reviews for: listing #27242 - Windham, New York House rental

location location location- Windham Mt walking to slopes
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $800 /nt
    $750 - $4,500 /wk
    $1,500 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

AMAZING STAY

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing retreat in luxury, this is the place. The house is fully equipped and in perfect conditions. All is as stated in details. Moreover there is a considerable amount of backyard to this home, with a small river stream at the foot of the hill, furnished with chairs and even a fire-pit area for a nice bonfire, or some quiet time reading on the hammock.

It is conveniently located near most recreational areas and it is right at the entrance to Windham mountain. The owner made himself readily available to any questions and made the rental process as comfortable as possible.

This place is a must for any that enjoy a fair amount of luxury for the right price.

I am already planning my second trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Ski Trip for my Family of 15

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

I rarely write reviews but felt that I needed to express how happy I was with this trip. The property was amazing. Everything went through smoothly. My whole family had an excellent time. Fabio was great work with. I will definitely come back and recommend to my friends and family.

One thing to note is that we bought all our groceries from the city and stuffed it in our car. We found out that there is actually a market about 1 mile away! Next time we will just shop by Windham instead of stuffing our cars.

The property is very close by to Windham Mountain. Although it seems very close I suggest driving because it will be very long walk with all your gear. We drove and parked and when we got hungry we just drove back to the house for lunch instead of paying $$$ for overprice food at Windham. hope that helps.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect winter getaway!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

House was exactly as described and comfortably accommodated my group of 15. Fabio was a great renter whose speedy replies were appreciated. Hot tub was a perfect addition after a long day of shredding....the Windham shuttle picked us up right at the front door which was awesome! Can't wait to come back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

I have been renting a house for almost 5 years to celebrate my birthday and we FINALLY found the perfect one! Fabio was a phenomenal renter and his communication was quick and informative. The house was beautiful and comfortably fit my group of 15. The shuttle picked us up right outside the house which was so convenient and awesome!

The hot tub was a lovely treat after a hard day of shredding on the slopes and the pool table was even more fun. I can't wait to rent this house again next year and will recommend this house to anyone who wants to have a kick ass weekend with friends or family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect birthday weekend with friends and kids

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

Everyone had a great time. The house has a lovely cottage/cabin feel. The great room with gas fireplace was much larger than we thought it would be. Hot tub and dry sauna worked perfectly and were welcome additions. Literally directly across from the Windham resort. I walked it but driving over might be easier. 2 washer/dryers were helpful for wet ski gear. There's a large backyard with a perfect sledding hill.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would Consider Returning

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

While this property had every opportunity to be a great rental, the lack of maintenance and cleanliness was rather off-putting. It seemed as though the space hadn't been occupied - and therefore cleaned - in months. There were piles of flies and bugs in the dining room's overhead lamp; there was a questionable stain on the upstairs hall carpet that someone seemed to begin cleaning but forgot to finish cleaning; the kitchen was the opposite of appetite-inducing with crusty plates/flatware/cups/pots/pans, cobwebs in the island's cabinets, stains and stickiness on the fridge and cabinets, and its stove had a mind of its own which made it difficult to cook things that require a bit more precision than boiling water; the hot tub seemed great the first night but a potential lack of chlorine led to mildew and ickiness; the property seemed a little unkempt with random trash littering the yard, malfunctioning toilets and plumbing, non-functional or malfunctioning outlets (when a device was plugged into one of the outlets in the Kenya room, it turned on the overhead light...that's not the way an outlet should function and it made me a bit wary about the property's electrical safety); and everything in the house just seemed to have a film of "ick" over it. Which made me a little skeptical about what the $250.00 cleaning fee actually goes toward...In any case, clean that place top to bottom and it has so much potential! The weekend, unfortunately, ended up being more expensive than expected and the planned dinners essentially a bust because of the gross kitchen.

