reviews for: listing #27517 - Yachats, Oregon House rental

Zen Beach Retreat House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $345 /nt

sort by:

Great home near friendly Yachats

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

This house was clean and well-maintained. We really researched our options before choosing this home for our stay at the coast, and this home delivered. The owner was helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. We liked being a very short walk to the beach. The home worked well for us and our 2 young children (7 month old and 3 year old). They actually slept in the walk in closet off the main bedroom and it worked great! Grandma and Grandpa joined us and stayed above the garage. They were very pleased with their room, and the separation from the main house was also some nice privacy. The locals in Yachats were so welcoming and friendly. We especially enjoyed the food/music at the Drift Inn. We loved seeing Devil's Churn at high tide, and did some hiking in Cape Perpetua. We would definitely recommend this home to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Time for maintenance

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Zen house in 2011. We loved the house and location. Based on our experience we decided to rent it again (about 2 years later). The condition of the unit was less than I expected. 1 wash cloth, numerous lights out, no dusting, etc. (I understand they had just changed cleaning personnel). It appears there has been no day to day maintenance performed in the last 2 years. The upstairs deck railings were in real need of restaining. The garden needs some TLC as benches needed refinishing, the fire pit was shot. All in all there are deferred maintenance issues that need to be dealt with. Assuming the owners deal with the maintenance issues, we would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are aware of minor maintenance issues that needed to be done - but have had difficult scheduling time the last few months as the Zen House has been booked solid. We don't like interfering with guest's experience by having workers in and out during their stay - so we try to get these done during gaps in bookings - which have been few and far between. We've been talking about this the last few weeks and will probably have to get workers in during stays as it looks like the upcoming month is pretty busy as well. We hope you come back and find the Zen House as beautiful as ever. Thanks again for your business and your helpful comments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

More Time

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

This year was our third week-long stay at Zen Beach Retreat--and it is a true retreat for us, leaving the fast pace of city life once we enter the door. The high ceilings, wood and windows give this house such a serene atmosphere. The biggest draw is definitely the soaking tub. Very unique room design, with the feeling of soaking in the outdoors while actually being cozy inside the house. Not to be missed. Many pluses here: the deck, the glass block shower, sauna, and separate studio bedroom. Oh, and the, garden and well equipped kitchen! We ended up cooking almost all our meals, really relaxing rather than spending time driving into town to wait for tables. It's a best kept secret that the house is a super short walk to one of the very best strolling beaches in Oregon. Great, flat expanse where you will have plenty of space to enjoy the ocean view. Best of all, our dog can join us for our stay. The house is very well maintained and clean - there's a pretty comprehensive guide to the house left for guests and it's been very useful. We had fast response from the property manager regarding a change to the lockbox. Our recent experience was wonderful - has been every visit. We're already planning the next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Cindy,
I appreciate your loyalty to the Zen House and I am glad that you enjoy all the features that makes the Zen House so unique. My favorite aspect of the house, besides the obvious soaking tub, is that there is no TV downstairs. When I come to stay, I want to experience the ambiance and comfort of the living area and enjoy the people with me, without the distraction of a blaring TV.
I hope that you will continue to spend your summer vacations at the Zen House!
Nan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

If they told us there was raw sewage, we would not have come.

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

The courtesy of a simple phone call would have made all the difference. Had the property manager or owner called to let us know there was a septic problem, we could have avoided the entire mess my family vacation became. As it turned out, there was a toilet backed up when we arrived and soon after raw sewage backing up into the shower and we could not use any water at all. Once the property manager assured us the septic tank would be pumped the day AFTER we arrived, she would not take another phone call when further problems (and ensuing unpleasant smells and health issues) arose. We could not stay in the house and the following two nights were spent in two other places, the last night in a cheap motel. We were told the house was cleaned, disinfected and deodorized for our return but came back only to find a padlock on the 2nd bathroom that had a backed up toilet and raw sewage in the shower and the house smelled even worse. Still, the property manager would not return our urgent calls. Although the house was charming, we never did get to soak in the tub or have what you would call a "zen" experience. We had to relocate every day, were exposed to raw sewage, were not able to use any water, and had many unexpected expenses. Our stay in the Zen House was stressful, to say the least. Most disappointing for me is the way it was handled. The courtesy of a call before we came or access to the property manager when we needed help would have made all the difference.

