reviews for: listing #27503 - Bretton Woods, New Hampshire House rental

Slopeside Luxury House Rental (Ski on/ski off)
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Presidential Views
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $950 - $3,900 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our weekday holiday at BW

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

Hi Carrie,

You were booked the weekend we wanted so you advised we do your low price special and stay Sunday through Wednesday.

we did just that and it was a heck of a bargain compared to weekend rates.

In addition to saving money though is the fact the slopes were not crowded at all, and the lift lines non existent.

While the lift lines on Saturdays at Bretton Woods are nowhere nearly as bad as those at Loon or Waterville Valley ski area, the Monday skiing was terrific and the slopes stayed groomed while the sun shone all day so it was not that cold and perfect for a long day of snow boarding.

We like the little restaurant at the top of the ski mountain. In fact we often stop in there several times a day for a shot of brandy, and then lunch

We're intermediate and beginner skiers so there's plenty of green and blue trails for us, though we don't yet dare to try the black diamond ones.

it's a great get away for a few days at Bretton Woods.

Doing the weekdays and letting our little kids miss a few days of school seems to be the best way to enjoy the mountain and your beautiful ski house.

thanks again.

Regards, Alex and Susan r.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

enjoying your house at bretton woods

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Hi John and Susan

Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us.

We had a wonderful vacation and the kids enjoyed the ability to ski from the front door over to the building where they sell the lift tickets.

It was pretty cold up here so we used layers and took frequent breaks skiing back to the house.

The ski chalet is set up perfectly for several families and we like having several master suites so we didn't have to share a bathroom.

Love what you did with the kitchen as we rented another unit last year and it was nothing like yours on the inside.

Your open floor kitchen and open dining area is great for partying at the center island in the big kitchen.

Dishwasher crapped out during our stay and repairman came and said to replace so we had to wash dishes by hand but not a big deal.

We really like Bretton Woods as it's only a 3 hour ride from our house near Boston.

We're going to try and take advantage of your lower rates for spring ski season in April if we can get away

Best personal regards, Mike and Roberta H.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

thanks for sharing your home

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

Hi John,

Per your request I'm writing you to let you know what a great time we all enjoyed at your Bretton Woods NH ski chalet.

It really is a chalet with its open floor plan, balcony overlooking the great room, huge wall of windows and the big open kitchen where everyone seems to hang around.

The kitchen was well equipped so we cooked in all the time as we had all the kids with us. We brought groceries from home so we didn't waste any time doing food shopping

It was really nice the kids could just walk out and start snowboarding without us having to drive them. You get very spoiled with ski on and off type houses.

As you say in the ads, the views are to die for. We enjoy sitting in the house watching the skiers, and the mountain views as well.

Some previous guest I think left the gas grille outside so we had to bring it in and thaw it out but the next day it was fine. Very cold up there at night or when the sun's not out.

We used to go to Loon but it's really just up the road to Bretton Woods which seems to get so much more snow and is not as crowded, plus has more terrain.

we walk around the mountain quite a bit just watching the skiers, stopping into the lodge for a coffee and checking out the hawks and a few eagles. Didn't see any moose however others said they did.

We appreciate staying in your wonderful house and look forward to another trip in April for the warmer spring ski season when rates are lower and the temps don't get down near zero.

Sincerely, Kate and Peter A.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

thanks for a nice vacation

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

Carrie, per your request for an on line review of the Bretton Woods ski house, I'm happy to do so.

This is our 2nd stay at your lovely house, though the first time we stayed at the other 5 br house you own on the bunny trail. Both houses are excellent and can sleep about a dozen comfortably.

We are winter people and now mountain people as we don't mind the cold and do more hiking though the kids like snowboarding.

I just enjoy walking around the hills and taking in the fresh air, great mountain views, and riding the lift up to the top for lunch.

I think people don't realize there's lots to do up at Bretton Woods besides skiing.

