reviews for: listing #27191 - Asheville, North Carolina House rental

Mountainside Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $805 - $840 /wk

sort by:

Cozy, Clean and Quiet getaway

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2014

Only minutes away from Asheville but a private mountain retreat. If you want to be away from it all but still have the convenience of great restaurants and activities near by then this is the place for you. It was very clean and well appointed just as advertised. Will definitely stay here next time we visit Asheville.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent experience.

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and had an excellent experience. The manager and owner were very helpful. The cottage itself is nice, newer construction, well maintained, clean and nicely furnished. Plenty of dishes, silverware and cookware for a family of 4 to eat several meals. The setting is very secluded. You don't see anyone and it is very quiet. The road up to the cottage is good, it is gravel on dirt, but it is steep. Keep up your speed if using front wheel drive, or use 4 wheel drive. The first time up, unsure where we were going, we slowed down too much and got stuck. The owner came promptly and rescued us, driving it easily for us. Once we knew to keep up the speed, we had no issues, even with some rain. The hot tub was a nice touch after kayaking on the French Broad River. We went to Asheville several times and the trip was an easy one and scenic. We would look forward to staying here again if we get the chance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We stayed here during a vacation to the Asheville area. The location of the cabin is great in that it is outside of Asheville, but close enough to be downtown in minutes. The cabin itself is very comfortable and clean and has everything you could think of, plus more. We will definitely plan to stay here when visiting Asheville again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite place near Asheville!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

This cottage is wonderful. This is our 2nd stay here and we all agree this is probably our favorite place to stay near Asheville. It is spotless and so well kept. The kitchen has everything you need, and you can't beat the hot tub. It's just a really relaxing place. The driveway adds some extra excitement, which honestly makes me appreciate getting there even more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful weekend!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

My family and I had a great time this past weekend, including our lab! We have told all our family and friends how great the cottage and location was. We will definitely be returning!!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly as Advertised!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay! True to the ad, you get complete privacy and it's 15 minutes to the downtown Asheville exit. The road gave me a moments pause but my Outback made it up no problem. The property was very beautiful, clean, and inviting, especially the hot tub. There was a nice book of maps, local venues, etc. Easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Pisgah. And we especially enjoyed the Asheville breweries! I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Getaway

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful honeymoon at this cottage. The place is kept spotless and is so inviting. And talk about secluded! The best part is you are only minutes away from anywhere you could think to go or eat and the Biltmore is a mere 20 minutes away. The owners were so helpful and courteous. They answered all the questions I had promptly and we had no surprises at all. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway in the mountains. Asheville is such a beautiful town and there is so much to do. Whether you want a secluded week with your loved one, or a week full of nights out on the town and a relaxing hot tub to come home to, this is the place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful honeymoon!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Thank you so much for letting us stay at the cottage! We had a wonderful time! Everything was so clean and organized and the secluded location made it so easy to relax! We had a great time visiting the sites around Asheville.

We definitely will be back around our anniversary! We loved staying here. Thank you so much for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the cabin. It was the perfect size for the two of us and our dog. The kitchen was very well stocked with all the dishes that you might need. There is a great view off the back porch. The hot tub was a great way to start or end the day. Asheville and Biltmore are within about 25 mins so there is plenty of stuff to do and the notebook in the house was very helpful. It's a great place if you are wanting to spend some quality time with your significant other. We will definitely be coming back.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Pet Friendly Secluded Retreat

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

The cottage is exactly what we wanted. It was secluded but close to Asheville. The dogs enjoyed their walks around the property. I was suprised on how well the kitchen was stocked. I cooked a lot while we were there and was able to find everything i needed. The hot tub was very enjoyable after a long day. Would stay again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Best Cottage Get Away Ever

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the mountainside cottage.
It was worth every inch we drove up that driveway. Having that hot tub at the end of a long day exploring The Biltmore house was so worth it.
Not to mention;
Privacy, Full Kitchen, outdoor patio with table and chairs, gas grill, loft, living room, wi fi, Satellite TV,Super Bed and Bedding, and so much more.
The drive up is a little steep, we drove up in a front wheel drive Toyota Rav4 and had no trouble. There is a nice level parking space, and again I say it was worth every inch up the side of that mountain to have such a wonderful cottage.(Like New).
We definitely look forward to coming back and staying longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

