reviews for: listing #27452 - Austin, Texas House rental

Downtown Austin near 6th and Loop 1 in Historic Clarksville
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Clarksville
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $495 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,765 /wk

sort by:

Great location, beautiful home

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

We stayed in this beautiful house for a long weekend and had a great time. There were 3 adults and 3 kids and we had plenty of room. The master suite was particularly private and quiet and the big tub and big shower were a real treat. The owner is an artist and art collector and we had great fun looking at all the interesting things she has on display. However the art did not get in the way of it being a very functional place to stay for a sizeable family.

The location was convenient to absolutely everything we wanted to do, just minutes from highways and restuarants, but still nestled in a quiet and friendly neighborhood and with a really pretty yard (the pictures don't do it justice!). This is a gem of a 1920's home with wonderful architectural detail and significant interior and exterior renovations.

Everything was clean and well-maintained and the owner was very attentive and provided tourist information, current events and maps for our use.

Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great for a group get a way!!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We booked this house for a group of 8 for the Valentine's weekend and loved it! It was perfect for a group of 8, and Deborah was so accommodating and helpful with everything. The rooms are fantastic, and the house has a great location; we could not have been in a better spot for getting to everywhere easily and quickly. Would not hesitate to stay here again, thanks so much for letting us borrow your house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always nice to make new friends that come to visit Austin and stay at my house. It is such a wonderful neighborhood, located in the heart of Austin. It's always a treat to have repeat visitors, many of which keep in touch.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay, close to everything, clean, comfort, owner super helpful.

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Austin. Deborah was extremely helpful and welcoming. The home is close to everything, downtown, Sixth St., SoCo. We would stay here again and again.

Owners response: Thank you! My home truly is in a fantastic location! It's always nice to see my repeat vacationers come back over the years. 2014 is my 7th year for renting my home. I still have 5 Star Comments on all 3 sites my home is on. I take pride in making sure you have a memorable stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great, comfortable, and well located.

Review submitted: November 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 30, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay. Great location with easy access to downtown, UT, etc. Loved the nearby village on West Lynn. Deborah's house is great.

Owners response: My home is fun, Austintacious and in a fantastic downtown neighborhood. So glad you enjoyed it! : )

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home, great owner!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

This was a very easy process and Deborah was extremely helpful and reliable. The house was super nice and was very close to major attractions and activities. I would definitely refer this listing to friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank-you! I realize that your trip is important to you and do what I can to make sure you have all the information you need and my home is clean, fun and comfortable. : )

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

The house is so comfortable that we immediately felt at home. Deborah was great getting us lined up to check in and directing us to wonderful restaurants and music venues. It was our first trip to Austin, so the location of the house was perfect in that we were just minutes from everything in any direction.
The house is in good condition in a wonderfully quiet neighborhood.
We'll be back!

Owners response: It is so nice meeting people from all over the world. Often, it is their first trip to Austin. It is fun showing them some of the great places to check-out during their time here. Of course, having them come back to visit my home again is a treat for us all. Enjoy your day! : )

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Home

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Six of us gathered together for a long weekend visit. I was in charge of reservations. I am so thankful that I gave up looking at boring hotel rooms and stumbled upon this charming home.
Deborah's home is in a fantastic location. It is within walking distance to many restaurants, bars and unique shops. Everything listed in the description for this property is accurate. The house is large and very comfortable. The yard is beautiful and shady.
All of us staying here will definitely recommend this property to all our friends and co-workers planning trips to Austin.

Owners response: Thank-You! What is truly wonderful is when I feel like I have made new friends! Many of my vacationers keep in touch, recommend me to their friends and return themselves. I feel fortunate to have met so many interesting people over the years.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

3 couples of us rented this home for a long weekend. It is an older home in an historic neighborhood very convenient to the sites and sounds of Austin. We're all walkers and really appreciated being able to walk to neighborhood restaurants for the local flavor. Deborah was most helpful in restaurant and music venue recommendations. This definitely is a do again.

