reviews for: listing #27234 - Amelia Island, Florida Condo rental

Gorgeous Oceanfront Condo-Access to The Beach Club At Amelia
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sand Dollar Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,150 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Thoughfully furnished, outstanding location, beautiful beach. Owner was delightful to deal with.

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Love Amelia Island!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This condo was exactly as described, and even exceeded our expectations! It pretty much has everything that you would need to have a great vacation. Katie, the owner, is wonderful to deal with, too. We were in need of a getaway, and we're so glad that we picked this location and condo!

I would definately recommend the sunset boat tour to learn about the island, and a trip to Ft. Clinch is a must! They have a pier in the park that you can walk on that extends 1/2 mile into the Atlantic! We ate at many great restaurants, and had fun strolling through the historic district of Fernandina Beach. Our boys really enjoyed the icecream from the fudge shop there!

Such a great vacation, with many memories made.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful month in Amelia Island!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

I had a delightful month staying in this condo on beautiful Amelia Island. The location was great -- right on the beach and convenient to shopping. The Sand Dollar is reasonably close to the quaint little town of Fernandina Beach, where there are lots of restaurants. The condo itself was what I'd expected, based on the owner's description and pictures. It is very nicely furnished and decorated. The owner (Katie) was very easy and pleasant to work with.

I would have given this condo an "excellent" rating except for two things. First, the refrigerator is rather old and wasn't defrosting properly. The other appliances, though, were just fine. Second, the outside of the building was being painted the whole time that I was there, which caused some extra noise and inconvenience, including not being able to use the balcony for several days and having plastic put over the sliding glass doors for one day. The manager (who is great!) and the painters tried to minimize the disruption as much as possible, but still, it wasn't perfect. Since my stay was in the "off-season", I suspect a lot of major building maintenance is done then. I would suggest that prospective renters ask if any major building maintenance was scheduled during the time when they're planning their stay to avoid any unpleasant surprises like this.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for submitting your review. I so much appreciate the feedback. It is always my number one goal to have guests return year after year and I am happy that you would like to return as well. It was a pleasure renting to you. I called my handy-man and he was able to replace the drain line in the fridge that was causing it to not defrost properly. My husband and I are going there during Spring Break and are going to have the unit replaced at that time. I'm sorry that the painting and waterproofing of the building disrupted your stay. There is a great deal of work that goes into maintaining an oceanfront property and you are correct, we do try to get that work done during the slower months. Never the less, I'm sorry you had a few days where there was plastic on the deck. I have seen the pictures and the new exterior paint looks wonderful so it will be in excellent condition for you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Amelia Island. This Condo was perfect in every way. The owners have gone to great lengths to make this 'home away from home' clean, cozy and so welcoming! We had everything we needed and more to make our stay special. The rooms are spacious and warmly decorated and the ocean views from the deck off the Master bedroom and livingroom are amazing...beautiful sunrises in the morning and the moon glowing over the ocean each night. The pool, pool area and all the beautifully manicured landscaping around Sand Dollar Villas presents a picture at every turn! And we can't say enough about the very friendly and helpful staff!
Amelia Island is a wonderful place to visit... beautiful views, great places to eat(most with outside dining), lots of places to shop (the typical places and many very unique little shops), sunset cruises, dolphin watching and many other things to do and see.
Being able to call this Condo 'home' for a week made the toughest part of this vacation, leaving! We're ready to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Week from Heaven

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

My wife and I just got back from a week in this beautiful oceanfront condo. Comfortable bed, deck with a perfect view of the ocean, the sunrise, and the best - moonlit ocean views - wow! Furnishings great, too, and a most helpful superintendent with great 'local favorites' restaurant recommendations. Fantastic, clean pool, beautiful beach. Perfect week. Highly, highly recommend. Easy access moving in and out, too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

One of the best vacations ever!!!!