The house was really open which I like so the kitchen and dining areas are like one giant room. The center island is where we sat and had beers while letting the girls make dinner most nights, though we guys did the gas grille meats. the huge dining table sat all of us which was nice and the 26 pound turkey could have fed an army.

The pool table downstairs got a good workout from everyone and it really brings about a nice family vacation since we can do so many things together.

We got the upstairs master suite with it awesome view of Mt. Washington and little deck off the sliders, but our guests appreciated each having their own full bathroom off the 3 bedrooms upstairs. the kids stayed in the lower level where they had their own privacy and big plasma tv.

The jacuzzi tub the ladies enjoyed.

We did run out of firewood as we went through quite a bit but we called Fosters where we got the key and they brought over quite a bit more so the fire was roaring.

Many thanks again for sharing your lovely home with us and the repeat guest discount as well.

Rebecca and Stuart P.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely vacation in the White Mountains

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

Hi John and Carrie,

Sure I'm happy to provide a review on your beautiful house at Bretton Woods, NH, our favorite ski area.

Once we stayed on the mountain, we were hooked on the ability to open the door in the morning, strap on our skis and start downhill to buy the lift tickets. There's nothing like a mountainside chalet.

I don't think people realize how large Bretton Woods is with its many peaks and some of the trails that go over the back side.

we always stop for lunch at that excellent little restaurant at the top of the mountain where the views of Mt. Washington are breath-taking.

We're moderate skiers so I'd have to say Bretton Woods is best for families as they have the bunny trail at our doorstep, plus a number of black diamonds for those who dare but lots of easy green trails and some pretty easy blue ones.

We love the house with its cozy feeling, fireplace, game room and a bunch of plasma tv's for the guys to watch sports. the kitchen is huge and open and a pleasure to cook meals since the center island can accomodate guests so it's very social to cook there and sip some wine. Extra blankets on the bed were appreciated.

We had a bit of trouble figuring out how to work the Direct TV as kids tend to plug in their iphones I guess but we got them working.

the place was nice and clean though I can see some red wine stains on the carpet which I know are impossible to completely get out, as we have some at home. We did run out of firewood but your caretaker brought over plenty more to load onto the outside deck, where we one day saw a black bear run through the woods.

The views of the slopes and Mt. Washington though really make it worthwhile for us non skiers

We always take a ride over to the Omni hotel as it's now called which has a very nice spa, excellent dining room and a large bar with tremendous views of Mt. Washington. We also rented some snowmobiles for the very first time which was fun going on the golf course open trails and again seeing black bear and lots of hawks and other wild life. A member of our party saw a moose.

We also enjoy visiting the nearby town of Bethlehem which has a few good little locally owned restaurants.

Littleton a bit farther has some good shopping and more restaurant choices.

In summer, we're now planning on doing the mountains of NH and Maine as we're sick of the Cape Cod traffic and congestion.

Thanks again for a great vacation at your mountain house.

best personal regards, Hilda and Tom R.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Presidential Home (Not Accurate)

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Our family get together didn't work out after finding mouse droppings on the beds when the grandkids were ready to go to sleep, It was too late to make any calls, so 2 of the bedrooms were not used & we made arrangements on the sofas. The next day, we told our youngest son & family not to join us since we no longer had space for them. After speaking to the owner John about our situation, he just said that he has mice also in his house, & wasn't apologetic although, Carrie the manager said she was sorry we weren't happy & would return our cleaning fee. WE'RE STILL WAITING so don't believe what they say or the descriptions of the home. It's NOT accurate or updated. There's a lot of damaged items, wires exposed, stains & not useable TV's, computers or working window blinds. Otherwise, it's a beautiful view & nice house if you don't mind putting out luxury price & turning your back on the rest.

