reviews for: listing #27482 - Black Lake, Michigan House rental

Sunset View on Black Lake
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Our disappointment at Sunset View

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

If you are interested in coming in close contact with insects/bugs this is your place to be. I had to clean the bathroom from bugs before we could use it. I also had to remove the bugs next to the futon mattresses in the sitting area and the screened in porch (second bedroom)before we could add our sheets to the beds. I had to constantly clean up bugs through out the week. I advise you to not use the fan in the kitchen, the bugs went flying there too. I suggest you take a photo of every room in the house so that at the end of the week you can put everything back in it's place. I left the blankets out for the house cleaner to wash them after our use. Don't leave them out. $40 of our deposit was kept by the owner. You need to leave at 10 AM on the move out day. I suggest you bring your own towels. I washed the towels we used that morning and place them in the dryer. I did not have time to fold them and put them away. Yes, I guess I should of gotten up at 5 AM to get it all done in time. If you are a cook like me, this house does not have much counter space. Warning...don't move anything unless you put it back in the same way. I couldn't use the grill to make pancakes because of the cob webs on the base of the grill. There is one double bed in the bedroom that could sleep one adult. I, an adult, slept on the futon in the kitchen area. Futons are made for kids under 12 to sleep on. I could not get a good nights sleep, the board was in the middle of my back. There are two futons in the porch area. Only one of the futons could be open at a time. My daughter opened her futon. She didn't want to sleep with her brother, so her brother had to sleep on unopen futon. The stats for this house states that it sleeps 6. It might sleep 6, if they are all under 6 years old. The bedroom is a double bed, futon in kitchen area is for one person. The futon in the porch might sleep two persons if they like sleeping close to each other. Very uncomfortable. The one kid on an unopen futon. Warning, put garbage sticker on the can not the bags. If you use too many stickers, the owner will keep part of your deposit. If you want to enjoy T.V. or play movies at the house, make sure you get clear instructions. We had two teenagers and one professional engineer in our group and they could not figure it out. The house does have cute furnishings, a good washer/dryer and a canoe that we did enjoy. Suggest bring own kitchen utensils and towels. No beach area.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Michelle from Plymouth

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Black Lake. The owner was awesome in making sure the row boat would be there for my husband to use, which he did often. The cabin was well stocked. Town was close enough to run to if needed. Neighbors were really nice. We had plenty of room and having a bath and a 1/2 is just perfect. My only suggestion would be to bring a pair of water shoes, which I was able to purchase in town. The bottom of the lake is rocky and having the shoes help with walking out to deeper water. It was a very peaceful and relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

sleep like a baby

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had no sleepless nights. The cottage is tucked away in a wooded area with no highway or traffic noises. As hot as it was, the cottage was very comfortable with the windows open and the cool breeze coming off the lake. The only problem we had was, saying good bye.
Ken the owner, was a very friendly person to do business with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sunset View Cabin

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Despite the unseasonably hot weather, our stay was good. It could have been better if the washer hadn't quit on the third day and if the shower wouldn't fall off its holder hitting the bather. There was a vacumm available to keep the outside mess from accumulating too much inside. New updates in the kitchen and bathrooms are a bonus.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A surprise!

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

What a wonderful surprise!The cottage was so homey you could tell it was someone's personal summer cottage.The decorations were very nice "cottage and cabin" items that gave you a feeling that you were away from it all .Many things were updated and well cared for.Lovely sunsets and lots to do in the area!! Thanks for sharing your cottage with us.Would love to go again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset View on Black Lake

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

A perfect vacation spot!!!!!!! We had so much fun and the location could not have been better!!!!!! The sunsets were amazing and so was the cabin/cottage!!!!! All five of us (adults) had more than enough room/space to be comfortable! We were close to everything we wanted to do (Cheboygan was 20 min or so away; the falls were 15-20 min away; Mackinaw City was close; etc...)! We all, absolutely, want to come back and have already started thinking about dates for next year. Ken was INCREDIBLY easy to deal with and helped to make out entire stay perfect!

Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

This worked out great for our vacation. It was close enough to tourist places to visit along with much relaxation that was needed by all of us. We rented a motor from the marina on the lake for the boat that came with the cabin and the guys enjoyed fishing while my daughter and I enjoyed some shopping and beach fun. We liked the quiet end of the road we were on and the kids used the bikes a lot during our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review