Owners response: We apologize for the inconvenience – but we didn't know there was a septic issue until shortly before your arrival – otherwise we would have either taken care of it – or helped you find other accommodations. Septic problems, like many other plumbing related issues, happen quite infrequently are very difficult to predict. We would never have rented the Zen House knowing there was an issue. Once you arrived we asked that you not flush the toilet and said that the problem would be resolved as soon as we could get the professionals in. The shower, soaking tub, and sinks in the main house are on a different system and could have been used. The next morning we moved you to another rental as soon as it was available. We then brought the plumber in, had the bathrooms cleaned and sanitized and made the house ready for your re-arrival the next day. The bathroom in the garage was locked because it was the cause and location of the problems and required additional work to correct the issue. There were two other usable bathrooms. You chose not to return and we issued you a full refund, provided free alternate housing for you and apologized profusely about the circumstances around your visit. In addition to what we provided you during your stay you also wanted us to purchase a weekend for you at another vacation rental during winter break. We felt that was unreasonable. We are sorry that that was not sufficient for you. The lack of communication came on the third day when you left me seven increasingly dramatic messages while I was hiking and out of cell phone service. Had all those calls been directed to our local property manager, as per your instructions, she could have helped you in a timely manner.
As for the future - we are looking into a monitoring system of some sort to help avoid this kind of problem should it arise. We are always looking for ways to improve the quality of the Zen House experience.
Nan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great retreat!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

This house was such a lovely retreat for us. It was quiet, close to the beach, lovely tub and sauna, and just generally cozy:-) It was also very close to nearby towns that offered wonderful dining and fabulous seafood. I would definitely recommend this beautiful house on the Oregon Coast!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Choice!

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

As an antidote to kitschy beach decor, this home exudes peace and comfort. The sauna and tub are the perfect place to recover from a long beach walk, though we also brought bikes and headed up the lovely Yachats River Rd. The beach nearby was nicer than expected, partly because we had calm, clear weather. If reviews could hold a photo, I'd include the shot of a surprised deer in the garden, eying me over the bushes. Highly recommended, thanks for sharing.

Owners response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed The Zen House. Please send the photo to our email, I'll see about posting it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

retreat!!!

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

An amazing house next to a very wonderful beach. Although this property is not ocean front it is a gem! The spa in the house is heaven, very beautiful. We spent a lot of time in there relaxing, soaking, sweating. You basically have your own spa inside a very sweet little house. The bed is ubber comfy and the kitchen is very functional. The garden is really sweet and full of birds.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words...come back soon!
Nan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

M & M

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

The Zen Beach House was the perfect place for a week of reflection and rejuvenation. The house is so Zen, with lovely details, and the energy of the place was just what we were hoping for. The wood-burning stove, the sauna, the soaking tub and the lovely glass block shower made us feel pampered without leaving the house! The beach is close enough that we could hear the waves crashing each night. The Zen House is completely private and very serene and peaceful. Hard to leave, but we intend to return at the next opportunity.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Michael, we hope to see you again very soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing retreat

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We spent hours online searching for a rental house on the central Oregon coast that would provide for a peaceful, relaxing & romantic New Years Eve... a place that was also within walking distance to a nice beach, where dogs were permitted, and it had to be clean and well kept up.
When we walked into the Zen House, I fell in love! It was all of these things, and even better than I had hoped for. We enjoyed a beautiful, warm fire every night. The bed was very comfortable and clean. We walked for miles with our dogs on the beach just down the street, and we went golfing in Florence at Sandpines (which was very nice course though very cold and windy). My favorite thing was the spa / bathroom. The house was design with such care and attention to details. I highly recommend the Zen House. We will definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words Mike. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet cozy house to relax

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Zen House a couple times now, and have enjoyed every trip. It's a great place to unwind for a few days. There is quite a bit to do in and around the house, as well as several different state park areas. This last time we brought along a small kayak, and meandered up into the Beaver Creek State Natural Area for the day. We didn't see any beavers this time, but did see lots of other various wildlife including a bald eagle that flew 30 feet over the top of us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your repeat business - glad you appreciate the cozy nature of the Zen House - we enjoy that aspect as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, relaxing, indulgent, unique.