Owners response: the ski house is in excellent condition and right on the slopes. Unfortunately it had been cleaned several days prior to guest's arrival so it's possible that mice droppings were there as mice are very common this time of year even though we set traps and our association hires exterminators for the perimeter. We have had no complaints about this house in months. they wanted a reduction in price so we refunded them $ 200 for the inconvenience the first night and our house keepers came back the very next day to make those 2 beds over clean again. Some people just want to complain and keep in mind these rental houses have 12 guests at a time so wear and tear is always an issue as is constant maintenance, plus the maids only have 5 hours to turn over and clean the house between guests, yet they do a superb job and get tipped very well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bretton Woods is best for family skiing

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

Hi Carrie,

You asked us to tell you about our recent stay at your house so we're happy to oblige as we've now been repeat guests of yours 4 times at Bretton Woods staying in both houses.

Staying on the slopes so you can walk out and start skiing is the ultimate.

No driving and loading equipment when you stay on the mountain so you really get spoiled by the ski on ski off.

The house is very nice with terrific views of the slope and Mt. Washington. Even though i don't ski, the rest of my family does along with all the kids.

the house is very nice, probably worth close to a million dollars I'd guess though some of the living room furniture is a bit worn from all the kids.

But the kitchen is nice and open with granite counters and all new appliances so that's where we spend the most time.

Plenty of big plasma TV's to entertain the kids and the men watching sports.

We eat in much of the time as we're several families so we all chip in for cooking duties and the big open kitchen is a great place to hang around the center island. I wish my kitchen at home was as nice as your house.

We love Bretton Woods and your house is highly recommended especially for families with the ski on and ski off concept. Queen and king beds very comfy also.

regards, Greta and Tom K.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great vacation in the White Mountains

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Hi Carrie, thanks so much for renting us both of your beautiful homes at Bretton Woods ski area. We liked it so much up there, we're going to come back and rent from you again before Xmas to teach our young kids to ski.

We had to rent both houses because we were a group of 16 people so with 8 in each house we had plenty of room.

While each house is different, they both had the amenities we enjoy such as being able to step outside and climb the ski mountain which we did every morning. The views at the top of Mt. Washington straight ahead are mesmerizing. We love what you did with the kitchens and the big center island was the place to hang out and sip wine while cooking dinner. Now I want to do over my kitchen with a big center island back in Natick. Definitely getting rid of my corian counters and going with granite like yours.

We took the kids to some of the tourist traps which was fun, and the girls went over to the Mt. Washington hotel down the street and enjoyed facials and massages in that big new spa they built which is beautiful. My husband and I went over to the hotel for dinner one night and while pricey, it was delicious and again great views of the mountains from the hotel dining room.

It was a great get-away and I like the low September prices since it's before the foliage rush, so we're not ones to pass up a deal.

many thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great vacation in the White Mountains

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Hi Carrie, thanks so much for renting us both of your beautiful homes at Bretton Woods ski area. We liked it so much up there, we're going to come back and rent from you again before Xmas to teach our young kids to ski.

We had to rent both houses because we were a group of 16 people so with 8 in each house we had plenty of room.

While each house is different, they both had the amenities we enjoy such as being able to step outside and climb the ski mountain which we did every morning. The views at the top of Mt. Washington straight ahead are mesmerizing. We love what you did with the kitchens and the big center island was the place to hang out and sip wine while cooking dinner. Now I want to do over my kitchen with a big center island back in Natick. Definitely getting rid of my corian counters and going with granite like yours.

We took the kids to some of the tourist traps which was fun, and the girls went over to the Omni Mt. Washington hotel down the street and enjoyed facials and massages in that big new spa they built which is beautiful. My husband and I went over to the hotel for dinner one night and while pricey, it was delicious and again great views of the mountains from the hotel dining room.