Owners response: Hello,
after receiving this review i contact David P. the person renting the house on those days August 30th to Sept 2th, and he said they had a wonderful time, thanking us for letting them use the house, and they will come back in the future...
minor details were chopping board was missing (which we'll make sure we get one asap) and they did not know how to work the exhausted fan in the kitchen, i wish i knew so i can help them.
propane tank when empty, which in this case i always tell the renter to refill it and i credit them.
I hope this Help, and if future renters have any question please
let me know. I will be happy to respond any questions.

Fabio G
Windham Chalet

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Peace and Quiet!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

The house is awesome! Exactly how it shows on the pictures the house looks small on the outside but very big on the inside. The jacuzzi was great...had an awesome time! The peace and quiet was magnificant expecially coming from the noisy Big apple. The internet wasn't working but Fabio (Owner) helped me get online. The only problem I had was the flies, bring a fly swatter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Third Year We Stayed

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Love this house. It's in a perfect location, close to town and walk to the mountain. We'll be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Third Year We Stayed Here

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Another great visit. Couldn't ask for more!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Cant wait to do it again

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Just got back from my weekend stay at windham chalet..we were a group of 16.. And the house was big enough for ALL OF US.. from the beginning fabio was informative and was able to give me an exact price right away.. The house was clean which was a plus.. Kitchen was my favorite of the house.. It was big and it included all the cooking utensils we needed.. The dining room was very nice and we were all able to sit and eat together.. Dining room relaxing and comfy especially the fireplace.. It also had the gameroom..washer and drier.. Bathrooms for everyone.. The hot tub was clean and HOt.. And the sauna was also a plus.. Everyone loved the house and it's relaxing feeling to it.. The montain is literally walking distance which was great... Can't wait to do it again.. Thanks fabio

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Windham Chalet Pres. Day weekend

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Our large group enjoyed our stay at the Windham Chalet over President's day weekend. The house was large enough for 3 families and very, very convenient to the mountain (Its closer than some of the parking lots) and close to the very quaint town of Windham itself. We are already talking about going next year. Fabio was very easy to work with and willing to help with whatever we needed

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent Place

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

We have enjoyed our stay at the Chalet and were very satisfied with all the aspects of the house. The house was able to accommodate our huge group and was close to the slopes which was a plus. Other features such as hot tub and sauna were also nice as well. Would definitely come back to the place again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

The house was just as described and the service while we were there was great. Common areas are perfect for relaxing after a day on the mountain. This was our second year staying here and we will definitely be going back next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Had higher expectations

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

We were a big group staying at this place this Thanksgiving weekend. The main purpose for choosing this place is the hot tub. They have a good sized hot tub. However I did not feel comfortable with the cleanliness of the hot tub. Actually I contacted the owner and he said he would contact the cleaner however nobody showed up. That was a bit disappointing for us since many people in my group could not use it.
The house is really big, the dining room can handle big groups. The living room is nicely decorated, and it was cozy.
There were 2 main complaints from everyone. Firstly the beds were not very comfortable, did not give good rest, which you crave when you are on vacation. And the showers were not adequate, most of them were very tiny preventing a comfortable shower.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 11

 

Excellent property

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Fabio,

Thank you so much for renting the Wyndham Chalet. We had a great time. Everyone loved the house. It was just perfect in every way. We are already planning a ski trip very soon. You can't beat the convenience to the wyndham mountain.
The hot tub amazing too. The rooms are large enough for kids and adults of all sizes. The whole property was very clean with a well equipped kitchen. Fabio was very proactive in sending us all the information and made the payment processing very hassle free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent property

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Fabio,

Thank you so much for renting the Wyndham Chalet. We had a great time. Everyone loved the house. It was just perfect in every way. We are already planning a ski trip very soon. You can't beat the convenience to the wyndham mountain.
The hot tub amazing too. The rooms are large enough for kids and adults of all sizes. The whole property was very clean with a well equipped kitchen. Fabio was very proactive in sending us all the information and made the payment processing very hassle free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderfull property

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Fabio,

Thank you so much for renting the Wyndham Chalet. We had a great time. Everyone loved the house. It was just perfect in every way. We are already planning a ski trip very soon. You can't beat the convenience to the wyndham mountain.
The hot tub amazing too. The rooms are large enough for kids and adults of all sizes. The whole property was very clean with a well equipped kitchen. Fabio was very proactive in sending us all the information and made the payment processing very hassle free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are coming back

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Hi Fabio, we had a great time staying at the Chalet and I hope you found all in order after we left.