My husband and I loved staying at this clean and private cabin for our anniversary. It had a great view from the hot tub on the deck and was nice and quiet. Definitely need at least a front wheel drive vehicle to get up the steep road to the house, but it's manageable. We made into downtown Asheville in less than 15 min and found plenty to do. We did not bring our dog with us this time but will definitely come back with him as it has a nice yard to play in as well. I would highly recommend this cottage to other couples looking for a nice getaway close by the activities in Asheville.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011. It's a beautiful house with skylights, an updated bathroom, and fantastic back porch with a relaxing hot tub. You definitely need a 4wd to get up the gravel path to the house. We have great memories of our trip and can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this fantastic place over Thanksgiving weekend and had a fabulous time! The owners were wonderful, communicated with us, and even accommodated our schedule after a work conflict prevented us from going on our originally planned dates. They were extremely hospitable and the house was VERY clean. We enjoyed the beautiful view as well as the hot tub on the back deck. The driveway was a little tricky to navigate with a sports car, but we appreciated the extremely detailed directions given to us by the owners. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our wonderful vacation

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

My partner and I have stayed here twice within the last one month. Of course the Fall season is sensational in this setting. We were charmed by the privacy and beauty of the surroundings. One feels at peace and so relaxed. The cottage is modern and fully equipped with no detail forgotten. We loved the dominant color of most walls, sort of a Tuscan gold, which is so nice. The kitchen is perfect..we made herbed scambled eggs and bacon the next morning after shopping at Ingles, which is not away. The sounds of the French Broad River greets you as you ascend onto the mountain road leading to the cottage. Once you wind up and up you start to feel the weight of the world lift and you are ready to relax. The hot tub on the deck was easy to use and ready to slip into as soon as you get there. We also loved the luxurious towels provided for bath and separate ones for the hot tub soak. There is a extensive ringed notebook on the dining table with indexes for nearby restaurants and dierections as well. The bathroom has a high level of luxury; large relaxing shower. We had an easy trip into Asheville, about 15 minutes or so away. Asheville has great charm. We also loved the Well Bred Bakery in nearby Weaverville. We went there for lunch and loved it. We wanted to get away from the noise pollution of Atlanta and this was the ticket, in a refined and very pleasing way. We have often stayed in B & B's, but this gives us complete privacy. We will of course be returning and look forward to going to Mountainside in different seasons for the changing views of nature. Thank you again for the wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Plenty of privacy yet close to Asheville

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

This cottage exceeded our expectations! Clean and well-maintained with updated appliances. Comfortable bed, warm shower, soothing hot tub. Even though we were in the woods surrounded by beautiful scenery, we didn't feel like we were roughing it at all!

Our only piece of advice, don't arrive at 11:30 at night! It was difficult to navigate the steep gravel drive because it was so dark. Be prepared to put your car in a low gear to make it up the drive without getting stuck (like we did the first time!). Once we knew what to expect, it was fine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you, thank you!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Even though it is a little late, I just wanted to write and tell you Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage in Asheville. We so enjoyed every bit of it and appreciate all the hard work you all have put in to it. It is definitely one of the most well designed, well stocked, clean, private places we have stayed in. Thanks again and we look forward to coming back. We have told some of our friends about your cottage and hope they will contact you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private & Peaceful, Exceptional vacation spot

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Words can not begin to describe how wonderful this place was!! The cottage is so remote and private that you feel as though you are on your own mountain. The cottage was cozy and inviting, the CLEANEST place we have ever stayed. The owner was exceptional to work with during the entire process and made it a hassle free trip. We appreciated the fully stocked kitchen and little extras that we didn't need to bring or buy as well as the binder filled with information and menus. Our dogs loved the freedom of walking out on the enclosed patio while we relaxed in the hot tub. Our only regret is not staying longer!!! We are planning a trip in October and would not think of staying anywhere but here!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

STAY HERE!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, relaxing, secluded pet friendly cottage - then look no further! My 3 dogs loved the big yard and the huge dog proof deck! (We have an escape artist dog and even she knew there was no way off that deck!)
The pictures do not do justice to this beautiful cottage. Beautiful hardwood floors, everything is tastefully decorated. The kitchen is stocked with essentials. The bathroom fixtures appear to be brand new. The bed was super comfy...I could go on and on.
My favorite aspect was the privacy - we never saw another car or person the entire time we were there.
Loved it and hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the cottage. The cottage and its private location was perfect for our private time together. We often talk about how much we enjoyed our stay there and expect to return for another visit. Everything was at least as good as presented and better than expected. We highly recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a private romantic place to enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Total privacy and Minutes to Asheville---says it all

