reviews for: listing #2739 - Vilano Beach, Florida House rental

Vilano Beach Oceanfront Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Excellent!

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

What a great place to stay on the beach! Awesome sunrises and you are close to anything and everything tourist related.
The waves breaking on the beach were very calming after a long cold winter in Illinois. Very limited beach traffic and great stars at night.
We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet Location, Great View!

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This charming A-Frame is just off the beach down a short path. The beach is a coquina beach, and is hard to walk on, but the view from the deck and from the bedroom loft was what this was all about. The bedroom loft is up a spiral staircase, and you could literally sit in bed and watch the sun come up. My husband and I will likely return to this location in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect beach getaway!

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

This is the perfect spot for a beach getaway! The place is stocked with everything you need and the property manager, Matt, was great about helping us out!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderfull place!

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

My fiancée and me had a great time. The deck was wonderful to just sit and look at the beach. I expect the beach was quiet because it was "off season" and that's what we like.
We biked to the town center using the side streets and the walkway to get to publics & to eat. It was a great way to get around.
The weather wasn't very co-operative, so we only swam once, but walked a lot. It was a good walk down to the breakwater and a great view of the St. Aug lighthouse.
We also walked over the bridge for the view and exercise. Incredible view of the heart of St. Aug.
On one beach walk we saw a shark attacking a school of fish. He came up out of the water chasing a Bonito.
The beach is sloped, and it gets deep quick. Great for swimming, but not for wading.
The house was perfect for us. We slept in the loft, but kept all clothes in the smaller downstairs bedroom.
The A/C kept the heat out and the kitchen worked well for us. They owners also had a great stock of towels and linens that were appreciated.
We will most likely be back next fall!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Florida Historic Coast Vacation

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

There are houses at the beach and then there are beach houses. Find the difference at Dolphin Run and experience the unspoiled, natural beauty of the North Florida coast. As a displaced Florida native, it was the ultimate coming home experience.
Surrounded by sand and sea oats, Dolphin Run stands closest to the ocean from its near neighbors in a classic residential area. No asphalt or soaring condos intrude on the view of the dramatic sunrises, passing flights of coastal birds, gentle dolphins, swimmers, shell collectors and faithful surf fishermen. Bring your binoculars – I forgot mine and regretted that I could not zoom in on passing ships or the brilliant night sky.
Vilano is a coquina beach and more lightly populated than the more well-publicize beaches. It offers greater vistas and privacy than those more favored by tourists who have yet to learn its location.
The central living area is comfortable and beach-worthy with hardwood floors and stain-resistant tables and counters throughout. Cell phone reception at any beach can be spotty. Ethernet cables, provided, offer quick broadband service, and basic cable is provided for the DVD and video player equipped television. Take advantage of the many books and magazines available or the board games which include such favorites a Monopoly, Life and Balderdash.
Watch the sunrise from either the large deck or the amazingly comfortable queen-size bed in the loft, accessed by a coveted spiral staircase. The additional day bed with trundle in the small, first floor bedroom will meet the needs of additional guests.
The kitchen has all every amenity needed to put together vacation-worthy meals. There are enough utensils, pans and dishes to satisfy your needs. The pantry includes sweeteners, basic spices and paper products. Outside there is a grill with a hefty supply of charcoal, lighter fluid and even matches. As with most public drinking water in Florida, you may find the taste not to your liking. I used bottled water for both drinking and making my coffee.
The fully-stocked bathroom has mountain of fluffy white towels and enough lotions and potions to fill in the gaps of items you may have forgotten to bring along, short of your most personal toiletries. Outstanding water pressure in the shower insures that even the most stubborn sand and salt water is washed away.
Dolphin Run is not a luxury condo at the beach. It is a casual beach cottage, Florida as it is meant to be experienced.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Sunrise View!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property this past January 2013 for the about 12 days. The kitchen was fully stocked as described, and there was a big grocery store nearby which was very convenient for us. The unit was a direct-oceanfront which has amazing view. We were able to see the sunrise every morning. The property itself was very clean and well-kept. The owner was always very timely in his response and helpful whenever we had questions. The property manager, Joe, was extremely kind and helpful as well! We will definitely com back. Highly recommended for couples!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

An honest review of our stay by a couple of 35 year old crazy Canadians (okay, not that crazy)......

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

My wife and I originally planned on staying for 3 nights until we found out dolphin run had changed to a weekly rental. So "we" decided to spend a week (Nov 11-18, 2012) instead; excellent decision, 3 days is not enough time to enjoy St.Augustine & the beach.

Communication with the owner was quick and easy. He's fast on the email replies and very helpful in getting past my VRBO virginity nerves. Booking, scheduling and payment was painless.

