sent to pick us up at the airport took very good care of us. He and my son hit it off like old friends. He took us up to the to Grand Etang Lake to see the monkeys (didn't see any) and over to Grenville for a delicious Grenadian lunch of oil down and to the fish market where we bought wahoo for supper. It was a very educational trip. George pointed out all the various tree varieties and the history of the island etc.. We drove into St. George another day, went to the market and had lunch at BB's Crabback which was excellent. For most of our evening meals my son cooked in the well equipped kitchen. But one evening we went to La Phare Bleu for the friendship dinner and had wonderful conversations with the owners Dieter and Jana. Very memorable evening. One night George took my son out to get jerk chicken (yummy) from a roadside stand and his lovely wife made us Callaloo soup (what a treat). We went to La Sagesse beach for a great day and a good meal. What a beautiful quiet beach! Paradise!! On the last day we took a snorkeling trip with First Impressions. We all had a great time. Saw the underwater statues and lots of fish. The staff on the boat were very friendly. It was a great way to end our trip.
And coming back every day to Hibiscus villa was like coming home. We loved, loved, loved the villa. The view is unparalleled. Great pool, comfortable beds and with every bedroom having it's own ensuite bathroom, no family squabbles about who showers first. Mary (the owner) couldn't have been easier to deal with and made us feel comfortable and secure with all of the arrangements prior to arrival and even called while we were there to make sure we had everything we needed. Beverly the housekeeper was sweet and Fiona the property manager was extremely helpful. I never hesitated to call her if I had a question. She went out of her way to accommodate any of our needs.
I would never hesitate to recommend Hibiscus Villa to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Villa and Place to stay and visit!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

When you are living the dream, it’s hard to take in all the great things about this wonderful villa and island. I purposely waited for awhile before posting our review to recover from our great trip. I would like to keep this villa a secret for us to be able to rent when we’d like…but that would be unfair to the owners and others who are trying to find a place that is clean, comfortable, safe, and great to enjoy.

If you are like me you search and search, reading the reviews to see if the place you finally decide on will fit all your needs. We are always concerned with safety, cleanliness, comfort, convenience, etc. when searching for our villa and island. I will do the pros and cons review, but overall this is a wonderful place to stay, is it the best on the island, we cannot be the judge of that as this is the only place on this island we have stayed and this is the first trip to Grenada.

PROS-
Mary was wonderful to work with, in all ways, and is very detailed in every aspect. She also saw to any needs or concerns we had.
The staff is very good, right from the start, we were met at the airport and taken to the villa, with it being after dark when we arrived, it was a great service, and at no cost to us, other than a tip we gave.
The home is very clean and well kept, it has been supplied very well and other than our personal items there was few things we lacked for, they even leave condiments from the previous tenants and other supplies, such as some spf lotions and oils, along with bug spray, etc.
Fiona was our tour guide and assistant when we arrived, she was detailed and didn’t stay long, which was nice after a long day of travel.
The housekeeper and gardener were very nice and tried to stay to themselves, leaving us to enjoy the villa and our privacy.
We only used the one master bedroom so I cannot speak to the other bedrooms, other than they appeared clean and comfortable, one with a king and the other with a full size bed, both had their own bathrooms, which is nice. The main master was very comfortable, with a walk through closet and a clean and nice bathroom. The nicest things about it was the bed was very comfortable, with several styles of pillows for you to get just the right one for you, and the TV was wonderful to retire too. It would be nice to have this if you were staying with others so you could retire early and have some private time together. If it were my villa, I would put a TV in each bedroom so everyone had that conven

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

villa

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

This home is well kept and the owner and their staff were very helpful. The view of the ocean from the pool area was beautiful. The location was private and quiet. Grenada itself made this only an average vacation spot. We have rented homes in St John,St Croix, and Grand Cayman and getting around those islands in a rental car was fairly easy. In Grenada none of the roads were marked and a lot of the roads were narrow and crowded because there is no shoulder for the locals to park on or walk so they walk in the road and park in the road making it hard to get around. Except at the craft markets and the local store the people were not very friendly and the stores and restaurants often had security guards which made us wonder why they needed them. There is always a breeze at this house which kept things cool but the lack of screens did allow mosquitoes into the house in the evenings. This home is a great value for the money compared to other island rentals but Grenada was the poorest of the 6 islands that we stayed on.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm sorry this renter didn't enjoy his vacation more. I don't think Grenada was a good choice for him. Everyone wants different things. This renter flew to Grenada directly from a vacation on Anguilla, called a "very affluent island, the Hamptons of the Caribbean" in the Wall Street Journal. If someone wants and expects a very developed island with hundreds of condos and multi-million dollar homes, four lane major highways, chic restaurants listed as the latest "in" spot, casinos, and celebrities, then Grenada is not their island. From the other reviews, you can see many people were happy with Grenada. A recent inquirer told me he'd been to 18 Caribbean islands and Grenada was his favorite. He was planning his sixth trip there.

