reviews for: listing #27327 - Figure Eight Island, North Carolina House rental

Sandy Paws direct ocean front home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $600 /nt
    $2,600 - $4,000 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic rustic beach cottage

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had such a nice stay. The house is rustic and quirky, but was great for us (family of four + two grandparents). We loved the beach views off the back deck in the morning and the sound views in the evenings for sunsets. Owners are easy to reach and provide everything you need, including several surf boards, which is rare. Beach is basically deserted and beautiful. Beds were comfortable and linens decent.

If you are looking for a fancy beach house, then this isn't for you. For beach lovers who stay sandy all day, this is a good value on a spectacular beach. We would definately book again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sandy Paws

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This was our family's third stay at Sandy Paws over the past four years. The home accommodated 10 of us ranging in age from one yr old twins to a few 60+ yr olds. We used gates to coral the little ones which worked nicely. The beds are comfortable and each room has a private access to the outdoor deck. The great room has comfortable seating for games or conversation. The kitchen was accommodating with the large dining table nearby so the cooks could be part of the social hour. We brought bikes and enjoyed the bike trail on the south end of the beach. Even in July the beach was quiet and peaceful with a spectacular night sky. Our family has been coming to Figure Eight for 30+ years and hope to continue - Sandy Paws is a jewel but if you're looking for Putt Putt golf and water slides you'd be happier further south.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Beach House The Way It Was Meant To Be

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We have spent alot of time on different beaches in Southeastern NC, and Figure Eight is the best. Staying in the best house on Figure Eight is even better. It has all of the comforts and conveniences that you could want in a beach house, but it also has the warmth and character that only the efforts of the owners could achieve over a long period of time. We felt right at home the minute that we stepped inside, and enjoyed everything about it. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Just what we needed

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

This house is exactly what I have in mind when I think of a relaxing time at the beach. Plenty of room both inside and on the deck for 8-10 people to kick back and enjoy themselves, and the views are gorgeous. Just returned from my second visit, will definitely go back, and have already recommended it to friends. Host and hostess very friendly and responsive to any needs you might have.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

wonderful rustic getaway

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

2 roomy porches with rockers. Bedrooms have very comfortable mattresses and access to outside without going through main house especially nice for those who like an early morning swim alone. Kitchen has all needed cooking needs and appliances incl. dishwasher. the dining table that seats 10 is off the kitchen. Great room is just that a wonderful place to relax in at night. We have been coming for 5 years and would recommend this laid back vacation spot to anyone looking for a lovely unspoiled beach great for making sandcastles or surfing. in addition the outside shower is great for getting all that pesky sand off before coming inside. stores are 10 minutes away off island. if your idea of a vacation is theme parks, you will not be happy at figure eight. But if you want to experience summer at the beach and perhaps finding the well hidden turtle nests this is your place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best Deal on the Island!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

This house had everything we needed for 10 of us to celebrate a significant birthday for one of our group members. The main room, dining area and kitchen were open, sunny and roomy. The front porch was perfect for that early morning caffeine and conversation. The beach was right out the front door and the sound of the waves at night was peaceful and calming. Bedrooms were all clean and beds were very comfortable. We couldn't have asked for better accommodation--and the owners were friendly and fabulous to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Perfect Spot for a Group!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

This house had everything we needed for 10 of us to celebrate a significant birthday for one of our group members. The main room, dining area and kitchen were open, sunny and roomy. The front porch was perfect for that early morning caffeine and conversation. The beach was right out the front door and the sound of the waves at night was peaceful . Bedrooms were all clean and beds were comfortable. We couldn't have asked for better accommodation--and the owners were friendly and fabulous to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review