reviews for: listing #2748 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Waters Edge Mini Penthouse
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $185 /nt
    $795 - $1,295 /wk

sort by:

Recharge yourself at this adorable get-a-way!

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

We rented this place for 4 days at the end of May/First of June. It is everything the description says and MORE! The view is lovely, the place is pretty quiet and the price cannot be beat for the San Diego/Mission beach area!

We started each day with a pot of coffee and people watching... there is not a lot of foot traffic, but enough to be entertaining. The seals and sailboats are fascinating to watch coming up and down the bay. Then we rode the bikes provided to breakfast. The bikes are a perfect amenity! This area is pretty bike-friendly and there are places everywhere to lock them up. AND Phyllis includes the lock & key! Our favorite places were Baked on Santa Clara and Kono's Beach Club way at the other end by the pier.

In the afternoon, we walked a few steps down to the grassy and beach area and read by the water. We also enjoyed walking the opposite direction of the beach where there is a small park and lots of sailboats!

The very cool thing about this location is you can get away with not having a car, however, if you have a car, especially a large one, there is a parking lot steps away! There is also a garage provided, but we have a SUV, so garages don't work for us!

Everything you need is in the house. The kitchen has anything/everything you could possible need, lots of little extras. There are lots of towels and blankets. A HUGE TV in the living area with a DVD player.

We enjoyed the hot tub at night. The bed is extremely comfy with high quality sheets.

I cannot wait to visit again. Thank you Phyllis for having this great place and renting it at such an affordable price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Get Away!!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

Spent three days here in late March/early April and had a fabulous time. Loved the comfy condo, super relaxing with great views. Enjoyed the patio area and the grill, very nice to be able to cook outside. Also appreciated having access to bikes with a basket, very easy to grocery shop :) Thanks Phyllis!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This is the perfect location in Mission Beach. The views are spectacular. Watching the boats every morning while eating breakfast was so relaxing and a perfect way to start the day. The condo is very well kept and very comfortable. Having a garage was awesome as we left our golf clubs in the garage on days that we went out sight seeing. The garage is small but we had rented a Mazda 5 and it fit in perfect. It was easy driving anywhere that you wanted. It is minutes away from Sea World, Balboa Park and Old Town and a very short drive to the airport. We went up the Coast to La Jolla for a day and had lunch at Brockton Villa. Coast Toast is a dessert you shouldn't miss. Also had great Fish Tacos at the Sandbar which is a couples minutes by car or a good walk.

Having the bikes was another highlight of the trip. We hadn't ridden a bike since we were teenagers and what a great place to try them out. Thanks Phyllis for including them in our stay. This condo has everything you need to make your stay a great vacation! Can't wait to come back! Phyllis the owner is a pleasure to deal with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CHARMED

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

My husband and 11 year old daughter had a great time staying at this property a few
years back and am glad to see it is still listed as we would stay there again and again!
As the reviews say it has everything you need to spend a relaxing enjoyable weekend.
Clean, comfortable, great amenities...a bit on the small side but very comfortable.
While there is enough to do w/out getting in your car, it is also located such that getting
to area attractions is a snap too. The owner has had the property for some time and will help you with any questions you may have...highly recommend this special place!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A dream come true!!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

The penthouse was perfect!! It was so refreshing! A dream come true for us!! House was equipped with everything needed (comfy bed, t.v., silverware, coffee machine,cooking accessories and much, much more!) The location was perfect in every sense!! Parking spot was perfect!! Couldn't have asked for more!! My 4 year old cried when we left! She wanted to stay forever!:) Would highly recommend to anyone!! And the owner was amazing and friendly!

Thank you Phyllis!! P.S.We will see you soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful condo. The condo was every bit as comfy and cozy as the discription says. If we were not out enjoying the beach we were sitting in front of the beautiful windows in the front room. We enjoyed watching the marine life along the jetty and all the boats coming and going. Waiving at the fishing boats going out at night was a highlight of the evenings. Our Xterra did not fit in the garage so finding a parking spot was a challange. Phyllis provides 2 great bikes so we parked the Xterra and rode the bikes everywhere. Turns out having those bikes was one of the best parts of our vacation. We loved the condo so much we would like to keep it our little secret. If you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy the beach this is the place for you. Barry & Carolyn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Awesome location! Enjoyed morning view of Harbor seals coming in the inlet. Took the beach cruisers up mission beach to one of the awesome cafes' (Olives Cafe' and The Mission were the best).
Condo was perfect for our trip. Clean and comfortable. Perfect location. Condo was quiet and peaceful and away from the hustle bustle. Highly recomend!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT MISSION BAY CONDO

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

My hubby & I stayed here while celebrating a special anniversary. The condo is just the right size for 2, equipped w everything you will need. The area is fun, exciting & full of things to do near or short drive. You can see the fireworks from Sea World from Kitchen window. Really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you, great host!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely little Condo with Everyting you need!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here in San Diego at Phyllis's condo. There is everything that you can think of inside the condo, from a well equiped kitchen, large TV in the living room and bikes in the garage. It was also really good to have parking inside the garage as I think it may have been tricky to park on the street.

One of our favourite things about the condo was the views in the living room, they really were amazing. We enjoyed having our breakfast and dinner at the table and found it difficult to get motivated, because we wanted to enjoy the views all day.