While this renter arrived on a day that was a busy holiday with people out and about, Grenada is generally a quiet island. I imagine it's like what many Caribbean islands were like 30 years ago - more natural, fewer homes, almost no condo developments, all small and family run businesses and resorts, fewer cars, a simpler life. You don't see obvious displays of wealth. There are only 1000 hotel rooms on Grenada, but 10,000 on Barbados. It's known for its natural beauty, friendly people and for being safer than other islands. That doesn't mean there is no crime, or that you may not encounter an unfriendly person somewhere. But if you go around with a scowl on your face, I'd think you'd get one in return in most places in the world.

Hibiscus Villa is a Caribbean-style villa - you can open the French doors and windows and let the breeze filter through. It's what most people love about the villa - a seamless transition from the gorgeous outdoor beauty, pool, gardens, and warm weather to the inside of the villa. Occasionally a mosquito may join you, but the constant breeze not only keeps the villa cool, it keeps down the mosquitoes - they don't like breeze. Being on a hill helps too. It not only provides our beautiful views, but mosquitoes prefer the lower elevations close to the water.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Grenada Anniversary

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

The Villa met and/or exceeded our expectations! Everything was super; the house was immaculate, the groceries that we had requested were there and all we had to do was unpack our suitcases. I would have loved to have been able to stay longer, especially since we lost 3 nights at the beginning due to the snow storm. The property manager, Fiona, was as helpful as you would have wished; the island guide, Cateye, (whom we have used on previous visits) knows everything about the island. He is both a tour guide and a taxi service. There was absolutely nothing that I would have changed about the house! This was one fabulous vacatiov villa!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks Mary!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

My family and I enjoyed the Hibiscus Villa immensely. The owner Mary is more than helpful with pre-arrival details, the house manager and neighbors are extremely nice, and the property itself is beautiful. Private, gorgeous views, a very comfortable and well appointed home. You can't go wrong with this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Hibiscus Villa in Grenada

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Beautiful house in a fabulous setting. Owner has furnished and equipped the house very well for visitor comfort. Pool is terrific; views are beautiful. Only 15 minutes from town and close to beaches and other tourist destinations. Car necessary

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning!

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

Think Hibiscus looks nice in the listing pictures? Wait till you see it in person! Just wonderful. Your most difficult task of the day will be coming up with a reason to leave to go out and see the island. We did see a lot of this most beautiful island, and enjoyed eating out, but we also relished the time spent by the pool at the house relaxing, reading, and enjoying the spectacular setting. The local support is most gracious, helpful, and professional. Don't miss it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding Villa offers everything one could ask for while enjoying the beautiful isle of Grenada

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Hibiscus Villa was the perfect spot for our family vacation. The owner takes great care to assure the comfort of her guests along with a great local house manager and staff. The house was spacious, graciously furnished and well equipped. From the fantastic kitchen to (our favorite) saline pool and coral tiled patio. We lacked for nothing and would highly recommend Hibiscus Villa as the ideal location from which to explore the Isle of Grenada. Thanks so much Mary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Can't say enough about our stay on the beautiful island of Grenada. Hibiscus Villa is even more breathtaking than the photos. All the staff are sure to make sure you have a most pleasant stay, from the owner, property manager, taxi driver and maid. Mary makes sure all your needs are met, clear instructions throughout the house with all amenities. Although you are not on the beach, the views are amazing and the walk is not far. Views of the rain forest to the ocean from all areas of the Villa are sure to please all guests. There is plenty to explore by foot and by car. If not comfortable driving, the taxi driver lives in the neighborhood and can drive you at your convenience around the island, to the store, etc. Fiona is wonderful for recommending where to visit, eat, doctor's (yes we needed one for a simple swimmer's ear) etc.
We will surely be back to this wonderful island and lovely home! Thank you Mary for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Top of the List!

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

My husband and I are just finishing our two week stay at Hibiscus Villa and we couldn’t be more pleased. Everything about the home has been superb. We have rented many vacation homes and we have placed this one at the top of the list of favorite stays. The owner, with help from island staff, “went the extra mile” to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. The home is renter-friendly from the labeled light switches to the owner written booklet on “how things work.” It also had wonderful touches like fresh flowers on the tables and luxury linens. This island also had much to entertain us with gardens, waterfalls, spice processing, St. George’s and beaches. We had a rental car and bought a good map and although we often felt like we were driving in a video game we successfully navigated the entire island. We particularly enjoyed Belmont Estates, Laura's Spice Garden, snorkeling at the Aquarium beach and La Sagasse Beach. We would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hibiscus Villa

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

My family and I had a great week at the Hibiscus Villa. The home is large and well equipped, with wonderful kitchen, deck, and swimming pool. The views are terrific. The owner is very customer oriented and will do everything in her power to make your stay a great one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pictures don't do it justice!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

While the property looks amazing on the web, it's even better in person!! Great location for exploring the island(you need a rental car) or for days when you just want to relax, hang out at the beautiful pool and admire the spectacular view. House is perfectly equipped, no detail overlooked. We have rented homes all over the world and this one it at the top! We hope to return to beautiful Grenada and Hibiscus Villa soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing and relaxing

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

This house is everything described in the listing and more. It is spectularly beautiful both inside and out. The owner has put a tremendous amount of thought into every aspect of the house and your experience.

