reviews for: listing #27002 - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Bit O'Beach Heaven-Oceanfront/Best deck on the beach!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $400 /nt
    $1,700 - $2,500 /wk
    $5,000 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

All about the deck.

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

it is hard to describe the value of the huge deck. Imagine being on the beach, but without the sand! It was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Heaven

Review submitted: July 26, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We chose this house based on all the great reviews and we were NOT disappointed! Nice, quaint little house with plenty of beds to accommodate all 9 of us. We had 4 teenagers that loved touring St. Augustine which is literally only a few minutes drive away and full of fantastic shops and restaurants. Our 3 little ones loved the private beach that was located just outside the back door. Loved it and can't wait to come back!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Home!

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Awesome beach home. The family and I, all 8 of us, had a fantastic stay at the Bit O'Beach Heaven beach house. The house is perfectly located close to all the sites and attractions St. Augustine had to offer. The kids loved the huge deck and walking directly out to the beach to boogy board. We watched beautiful sunrises from the deck all week long and had great sunset walks along the beach. The house has all the amenities of home and so much more. Just a wonderful home. We made lots of great memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As promised, great property and large deck.

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

As listing described, clean well-maintained property. Nearby activities, attractions and restaurants complete the package. If serenity is your goal, the privacy of your own beach front provides just the ticket with easy access only steps away.

The owners made the arrangements easy with clear instructions. I would definitely recommend to my friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful beach, luxurious pool club

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

Clean, modern feel. Right on the beach. Coffee every morning and "happy hour" every night on spacious and beautiful deck. Welcoming owners. We had small children who could not swim in ocean, so paid $200 to swim at the Serenata Club pool just down the road. Kid friendly and lovely. We swam there every day, and I think it was the best $200 we have ever spent in our whole life. We did not want to leave!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Had a last minute idea to celebrate my mother-in-law's birthday in St. Augustine over the MLK, Jr. weekend and had a terrible time finding a place to accommodate the family. Luckily, I saw Bit O'Beach Heaven on-line and was able to secure this beautiful beach house on very short notice. The house was really wonderful. Not only was it directly on the beach, but it was 10 minutes away from St. Augustine! My two little girls were ecstatic with the beach as we were with the cleanliness and spectacular location of Bit O'Heaven. While there, we all enjoyed seeing a "moon-rise" and a "sunrise" for the first time ever. Spectacular! Thank you Rick and Jenny for sharing your wonderful beach home. Neil St. John Rambana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Bit 'O Beach Heaven

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

In Florida for son's wedding and had an absolutely marvelous stay at our beach house. It was friendly and very well appointed. Had a fantastic deck which we just about lived on when we weren't out and about. It felt like home

We enjoyed several restaurants nearby and liked its proximity to St. Augustine..

We are planning another trip to this house
sometime next year. I liked it so much I wanted
to buy it but unfortunately not for sale. HIGHLY
RECOMMEND IT! Owners were anonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect place to vacation for a family

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This is our second year for our family to vacation at Bit O' Beach Heaven. This is a property so well equipped that you feel at home. The owners are always easily accessible if a problem should arise. With in a short driving distance you have access to some of the best dining facilities around. As you stroll down the beach, the peaceful setting reveals the very reason you reserved this vacation. This year we had the blessing of witnessing the birth of baby sea turtles as they made their great escape to the ocean. We would highly recommend this beach home. The memories our family made will last a lifetime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home away from home!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Easiest vacation ever! From making the reservation, to checking in, to going down to the beach, to checking out....it couldn't have been easier. We all loved the fact that we were steps from the ocean and with the big deck off the upstairs family room we were in heaven! Everything about the house was comfortable and it was definitely a home away from home. Would definitely love to come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to relax

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We had a WONDERFUL time!!!! Your home was just what we needed. Very well stocked and easy to relax in and out.. Deck was great to watch dolphins, boats and waves from. Father-in-law said he thought he had the best 80 th birthday there. He got out into waves and got down in sand to dig in sand. Which is something for him he had a stroke a couple years ago and doesnt move well. Kids even commented they want to come back to your home! They felt in was the best one in the 15 years we have done this. Teenagers dont give their thoughts very often and when they do and it was great that's saying something Son even said he wanted to turn around and not come home. Randy and I enjoyed our 28th ann. on beach relaxing and day dreaming. Home was great to cook in and sleep was great. No complants from us. Now I just need to start saving for next years trip!!! Hope to be in touch with you around Christmas time to set up time for june agian!!! Thank you for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable Beach Home

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

My wife and I spent a portion of winter 2012 in this home. We selected the property because of its location (right on the beach) and its proximity (10-12 minutes north of St. Augustine). Groceries and other day to day supplies are less than 10 minutes away. Having a car is strongly recommended as there is not much within walking distance.

The home itself is comfortable and well appointed. There's a small but cozy living room with a flat screen TV, a fully operational kitchen, a great little BBQ (for when you feel like cooking with fire) and of course, the deck. The east facing deck is certainly one of the highlights of this property where you can watch the sun come up with your first cup of coffee. The beach itself is not particularly busy, which certainly appealed to us.

The listing is accurate as the photos and description do reflect the property. We would respectfully suggest that there's enough bed space for only eight people, before you start overflowing to the couch and other 'secondary' sleeping arrangements.

Overall, we distinctly had the impression that this was a family home (as opposed to a corporate rental property) and as such, was appointed accordingly and had a nice 'lived-in' feel. We found it a clean, very comfortable home for the two of us and our pooch.

