reviews for: listing #27051 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

Silver Lake Waterfront Big Home with Great Beach!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Neighborhood
  • sleeps  17
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,100 - $3,900 /wk

sort by:

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We held our family vacation on Silver Lake, this year. Our children are older and spread out, so we always try to have a family vacation, every summer. This was their choice to go to Michigan, because we enjoy doing activities outside. The home was well kept and maintained. We were disappointed, because the house is actually on the cove and not right on the lake. The pictures on the web site are deceiving, they make the inside of the house look bigger than it is and the kitchen is small. We only had five people in the house and it was crowded in the kitchen. The main dining table only had six chairs, which was ok for us. The street the house was on, is cul-da-sac and it has very little traffic, which was nice. We walked around the neighborhood and the homes are are very well kept. We enjoyed the large garage, since we had three cars with us and bikes. The extra fridge in the garage was great. The central sterio system was so nice to have and the lighted palm tree in the backyard and the tiki bar made you feel like you were on a beach, especially with the fire pit. We enjoyed the pontoon boat, especially since my husband and I have never been on one before. The dock wsa great to walk out on and see the fish and the large turtle that visited us every day. You can fish right off the dock, which was fun. We used the home as our home base, since we did alot of sight seeing. It is close to Traverse City which was real nice and close to a supermarket. Tina, the owner, was great with any questions we had and she went out of her way to help us. This made planning our vacation, that much easier. I would recommend this home for any occasion.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderfully relaxing vacation

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Our family enjoyed a fun and relaxing vacation staying in this home. We found the house to be clean and well-equipped with an abundance of facilities - there is even a separate cabin by the beach! There was plenty of space for everyone to relax and have fun. Our teenagers enjoyed playing games indoors or swimming, fishing and playing on the beach. We went on daily boat rides, and loved watching the sun go down over the lake as we sat by the fire or cooked out on the grill. It was the most relaxing vacation we have ever had, and we look forward to coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Dream Come True!

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

"What a beautiful get-a-way we had while visiting Traverse City. The fall colors were picturesque. We made a great pick on this home! Plenty of room for all our family. Remarkable how clean and well kept this home was. Previous places we stayed were not nearly as nice or maintained as this was. Owner takes pride in this home! The decorations were warm and inviting - very attractive. We will definitely plan another stay in the future. Maybe, this one will be a girls getaway on our Harleys!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girl's Getaway

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

We used this house for a girl's getaway weekend and had a splendid time. Plenty of sleeping space as indicated and very well kept. Nice convenient location. Floor plan is very roomy and the guest house is extremely cozy. Nice beach and amenities as indicated. The home was very comfortable and inviting. I would recommend this property for a family or girl's getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Get Away...

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

This was a wonderful get away and we will definitely be doing it again soon. Not only is Traverse City a great place to visit with a lot to do but the accomodations were excellent. The house was everything it was stated to be and more. The house was very well kept and nicely decorated. There was plenty of beds, bedding and comfortable furniture. It was so nice to have our own private beachfront for the week. The guest house is literally just feet from the water and looks like it is straight out of a magazine. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone. Our only regret was that we had to leave!
Kim D.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cannot Say Enough!

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

This house is amazing! If I ever bought myself a home on the beach, this would be exactly what I'd want. It has a rustic feel with all the "comforts of home" so to speak, and the owners keep the house in great condition. The tiki bar and bonfire area are just the icing on the cake. Take my advice and stretch out on the swing for a little catnap...you won't regret it!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would not recommend this property

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This house was very dirty. Lots of garbage left in garage and outside. The well water smelled awful - it smelled like rotten eggs throughout the whole house. Dishwasher and washer were stained dark orange inside because of it. Hot water heater only a 40 gallon capacity for sleeping up to 19 people. Ran out of hot water all the time. Had a maintenance man come by and he said water heater was set on lowest setting. Beach was not nice....couldn't swim because of all the vegetation growing in the lake. Toilet leaking in downstairs bath. Beds were very uncomfortable and there were no sheets/pillow for the pullout sleeper sofas. The pullout sofa in upstairs loft was awful!! Cable tv only worked in living room. Sound system didn't work and there were lights that were burned out in back. Also the cottage outside has no central air conditioning. Instructions state you have to sweep entire house before leaving or you may not get your security deposit back even though the owner told us the rental price included the cleaning fee. Owner held our security deposit longer than 30 days after vacating property. She promised to sent it between certain dates and when we didn't receive it she said she ran out of checks. She finally sent it and dated it earlier than when she mailed it. I would not recommend this property.