The layout is welcoming and maximizes the views. The bedrooms are private and accommodating for families or couples sharing this wonderful home. The house and the pool create an outstanding outdoor living space complete with a gas BBQ and separate dining and sitting areas. The outdoor space has outdoor speakers and lighting to create a perfect place to relax and enjoy the Caribbean breeze.

The staff at Hibiscus are tremendous. The property manager made sure that we were welcomed. She offered exceptional recommendations for dining and sightseeing. She even arranged and delivered a delicious rum birthday cake for my teenage son during our visit. The housekeeper, gardener, and pool cleaner were friendly and unobtrusive.

Grenada is a charming island with friendly people. It has a laid back appeal. The island offers great opportunites to sail, snorkel, dive, and deep sea fishing.

There are two beaches within easy walking distance of the property. One was shallow and an excellent snorkeling location. The other offered surf and sand. We would definitely recommend a walk out to the point of Fort Jeudy.

We enjoyed the food at BB's, the Aquarium, and Le Phare Blue. Grand Anse is one of the top 10 beaches in the world. The sand is exceptional and the views even better.

We rented a Jeep from Y&R based on a recommendation from the owner. The process was super easy. They delivered the vehicle to the Villa. Driving in Grenada is definitely an experience. The roads are narrow, winding, and often steep. We recommend getting a detailed roadmap (available at stores near Grand Anse) since most of the roads aren't marked. Once you adjust to the driving, you will definitely enjoy having access to the entire island.

We visited some of the island waterfalls and Grand Etang. Our favorite was St. Margaret's Falls (or the Seven Sisters) near Grand Etang. We would recommend a local guide at these falls named Clifton. He was friendly, knowledgable, and entertaining including doing dives from the top of the falls for our enjoyment.

We will definitely recommend this property and are already planning our return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hibiscus Villa is incredible!

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

We (two couples) just returned from an eight day stay at Hibiscus Villa. I thought the house would be lovely as the photos and description of the villa are quiet nice, but it was even better than we had imagined. You will not be disappointed in the stunning views that you get while lounging by the pool. And this area is extremely private as well. While we did a lot of exploring on the island, we always loved coming "home". The house is set up beautifully to share with each of the three bedrooms having its own bathroom. The kitchen is wonderful and well appointed. And we loved having the outdoor grill and dining area as well. No matter how warm the temperature gets you always feel comfortable at the house as there are constant breezes circulating through it.

Mary and all of her staff including the house manager and cleaning staff are genuinely concerned that everything in the house is up to the standards they advertise and that you are having a great vacation. Everyone was extremely helpful with information and getting our questions answered. The property is impeccably maintained with lovely furnishings, comfortable beds, plenty of beach towels and any amenity that we could ask for. It is clear that a lot of thought and caring went into the creation of this villa and to its upkeep as well.

There are many beautiful beaches on the island but our two favorites were Grand Anse and La Sagasse. There are many fine restaurants to try as well. We loved the Aquarium as well as the restaurant at La Sagasse beach. We also enjoyed our private lobster dinner prepared for us by Roger on Hog Island. It was a truly unique experience. The people of Grenada are extremely friendly and always willing to help. We found this out when trying to drive around. The signage is a bit lacking, but there is always a friendly face willing to point you in the right direction. We all felt very safe on the island as well. As far as getting around the island, we rented a car, but it seemed as if bus and taxi transportation was readily available as well.

I would definitely recommend this villa to anyone who is interested in vacationing on Grenada. This is truly a spectacular property and it will only enhance your stay on Grenada! I couldn't agree more with previous guests -- it is simply fabulous!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hibiscus Villa

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

The pictures and words cannot describe this property adequately. You cannot feel the constant breeze that makes the air conditioned rooms redundant. The different views of the ocean and bay are spectacular. The property is pristine and has every amenity required. We spent two weeks there and never used the dining area. The outside patio area is just too enticing. The kitchen is marvelously appointed for the most discerning chef. The bedrooms are nicely separated from the main area to provide privacy and quiet. Each bedroom has it's own en suite.

I have never met the owner, but after a couple of emails and a few telephone conversations, I feel like a close friend. Mary is very genuine and is concerned that her guest have a great experience. She has appointed a very capable and affable staff. They are unobtrusive and yet efficient.

Grenada is a very intriguing island with much to offer. If you like fresh fish, it is very easy to source each day. Local fresh produce is in abundance. As beautiful as the island is geographically, the people are what makes it so alluring. They are warm and friendly and very engaging if you are. I had no safety concerns whatsoever. I was impressed with the police presences interacting with the local populace. There was a true respect. Beaches are too many to mention. Grand Anse is beautiful and busy if that is your thing. I preferred the secluded beaches in Bathway and the northern coast. All very safe and pristine.

I would recommend Hibiscus Villa and Grenada to anyone contemplating a vacation to the Caribbean. The only disappointment you will have is when you have to get on the plane and leave for home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review