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

The Zen house was exceptional. Everything in the house was just right including the comforting energy of the space. Our favorite was soaking in the Japanese tub, taking a sauna and then a shower in the outdoor like setting. Just steps away from a perfect beach a nice long walk every morning really set the tone. The owners are very accommodating and friendly. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our intention is to create and maintain the unique and special environment that you experienced. Thanks so much for appreciating it - and please come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy, sweet place

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

The Zen house is perfect for a couple wanting a quiet, restorative weekend away. It sleeps more, but I highly recommend esp for a romantic trip - honeymoon, etc. The soaking tub is wonderful - as is the sauna - you really can't beat romping on the beach and warming up in this bathroom! You have to see it to really appreciate how great it is. There are neighbors nearby, so remember it's not a secluded spot, but the garden and house are very quiet and peaceful. Go!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed our spa experience with the sauna and soaking tub. There's something about that tub.....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Zen Atmosphere

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

We had a great time at the Zen House. The house is wonderfully decorated with Zen inspired architectural and artistic elements. The beach is just a block from the house! The house has a very nice bathroom with wondeful open shower, sauna and bath, and a nice deck upstairs to sit in the sun in the morning to sip a cup of coffee. I would definitely recommend staying here - you'll have a great experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I will be back.

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

This is one of those quaint places on the coast that has been here a while. The difference from other places I have stayed on the coast is that it is obvious a lot of care has been put into the place. The sauna area is off to the side, clean and private. The floor plan seems to have evolved in a way that fits the name. Combine that with the decor and the books on the shelves and this truly is a Zen House.

We had an excellent time with four of us staying for two nights. The kitchen is nicely equipped so we could prepare out own meals and enjoy them in the living/dining area. It's a really short walk to the beach, and we pretty much had it to ourselves. There is a lot to do and see within just a few miles up or down the coast. For us, the biggest feature is the sauna, spa, shower area. The sauna gets hot, and the huge open shower is just a few steps away for cooling off. The tub is really cool. If you want a romantic soak, this is it. The only negative comment I have is that the guest room, above the separate garage, has no bathroom. That meant a walk down the stairs and over to the house at night.

In short, if you want a cozy yet luxurious place to stay, well designed, well kept, and just comfortable, take a look at the Zen House. My son lives in NYC, visiting Oregon once a year. We have decided to reunite every year at the Zen House. I am looking forward to it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect honeymoon spot

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

My husband and I came to the Zen House for our honeymoon. This place is a hidden Gem! The house was in amazing shape and we enjoyed every amentity it had to offer. It was a perfect place to relax and spend a romantic time with your signifcant other. The house is very close to Yahacts and we recommend the Luna fish house for a Great meal. There are plenty of amazing hikes and sightseeing to do. Thank you and we plan on coming back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations on your wedding - and so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Zen Beach Retreat. We agree that it's a wonderful place to have a romantic interlude - whether it's your first week or fourth decade of being together. Hope you can return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house, outstanding sauna/tub room, elaborate garden- AMAZING property!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Serene and clean, the Zen House was an amazing getaway for us. With eye-pleasing Asian-inspired woodwork throughout, plenty of room for two couples (guest room is in separate building), a fully-stocked kitchen, the spacious deck overlooking a beautiful garden, and the crown jewel: the sauna, bathtub for two, and glass brick shower.

I was able to get some work done from the desk in the master bedroom, cook dinner, hook my computer up to watch a movie on the flat screen, take a midnight stroll down a misty beach, and top it off with a sauna and a drink on the deck. Yes.

