reviews for: listing #26996 - Seal Rock, Oregon House rental

The Guest House at Seal Rock
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,150 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

This House is a Jewel

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

I chose this house for my only vacation this year, based just on the pictures on line, so I was a little apprehensive about what I would find when I finally pulled up to the front door. The house turned out to be everything I could have hoped for, and more. My friend and I were like kids on Christmas morning as we unlocked the door and excitedly checked out each room. We were absolutely delighted and I only hope I get the chance to go back again, and again.

The house was clean and had lots of little touches that made it feel as comfortable as my own home. The kitchen was stocked with coffee, tea, crackers, spices, even a bottle of vodka in the freezer (obviously at least some of these were left by previous guests). The view from the panoramic windows and the decks is breath taking. Getting into the bed each night felt like slipping into a cloud. There were vases of fresh flowers throughout, though I'm not sure if a previous guest left them, or if they were courtesy of the owner. There is a flat screen TV, even DSL internet though we didn't use it, portable fans, heaters, extra blankets and pillows, books, games, CD players, a DVD player, and candles.

The second bedroom has its own separate entrance off the front courtyard, a few feet away from the front door to the main house. That bedroom's bath does not have a shower, so guests using that room have to shower in the bathroom that is off of the main bedroom in the main house. This wasn't a problem for us and I can't imagine it would be for most people, but you should be aware of it.

We drove south to Yachats (delightful little town) and to the sea lion caves; we spent several days in downtown Newport. One of our favorite restaurants was a little north of downtown Newport on the right, Szabo's. We enjoyed the nearby Ocean Beaches Glass Blowery. Mostly we enjoyed walking down to the cove, walking along the beach, and sitting out on the deck with a bottle of wine and binoculars to do some whale watching.

A great house, a perfect vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Wonderful house with scenic view

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon and stayed six nights in the Guest House. We had a great experience and really enjoyed staying at the house. The owner very thoughtfully left us a card and flowers in honor of our recent marriage - attention to details like that are on display throughout the home. The house is on a small bluff overlooking a rocky cove with a gorgeous view. We saw an eagle our first morning and enjoyed watching the oyster catchers and other birds. For storm watching, it was perfect. We loved hearing the waves crash and the wind blow. On calmer days, we walked down into the cove and explored. The house is very conveniently located on the coast, we did day trips north and south.

The kitchen is very well equipped. We cooked most of our meals at the house and found any type of tool, pot or pan that we needed. And the view while you chop and cook is excellent! The living area was comfortable. We didn't use the second bedroom except for taking photos off of the porch but it would have been great for another couple or children, if you have them with you.

The fireplace was perfect for chilly nights and there was plenty of firewood provided. The house was decorated for the holidays and we enjoyed that special touch. When you sit in the living room, you don't see other houses so you feel like you have the world to yourself.

We live in Georgia so were trusting reviews of others that this would be a perfect place for a honeymoon - the photos provided are very accurate and the descriptions are accurate as well. If you are planning to work while you are there, we found the internet to be a little slow but that is a very minor remark. We highly recommend this property and appreciate the special touches that the owner provides.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great coastal getaway

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

This was a wonderful, cozy two-bedroom rental home sitting on a bluff right above and in view of the ocean. One can quibble about whether this is a cove exactly, but it certainly has a great view of the ocean near the shoreline, and it feels very private thanks to being situated among trees that pretty much screen out neighboring homes. There are many large rocks for climbing and exploring along the shoreline below.

The home was clean and well-appointed, including very good kitchen facilities, which encourages one to stay put and enjoy the incredible views and the sound of the surf versus hunting for every meal. The kitchen is conveniently stocked with many little items--spices, condiments, paper products-- that one might not think to bring, and so eating in can still be gourmet. The main room, though not particularly large, is comfortable and is designed to take full advantage of the views. The second bedroom with half-bath and separate entrance would not be an ideal set up for some, but would be outstanding for others...maybe a family with a teenage child, or two couples.

Though this is not an ultra-modern or new home, it is well-maintained and includes key modern amenities like a good wi-fi signal. Our only surprises about the property were positive ones. The house blends in well with its lush green surroundings and, in our view, provided the perfect Oregon coastal getaway experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to relax.

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

My wife and I came here to get away for a long weekend and just loved this gem overlooking a beautiful section of the Seal Rock area. This place has been so well equiped and decorated that we don't know what else it could need except for dried rosemary and a couple more food prep knives but hey, big deal. As I told my wife, if this place doesn't have what you need then you probably don't really need it. VIEW - WOW! Comfy - double WOW! We enjoyed the bench at the private cove with the tide in and then the beach and tide pools to the north at low tide. We got to sea some sea lions and collected some mussels for later that night. Too bad I had the worst cold in a decade and my wife got the hives (first time ever) just before we went there. We still made the best of it. Loved the crackling fire each evening. The WiFi helped my wife use her iPod to video Skype with her sister in Uruguay and brother in Chile.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just booked our third time at this wonderful home

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Just got back from a week a the Seal Rock home. The website is completely accurate; no surprises here. Absolutely clean, wonderfully comfortable beds, fully stocked kitchen. A note asks that if you use up something (as we did the mayonnaise) that you replace it. It seems to work, since there was pretty much everything one could want in the kitchen. Yes, we bought more mayonnaise.

Our sole complaint - which we've passed on to the owners and I bet it'll be fixed - is that the lights in the upstairs bedroom are too dim for my aging eyes to comfortably read many hours into the night.

Absolutely a wonderful place and a bargain for what you get.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Private cove!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

A low key, unpretentious beach house with character. Views are spectacular. Short walk and you are on your own private cove. My malamute was able to run free and I only happened upon two people on the beach during my entire stay. And this was August! If you want to escape the tourists and hear the ocean roar this is the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect coastal getaway

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

This house is about as perfect as we could imagine! The panoramic views from the living room are breath-taking. We rented for 10 days in Oct/Nov, including a week of daily rain. But we didn't feel too deprived with the constant entertainment of waves breaking right outside our windows. Of course, with our dog along, we took lots of beach walks in the rain. The covered patio was great for removing wet rain gear after we returned; we could leave our wet clothes out there to dry a bit before our next outing. Beach access is easy, and you have your choice of beaches with off-shore rocks from the house north or wide-open ocean views not far south of the house. The beaches are wide and firm, making for easy walking.

The house is very well-furnished with lots of "homey" touches. Kitchen is well-supplied with basic provisions; nice not to have to buy a whole package of whatever when you only need a little bit during your stay. Kitchen is a bit cramped for two to cook in, but still workable. We prepared most of our meals "at home," enjoying that remarkable view while we ate.

Newport is not far to go for supplies, with lots of fresh seafood available. Great galleries to visit, too. Be sure to check out Bob Meyer's work at Ocean Beaches Glass Gallery in Seal Rock. Earthworks Gallery on the north edge of Yachats has museum quality pieces on display: great for looking, even if you don't buy (we did!).

Lots of wonderful parks and lighthouses to explore up and down the coast. Suislaw Nat'l Forest permits dogs on trails and is great for hiking.

In summer, I imagine there are crowds of people, but fall proved to be a great time to visit. We only wish we lived less than 2500 miles from Seal Rock, so we could return to this house (and the coastal area) more easily!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review