Owners response: Our home is very clean. We have a professional cleaning company come in and clean after each guest. If I were to arrive at a home and it was dirty I would contact the owner right away and demand it be cleaned immediatly. So I don't beleieve for one minute the home was dirty, I'm sure if it were this guest would have contated me upon arrival, not mention it six months later. The home doe's have well water and some staining doe's occur but doe's not affect the way the appliances perform. She never complained about the water smelling so we didn't know about it until the next guests arrived and complained about the smell. We then had our maintenece person check it out and found the water softner malfunctioned, so he corrected the problem. We have two hot water heaters at the home not one. Hot water heaters are set at a safe setting to prevent injury, many of our guest have small children and we would not want them to get burned because the hot water was set to high. This guest ran out of hot water because they did several loads of laundry then four people took showers. Any house would run out of hot water if it were used consistanly like that. No one else has complained about the comfort of the beds and there are plenty of sheets, blankets and pillows for all the beds. This guest could not find them, so I had a person from the cleaning company make a special trip to the house to show her the closet where the extra items were. The cottage does not have air conditioning and is not advertised to have it. Sound system worked fine for other guests, not sure what they were doing wrong. Occastionally lights burn out while guest are there. We do our best to change them when we are aware they are burned out, also there are extra bulbs kept at the house. The beach is nice and perfect for little ones to play in and we have a floating dock that is enjoyed by the older kids. Security deposit was held for 32 days. She called 2 days after they left and wanted her deposit back, I told her I would return it within 30 days that I was waiting on my new checks to arrive. When my checks arrived they had incorrect information on them so I had to wait a little longer to get the right checks. Did not hold her deposit intentionally. We do our best to make sure our guests enjoy their time at our home. Bringing a problem to our attention while you are staying there is the only way we can make it right, not six months later. Some people simply cannot be pleased.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a wonderful stay we had..........

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

I just wanted to write and let you know what a wonderful experience my family has had each time we've stayed here. This was our 4th time visiting and we haven't had any issues nor problems each stay. The house is clean and ready for us and everything in working order. I love that house, the warm and inviting feeling I get and how we all feel at home. I love the convenience of how if we need anything, it's right there in the house. I like the location...being close to town to grocery shop. I loved spending time in the back yard on those beautiful summer nights by the fire pit and taking the kids out for boat rides. We've been very fortunate that we can spend time here each summer and I look forward to coming back next year. I have been recommending this place to all of my friends and my coworker and his wife are looking forward to spending time at your place during the ski season this winter!

Thanks again,
Stacey H

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

family reunion

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

"We rented this property for our annual family reunion (10 people) in
mid-August. The house was ok, but we have stayed in nicer properties
in the area for similar money.
Here are our major concerns: 1. Water smelled bad the whole week. The
owner was receptive to this problem and tried fixing it, but the issue
was never resolved during our stay 2. Trash in the house when we
arrived - guests were on the honor system to ensure the house was
clean, and the previous guests did not abide 100% by that policy.
3. Appliance Issues - Dishwasher did not work effectively, we needed
to change gas in the grille on the first night, and the outside cabana
bar was dirty. 4. The beach is not swimmable, although it is
advertised as such.
On the positive side, it is a quiet neighborhood, plenty of fish off
the dock, awesome fire pit, and enjoyable floor plan on outdoor
deck.Hopefully that captures everything. I rated it "average - 3 out
of 5 stars"

Owners response: In response to the above review. 1)There was an issue with the Water Softner but was resolved during their stay, although it did take a day or so for the pipes to get completely flushed out. 2)The Trash and Appliance (dishwasher) complaint are completely false. The home is cleaned from top to bottom by a professional cleaning company after each guest and there was NOT ANY trash whatsoever left in the home. I never received a complaint call about the dish washer and no other guests complained about it not working properly. 3)We keep two propane tanks for the grill at the home and feel that they should be changed when one becomes empty, unfortunatly the above guests happen to stay when the tank became empty. 4) The outside Tiki bar is outside and can only be cleaned to a certain degree. 5) The Beach: In four years I have never had anyone say this beach is not swimmable. In fact it is a very nice beach with a swim raft and plenty of sand for little ones to play in. I understand we cannot please everyone. Most guests are absolutely thrilled when they arrive and see how awesome the house is. For the last four years this home has been booked solid from mid-June through Labor Day and this is the only complaint I have ever received. Unfortunatly the happy guests are the ones we don't hear from.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review