The place was immaculate, and the manager friendly and helpful.

We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very disappointed

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

When we first arrived for our honeymoon we were very pleased, until we found the dirty dishes someone had put back on the shelves with the clean ones, and the cobwebs and dust throughout the house. The 'cleanup' required before leaving really made us question what the cleaning fee was for. We apparently misunderstood that there would be wood for the fire place. Our understanding was that we had to replace what we used, instead we left what we bought for the next visitors. When everything is said and done, the spa is the only reason to visit this house. We couldn't honestly refer this property to a friend without warning them of the state we found it in, or the conditions the owner requires you leave it in.

Owners response: I am sorry that you were disappointed with the Zen House. I actually stayed at the Zen House right before you came; during that time I did an inspection and found the house clean and neat. I wish you would have called because there is a cord of wood in the wood shed next to the garage. It appears that we do not have enough information in our reservation packet. I will be updating that soon. Another change that we will make is that we will make sure there is a stack of firewood beside the wood stove for each guest to use. I appreciate your input and will make changes so that future guests are not disappointed. Nan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Visiting from Washington

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

What a warm and lovely home - perfect size for a family of 4 (brought a blow up bed...fit perfectly in the very large master bedroom). The kitchen is well designed for function and set up. The spa tub was a glorious treat, and the shower a very cool design. We dined on the upper deck when the sun was out and walked our dog around the garden every morning, before we went to the beach of course. What a perfect location! We could send our 2 kids (under age 10) down to look at the ocean from the little bluff and feel comfortable. With the ocean so close we enjoyed the beach numerous times a day. The beach is so private, relaxing, exhilarating and absolutely gorgeous. Dine at the Drift Inn: food and ambiance is wonderful. Visited Sea Lion Caves -- the drive on 101 is a scenic joy. If you have time, come in through the Alsea Hwy - beautiful. What a location and well rounded experience at the Zen House. Very highly recommended! We will return!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Third time even better than the first two!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

This was our third time staying at the Zen House over the last several years. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing spot, your search has ended! The weather turned out great and the new dishwasher was a welcome addition!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

idyllic locale for a Pacific retreat

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

I was entranced by the Zen House when searching on VRBO for a rental for several previous beach trips, but it wasn't the right spot for large gatherings of family and friends. But when I decided to spend a week alone for reflection and restoration, I woke up one morning thinking "Zen House!" and couldn't have made a better choice.

Yachats is my new favorite beach town, and I loved the house's location on the sandy beach north of town, just a 3-mile wander or jog to the 804 trail, particularly lovely at sunset with a minus tide and full moon rising. It's also just a short drive to either Waldport or Yachats or beyond, where the Devil's Churn and St. Perpetua and Amanda trails await, and the Cape is always ready to surprise and delight with its ever-changing atmosphere and vistas. As is so often the case at the coast, the weather was surprisingly mild and warm for November, with a few short dramatic storms followed by glorious sun and mist.

The Zen House itself is aptly named. Every detail is harmonious and I instantly felt at home among the cozy furnishings, well-appointed kitchen, beautific lighting and ... amazing bathroom! The soaking tub and garden-jutting river-stone-lined shower are wonderful, and the sauna completes the triumvirate of solace perfectly. At first I was disappointed there was little view of the outdoors from this sanctuary, but I realized that feeling of being warmly held in a protected space is exactly what makes it so special.

The pine-filtered view of the ocean from the master bedroom and adjoining deck is lovely, and the desk positioned at that window is an ideal place to read or write. Watching a full moon move through the night sky through all the windows in the loft was also marvelous.

Zen House is also the first beach retreat I've stayed with well-chosen books and movies such as Princess Bride, Winged Migration and Thief of Bagdad - what a delight!