Owners response: It is a short drive from the Texas coast to Austin and I enjoy meeting my coastal friends. My home has old charm with fun and eclectic flair. It is so close to many wonderful restaurants, parks, art galleries, music venues, shops and more. I look forward to seeing my new coastal friends again soon! : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

This is a delightful house in a central Austin location. The interior is spacious, clean, well maintained and contains unique custom art pieces. The covered back patio is a relaxing oasis of green. Close to most everything. Kitchen is very well equipped and all amenities throughout the house are up-to-date.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: There is a balanced combination of relaxation ... while being right down the street from all the live music venues, special events, restaurants, parks, festivals, sporting events, art galleries and more that Austin has to offer. My home helps to make your Austin vacation a wonderful experience. It truly is an oasis in the city. That's why so many of my vacationers return time and time again. You will love staying here. : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Option

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Deborah's house worked out great for our little family group -- consisting of three couples. It was comfortable, accessible and a great solution for our 4-night stay. Everything worked well and was very considerately arranged for our convenience. Deborah was very friendly and helpful, and you can tell she loves her house -- and also loves to share it. We recommend it highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I do love my home ... it has been a bit of an art project since 1997. Thank-you for choosing it for your stay in Austin! I do enjoy sharing it with others. I look forward to seeing you again in the future. Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for Austin

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

Deborah's home on Patterson is a ideal location for all the fun that Austin has to offer. A two mile walk to the heart of Sixth street action or a short cab ride to the SoCo area.

The home is quaint and very homey and well furnished and an excellent place to call home base during your stay in Austin. Deborah is so nice and helpful and willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would definitely recommend this as a excellent option for those who are no looking for a hotel environment.

Owners response: Thank-you ... it is always nice to receive new comments. I realize there are a lot of choices, and I appreciate you renting at my home for your Austin vacation. I am truly interested in making your time in Austin as special and as fun as possible. I tend to get quite a few repeat customers, which is great for both of us. Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Austin home

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Our group of six adults had a fantastic birthday weekend. The house is in a great central location that made it possible to get most places in under 10 minutes.

Owners response: Thanks! My downtown neighborhood is convenient to everything Austin! You will love staying here. : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

INCREDIBLE HOME

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Our group of 7 frequently travel together to follow our football team, WVU Mountaineers. We hit pay dirt finding this home when WVU played UT. Deborah is an angel, the art work displayed on the exterior and interior of her home are incredible. She made us feel so welcome we are actually thinking of renting it again for a holiday getaway. This home is equipped with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. We all unanimously agreed, this home was the best accommodation we have experienced in all the years of traveling together!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for writing. My goal is to make my home fun and Austintacious for my visitors. You will enjoy the feeling of living in Austin while staying at my fully equipped and eclectic home. Another plus is having repeat customers. It takes the guess work out for both of us and you have the comfort of knowing the home for future visits. I look forward to seeing you again soon! : )

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

I booked this house for a friend's Bachelorette weekend. I communicated with the owner via emails and phone as I live in Canada. Debra's helpfulness was what really sold the house for me!

The house is this little gem tuck behind all the wonderful landscaping. Debra is an artist, so throughout the house you'll find bits and pieces of history. Really cool! It slept 8 comfortably. All the basic amenities you could possibly need for a home and more! The location couldn't have been more perfect.

All and all...we had a wonderful time at the house. I'm so glad I did not book a hotel and decided to stay in Debra's comfortable and beautiful house! Thanks again!

Happy Canadian

Owners response: It's always a treat to meet new friends from all over the world. I want your experience in Austin to be special. I have owned my home since 1997, so there are a lot of unique qualities that you won't find just anywhere. It makes me smile when my artist eye is appreciated! Thank-you! I hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Debra's house was amazingly pleasant and the perfect location for a weekend getaway! The house is situated just off of West 6th Street, right before you reach Mopac. The house has wonderful Austin charm, and is a short walk or cab ride away from bars, restaurants, and music spots downtown, and only a short drive away from the Greenbelt and Lake Travis. The house comfortably fit 8 of us, and had a nice mix of queen-sized and twin-sized beds to accomodate couples and singles. I would definitely stay here again!

Owners response: There is plenty of room for up to 8 people to enjoy Austin and stay in a place that feels like they live in Austin. I look forward to seeing many guests return again and again. It's always a treat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quaint getaway close to Zilker....

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

A group of five friends and I stayed at Deb's house during ACL 2011. The house is beautiful, very well kept and well equipped. We loved the misters in the back yard and that it was a 15-20 minute walk to Zilker for the festival. The house comfortably slept all 6 of us and had enough bathrooms to accommodate us all as well. Dealing with Deb was a breeze and we were grateful for all the information she gave us upon our arrival.

Next time we're in Austin, we would gladly stay at Deb's vacation home!