It was a great get-away and I like the low September prices since it's before the foliage rush, so we're not ones to pass up a deal.

many thanks, Suzanne.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful summer vacation

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Carrie and John,

Thanks so much for letting us use your beautiful Bretton Woods ski house. While in summer staying right on the ski trail might not be such a big deal as it is in winter, we enjoyed hiking the ski mountain and the views on top were incredible. So much to do within a 45 minute drive so the kids had a blast, and we went shopping over to North Conway's outlet stores. You have a beautiful house so hopefully we can bring the kids up to ski this winter. best regards, Joe and Barb

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Needs updating and better property maintenance at this price range

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We have stayed at Bretton Woods before in other Presidential town homes and were excited for our first trip up north outside of ski season. The location is fantastic and these house are generally top quality, but I would have to say that this unit is in need of some updating/better property maintenance to charge the rates that are applied to this type of home. As other guests have noted, the description of the property is not accurate to the current condition of the house. The mattresses need to be updated, our bed did not have a mattress pad under the sheets, the sheets need to be replaced, there were lots of broken or missing screens on the windows, there were shades/blinds missing from some windows, there were one dish towel in the house, there were no dish sponges, etc.

We had a very good time overall, but if I was the owner of this house and renting at this location/price range - I would come to the conclusion that the house needs to be updated/fixed a bit along with better site preparation to serve as a rental location.

Owners response: Actually for the fall season we've just purchased new bedding on the 2 mattresses that were a little soft (we buy firm generally). All new Egyptian cotton sheets Costco's best, for all bedrooms, and the association has replaced all screens that had some rips (even though summer is over). The house is in excellent condition with every luxury amenity. john

Helpful votes: 9 / 14

 

Full Moon at Bretton Woods

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

My family and I had a great vacation at this home. The views of Mt. Washington are spectacular and the first night the sky was clear and there was a full moon over Mt. Washington. The mountain turned pink and orange and was beautiful. The Presidential trail runs right beside the home which was great. The media room in the house was nice and soundproof. When you shut the door you could not hear the TV. We ran low on firewood while there and when we called for more it was delivered the same day! The home itself has been used hard and is not exactly as advertized but it did not prevent us from having a nice time. Here are some of our observations and recommendations for improvements: towel rack in master bath broken, ceiling fan in master does not work, big stain in carpeting in master, only 2 kitchen towels provided and no dish cloth or sponge to wash dishes and counters, fan in great room not working, screen door in great room broken, kitchen not as well equipped as we would have liked (need more pots and pans), big burn spots in the carpeting in front of the fireplace, no crystal or china in the kitchen, bed sheets not as advertized, Also in home of this quality you would think each bathroom would have a supply of tissues, toilet paper, a blow dryer and lighted makeup mirror. While we were there the flat panel TV in the media room broke (not the fault of the owner)! As I said the above mentioned items did not prevent us from having a nice time....but the writeup on this home does not accurately describe the condition of the home and should be changed.

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Wonderful fall foliage trip to NH

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

Excellent mini-vacation for a long weekend.

Beautiful home and a superb location on the mountain overlooking the slopes. Wish we were skiers.

4 couples sharing the house, and had a great time.

Thanks, Milton

Owners response: wonderful guests these people.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Real nice home at Bretton Woods

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Just a short note to tell you what a beautiful home you have there in Presidential Views Development.

We did see a black bear early one morning with a cub in tow.

Staying on the mountain was pretty cool. We'll be back in ski season with a large group next time.

Thanks, Ron H.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely stay in the White Mountains

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

Hi Carrie

You asked me to post some comments on our wonderful long weekend at your Bretton Woods house so I'm happy to oblige.

We did have a great trip and with 12 of us, the house was pretty full.

Beautiful location you have there on the mountain-side ski trails so we may want to return in winter though we're not skiers.

House was very dramatic with that huge wall of glass looking over to Mt. Washington. We had the fireplace going on the chilly nights.

The kids enjoyed the game room with pool table downstairs and the adults used the 3 upstairs bedrooms. Everyone was happy having their own bathroom also.