For anyone traveling alone or with just a few companions, Zen House will welcome you peacably. I will be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Beach House for Balancing Your Chi

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

The Zen House provided us a lovely place to renew our spirits. The ocean is close, uncrowded beach gorgeous. The home is delightfully furnished in every room so as to encourage rest and meditation (and good eating). We especially loved early morning yoga on the beach and in the big bedroom, breakfast on the deck (we had 3 days of sunshine in October!), thoughtful wanderings in the marvelous private garden and endless beach, resting in the magical loveseat by the cheery woodstove, and of course, our tub, sauna, and shower sessions after outdoor adventures (do hike the nearby Cape Perpetua trails and tidal pools for the bird's eye and closeup of marine ecology). Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. And yes - October can be absolutely beautiful at the coast. Hope you come back and stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ZEN Experience

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Zen House. It exceeded all our expectations. The Spa and Garden were great favorites with our family and were used daily during our stay. The privacy of the guest area worked well for our son and his wife. Our two dogs were on their very best behavior. The proximity to the beautiful beach was enhanced by beautiful Fall weather. We were there during the Yachats Mushroom Festival and were able to relax, renew and have a great learning experience.
The town of Yachats was very friendly and the restaurants we visited fed us well. We hope to visit again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Planet Spa

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Best house to enjoy Yachats with your lover and another couple. Perfect separation of space as the garage houses it's own bathroom/shower and second story apartment. The main house's impeccably Asian influence brings awareness to peace at each turn, in every little cove, in color and buddhist items displayed. Main bathroom is a planet to itself and is perfect for a couple to enjoy lounging in the 2 person soaking tub by the gas woodstove, take a wonderful sauna, and then a glassed in shower on river rock. This, my second time to have the honor to stay here, was much easier, knowing it has a few 'tricks' like any house; where the garage apt key is stored, how to light the pilot to the gas woodstove in the bath, knowing to tell others that it is on septic and has an on-demand hot water system. Way more able to enjoy it fully with a lover and friends than with my mother and her dog - I don't recommend for those unable to go up stairs or handle a change from a normal 'city' house. For us, we will come back as often as we can - Zen it is, cradled within the TAO! Love and light to all !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Returned after four years for another great stay

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

Our second stay at the Zen House (ZH) in September 2011 was for 2 weeks again. We are still enthralled by the Oregon coast, and the ZH is in a great location from which to see it. We enjoy the beachcombing that is steps away and watching for a great sunset each evening. The neighborhood is quiet and convenient to Yachats, Waldport, Cape Perpetua, Newport, and Florence. Our last stay was in late June and the weather was not as challenging as in fall. The coast can be fickle in fall when 10 miles north or south can make all the difference between a cloudy, foggy day and a nice sunny one.

We appreciated the remodelling changes downstairs that made the dining area more accessible and provided more room. On our last trip we hardly used the spa because we ran around so much, but this stay we made a point of using it. It's very nice to know that you can come back to a long, hot soak after a day of clambering over the rocks. The garden in the back had a manicured look compared to four years ago. In general, the outside of the ZH looked better than before. We didn't use the deck off the upstairs bedroom as much because the downstairs dining area was more convenient, but we appreciated that the big birch was trimmed back so you could see more.

We drove up to Newport and Yaquina Head many more times on this trip. We saw whales on 3 days from the lighthouse at Yaquina Head, and we ate ourselves silly down at the bay in Newport. Food is much improved in both Newport and Florence since our last trip. We especially liked Local Ocean and Saffron Salmon in Newport and the Maple Street Grille in Florence. However, you can go to the South Beach crab market and get smoked tuna and salmon and crab cocktails to take home and be perfectly happy at the ZH.

In general, the ZH was better than the last time and the rental price reduction makes it a better value. We would stay here again in a minute. Yachats is such a great little town and Cape Perpetua is such an interesting place. We drove down to Strawberry Hill to watch the seals almost every day. The Zen House puts all this closeby.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for returning to the Zen House and for your gracious comments. The Oregon Coast is a special place, and we work continually to make the Zen House a very special experience and a launching spot to enjoy it from. We hope you come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a nice stay

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

MY wife ,our dog and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Zen House. The kitchen is small, but it functions great. Our dog learned to climb on the roof, what a surprise to us to see her on the roof peak!
If we're at the Oregon coast again we'll rent the Zen house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dog on the Roof - was that a song in the 80's?? Oh sorry - that was Band on the Run....