Owners response: It's always a treat to have return visitors! It takes the guessing out of the trip for both parties. PLUS, I have made some new friends along the way! Thank-You! I look forward to seeing you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay at Historic House in downtown Austin

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Our stay at this house was better than expected. The owner was very friendly, helpful and all around great person to meet. The house was beautiful and the pictures do not do it justice. The house was very clean, comfortable and the neighborhood very nice. Location was PERFECT!!! I would definitely recommend my family and friends to stay here when visiting Austin. We had a great time at the ROT rally and it all started when we walked thru the front doors of this house!!! Thanks for making our trip PERFECT!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I truly enjoy making new friends along the way as I rent my home to vacationers. It's always a joy to have repeat customers. I try to put myself in my vacationers shoes and provide as much information and assistance as I can. Thank-You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So relaxing

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

This was a perfect place for us to meet our adult children for a weekend in Austin. The house was inviting and comfortable. The location was close to downtown without being too close to crowds. We loved being near great restaurants as well as cooking at home. The owner was very nice to work with. I hope we get to return in the future!

Owners response: It is the best location for all to see and do in Austin. Many families have stayed here .... where they are spread across the United States. What better place than Austin to bring the family back together! I LOVE having families in my home .... it is the perfect family house. Thank-You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Ladies' Getaway

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely, well-equipped home. There was lots of room for all six of us gals (age range 40-57), and we really enjoyed the back patio for our morning coffees or our evening cocktails. The house was everything we wanted, and the homeowner is a very gracious hostess. There was lots of Austin information available for us, interesting pieces of art, lots of CDs and all kinds of books as well. We decided not to rent a car, so we walked to Whole Foods (about 20 minutes), Lululemon etc. When we wanted to go downtown, we took the bus ($1) along 5th Street to Congress Avenue. One evening, we took pedicabs from downtown to the Mean-Eyed Cat, a live music venue/shrine to Johnny Cash, just a few blocks from the rental house. Donn's Depot is also nearby. It is a long-standing Austin music establishment (be prepared to dance). Just down 5th Street is el Arroyo (the Ditch), a nice place for some good Tex-Mex eats and tasty margaritas. On the Saturday of our visit, we took a wine country tour with Vintage Tours of Texas - it was great fun to see some of the nearby countryside riding in a vintage VW minibus, our tour guide was a great gal, very knowledgeable and just a joy to be with. We learned so much about the Texan wine industry while having a hoot! A great time was had by all. Thanks for a geat stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: I feel fortunate to meet some many interesting people from all over the world! Yes! There is plenty to see and do in walking distance. A very short cab or bus ride can get you right in the middle of it all! I love my neighborhood. Thank-You for reading the comments I received from my guests. I do receive many return clients. You are appreciated! : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our home away from home

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

This lovely house was perfect for our group of six women. We felt a good vibe as soon as we arrived and met Deborah, our lovely hostess. This home had plenty of space for us, indoors and out. We spent a lot of time on the back patio, sipping our morning coffees and planning our days, or relaxing with a cold bevereage after a busy day of Austin sightseeing. Having two showers and three toilets (each of them with a night light!) was very handy too. This is a well-equipped and well-maintained home, and it is decorated with a variety of art pieces. There are also lots of Austin-related info pieces; cards and brochures for goods, shops and services for visitors. The beds were very comfortable.
The location is great, just a short walk east to el Arroyo, a.k.a. The Ditch, for some lovely Mexican food and fun wait staff. Right across from the restaurant is the Mean-Eyed Cat, a Johnny Cash shrine/bar built around a tree. Just down 5th St is Donns Depot, another eclectic music venue built from railcars, where Donn's country swing band keeps the patrons of all ages dancing the night away.
From the house it is about a 20-minute walk to Whole Foods, Lululemon etc, but the exercise is a good way to work up an appetite! There are also several buses along 5th St that will take you downtown for $1 - unless you get tempted to take a yoga class or visit one of the spas along the route.
I would recommend this property to any group of 4-6 people who prefer to stay in a quiet, beautiful neighbourhood away from the hustle & noise of downtown, yet still be within a short bus ride or enjoyable walk to the city centre.
Thanks again Deborah, we hope to return some day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House and Neighborhood

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend with our daughter and granddaughter. The listing for this property was absolutely right on target! There were no surprises at all. The house was well equipped and had everything that we needed including games, music, etc. Our granddaughter sat down on the sofa and wanted to stay right there. Everything was extremely comfortable inside and out. The backyard area was great; and even though neighbors were close, you had complete privacy. The natural yard made you feel that you were not in town at all. The neighborhood was very quiet and we got a good feel for "Austin living." We choose some of the restaurants that were close by and loved dining outside.

