reviews for: listing #27422 - Guntersville, Alabama House rental

Two Cabins Lodge unique historic home sleeps up to 23.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

WOW! What a beautiful cabin!
I felt like I was a part of history and longed for the
slow paced life of times gone by. The owner did an
excellent job of blending the new with the old. I can
not wait to go back for another visit. I highly
recommend the Two Cabins Lodge.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Loved it!!

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

Just received a text from my daughter - "Did I tell you how much fun I had this weekend? Loved it! LOVED IT!! My wife and I rented the Two Cabins for a weekend with our children, our niece and their families. We are from Nashville, Atlanta, and Mississippi, making it a very convenient meeting place. Everyone loved the cabins and facilities and we had a lot of fun fixing meals and eating on the picnic table in the kitchen. The kids spent every day on the lake fishing, skiing and tubing and we oldsters mostly sat on the porch, talked and snacked. Our favorite night was around the campfire down the hill where we made s'mores, told ghost stories, saw a shooting star real close and discussed what we would do in case of a zombie attack. Thanks for a wonderful weekend with our family. We are already planning for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Loved our stay at Two Cabins. We have family in Chattanooga, TN and Montevallo, AL so the the cabin was a great central location for our extended family to come visit us. We put all the kids in the bunk room (all teenagers) and had the adults stay in the other bedrooms. Because the cabin was a revolving door for our family, I had to do laundry to make sure everybody had fresh towels and linens. The washer and dyer are very new and efficient. I cooked every night for 12 to 18 people and the kitchen was well stocked to make this job easy. Because of the additional refrigerator in the garage, I only went to the grocery store before we arrived and then again in the middle of our vacation. I hate paper plates...the cabin had a great selection of dinnerware and utensils. Even though I had "chores" to do, I had plenty of time to relax and enjoy the outdoor space. The dock was our favorite...girls sunbathing and the guys in and out from fishing and tubing. The pool provided tons of sun through early afternoon then shaded for a cooler retreat. Back porch loved by all...especially my parents! Thank you for providing the perfect cabin and location to bring my family together...many memories made!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Our family stayed a week and would have liked to stay longer. I loved the screened in porch...it was great, even when it rained. The children enjoyed the pool and the game room and bunk room! We went to the Top of the River restaurant and had a great time. It was a very relaxing week.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Women's Retreat

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

We can't stop talking about the retreat experience in this cabin! This was our second visit and we are already discussing our third visit. We rented this cabin for an emotional healing experience and we got so much more. The women in our group rated everything an A+ and we had no regrets whatsoever. The bathrooms were plentiful and we absolutely loved the bunk room. Also the surrounding grounds were peaceful and calming with great views!!!! Thank you so much Karen for your attention to all the little details. We are looking forward to our next retreat experience!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extremely Clean!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Our Sunday School class spent a weekend at Two Cabins in an effort to get to know each other better. We had an excellent time! The pier was great for the men to spend time fishing. The fire pit was a great place to just sit around and spend time talking. We loved the back porch! We took 11 couples and felt there was adequate room. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of all rooms. We hope to make this an annual getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Incredible retreat at Two Cabins Lodge

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

I stayed in this gorgeous cabin this weekend for a mother/daughter retreat. I cannot speak highly enough about this place. It is absolutely gorgeous and very well appointed. It is truly a retreat that is luxurious and charming. It is great for adults and children both! I plan to return to this amazing VRBO rental in the future and want to thank the owners for allowing us to visit their special lake front home. My only regret is that we had to come home today!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT NEW YEAR

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We are a group of high school friends (Class of 1983) that still get our families together at least twice a year. This year our 3 families stayed at Two Cabins for New Years. It was GREAT. The decor was just beautiful!!!!! Everything was so clean, and anything we could possibly need was already in the cabin. There is even talk of not going to the beach and renting Two Cabins instead this summer. Thanks for letting us enjoy your beautiful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Anniversary Weeked

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

I have not stopped thinking about this place since we left. Our large family was fortunate enough to stay here for the week-end of my parents' 50th Anniversary. It is nothing short of breathtaking. the pefect merge of modern with 200 year old architecture is stunning. It has everything one could need, plus the very best of nature. The outdoor firepit and screened in portch were awesome, all of the furnishings inside were GREAT! We loved using the indoor fireplaces and it was perfect for our large group! Can't wait to find an excuse to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Family Get Together

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

Stayed at Two Cabins Lodge for a family reunion in July 2012. There were 16 of us and we had the most wonderful experience. The cabin is beautiful and the pictures do not do it justice. Loved reading about the history of the cabin. Everything that we needed was at the cabin and in good working order. The kids enjoyed the canoes and the pool while the adults thoroughly enjoyed the screened in porch. Karen was excellent to work with and I am trying to plan our next trip to go back to Two Cabins Lodge.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Just got home from our annual trip to the lake and we stayed at Two Cabins. The house was great for our group of 20. I was a little concerned about parking since we had 10 boats but we were able to park all the vehicles and had space a the dock thanks to the friendly neighbors allowing us to dock a couple of boats at their dock. Fishing was great as always. Thanks for sharing our place with us. We are already planning our trip to the lake in 2012 and Two Cabins will definately be the first place we look to reserve. Thanks again, and God Bless. Joe from Ohio

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Absolutely Fantastic!!!