So glad you enjoyed the Zen House - please come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our favorite place to stay in Yachats!

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Our family stays in this house every summer, it's perfect! From the garden to the deck, to the soaking tub & sauna, we love it! The location is awesome, and the beach is always great. Very reasonable rate, considering some hotels are as much, with far fewer amenities. Owners & manager are very responsive to needs. House is very comfortable, and really has a "Zen" quality to it. Perfect places to read, nap, dine, and relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments - we are so happy you enjoy it as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet, uncluttered, and nice atmosphere for the price

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week in July 2011. We found the house to be almost exactly as listed, fairly well maintained, well appointed and slightly unconventional (but in a good way). We loved eating breakfast on the second story deck, listening to the ocean. We also loved the deep soaking tub - I am 6'6" and don't fit in standard sized tubs but my wife and I both fit easily in it and used it every day. Our only complaint was that none of the windows on the second story were operable - to listen to the ocean at night, we would have to leave the door to the second story deck open, which us city slickers didn't feel comfortable with. The owner responded to all emails before and after the rental period. We would recommend this property to friends and family without hesitation.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. That tub is amzing isn't it. Deep and long - very unusual.

We feel pretty comfortable keeping the bedroom door open, with the screen locked. Since the only access to the deck is through the bedroom and the sleeping loft - it's pretty safe. Someone would have to put a ladder up there - never heard of any of these kind of problems in our area.

Thanks for your comments.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Lovely Place

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

My wife, 5 year-old daughter and dog enjoyed our stay very much. It's a peaceful setting in a very cozy, comfortable home. Our daughter played with the kids across the street and our dog swam in the ocean with the neighbor's dogs. We felt right at home. We would definitely stay again. Thank you, Nan.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Relaxing Home

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

We loved the Zen House. We have rented several places in Yachats over the years and by far the Zen House is now our favorite. My husband and I rented the Zen House over Christmas. The affordability is what initially drew our attention, it also helped that they had listed a Spa and Japanese Soaking tub. What we did not expect was the very relaxing deck and garden, the garden is layed out in a natural setting with lots of native plants and trees to seek out. The rocks that paved the way through the garden were soft and very comfortable to walk on with bare feet!!! Lastly, We had some friends call us last minute and ask if they could come out to stay with us and we didn't realize there are completely separate living quarters, so they too had a cabin to call their own. This is a very clean house and the owners are very accomidating, you will definately feel the Zen if you stay at this beach cabin.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Amazing house and garden! We will take the memory of the week here home to sustain us through the long, dry summer. (The online pictures don't do the place justice). Our favorites:
1. Miles of sand beach almost ours alone.
2. Amazing garden and shower that shares it.
3. Soaking tub
4. Sleeping in the trees to the sound of the ocean.

Hope to come back this winter for storm watching!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

Deep appreciation for sharing your lovely house in this special place. It could not have been more perfect for the two of us, our son, and our four-year-old granddaughter.

"Do not think flowing is like wind and rain moving from East to West. The entire world is not unchangeable, is not immovable. It flows" - Dogen 1240

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

You can always tell how special a place is by how a child reacts to it, and our girls went nuts when they saw the Zen House. They loved all the surprises, including the 'plank' to the loft, the space tub and sauna. The garden was also a fun place for exploring. Ditto for us, of course, but it was great to share the excitement of the place with them. Thanks for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful house in such a gorgeous space with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. We absolutely loved the sauna and soaking tub. I think my body was more relaxed than it ever has been. The loft above the garage was perfect for our 3 pre-teen kid. My husband and I still felt like we were on a vacation on our own. Thanks so much - it was great - we don't want to leave......