A few minor issues, a previous guest spilled some red wine on the sofa so we pointed that out to your housekeeper and we had trouble finding all the towels, but eventually discovered them in the cupboards above the laundry. You should have your house keeper stock them in the bathrooms instead.

But we had lots of fun up there, played a round of golf and we girls enjoyed a massage at the large luxury hotel the Mt. Washington's new spa. Very impressive.

Maybe see you up there this winter for a long weekend I hope.

Regards, Mabel and Tom P.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Nice Home....but has some issues...Beware!!

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

The location of house is perfect and views spectacular.The house is huge and was great for the 8 of us. We loved the kitchen, the big dining room table, the deck, game tables etc.We went on the Canopy Tour, Cog Railway, Mt Washington Hotel, the Spa,and hiked. The house was generally clean. However, several things were not "as advertised " in the multi page document that is provided when you rent this place. Several things were broken or missing. There seems to be a disconnect between the owner/office and property manager/cleaning crew. Communication seems to be an issue as well. The smoke detectors on the main floor and the 3rd floor were missing. The cover, batteries were gone. This is a significant safety issue Gourmet Kitchen- The kitchen is beautiful!!....However, several things were missing ..No can opener, no wine opener, no crock pot. I did not find 12 crystal wine glasses. There was a hodgepodge of odd wine glasses.(see photo) . I did not see any "fine china"..but the dishes that were there were fine.The lower oven took over 1 hour to preheat to 350 degrees . The second refridgerator in the garage does not keep things cold enough. Gas grill was rusty and not usable. Both propane tanks were empty. TV in 1st bedroom at top of stairs did not work properly with Direct TV. The Main Red cloth couch was dirty and needs to be replaced. We had to cover it with blankets to use it. There are burn marks on rug in front of large fireplace in main living room. The Screen on door to deck was ripped and door did not close properly causing bugs to come into the house. The bench on deck was broken. There was a half smoked , chewed cigar on the deck when we arrived and a broken Styrofoam cooler . 600 count Egyptian cotton sheets??- Not there. Many of the towels in each bathroom were old and rough and should probably be retired for the car washing. Some were musty smelling and we had to wash them before using. Shade in TV room behind large soft chair...broken No screen on window at top of stairs coming from lower level to second level. Water spout on re fridge door- not working properly Master Bedroom Suite- Light on ceiling fan- not working, Lamp next to bed- light bulb out. Although , none of the above "ruined" our vacation, based on my first experience with this owner, I would not rent this house again or any of the other houses owned by this owner

Helpful votes: 22 / 23

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great vacation, thanks

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Bretton Woods is an awesome spot to vacation simply because it's so convenient to all the tourist attractions, especially in summer.

We loved your house again, our 2nd visit here as the last time was 2 years ago during ski season. Walking out the door and being on the ski trail is certainly the way to go. The kids loved it.

Nice big house, loved the big screen tv and pool table.

Views were mesmerizing looking out at Mt Washington and viewing the skiiers going up and down.

We hope to do Thanksgiving there though I know the skiing is not so great that early in the year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Staying slope-side spoils me

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Hi Carrie

Since you asked, yes we had a great skip trip to your Bretton Woods house.

Staying on the mountain is just incredible as you walk outside, strap on your skis and off you go.

We love Bretton Woods for its intermediate terrain and wide trails of which there are plenty. It's a friendly place with nice base lodge though we just skied back to the house for coffee break and lunch.

The kids skied until dark. then they wanted to do night sking also.

The big gourmet kitchen handled us well for our meals and the home theater entertained us watching sports events. We shot a few games of pool of course also. The house is truly amazing and the views incredible.