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Oh my goodness!! We LOVED this house! The attention to detail was unbelievable and it was extremely clean. We plan to go back next year, and the next, and the next! The owners were very easy to work with and the accommodations were fabulous! I loved the history of the house and the before and after pictures posted throughout were so interesting. We would highly recommend Two Cabins to anyone!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a rather large family that vacationed for five days in July this year (2011), and we all really loved
the Two Cabins Lodge. It is very unique and at the same time, comfortable. It has enough room so even
large groups do not feel cramped. We really loved the large kitchen area and also the big screened porch
that looks out over the back, all the way to the water. This enabled my elderly father to sit on the porch, yet still see all the activity going on with the grandkids. Having horseshoes and croquet to play, kept the
young, and not so young, entertained. Of course the fishing and sunbathing are a given. We recommend this place without hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home - Perfect for Multiple Families

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us! We rented Twin Cabins Lodge for our annual Memorial Day Kidd family reunion, which included my family, my sisters and their families, my bachelor brother and my parents...a total of 16. Two Cabins Lodge was way beyond expectations. It was paradise! The home has been beautifully restored and decorated, and lent itself to being very warm and inviting. The kitchen was well equipped with everything a cook could want. The bedrooms / sleeping arrangements were perfect for our multi-family vacation. Our favorite was the screened in porch with comfortable seating and ceiling fans. It doesn't get much better than sitting on the porch seeing the lake, watching the children (and adults) swim and fish, and reading a good book. The kids/teenagers LOVED the bunk room (AKA the KIDD CAVE), the paddle boat, canoe, and roasting marshmallows in the fire pit. We were able to keep our fish/ski boat at the dock which made daily fishing / tubing trips very convenient. Karen, the owner, was so helpful throughout our stay, and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and stress free. Thank you again, will definitely recommend to others!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fishing Getaway

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

Our group of 20 or so comes to Lake Guntersville every year for a fishing trip in March. This year we could not get our normal reservations and decided to try Two Cabins. This turned out to be an excellent decision. This place is absolutely amazing. The location on the lake and all the amenities and luxuries make this a fabulous place to stay with friends and family. These cabins are a part of history and our group is so glad that we had an opportunity to experience it. The restoration of these cabins was simply incredible. We will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone. BTW....the fishing was pretty awesome as well.

Dave----Indiana

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Awesome Getaway!

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

The senior leadership of our church had a retreat at Two Cabins. The setting and accomodations were terrific! The owners are very easy to work with. We are definitely planning on returning to Two Cabins!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion - California, Georgia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Alabama

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We just spent 3 wonderful nights at this beautifully restored and decorated home. There were 6 couples plus 5 children and ample space for all. Great kitchen with lots of room for dining, wonderful screened in porch - watching the lightning storm from there was AWESOME! The new pool was an unexpected and welcome benefit as the weather was quite hot. As our 6-year-old commented: "It's a dream home - who could ask for anything more?" We're already talking about returning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pam Knoxville, TN

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Had a family reunion in June 2010. The grounds and cabin were perfect. Very relaxing the guys enjoyed fishing and the kids loved swimming in the lake. The cabin is full of history what a perfect place to spend time with family and relax!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great!

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

great stay on our youth retreat. the water around the dock is somewhat shallow if you have a deep-running boat...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Thank you for providing such a wonderful experience for our annual office retreat. We have held these retreats in places as far as Vegas all the way to the Ritz in Atlanta - your home was our favorite! The view, the decor, the history, the luxurious bedding...every detail was taken care of. I would highly recommend anyone wanting to stay at a piece of heaven on earth to stay at Two Cabins Lodge. Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 25, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Two Cabins Lodge is awesome!! The pictures can't convey how special it is. The investment of love and planning that went into this home is very evident. It is warm and welcoming and beautiful. We are so glad that we were able to spend our family time there - it is VERY special!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 5, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Our college leadership team had a wonderful stay at your cabin. It was much more than we had imagined and fit our needs perfectly. We would highly recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We spent the most wonderful time of our lives in your wonderful lodge. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with 2 out of 3 children and spouses, 3 out of 4 grandchildren and 6 out of 8 great grandchildren, plus my sister and her husband and a good friend. There was 20 of us and we all felt totally at home, but yet amazed by the cabin. I especially enjoyed the kitchen since I am a gourmet cook and am teaching my 13 year old granddaughter to cook. The guys enjoyed fishing off the dock and caught more than they did when they rented the pontoon boat. Your furnishings and appliances are top of the line. The decor is restful and astonishing at the same time. Our favorite room, of course, was the kitchen with the screened porch running a close second. The kids made s'mores by the fire. A wonderful time was had by all and we hope we can return sometime soon. Phyllis & Chuck Speaker July 17,18 19