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

The Cottage was immaculately clean, with all amenities. Very well appointed and decorated. The view is priceless, just enough brush and trees cleared for a perfect view. The rushing French Broad River is a pleasent sound through the deep woods in the evening. We heard a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers for a few days and they finally graced us with their presence one day. 15 minutes to downtown Asheville on the back way, River Road following the river.Very scenic and mellow, kick back and enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Property, Wonderful Host!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We had a lovely time at the mountainside cottage. It is clean, well-equipped, private and really gorgeous. Susan was a helpful and charming host, and we really felt like we were able to relax in the country while getting to know downtown Asheville.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cottage

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

My husband, dog Otto and myself really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was very lovely and comfortable. The location was perfect, close enough drive to downtown Asheville, but secluded enough to feel like you are miles away from it all. We had everything we could possibly need for cooking and enjoying lazy days at the cottage. The hot tub was wonderful and relaxing. The road up the cabin is quite bumpy, but after a couple times up and down we got used to it. Definitely recommend this cottage!!! Comfortable, cute, and reasonably priced and the owner was very nice and easy to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

The cabin was fantastic. Again, as everyone says, the pictures do not show how cute this place really is. Well decorated and a great homey feel. Loved the outside hot tub and the secluded area. The drive up the steep hill was definitely, ..... interesting. We laughed about it a lot though and still are. We have recommended the place to friends and family already. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the cabin for a few nights after our wedding in November. We had such an unbelievable stay. Susan was a very gracious host and was so easy to work with. The cabin is spotless and the seclusion and privacy is priceless. We were referred by friends and will definitely refer others...and most definitely return ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

We were very impressed with Mountainside Cottage. Susan was very friendly and helpful. A severe snow storm knocked out the power days before our reservations and Susan worked extra hard to make sure that our stay was not affected. We will defiantly be returning and will highly recommenced mountainside cottage to our family and friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

We had a great time! My friends and I loved the house!
The pictures do not explain how lovely the location or
the home is! We had a blast trying to get up the hill!
We are definitely coming back for a visit! Thanks for
all the info on the surrounding sites! Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

Thank you for sharing your cottage with us. We had a fantastic time and would love to stay there again! You have such a great place! I wanted to let you know that we have used VRBO several times, and you are one of the best and easiest people we have worked with. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

This cottage was great, our family will never stay in a hotel again when we visit Asheville, and we visit 3 or 4 times a year. When we walked in it felt like home, it was spotless, well decorated and the hardwood floors were beautiful. The best part was the hot tub on the totally private back deck. The lighning bugs and stars lite up the sky like we have never seen. This would be a great place for a small family wanting to get away, it is so close to everything there is to do in the Asheville area. The cottage was completely private, its in the middle of 3 wooded acres. The drive up the hill is fun!
Thanks So much Susan and Kerry, we will definitly be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

This cottage is adorable! We loved that it was so secluded and private but yet so close to skiing, dining and other attractions. The hot tub on the balcony MADE the trip. The only thing is that the drive to the top of the mountain gets pretty steep and you should make sure to have good tires or drive an SUV. Internet access would have been nice, but nonetheless, we will be staying here again for sure!

Owners response: CHELSEA---THE NEXT TIME YOU COME BACK, YOU'LL FIND HIGH SPEED WIRELESS AT THE COTTAGE!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 10, 2008

WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY IN THIS CUTE LITTLE CABIN. WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.JUST BE PREPARED FOR A FUN FILLED DRIVE UP THE MOUNTAIN.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2008   Date of arrival: August 14, 2008

My stay was acutally hosted via these generous ladies with iTravex. After an adventourous drive up the hill to find the home I was delighted with the natural lighting streaming inside. The color scheme, decor, and amenities provided the perfect retreat for me during my private time away from a course in Downtown Asheville. My favorite was the MEMORY FOAM Mattress, and the quiet surroundings, and nature visitors. I felt I was safe. I will rent again if my joureys take me to this area again! Thank you. Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 6, 2008

This home was extremely clean and well kept. We had a wonderful time! They thought of everything we would need for our stay. We will be back to stay here again!!!

Owners response: Kristen and Jason were the perfect guests! They left the cottage looking as if no one had even been there- even with a dog!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review