Highly recommended for families or lovers for romance

best regards, Robert

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Hi Carrie,

We just wanted to drop you a note saying we had a wonderful ski trip at Bretton Woods. It's not a bad drive from Worcester area up there, under 3 hours so the kids didn't go nuts on us. Staying on the slope is the ultimate in convenience and just walking out your door in the morning to ski is awesome. The house was beautiful and we appreciated the home theater and large eat-in kitchen. It's a really nice intermediate ski area with very wide trails and the kids loved it. Many thanks, Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Bretton Woods is our favorite family ski area because it has a nice easy bunny slope. The owners of this house actually own 2 houses on the slopes, so you can choose which one you prefer. We like the one on the kids' slope since our little ones can walk outside and use the easy lift and frankly, we don't even have to worry about them out there as we can watch them from the house. The chalet is beautiful with multiple tv's, a home theater room and nice big open kitchen. We used plenty of firewood and made a roaring fire each night while listening to music. The Mt. Washington hotel is just a mile down the road if you feel like a nice dinner or spa treatment but we usually just spend our evenings in the house as there's little reason to leave. A great family vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

our annual trip

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

John,

I just wanted you to know that we really enjoyed ourselves at your home.

We were very impressed with the house, it was immaculate! The entire house was spotless, the kitchen appliances, the bedrooms, etc.

Whoever is maintaining your property--they are doing an excellent job.

As much as we liked your Bretton Woods NH house, we feel more comfortable in Stowe VT, so we'll be in touch soon about booking one of your Stowe houses for next fall's getaway.

all the best, Don and Barbara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific summer vacation at Bretton Woods house

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Hello there....just returned from our wonderful stay at #5 Presidential. The view alone of Mt. Washington made the trip! What a fantastic view! We pretty much had the whole mountain to ourselves for the week....very quiet, relaxing and serene. The house was beyond our expectations, and everyone had a great time. Even saw a moose our first morning there! Everyone enjoyed themselves and it was a great family time....one that we will remember for a long time to come. Thank you for letting us use your wonderful home, and we are already planning another trip! And next year....it will be one of your Caribbean homes!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Re-scheduled trip was great. thank you so much

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

Dear John;
My name is Dan McCabe, my family & I have just returned from glorious week at your rental (#34) in Bretton Woods, N.H.
You probably have no reason to remember me )or our family). My daughter(s) handled the rental with you.
We had originally rented your unit in St. Martin for a 50th wedding anniversary celebration for my wife & myself along with our family.
We were scheduled to rent the unit June 28 through July 5th.
Unfortunately for us, my wife suffered a stroke the week before we were to go there and we needed to cancel.
The good news here is that my wife has pretty much completely recovered now, and one of our daughters (either Colleen Zammer, or AnnMarie Beauchemin) contacted you and asked if we could exchange the rental in St. Martin with one of the units in N.H.
You had absolutely no reason to even consider this option, since we were the one's who defaulted. However...through the goodness of your heart. or for whatever other reason you graciously allowed us to do that with no additional charge.

We are all so very grateful for that decision, and we all wanted to let you know that we truly did appreciate your doing so.
The unit was (is) beautiful and the week we spent there was just great. Weather was very accommodating, (real Chamber of Commerce type weather), and we all had the opportunity to celebrate our 50th anniversary together and we all want to express our feelings toward you and your family.

Be assured that should we have the need to do this again, or if we know of anyone who is looking for a rental unit, we will certainly point them your way.
Again, we just want to say a BIG thank you, for accommodating us in the manner that you did.
I am attaching a couple of family photos for whatever reason you like.
Sincerely
Dan & Betty McCabe

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful fall vacation trip to Bretton Woods NH

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

It has been almost a week since our climb to the summit of Mt. Washington, and we finally feel normal again!!! The climb was on my" bucket list" for my 50th birthday ,3 years ago. Both Mark and I do not recall it being so difficult. (scary what 3 years does!!) It was on my cousin's "bucket list", and when she asked if we would join her, we became exhilarated w/ the whole idea!!!!

We either have dementia or we are just plain old sadistic!!!!! ha!!! Yes, it was way more than we all bargained for, but the weather was perfect which is quite unusual. Also, knowing we were coming back to the condo at Bretton Woods truly kept us going!!!

