reviews for: listing #27007 - Seal Rock, Oregon House rental

Coastal Jewel
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Beach House!

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

This house was wonderful. The views from the living room and master bedroom and porch were spectacular. Everything was tastefully decorated. Just a wonderful wonderful place to stay for a few days. Beach access was right next to the house and very convenient. Pet friendly - our dog loved looking out at the ocean every day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It certainly is a Jewel.

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

We have tried a few other vacation rentals on the Oregon coast but always come to the Jewel. Its a beautiful home with fantastic views. The home is very clean and has everything vacationers need during their stay. We particularly like it because of its seclusion but ease to get to. The owner is great to deal with and welcomes us with nice personal touches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home, stunning views

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

What a luxurious comfortable stay we had. We brought my brother from New Hampshire to the Oregon Coast for a mini vacation and to enjoy our coastline - so different from the East Coast. The home had every amenity we could have wanted. Beach access was close and easy and we even saw whales during our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommend this beautiful home

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

This was our first time to visit the Oregon Coast and "WOW" this house made our vacation very special. Coastal Jewel is not only a beautiful home, with a fantastic view, but had all the amenities needed for a very comfortable stay. As we flew into Portland, we were not inconvenienced with having to pack or shop for items for the house. The house was clean and very well maintained.
The location was perfect - private and yet close enough to a bigger city (Newport - 10 minutes drive) when we wanted a nice meal or went shopping.
The access to the beach is maintained by the county and is a little steep and slippery when wet - however, we had no problems going up and down and it is right next to the house. The north side of the house has complete privacy and there are no close homes - the south side of the house had several homes next to Coastal Jewel, but only one was occupied during our stay.
The pictures are accurate with some of the furniture being updated - this tells you the quality of the home. We always stay at vacation homes while traveling and this is one of the best!
Seal Rock is a small community with some interesting shops (glass blowing, wood craft, etc.) Driving south, we enjoyed the Cape Perpetua scenic area and the Hecata Head Lighthouse area, both are within 30 minutes on Hwy 101. Excellent walking trails and beautiful scenery at Cape Perpetua and Hecata Head had great shells and rocks during low tide. Florence has a small casino that we enjoyed for a few hours on a rainy day. Going north, Newport has a wide variety of shopping - everything from tacky souvenirs to stunning art pieces, grocery stores and a Wal-Mart and numerous restaurants. There are many scenic areas driving towards the Lincoln City area - we didn't spend much time at them because we enjoyed our time at the house so much that we only made short day trips in the surrounding area.
My husband and I had a great vacation and a large part of it was due to this home - and it did feel like a home, not a house for rent. I would highly recommend Coastal Jewel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful, simply wonderful

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

This beautiful home more than lives up to its photos and description. Breathtaking views, privacy on either side and the stairway down to the beach make the property even more special. My husband and I cooked in the well-appointed kitchen every night (marvelous fish from South Beach Fish Market in Newport) and took a side trip to Cape Perpetua, stopping for lunch at The Drift Inn in Yachats, both highly recommended. We absolutely loved our stay here and have vowed to be back!
Visitors from New York City (including a former Oregonian)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yes, it's that nice!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

When I first made our reservations, I thought there was no way this place could be as nice as it showed in the pictures. Well, turns out it was actually nicer. We had a great stay and almost everything was perfect. The owner was very nice and went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay. Even left us a beautiful bouquet of flowers as there had been a slight miscommunication on arrival time. Location is great. Beach is beautiful and very private. Only 10 minutes to Newport, 50 to Lincoln City (WARNING - huge outlet mall there. Wife may want to spend entire day there), but honestly this place is so nice you may not want to leave the house. Already planning a stay next year. Thanks for sharing your incredible home Dennis!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Our 14th yr wedding anniversary at Seal Rock

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The home was beautiful, the view was amazing. I must say this is one of the most relaxing homes we have rented. Everything we could ask for and more. We rent every year and this place is on the top of our list for next time. Easy access to the beach, watching the waves from the deck. Just breath taken. Thank you for allowing us into your beautiful home. The Pulsiphers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Breath Taking View

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

If you enjoy watching the ocean, walking on the beach and exploring the Oregon coast, this is a wonderful spot for you! Dennis, the owner, personally attended to any questions we had and his recommendations helped make our stay delightful. The home is comfortable, quiet and beautiful. You won't be disappointed by choosing it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

relaxing getaway

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

What can we say! This is the perfect getaway for couples. It is quiet, secluded and has a breath taking view. The sunsets are spectacular. We love this place and so will you! Only place we have ever stayed that we didnt have to bring our own special cookware; this house is worth coming back to.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Coastal Jewel - awesome

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

This house was exactly as billed - a perfect getaway spot in a classy, comfortable home. We were impressed with the panaramic views, good access to the beach (sometimes difficult on this stretch of beach) and general upkeep/appearance of the house. What a great place! Good customer service too. Highly recommend and we will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

An Enchanting Experience to keep us going until next year!