The Condo is in a nice location, it is fairly quiet with a few bars close by and it is only a 5 minute drive from seaworld.

Other things we liked about the Condo were the hot tub and the fact that it was so clean!

Would love to come back one day. Thanks Phyllis!

Charlotte & Richard

Owners response: This lovely couple traveled all of the way from the UK. Because of time differences, cell phones that did not work in the U.S.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Phyllis condo in Mission Beach. The location was AWESOME! We both loved the view! The condo exceeded our expectations. We spent a lot of time riding bikes along the marina and along the beach. The couch and bed were very comfortable. Phyllis went out of her way to make sure it was a special experience for us. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a romantic, relaxing and fun vacation! My wife’s been begging me to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great location, bikes, parking= bliss

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

my husband and I stayed here for 5 days in early Dec. the condo is cute and clean. the view very nice. my husband loved the big tv. our favorite thing was the 2 bikes available to us. we rode all over mission and pacific beach. it was also great to have parking included, it seemed scarce. reasonable price for such a great time! Thanks P! Kim n Brian

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. Things we really liked: the view is fantastic, location is super, lots of fun places to ride to on the bikes, nice to have a garage to park our Prius in (tight fit if you have a big car), ocean breezes right through the bright sunny apt., full kitchen with thoughtful extras like zip-lock bags for picnic lunches, hot tub just steps away, hot/strong shower, quiet at the end of the street. Things we would change if we could: bed is too soft(it is cozy but just not what we prefer), scented "plug-ins" and satchels were too strong (we unplugged and put satchels in a zip-lock during our stay) and wish the laundry detergent was unscented, again just too overpowering for us, prefer the naturally salty fresh beach air instead. Overall we would return, Phyllis was very easy to work with and we felt her fees were reasonable.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our home away from home!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We got married here last year and loved every minute of our stay. We are coming back next month! Can't wait! It is close to everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation at the Waters Edge Penthouse

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

let me say that we found the mini penthouse a wonderfully located cozy abode. It is tastefully decorated and offered all the amenities we wanted. The bikes and the sand toys were an added bonus. We loved that there was always something to see from the bay windows, fishing boats, bikers, joggers, sail boats and the occasional seal. We loved walking to Mission Park where we could take a dip in the bay or watch our son play on the playground or going to the South Mission Beach to take in the big surf and watch the surfers and beach combers. I'll miss my morning run along the Bayside walk to Pacific Beach Dr. and return via Ocean Front Walk. Phyllis, the owner, is a true gem and I would highly recommend staying at her Mini Penthouse. Our stay there was EPIC.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Waters edge mini penthouse

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

It is a nice property. We loved the location, amenities, but my biggest turn off was that the place was not cleaned well prior to our stay there. When I walked in the the bathroom there were strands of human hair in the sink and on the faucet. The kitchen was dirty also. The cabinets are white, so you could see black marks all around the handles. The inside of the cabinets had some crumbs? the refrigerator has not been washed in a while. I could not stand how dirty the cabinets doors were, so I cleaned them myself.
When we walked into the bedroom there was so much dust on the nightstand and on the dresser, that after running my finger accross the furniture, my finger was completely black.
Ask them to clean the place well prior to your stay and it is worth staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: I have owned "Watersedge Mini Penthouse" for 8 years and my occupancy rate is 98%, this is due to the repeat guests who usually visit once or twice a year. I maintain a very clean and orderly condo because I do the cleaning and laundry myself as cleaning services in the past DO NOT clean to my standards. I have had one complaint about cleanliness in 8 years and I feel that I need to address that situation. My first clue that they were a little different was when they requested that I leave the beds unmade as they wanted to make they're own beds. Ok fine with me. The condo was freshly painted a week before they arrived and I had just finished fall cleaning so I knew that it was spotless. I called them after they arrived to make sure that they had no entry problems and to see if they had any questions. At that time they complained to me that the place was dirty, I asked just where is the dirt? They said everywhere . After working so hard to make it extra nice for them I offered to return and see just what they were talking about. They refused and said that they had already cleaned. They stayed for one week and when I came back to clean the condo after they"re departure I was thoroughly disgusted as to the filth that I saw. The white table cloth was smeared with days of built up food and spilled wine, it took me 3 times to wash before it was clean. I have white bedding, towels, and rugs and they were also disgusting. The kitchen had garbage on the sink and it took me almost 2 hours just to clean that area. They proceeded to wrap the TV remote with seran wrap and also wrapped the toilet seat with about one roll of toilet paper. They are lucky that I did not send them a bill for extra cleaning. I have been very fortunate to have such loyal and amazing guests over the years. Guess it was just a matter of time that I would rent to someone who did not appreciate and respect the elegance of my property.

Helpful votes: 17 / 20

 

Condo has -quiet,boats,seals,cleanliness,beach

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We loved every minute of our time here in this clean, quiet, private condo.
The boats go out in the am, and come back in the pm w/ seals and dolphins in tow.
We rode the bicycles provided everyday on the boardwalk up to Pacific Beach for our favorite cup of coffee.
We relaxed on the beach - a two minute walk away and ate at all our favorite resturants all w/in a less than 15 minute drive.
The condo was clean and bright w/ the best view you can ask for and at a price you can't beat.
The owner is fabulous..
Thankyou Phyllis - We will be back... for sure...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review