The location is A+, easy to get to and close to arterial roadways & access points, yet private enough to enjoy peace & quiet. Drive slowly - the driveway into the property is easy to miss, even after a week I was still having problems, especially at night; road lights are non-existent.

The unit is as pictured and described, clean and well appointed; the AC was on and we felt right at home; there was a blender, olive oil, salt pepper, wine opener, coffee maker with coffee mix and filters - point being, there wasn't much we needed aside from groceries, and Publix is less than 1/2 a mile on main road.

Being from Canada, we did not travel with our cell phones which proved to bit of a problem as the cable and internet were not working when we arrived, and there's no phone. It wasn't until Monday afternoon we passed by a payphone in town and called the property manager. They were over the next morning and by noon, all was well. Note: high speed is available, but only wired; we brought our iPad, but without WIFI it didn't work for us. I did not bring a laptop. However, this was a blessing in disguise as the seclusion allowed us to fully enjoy our vacation; being completely unplugged is quite liberating and I highly recommend it. We didn't turn the TV on after the cable was fixed.

Spent the mornings watching the sunrise from the patio and enjoyed walks on the beach (only steps from the property). At night the ocean waves were extremely calming and puts you right to sleep. Being a beach cottage, you might be concerned with privacy, but we never felt on display - the property is set back the perfect distance. The size of the cottage was perfect for us - there is a bedroom directly below the loft with a day bed where you could have up to 2 children, more than this and I think it would be a little crowded.

There are puzzles, games, & a collection of books. We cooked every meal & had the best vacation to date. No more all-inclusives, cruises, or hotels, we're VRBO-ing it - & will definitely be back to Dolphin Run soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Wonderful little beach cottage, very relaxing, unbeatable view. Close to St. Augustine but far enough away to feel very private, watched the sunrise every morning from the deck and the sunset on a couple of occasions down the street at Cap's!
Great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

On the Beach!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Loved this place! What you have here is a classic beach house. On the beach, you can see and hear the waves! 20 feet away from beach, we walked down to the beach every day. We are a family of 6 and this place was perfect. We brought our own air matress, moved some furniture and it worked great. Mark and Linda the care takers were always available and even gave a few tips on locating shark teeth on the beach. Which we found in abundance. Shells, teeth, sand dollars whatever a beach has was there. Thumbs up from Kansas City!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful little beach cottage!

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

This little beach cottage was perfect! Wonderful location, quiet area, helpful and friendly caretakers, the kitchen was well-stocked, everything was clean and comfortable, and the view was just incredible. You couldn't ask for a better view from the deck for dolphin-watching and just for hanging out on the deck relaxing. And it was so nice to be within walking distance to town. We rented bikes and had a blast biking and shelling along St. Augustine Beach, and just meandering around town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We'll Be Back!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

One of the most beautiful places I have seen, and if you are looking for a great place, then you will find it at Dolphin Run, everything from salt to toilet paper is at your disposal!! The views are amazing from either in the loft or the deck. Just a few steps to the OCEAN, OMGosh! Romantic at night listening to the ocean, beautiful by day every view! I would highly highly recommend this place to anyone, young or old. You can grill, shop, swim, seashell hunt,walk the beach, ride a horse, and what we enjoyed most was parasail!!! Dolphin Run is the place to stay, the only thing we didn't like was LEAVING, but We Will Be Back! Had one of the most memorable of times in our life, don't think about it just book, and enjoy!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect beach house!!!

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This was the first time that we had rented a beach house and were not sure how it would turn out. It could not have been more perfect. We have a family of 5 and were concerned that the house would not be big enough. It was the perfect size and the perfect location. The house is located in a residential area as opposed to being around a lot of condos and hotels. The beach was literally right out our back door. My husband and I could watch the kids from our deck while they were collecting shark teeth and shells. The house itself was clean and well stocked with everything you could possibly need. It even had a pair of binoculars to use. We often would use them to watch the dolphins play in the ocean. The loft bedroom faces the ocean. My husband and I would awake to the sun glistening on the water every morning. It was absolutely georgeous! The only actual bedroom in the house is very small, but it was just fine for our three kids to sleep in. (It has a twin bed with a trundle underneath.) The house is set up so that while it is not big, we never felt that we were cramped for space. The house is located very close to the historical downtown district. It's very strange because the Vilano beach area is closer to St. Augustine than the St. Augustine beach. We would spend our evenings visiting all of the downtown shops and eateries. It was the best vacation we have ever taken and would love to go back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Stay at Dolphin Run Cottage

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

This place is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. It is perfect for a couple or small family looking for some relaxing time and lots of beach walks. This place has character, warmth and an unbeatable view. You can watch the waves from the bed in the loft upstairs. We truly did not want to leave.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review