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

What a surprise and exciting pleasure to drive up to this home and open the doors to the most enchanting vacation home we've stayed at on the Oregon Coast! The photographs and listing couldn't even come close to our first impressions staying at the Crown Jewel near Seal Rock. We loved the great room atmosphere, double doors opening to the large master bedroom, surround sound, gas fireplace, the decor, contemporary and vintage art and comfortable furniture. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting out on the deck watching the whales and beachcombers as well as taking in a walk along the sand and tide pool beach easily accessible from the path next to the house in this small private neighborhood. The owner makes your vacation 'a true vacation' as you want for nothing from luxurious towels to very comfortable bedding! The kitchen is stocked with spices and small but expensive condiments. State of art appliances for those who cook throughout their vacation. We totally enjoyed a romantic spa with the jacuzzi looking over the ocean waves. It would be a good idea to install a few window screens in the future in order to listen to the ocean. Our stay will be one of many as we plan to return every year! This was a perfect jewel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing spot

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

My husband and I spent Christmas at the Coastal Jewell with our 2 furry companions. We have been coming to the Oregon Coast for over 22 years and have never found a place quite like this. The place was simply amazing and had everything you would ever need in a home rental. We enjoyed a few days alone and then were joined by our son and daughter-in-law. We had plenty of room and had hours of fun on the beach despite the rain, sleet and hail!
A caution only about the beach access as you must walk down a fairly steep path which leads to a step staircase to the beach. It was quite slippery and not suitable for anyone with any mobility issues.
There was a wonderful feeling in this home and previous guests contributed to the well stocked pantry and as we did, left our non perishable food for the next guest to enjoy.
It was a wonderful vacation and we will be back. Many thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Rental

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

My husband, two dogs and I had the pleasure of staying at this vacation rental for a week in November. What a beautiful home! The home has everything you could imagine and is a great place to relax. We enjoyed watching the winter storms as they came in. We are already looking at another time we can come back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

amazing and awesome home with spectacular views!

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Hello -

My husband and I and our adult son stayed at this awesome home in July. "Coastal Jewel" are the perfect words to describe this home. The ocean views from the home are spectacular and we would fall asleep every night to the crashing waves of the mighty pacific ocean. The home itself is beautiful inside and out and very clean and well maintained. We would buy fresh seafood nightly at a local market in Newport and make our own dinner in the awesome kitchen (while looking out at the ocean). We went Tide-pooling daily to explore the creatures of the sea - saw hundreds of starfish! Drove to Yachats daily to a great coffee shop. We really didn't want to leave the premises because of the beauty of the house and views of the ocean. There is a great walking beach where the house is located. Customer service from the owner was perfect. Our son is publishing a book so it was a perfect place for him to finish editing his book. We hope to make it back to the Oregon coast again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful rental experience

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

My husband and I found Coastal Jewel to be a wonderful rental experience. As I love to cook, I would look up from the cooktop to experience the beautiful Oregon vistas within such close proximity that it just took my breath away. We often sat on the deck( despite misty rainy conditions) and marveled at the amazing views. The owner phoned several times to take care of conditions in the home that were not working properly prior to our arrival such as the oven closure and the dvd system (which I must say did not interfere in any way with our stay at Coastal Jewel, and were taken care of immediately). Compared to other properties my husband and I have rented in the past, I must say the owner has been extremely considerate of all your vacation needs; I can't praise this rental enought. 5 stars +. A beautiful property in and out!
Kathy and David
St. Louis, MO

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, peaceful home

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

The stereo wasn't working when were there, BUT it was a great stay. Beautiful, peaceful, just the sound of the ocean. We would stay again certainly. Even with the rainy weekend I can't imagine a better view, or a better time, we saw whales from the front room windows.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

This beach house was 9 hour drive for us from Vancouver, BC along the 101 Coastal highway. The drive was nice but the destination was spectacular. Location is unique as it has the only beach access path for 1/4 mile in each direction. Elevation above the beach makes for beautiful and private views. Closest town is Newport, which is charming but lacking in fine dining establishments during the winter. Interior is functional and tasteful. A perfect weekend destination for a romantic getaway.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

This home is flawless, with every amenity thought of. You won't find a better view on the Oregon Coast.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 18, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

The Coastal Jewel is exactly that! Private, spacious,
fully equipped, handy beach access, miles of lovely
white sand/uncrowded beach, great beds, tastefully
decorated, panoramic views from everywhere,
sunsets not to be believed & a totally restful home.
Other beach towns & shopping nearby....all in all
the perfect vacation spot!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

This is a wonderful home and is very tastefully decorated. Very quiet & secluded, and well equipped. Open floor plan makes it feel much larger than it is.

We will be back and highly recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

Everything is as advertised and, in fact, exceeded expectations! This is a wonderful home. Clean, quiet, fully furnished, with a fantastic view and easy access to miles of beautiful beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a vacation dream

Review submitted: July 11, 2008   Date of arrival: May 28, 2008

we have rented vacation homes and villas before. this rental home was right up there with the best of them. i have wanted to go to oregon for 10 years and finally made it. we went in late may early june and the weather was a bit nippy. the view and amenities were perfect the description doesn't do this property justice. i just wish we could have stayed longer, but we wanted to see all of the oregon coast. so very relaxing and the view was spectacular. we are from new orleans so we never travel for the food because nothing beats our restaurants. we went to the pizza place it was o.k. the sushi place down the road was awful. we bought snacks and champagne and just enjoyed the surroundings. if you rent this property you will not be disappointed. have a great time you'll !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

True Pacific Northwest Experience

Review submitted: February 20, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

When you take a look at the photos for this home you will get the "tip of the iceberg" glimpse into what this vacation home has to offer.

My Family and I stayed in this Seal Rock, OR. property for two nights and we had a wonderful time. Access to the beach is just outside the door and the beach area has an incredible variety of things to explore. Finding fossil clams and playing on the curious rock formations were highlights for my kids.

The community of Seal Rock has a high quality sushi restaurant and the Oregon Coast aquarium is about 10 minutes away which provides for entertainment on those few rainy days that occur during the winter months :)

We had fun preparing many of our family meals in the spacious kitchen. The locally caught crab is always a treat. The home itself feels brand new and lounging in front of the fireplace or in the jetted tub was the perfect way to get ready for bed.

If you want to have the ideal Pacific Nortwest coastal experience this is the place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review