In conclusion, we felt we received good value for our money and we enjoyed our time on the beach in the St. Augustine area. I would not hesitate recommend this property to a friend or relative.

As for us, we'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Much needed family vacation

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the week's stay. Our three adult children whose families stayed only two nights each this vacation plan to come for the whole week next year. We'll need to find two places! Although older, the home was spotless, well stocked with household items & well maintained with plenty of room to relax in the multiple seating areas. Even though pet-friendly, everything was fresh and clean. We particularly loved shell seeking, watching the sunrise from the deck and walking on the beach. There are wonderful resturants nearby. My daughter will remember it as the place where her soon to be husband proposed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Happy Vacationers

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This house and beach access looks just like the pictures. Directions to house are clear and easy to follow. Our family has rented this home for a week in the summertime for the past four years and plan to do so again next year. We have always found it to be clean and comfortable with the amenities mentioned in the listing. We especially enjoy the large upstairs deck for viewing the ocean and the ocean only being a few steps away. The owners are available by telephone for any questions or problems. There is a house book that spells out both owners and renters responsibilities. It also has helpful information on activities, attractions and restaurants in the area. We used to live in Jacksonville and visited the beach on a daily trip basis. Therefore, our vacation is spent pretty much staying at the house and enjoying the beach with our son, his wife and our two grandsons. The beach has never been crowded. We would recommend this home to anyone wanting a good beach experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bit O' Beach Heaven

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Perfect property for families with kids! You have all the supplies that you need at the house plus a secluded beach. Compare to other properties and notice no upfront fees are needed until 30 days prior.
This was a big selling point for us. As for the review for the family from "Hawaii": They were trippin' or trying to get a free ride. I'm thinking alittle of both. Hope to rent from you again, Rick and Jenny!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This was our 4th family trip down to Ponte Vedra. I can honestly say, it was our best. The house was great. It had everything our family needed. It was very clean, very well maintained and plenty of room for 7 people. We loved eating breakfast on the deck every morning and watching the dolphins swim by. We spent many hours playing, relaxing, fishing and walking on the beach. We spent a day in St. Augustine (10-15 minutes away) site seeing and shopping and went deep sea fishing. It truly was a GREAT vacation for us. I would highly recommend staying here. We are already looking forward to coming back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

How can you not feel like you are at a Bit O'Beach Heaven here?

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

What a wonderful location and place this is. The house is clean, well kept and spacious with plenty of room. It makes you feel at home. The deck is truly a wonderful place to enjoy breakfast and dinner as the sun is rising and setting or to just relax and listen to the sound of the waves. The beach is great and has lots of soft sand with areas to find shells too. The house has all the things you need handy while enjoying your time getting kissed by the Florida sun. I would highly recommend this location for a family vacation or if you want to just relax.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The "Hawaii" Review is Wrong!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

My family stayed at this home earlier this year and had a wonderful time and plan to rent it again later this year. We intended to write a nice review after our stay and just now got around to it but noticed the bad review from "Hawaii" in the process. That is so unfair!!!! The Carney's were wonderful. They met us at the home to show us around and made it perfectly clear that if we have any issues or problems to let them know and they would take care of it as quickly as possible. We had no issues. We thought the home was great. It was comfortable, well equipped, clean and was perfect for our family. No problems at all. The idea that the furniture is old or soiled or torn is absolutely not true. We found the kitchen to be well stocked with plenty of glasses, plates, cookware and more. We thought the home was everything as adverised at a very fair rate.

We cannot imagine that the Carney's would let their home go or not attend to the needs of their guests! It was one of the best rental experiences we have had since renting homes for our vacations. We would recommend this home to anyone! Very comfortable with a great deck right on the ocean along with our own catwalk leading out to the beautiful uncrowded beach. Fabulous! That is why we are coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The worst rental ever encountered

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Dilapidated, run-down house in serious need of maintenance and repairs. Every room was dirty, almost every piece of furniture stained, worn, or old. Our first day was spent cleaning..list of items in need of attention is staggering, the condition of this house is grotesque and a gross misrepresentation Bottom line: This house is completely undeserving to be offered as a rental' everything was either worn, soiled, dirty or broken. The bedding is gross, furniture spray pained and peeling off, no operable windows, duck taped shut. this is a disgrace.

NEVER reccommend this property to anyone.

Owners response: This is a difficult review to respond to because it so untrue. There are no stains, and nothing soiled, dirty or broken. This is our second home. It is a beautiful home we love and use often ourselves so we take great pride in making sure it is up to date, comfortable and obviously always perfectly clean. It is not a fancy home and not all of the furniture is brand new but it is an extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated beach home. We have had over 300 happy families stay at our home over the past several years (some come back year after year) with nary a complaint and certainly no bad reviews. That should say something. All of our guests (well, almost) love the home. The description and photos tell the story.

This particular renter never called us throughout their stay to have us correct any problem they may have had, which we always do. Only later did they email us a threatening letter with a request for a full refund. We would not do that so I suppose this is their way to get back at us. I do not know. I can only assume they tried their best to get a free rental.

Please feel free to call me or my wife, Jenny, if you have any questions at all.

Rick Carney

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 12, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Thanks for a great time at the beach. Loved all of the beach toys adn the grill. Your home is a great place to vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 20, 2006   Date of arrival: December 20, 2006

We loved the deck! Thanks for a wonderful place to spend our vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 20, 2006   Date of arrival: December 20, 2006

We loved the deck! Thanks for a wonderful place to spend our vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 7, 2006   Date of arrival: November 7, 2006

Thank you very much. We really enjoyed our stay. You never know by the pictures but your home was better than even expected. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review