reviews for: listing #27393 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico House rental

Casa Buena Vida
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  San Antonio
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $759 /wk
    $1,000 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

casa buena vida

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Buena Vida for the month of March 2013 and were very much at home at this lovely residence. With three bedrooms, ample closets in each bedroom and comfortable furniture throughout it met and exceeded all our expectations. The house is well maintained, immaculate, very bright and open, with a lovely roof top deck, a great place to see the gorgeous sunsets and enjoy an afternoon siesta on the loungers. The kitchen is well equipped, lots of pots and pans of good quality and dishes for all our needs. The bedrooms, kitchen and living room are all equipped with propane heaters that are very efficient at warding off any chills during the evening hours. Wi-Fi was most welcome as we were able to talk to our grand children on face time any time we wished, and we were able to keep up with their many activities and did not feel so far away from family. The house is ideally located mid way between the Jardin and the Instituto, both of which are in easy walking distance. Cab fare in the city is most reasonable if you feel the need. The new Mega supermarket is an ideal grocery shopping location and has everything you could need. I particularly enjoyed the local people in the neighbourhood who were most friendly and eager to exchange pleasantries, the children are adorable and the family atmosphere is pervasive. Everyone seems to be enjoying life and happy. Eating places abound, the food is excellent and the service is superb. San Miguel is rated one of the top ten places in the world to retire, is a world heritage site and an absolute wonder to visit. Casa Buena Vida, equipped with its many books, creature comforts, and assorted amenities is a destination you should seriously consider. I know we will be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We Loved Casa Buena Vida

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We spent an absolutely wonderful week in San Miguel at the Casa Buena Vida. The home is comfortable, interesting, roomy, beautifully decorated, and furnished with everything possible for feeling perfectly at home for a week or months. A special surprise was the abundance of books shelved all over the house: art and history, spanish language guides, area travel guides, best-sellers past and present, classics--everything for readers. The books came in very handy, as one can only hike the charming hilly streets and eat the specatular food for so many hours a day and night--one must also take the time to sit back to read, enjoying a cool refreshment, on one of the FOUR enclosed outdoor spaces on the property.

And, as other reviews have stated, Lupe the housekeeper is a very good at her job.

We can't wait to get back to San Miguel and Casa Buena Vida.

Jim and Rosanne

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful, comfortable home

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

My husband and I shared this lovely home with our daughter, her husband and their girls ages 4 and 6. The description we saw was excellent - the location, amenities and layout matched perfectly. Lupe, our housekeeper was helpful and so pleasant, she kept the home in excellent order and cleanliness.
San Miguel de Allende had attractions for all of us - we loved the balnearios and the botanical gardens as well as the Artisans Market shops. Shopping for food and gifts was fun for all of us. The Tuesday Market was a highlight - don't miss it.
Via Organica was a favorite restaurant for our family and we really loved Milagros Restaurant. My husband and I had a lovely night out at Casa Payo, the food was good and the guitar player made the evening for us - he was extraordinary!
San Miguel is very hilly and the cobblestone streets were a problem for me at times as I had ankle surgery a few months before our trip. We had rain on a number of days and I was concerned about slipping on the cobblestones. I did not, however, and though slow I still walked all over town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words! Patti and I are constantly striving to make our home as comfortable and functional as possible. We think of it as a place of repose and tranquility, for both ourselves, and our renters with whom we are fortunate to share it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We love Casa Buena Vids

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

"Casa Buena Vida was our winter nest for three months, January-March, 2011. The house is ideal, with a beautiful patio - perfect for relaxing and entertaining- off the well-equipped kitchen and a spectacular rooftop terrace, with lots of flowers and sweeping views. Great features abound: Comfortable couches in the living room (hard to find in rentals); interesting pieces of art throughout the house; well-stocked bookcases, and a roomy master bedroom. Lupe, who comes 3 times a week, is a sweetheart - a hard worker and a charming and caring young woman. We would return to Casa Buena Vida without hesitation."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Buena Vida

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Wonderful, beautifully, artistically decorated. Great view of city from roof top terrace. Fairly short walk into historical district. Lovely flowers and plants and fountain on first floor patio. San Miguel is a great little town, full of history, charm, and great shopping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review