We laughed so much, and although our bodies ached so bad, it was truly one of the " best get aways" we have had in a long time. Bren and Kate spent Saturday mountain biking and had an absolute blast!!! They introduced it to Mark; and he was a good sport despite his pain from the day before, and made a run down the mountain.

We all visited the Mount Washington Hotel and relaxed w/ a fine cocktail....how beautiful!!!! We stayed in touch w/ John (???? not sure that is his name), your rental manager.

The views from the house were terrific and we loved the location on the side of the ski mountain.

Mark fixed a few things at the condo, and stay in communication w/ him. He's quite an interesting character. Thank you, thank you, thank you so much again. You don't know how much it was appreciated by all....please stay in touch. Mark and Jane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really enjoyed our stay at your Bretton Woods house

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

We just returned from our stay at the Presidential #5 home in New Hampshire. The home is lovely...the view of Mount Washington was outstanding...

The only suggestions we had are:
- carpet in living room has a few burn marks that could use repair or replacement
- a tea kettle and muffin pans would be nice.
- A few maintenance items, downstairs couch (3rd level) looks like one of the pillows on back of the couch is separating at the seam...may want to look into repair.
-The moose in front of the house kept falling over not sure if he could be secured or not...he was a nice touch to the landscaping.

Other than that it was a great place to stay, a home away from home.....and John at the General store was very accommodating!

Loved the slope-side location of course.

We have already sent our friends a link to the website to view this home....thank you for making our stay a good one in New Hampshire!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay at Bretton Woods house

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We just wanted to drop you a quick note to thank you for a fabulous long weekend in Bretton Woods, # 5 Presidential Oct 8-12, 2009.

We are looking forward to next year, hopefully same time and same place.

thanks again, Jim and Carolyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Style, Comfort and Views!

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

We (7 adults) rented this for the long Labor Day Weekend and couldn't have been more pleased. Each of the bedrooms on the upper floor has an en suite full bathroom, such luxury! The media room with surround sound was fantastic, we brought a few movies with us and were so glad we did - it was like being in theater but much more comfortable. The guys in our group used the downstairs family room to watch sports on the flat screen and play pool. We all enjoyed the air hockey and table tennis while waiting for our steaks to cook on the grill. This house is in a great location - we golfed at three different courses and didn't have to drive more than 15 minutes to each. We also enjoyed a round of golf and then drinks on the porch at the Mt. Washington hotel, with postcard views of Mt. Washington - you forget what an incredible place that is - they just don't build them like that anymore. This was a fantastic house for our group, but would also be perfect for multiple families to enjoy - you could easily sleep 7 kids in beds on the lower floor, plus there's the sectional sofa, and then three couples on the upper floor. We've rented many houses as a group over the years, and this rates up there with the best. The house was spotless and had all the basics you need to cook in. Check-in and out was so easy. I recommend this unequivocally!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved this house

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: December 14, 2008

We've rented the Caribbean house this same owner has and we'll be back to this Bretton Woods house at least once and maybe twice this winter.

This house is Presidential Views, a gorgeous development which is ski on and ski off. Walk out the door and the slope is right there.

This house is painted in nice colors with a huge moosehead and big kitchen fully applianced with crystal wine glasses which we hand washed as requested.

there's a huge projector TV in one room, a billiards table in the game room and several plasma TV's.

House was immaculate and extremely well kept and plenty of good hardwood for the fireplace was nice and dry in the garage. We no longer fly out west to go skiing since we love Bretton Woods for its many intermediate trails. We also saw a moose and several fox on our last stay. Very cool.

j. James jr./washington, dc.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Luxurious & Spacious

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We loved this rental property, right on the slopes at Bretton Woods. There are 5 spacious bedrooms, 2 spacious "TV/Family Rooms", and a very comfortable Great Room open to the gorgeous kitchen and dining room. I highly recommmend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review