The downtown area was very close but you would need to drive. It was a little too far to walk. While we were there we even went to Barton Springs. It is a lovely natural (large) pool area that our granddaughter enjoyed immensely!

Deborah (the owner) was extra nice and great to work with. She provided great and useful information! We loved this house and would recommend it to anyone! We hope to get back there!!

Owners response: My home is located on the edge of the downtown area ... and considered downtown. Congress Avenue is 1.5 miles from my front door. A $5 - $7 cab ride will get you just about anywhere downtown you might not feel like walking too. It's truly a great location. : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Birthday Weekend in Austin

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

My family of 4 recently stayed at Deborah's house to celebrate my birthday weekend. All of us had a remarkable time as the house was in excellent condition and close to all. It was our first time in Austin and I can say that we were all a bit teary eyed about leaving! More importantly, we were so happy with the house that we decided to rent it for a complete month over the summer. It is like a home away from home for us and I would recommend it over any hotel in the area.

Owners response: It is always nice to have a family stay at my home. It is a great family house and so close to everything Austin! It is also wonderful to have repeat customers. I enjoy making new friends along the way! : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxed in Austin

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

A very comfortable roomy place. Great location. Good food nearby. Definitely would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: I enjoy my repeat visitors. I have made some friends along the way!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming home in great neighborhood

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

We're just back from our vacation to Austin. The house was great with everything you need. The master is down and is large and has a nice bathroom with 2 sinks. There are loads of living spaces in this house and a nice backyard where our 3 year old played. Kitchen has everything you need including nice stainless appliances and a great coffee pot. 2 bedrooms upstairs and the laundry room was so large and nice, that our 3 year old decided it was her "room" and we put her cot in there. Offstreet parking for 2 cars. We walked to nearby restaurants and shops. Very quaint neighborhood. And Deborah was great to work with!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank-you ... it was very nice to have you stay at my house. It is nice to have covered parking and a driveway for 3 cars in the downtown area. You have to park in the street or in a parking garage with many downtown homes. So glad you enjoyed your stay! I hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Comfortable, and Convenient

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Seven of us stayed in this house (six adults and a child). We all found the house very comfortable, and the owner was very easy to work with and communicated clearly with us before and after our stay. The house is in a great neighborhood and is conveniently located. Overall, it was a great experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank-you ... I love my neighborhood!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Walking Distance to Favorite Spots

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We had a wonderful time. More than once, Mom said it was the best birthday ever. Thank you for lending us the use of your lovely home. We love the West Lynn area and were happy to be within walking distance of some of our favorite spots.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy House with Lots of Charm

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We stayed in this cozy, charming house for the week of Christmas 2011. Our son and his wife came from Dallas to stay with us for 3 days. Together we celebrated Christmas Eve & Christmas Day there with our Austin son and his wife and their new-born baby. The gracious owner had put up a Christmas tree and allowed us to use it to stage our celebration. We made home-cooked meals there in the well-equipped kitchen, took walks in the hilly neighborhood, and got around Austin easily from the just-off-6th-Street-at-Mopac location. The house is quaint, interesting, comfortable, and perfect "Austin." Our only complaint was the week's rainy cold weather that prevented us from using the nice patio in the back or spending time in the garden-like yard. It's a great get away home for 4 to 6 people and we highly recommend it! L. B. from Frisco

Owners response: It is always nice to have families in my home as it is perfect for families, as well as busy professionals. I tend to get repeat visitors due to the uniqueness and location of my home. As many as eight have stayed here before. My back porch is covered as well as part of the front porch, but may have been a bit nippy during the Christmas season to sit out there. Currently, it is January 4th and it is sunny and 70 degrees! : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy House with Lots of Charm

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We stayed in this cozy, charming house for the week of Christmas 2011. Our son and his wife came from Dallas to stay with us for 3 days. Together we celebrated Christmas Eve & Christmas Day there with our Austin son and his wife and their new-born baby. The gracious owner had put up a Christmas tree and allowed us to use it to stage our celebration. We made home-cooked meals there in the well-equipped kitchen, took walks in the hilly neighborhood, and got around Austin easily from the just-off-6th-Street-at-Mopac location. The house is quaint, interesting, comfortable, and perfect "Austin." Our only complaint was the week's rainy cold weather that prevented us from using the nice patio in the back or spending time in the garden-like yard. It's a great get away home for 4 to 6 people and we highly recommend it! L. B. from Frisco