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We absolutely loved this condo and are looking forward to returning again. The unit was extremely cozy and warm and we felt at home! Everything we needed to make our week special was provided and the decor of the condo was absolutely precious!!! The owner was so nice and pleasant to talk to and the couple that manage the Sand Dollar went over and above to make our experience great! The only downside to the week was that it went by too quickly! Thank you for sharing your beautiful piece of paradise with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

I had a fantastic experience with both this location and this renter. Everything was handled very professionally and the condo was perfect. Location is awesome with direct access to the beach. Everything my family needed was provided! I hope to stay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect vacation

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

What a perfect place to vacation! The condo was neat, clean, cozy, and perfectly located. Katie has it set up perfectly with everything you need from books, to puzzles, to beach chairs, sand buckets and shovels. The condo is located 25 minutes from the Jacksonville airport and 5 minutes from everywhere else. In just a minute, you are poolside and in three you are walking on the beach. The beach is beautiful. It is large, quiet and clean. Downtown is fabulous with lots of small shops, great restaurants and great food. We would watch the sun rise over the Atlantic and watched the sun set over the Amelia River in the evening. Golf is great too. Our daughter said that it is the best vacation location that she has ever been too. She said she would not change a thing and that she and her husband plan to go back next year. My wife and I agree. Thanks Katie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

What a perfect place to vacation. The condo is beautiful and in an excellent location, 25 minutes from the Jacksonville airport and 5 minutes from everywhere else. The property is as neat as a pin and quiet. Katie has it set up with everything you need. In a minute you are poolside and in three you are walking on the beach. The beach is private, huge, beautiful and very clean. Downtown is terrific and relaxing with great restaurants and great food. Golf is great also. We watched the sun rise in the morning over the Atlantic Ocean and watched it set at night over the Amelia River. My daughter said that it is the best vacation place she has ever been to and can't wait to go back next year. My wife and I feel the same. Thanks Katie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Beachy Feel

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

This condo is a great place for a weeks’s vacation with the family. It’s north-facing balcony is on the shady side of the building and a true blessing during those hot summer days. The ocean is very close, and only a short walk down a private boardwalk. The beachy décor and comfy furniture make you feel right at home. The live-in couple who manages the complex are available 24/7 to keep things safe and running smoothly and to answer questions and give a friendly hello. Most important is that Katie is the nicest landlady you could ever wish for. She was so accommodating and fulfilled our every request.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Most Amazing Week

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

We loved spending a week in Katie's beautiful oceanfront condo! It was exceptionally clean and decorated as if it had come out of a Pottery Barn catalog. Katie is a true pleasure to deal with, as if you are family. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises and walks on the very wide, beautiful beach. The condo is stocked with boogie boards and beach chairs, even toys for kids. The cupboards and pantry's are full with dishes and utensils for convenience as well. It's also great because there are two full bathrooms, an electric stove and a nice deep sink. Great condo! Would go back in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Geat Beachfront Condo

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Katie,

My husband and I had a lovely time in your condo. Thanks so much for sharing your little piece of heaven with us. The beach in front of your condo was perfect for walking and collecting shells. Just as you suggested, we loved Arte Pizza and downtown Fernandina. We ran out of time!

Penny

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We love this condo!!

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

This was our third trip to Amelia Island and we just loved staying in this condo. It was very clean and thoughtfully decorated. After staying in other Sand Dollar units, we especially liked how you opened up the kitchen to the living and dining area. The kitchen had everything we needed. Our family enjoyed the board games that were provided in the living room. Is was wonderful being right on the beach with the large oceanfront pool. Our kids just loved it. Being on the first floor (parking on the ground floor and we were up one level) was just perfect. We loved not having to use the elevator and being able to get back to the condo quickly from the beach or pool. Katie was a real pleasure to work with and was very professional. David and Gerry (the on-site managers) were very friendly and helpful. We have already recommended this condo to friends and will definately be back again next year, hopefully for two weeks this time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

This was our first trip to Amelia Island and we loved it! Much less commercial than other beaches we've visited and so family friendly. The condo was clean, fresh, and beautifully decorated. We fully enjoyed our vacation and look forward to returning to this charming area.

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

This was our first trip to Amelia Island and we loved it! Much less commercial than other beaches we've visited, and so family friendly. The condo was clean, fresh & beautifully decorated. We fully enjoyed our vacation and look forward to returning to this charming area.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review