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Ahhhh.....water! This place is all about the myriad delightful forms it can take, and the intersection of them all. And the soaking tub especially. I didn't quite reach enlightenment in there, but it was sheer Bliss. And then there's she glass brick shower which is lovely, especially when it's raining. Thank you for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Beautiful house, beautiful yard, beautiful beach, beautiful sauna, beautiful time. Thank you.

PS. Tried to take the sauna home but it wouldn't fit in the car. Also love all the little touches and details that create the theme of this place and feeling of peace.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

Gorgeous, unique space where one can open to Relaxation, ease, warmth. The birds enjoying the surroundings brings smiles, joy, delight to the ears. Much gratitude to everyone for sharing the space and taking care of our needs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

What a retreat! a treehouse overlooking a secret garden. A cozy living room with a fireplace to warm the body and soul. A cavern with tub & sauna. A meditation garden. Surf roaring. Sun filtering through moss covered trees & a full moon. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Thanks! We loved the Zen House, especially the sauna and the ambiance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

I surprised my wife for her birthday with
a trip down to the Oregon Coast. The Zen
Beach Retreat was a dream come true. We
had a great time. Steps from the ocean,
and the house is well designed but still
comfortable. We'll be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

We have so enjoyed the hospitality and serenity enclosed in this lovely home. Friday night we arrived exhausted in body and soul. But the healing powers of this hosue, the garden, the spa brought us fresh energy and hope for a better tomoorw.....what a wonderful healing, loving time we spent. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. Blessings on all who come here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

We absolutley love this home!! Especially the spa/sauna. This is our new favorite part of the Oregon coast. We too wish we could replicate the wonderful bathroom/spa but since that is highly unlikely - we will just HAVE to make repeated trips down. Thanks for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

This was such a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We loved this area and this home - both are beautiful. We feel refreshed in our marriage and time spent together and ready to back home to our children. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 22, 2009

What an amaxing, relaxing and romantic location to spend an extended weekend. 28 years of marriage, vacations - and this home helped make it an unbelievably bonding time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2009   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

We are very lucky to have friends and family that picked such a perfect place for us to spend our honeymoon at. After months of wedding planning and 2 weekends packed with nearly 200 of our closet friends and family - a soak and sauna were just what we needed to relax. Next time we will come when its cold out so we can light the stove. Thanks this was exactly the tranquility we needed - we'll share out hunted chantrelles with our loved ones as thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

What a wonderful treat-retreat. Zen House is splendid in every detail. The beach is awesome - such expanse. Great gratitude for your generosity.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

We all appreciated the non-beach themed decor. By far the most pleasant coast rental we have stayed at - and we are regulars to Yachats. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Instantly when I walked into the Zen house I felt relaxed and at peace. The sound of the ocean created a peaceful backdrop while hanging on the deck. I Never haven taken three baths in one day before - couldn't even get out of there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Everyone writes that they want to return - we did!! the changes that you've made have vastly improved what had seemed perfect. We love the new light created with the windows and the much more comfortable living room. This time we came without our daughter and discovered the romantic aspects of your exquisite Zen getaway. We celebrated my 60th birthday with hours in the fabulous spa. We want to recreate something similar at thome, but would never be able to duplicate the attention to detail, angle and wood patters. Loved the Waterfront Depot in Florence - everyone in the restaurant sang Happy Birthday to me

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 14, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

What luck to find this on the Internet. We love the Zen Beach House. The craftsmanship and attention to detail are lovely. I can't stop admiring the window over the kitchen sink. We enjoyed the tub every night and will miss it when we leave tomorrow. We did not venture far away - walked on the beach, reading, knitting, meditating and photo shopping. All needs are met. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 11, 2009   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

Well - What a wonderful surprise to walk through the door and find such a perfectly appointed West-East place to retreat. Being from the Big Island of Hawaii I have a tendency to believe that all venues will pale in comparison. How great to be proved wrong.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