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our bass club recently came to Lake Guntersville for a four day fishing trip. Our stay at Two Cabins Lodge was most enjoyable. The accommodations were excellent not to mention the beauty of the lodge and the setting there on the lake.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Took all my technicians for a weekend of fishing and wow! We had a great time, the amenitieas were great, all we could ever have wanted. Cant wait to go back next year... All Pro Chevrolet, Buick, Pontiac, Cadilac, GMC, Hyundai

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Beautiful place with great accomodations. My Bass club stayed
3 nights and loved it. Great Lake view.
Excellent cooking appliances.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Karen,

The quiet extended weekend for my wife & I turned into an impromptu family reunion as all of the family we extended an intive to join us did so.

We were glad the house lived up to its promise to sleep a bunch of folks comfortably. The kids especially liked the loft & gaming. The adults congregated around the massive kitchen table whenever we were there (other than those catching a quick nap on the deck or by the fireplace.

Thanks for the hospitality, you thought of everything.

Joel

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 25, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

What a wonderful place to spend the new years holiday (2008). There were twelve of us (6 couples) and we still have not stopped talking about what a great time we had there. When we first arrived, I bet we spent about an hour just exploring and admiring the cabin. It was way more than what we expected. Even though there was 12 of us, it never felt crowded. The sleeping accomodations, the bathrooms, the kitchen were perfect. There was plenty of room around the large kitchen table for all of us to eat at the same time and I can tell you that we spent a lot of time around that table eating and playing games. The outdoor fire pit was great, we had a fire each night and told plenty of lies around it. We had both Auburn and Alabama fans with us and we both got to watch our teams win their bowl games while relaxing in front of the fireplace. I could go on and on about this cabin, but I don't want to say too much because it will probably become so popular it will be booked the next time we would want to rent it. Just kiddin Karen. Ya'll have done such a great job with it, it would be a shame if it is ever empty. Everyone should have the chance to experience this place. Also, the Tillerys (the owners) were great to work with and Karen, my wife really enjoyed the conversations she had with you. Thanks again
S. & L. Turner and the TRUSSVILLE GROUP

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 1, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Just wanted to compliment you and your husband
for the well thought-out renovation. I was the one
focusing obsessively at the details (I have been in
the Architecture profession for 25 years) while
everybody else was playing board games. I very
much appreciate your plumbing, light fixture, and
appliance selections...it is obvious you have an eye
for quality. The grounds design and work was also
well done. It is just as I would have done it. I don't
even know what to say about the structures....I was
amazed at the pristine re-construction of the
buildings. The "before" pictures dotted around the
interior....also a great touch. I also appreciated the
window wall at the back of the kitchen....nice
quality wood doors. I could go on and on. Suffice to
say it is well appreciated.
Thank you, Karen, for such a memorable stay at
Two Cabins. We enjoyed our holiday there so
much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 7, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

The cabin was wonderful, the kitchen was very well stocked, great for families that love to cook and need the right tools. We loved the screened in porch and the beautiful view of the lake.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 25, 2007   Date of arrival: November 25, 2007

Thanks to you and your wonderful cabins, the Baker family (15) reunited under
the colorful leaves of fall, beside the still quiet lake and inside these warm
nostalgic walls. We take away our fond memories of Thanksgiving dinner
around your table, the cheer around a roaring bonfire on a cool brisk night and
the sound of wind rustling through the trees. Thank you for opening your doors
to us! May this be a welcoming place for many, many more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2007   Date of arrival: June 30, 2007

All of God's creations are creations of beauty. The place is precious and serene.
The furnishings and decor are auspicious. We had a wonderful stay here and
because Two Cabins Lodge could comfortably accommodate all of us, we were
able to make beautiful memories with family and loved ones. Everything here is
simply awesome. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful place of beauty with us.
This is just another blessing for God has truly blessed us with each other and
now with this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2006   Date of arrival: October 8, 2006

Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful home with us. Your love of the
past and attention to detail truly make this home a "one-of-a-kind" treasure.
We had a wonderful, restful weekend! We will definitely tell friends and family
about Two Cabins Lodge!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Our Ladies enjoyed the cabin so much they all want to come again. It was truly
relaxing-peaceful and perfect. Everything is so beautiful and comfortable. We
had plenty of room to spread out! Thank you so much for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review