We are coming back to race in the Warrior Dash again next August 13 and would like to know if the house is available that weekend.

Thanks

Glenn

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

Thank you Fabio for everything! We had a great time! I wish to get more days off in the future and visit your house again.

Thank you so much!
-Aleksey

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was great

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

The house was great, it was beautiful, everything was there, and the property was great :) I am hoping to be coming back in the future and will definately reccomend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time, great memories!!

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

This house was perfect for our family. We created numerous memories over the weekend that we stayed in the Windham Chalet. Fabio was very helpful and informative. The rooms were endless and more amenities than we expected; there was a game room, a volleyball court, a fire pit, a wraparound porch with adirondack chairs. The Master bedroom had a fireplace, a mini fridge, and an air conditioner. We had 10 members of our family stay over and there was plenty to keep everyone occupied. The sauna and the hot tub were very relaxing and the area was so quiet and calm, we didn't hear anyone, town is very close to the house as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

I would recommend this property for groups of all ages. A great home on a beautiful, large property. The house was clean and provided all-round wonderful amenities. Lots of space to relax outside, and a great view of the slopes. I believe it was a previous bed and breakfast, so all the rooms are well suited.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing vacation spot in the catskills

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

This was my second stay at the Chalet in Windham. Coming from NYC, it's amazing to be out in the great outdoors and the Chalet is a spacious home on a beautiful piece of land. The kitchen is huge which is great for cooking up lots of gourmet meals and eating out on the deck. It's extremely peaceful and quiet there too - perfect for bringing your yoga mat and practicing on the back porch or even in the large yard space. Go for a hike at nearby Windham trail and then relax in the hot tub or sauna when you get back. I loved this house for relaxing and being so close to the sights in the catskills.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

peaceful stay in windham

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

This was my second stay at the Chalet in Windham. Coming from NYC, it's amazing to be out in the great outdoors and the Chalet is a spacious home on a beautiful piece of land. The kitchen is huge which is great for cooking up lots of gourmet meals and eating out on the deck. It's extremely peaceful and quiet there too - perfect for bringing your yoga mat and practicing on the back porch or even in the large yard space. Go for a hike at nearby Windham trail and then relax in the hot tub or sauna when you get back. I loved this house for relaxing and being so close to the sights in the catskills.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FAMILY GETAWAY

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

BEATIFULL LOCATION. THE PLACE ITSELF WAS DIRTY. BATHROOM TOILETS CLOGGED. DIRTY HOT TUB. PROBLEMS WITH ELECTRICAL OUTLETS MOST OF THEM DID NOT WORK. WINDOW GLASS CRACKED. HOUSE NOT MAINTAINED BY OWNER.
I WILL NOT RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS NOR RELATIVES.
TUBE IN BATHROOM DOESN'T WORK.

Owners response: Answer from the owner to review from kim jhonson,

After i got the call from kim jhonson, we send the handy man right away to take care the issues that she was concern, she said everything is ok she just don't want to be charged for it, so she want to let me know, our handy man replace the water on the hot tub as she requested, and she agree that was clean, he explain to Kim that the electrical outlets are working, just switch on.
I send the cleaning lady as well to set up special bed for the mother on the first floor, we were very accommodating and on top of her concerns, i don't think is fear to judge the house or owner's the way she did, we understand thinks break and we try to fix it as soonest we can, unfortunately some times we find out that something break true other guess, so i thank you for let me know as soonest you got to the house and that's why i send the handy man right away, we have a cleaning team that go to the house every time some one check out, and change sheets, towels and wash them, from every room and clean the house on every room even if was not use. We try to please and accommodate every body, i'm sorry that this place don't reach your expectations

Fabio G.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review