Owners response: I enjoy my repeat visitors. I have made some friends along the way!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

We found the home very comfortable and well equipped,

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My stay in austin

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

It was a very nice home with a great location. My family and i had a great time. We were really happy with how close we were to the whole foods and downtown. It gave us a chance to do some walking on our vacation. I also enjoyed hanging out in the back yard on the comfy rocking chairs. Deborah the owner of the house was very nice and gave us plenty of time to check out comfortably. We had a great stay and most likely will stay again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks, Elizabeth ... it was very nice to meet your family. I like to allow a late check-out whenever I don't have another group checking in right after you. I have big, wooden, glider rocking chairs on the back porch ... with lumbar support! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Warm and Friendly Home in a Great Neighborhood!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

My husband and I spent December and January here with our little dog and greatly enjoyed ourselves (the dog especially liked the doggie door). Deborah is the world's best hostess! She has provided everything imaginable for a home away from home, and if you need something she doesn't have, she can find it for you or tell you where to get it. The home is a mix of old and new, but everything's in tip-top condition and is clean and tidy and in keeping with the period details. The kitchen is good-looking and well equipped--everything's provided if you want to cook. The furniture is comfy and encourages lounging--the bed in the master bedroom was even more comfortable than ours at home. The house itself is very charming and decorated with original art with a nicely cared-for yard both back and front. This is a very quiet area in a lovely historical neighborhood with several parks close by--even a dog park a few blocks away. Shopping and good restaurants are minutes away (you can walk to Jeffrey's and Cipollina in under ten minutes), but if you need to get on the freeway, it's very convenient to that, as well. We were lucky to have found this place and highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello ... My home is a bit unique and Austintacious. I make every effort to ensure each vacationer enjoys my home, neighborhood and Austin. Occasionally, I allow well groomed and behaved dogs to stay at my home. My home is super cleaned after to ensure there is no pet dander to annoy future vacationers. Your comfort is my number one concern.

Thank-you for checking out my listing. As always, please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Enjoy Your Day!

Deborah Peacock

: )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming house, great location!

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Four of us traveled to Austin recently for a UT football game and stayed in this great house. It was clean, comfortable, and the perfect place to retreat to after a day/evening exploring the city. The house has an artsy, funky charm that really reflects the character of Austin. And the location... this house is in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood that is just a few minutes from downtown and SoCo. When you stay in a hotel, you could be waking up anywhere; when you stay in this house, you wake up in Austin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Patrick and others considering staying at my home. It is a great house, with a lot of character ... close to everything Austin. I have worked on my home for over 15 years to make it Austintacious! You will feel much more connected to Austin by staying here. And yes, I leave when my vacationers check in! I look forward to meeting you soon!

Deborah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming House, Great Location!

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Four of us traveled to Austin recently for a UT football game and stayed in this great house. It was clean, comfortable, and the perfect place to retreat to after a day/evening exploring the city. The house has an artsy, funky charm that really reflects the character of Austin. And the location... this house is in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood that is just a few minutes from downtown and SoCo. When you stay in a hotel, you could be waking up anywhere; when you stay in this house, you wake up in Austin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Patrick and others considering staying at my home. It is a great house, with a lot of character ... close to everything Austin. I have worked on my home for over 15 years to make it Austintacious! You will feel much more connected to Austin by staying here. And yes, I leave when my vacationers check in! I look forward to meeting you soon!

Deborah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ROT Rally Weekend, 2009

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

A group of six of us (bikers) rented this house for the weekend of a huge motorcycle rally. Debbie was initially a little reluctant to rent to us as some bikers have less than stellar reputations. I hope we proved that "old bikers" can be quiet and respectful.

Anyway, the house was delightful. There was plenty of room for all of us. The beds were all comfortable and it was our little oasis in Austin to beat the Texas summer heat. I can't say enough about how accomodating Debbie was. She made sure we knew the house's little idiosyncracies before she left, had plenty of linens out and available to us, and simply made sure that we were going to be very much "at home".

All six of us would like to thank her for her trust in us and for allowing us to experience her wonderful home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review