We enjoyed our stay - especially the woodstove warming us at night and playing on the beach during the day. The kids like their 'own space' over the garage and my husband liked baking in the sauna. I like relaxing and reading in the red-leather chair by the warm wood stove. Our children were busy finding all the Buddhas in the Zen House. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 23, 2009

Spent four great nights here on a 'arts/music/meditation' retreat. Brought my keyboard for composing, Soraya brought her camera and watercolors. Between extended morning and evening meditation sessions, we worked on our art and music and got out for some nice hikes. Major chill out from my life as a high-school teacher (spring break).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: March 2, 2009

Lovely, languid lushness. I feel blessed and lucky and greateful and joyous. Thank you to perfect girlfriend, perfect Ocean and perfect Zen House Retreat. Yay!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: March 2, 2009

Absolutely fabulous place to detoxify from everyday stress. Felt like home instantly. The sauna is key! Lots of work put into this house. We'll be back. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

The house becomes home so effortlessly. We love the many beautiful touches and the easy comfort. Outside angry storms gave way to sunshine and a great orange sunset. Yachats has long been our favorite place on the Oregon Coast and the quiet retreat this house provides makes it even more special. We hope to return. PS - Our big old Newfie mix Toby thanks you for being welcoming to him. He was a model guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 6, 2008   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

We are Happy & Deeply Grateful!!!!

Married on Neptune Beach where the sun came out from a goggy coast. Wedding dinner at the Waterfront Depot in Florence. Wedding eve sauna and soak, wedding night sweet Suite and glorious bedroom loft...honeymoon, Japanes alters everywhere, peaceful garden and way cool we could bring our adored Standard Poodle with us.

Thank you for making this home so beautiful (the website doesn't reflect how special this house is- 10x better in person we think.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 22, 2008

We had a great time. Thanks. Beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2008   Date of arrival: April 21, 2008

We had such a wonderful, relaxing time, in your beautiful getaway. This house holds so much peace and tranquility in every room - if you look for it. Our stay has been a much needed break. And I know in my heart that a little of the peace will follow us home. We all forget to take these little moments until reminded. thank you for putting so much energy into this house. Your careful and thoughtful attention to detail is truly a gift to all that stay here. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

How very refreshing to find something to be as advertised. We have enjoyed the beach, the lovely people of Yachats and Waldport and your amazing space! The soaking tub, sauna and deck made it very hard for me to leave this house. We feel re-connexcted with nature and with one another. We are planning to return next year - if it is God's will. Thank you for such a well thought out, relaxing and attractive hide-away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 31, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

The house was a dream come true for our Oregon Coast Honeymoon!!! So romantic and wonderful, afer 5 days...we didn't want to leave. We will definately be back for a stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 27, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We stayed here for 2 weeks in June 2007 and had a wonderful time. The bedroom and the deck off of it are on the second floor. Both were very spacious and comfortable. The bedroom has a half-bath off of it. The deck overlooks the garden, so you are sitting in the trees. The bathroom/spa is on the entry floor and a separate destination. It really is a spa with mood lighting and a sauna. The soaking tub was ideal for recovering after a long day of hiking or beachcombing. The house has lots of surprising architectural details, and the owner has labeled most everything to help you. We cooked meals here and found the kitchen well-stocked, but this is not a party house. Seating is limited in the combination living/dining room.

The house has a separate bedroom and bath above the garage connected to the main house by the deck and a walkway.
However, anyone who has to stay in the garage loft will feel cheated by
comparison to the main house. It's best for kids and teens or someone who is staying for free.

When you stay here, you have a real retreat from the world. It's not a place to watch the crashing waves but to close the door on all that commotion. We came a long way to stay here, and we would love to come to stay again.

Owners response: Thanks! The comment about limited seating in the living/dining room - this has changed. This area can now seat 4 for a meal - and 5-7 in the living room. Four new windows in this room as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 20, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We had such a wonderful time, there are not words to describe our weekend, we didn't want to leave. Close enough to home to do again and again. Everything was perfact.WE could have stayed in the sauna all day. I highly recomend this location.

Owners response: Thank you so much. It is a very special home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review