reviews for: listing #27602 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

Tuscan Style Home on Mickey Lake with Master Suite Jacuzzi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  West Traverse City
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $500 /nt
    $1,000 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

christmas 2007 in traverse city, michigan

Review submitted: January 4, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

we spent our 2007 christmas vacation at the house. we had a beautiful white christmas. the house is beautiful. the view of the lake. the snow covered pine trees. the big beautiful windows in the living room allowed us to display our fresh cut 10' blue spruce christmas tree. the trip to downtown traverse city was very convenient and quick. we loved our stay and will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Beautiful Location!

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

My extended family of 8 spent a week here and we were generally very happy with our stay. The home is very spacious (important with a large family) and sits on a beautiful piece of property overlooking Mickey Lake. The lake is very quiet and we enjoyed a lot of time on the various decks outside. It is just a 10 minute drive to downtown Traverse City and walking distance to a small public beach on adjacent Long Lake. The internet access was good, however, the cable is basic only, and we were not able to watch the World Cup or the Tigers:(
Unfortunately, there were a few frustrating aspects of our stay. The oven temperature display was not working and we needed to bake a birthday cake the first day. We spoke to the owner by phone and we agreed to try to blindly adjust the temp with incremental pushes of the button. We had to keep using this approach all week. Another disappointing aspect was that the air conditioning is only on the first floor (including the master bedroom) and not in the lower level where all the other beds are. It was quite hot and stuffy the first few nights as there are only a couple of small windows with screens that open on that level. We had to go out and buy a few fans. Fortunately, the weather cooled a bit the second half of the week. The kitchen could use some more supplies (bowls, silverware, pans) given that the home is supposed to accommodate 11 people.
I think that as rentals go, this one is well pretty well maintained. The location was fantastic!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home, great location.

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

The home was exactly as described, well designed and decorated, and very comfortable. It was a truly relaxing week in the snow. The temperatures were really cold so the blazing fires we built daily with the wood provided were comforting as we watched ice fishing, cross country skiing, and skating on the lake right outside our windows.

The sound system throughout the home is amazing. The Jacuzzi was relaxing. The view from upper and lower decks is beautiful. I'm sure it is fabulous in the summer with all the activities that come associated with a lake.

The area offers many attractions year round so there is little chance of getting bored. Many brochures and directions were provided by the owner which made planning the week very easy.

The only thing to be aware of is the driveway is somewhat steep and a regular car isn't capable of getting back up on its own so it was a lot of work toting all our belongings down then up the hill. But it was worth it!

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our home as much as we do.
We really look forward to have you again as our special guests at "Remember your Spirit".
Best regards,
Dwayne and Mariana Behrens

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great fun!

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We rented this home for a long weekend and we were pleasantly surprised Witt the home and the surroundings! Beautiful!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Remember Your Spirit review

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

The setting is beautiful and the home is decorated to the nines. We especially enjoyed the expansive decks overlooking the lake, which is where we spent most of our time. Having access to the pontoon boat made it really feel like a vacation. The full size barman doll at the bottom of the stairs gave us all a start and a chuckle. Once we figured out that the in floor radiant heating was on and turned it off, the downstairs cooled down acceptably. I would describe the number of bedrooms as being three with an additional queen bed in the downstairs family room. We love the Traverse City area and had a great time touring the wineries and going to some great restaurants like Amical, Red Ginger and Stella's.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great family getaway

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

The house was exactly as it looked in the pictures. We had 3 families enjoy swimming, fishing, cooking and eating on the deck. The lake is so peaceful. But it is so nice that Long Lake is just a few feet away for boating. We had just a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Extraordinary vacation home

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We've rented a lot of properties in and around Traverse City, and this was by far our favorite. It sits on a small lake and is unbelievably quiet and peaceful, with the haunting sounds of loons ever present. The house is beautifully decorated and incredibly comfortable. The owner goes to great lengths to ensure that you have a nice stay. I only wish we'd had more time to enjoy all the amenities. I'd definitely rent it again, and would recommend it highly to anyone who wants a comfortable quiet vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very Peaceful

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Dear Maryana and Dwayne, my husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at your home, and we loved how peaceful and quiet that side of TC is. It was the perfect getaway for his mid-tour leave, and the view from the kitchen/living area was so beautiful when we would wake up and there was a foot of snow that fell over-night, (we did get stuck in the driveway though, lol...I'm thinking my front wheel drive car is not good enough for Michigam winters). You were very accommodating, even though we were last minute renters, and we will definately remember our stay there as a wonderful time we got to have. Thank You for providing such a beautiful home, Kaitlyn and Ben

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really appreciate it the little present you left for us. We hope to have you again at our home in the near future!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Girls Weekend in Traverse City

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This property was absolutely gorgeous as you can see from the photos. It was very well appointed and extremely clean. Location was great - so close to Traverse City, restaurants, shopping and the wineries. We are already making plans to go back next year!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

My brothers, dad, uncles and I spent a long weekend here fishing. The place was awesome and had everything we needed. Lots of room and slept everyone comfortably. The large deck was a great place to hang out on. The large dock also made it very convient for easy access to the fishing. We really enjoyed our experience at this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax in style and comfort.

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

We looked at a number of homes to rent and we feel we made the correct choise. The home was as reported and the 9 of us fitted in it very well.
The deck was plenty big enough and the fire pit was put to good use.
One up-grade that would make it perfict is a sun deck at the dock.
Everyone should put this on their list of homes to stay in atleast once.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Neil and Emma,

Thanks so much for your comments.

We really apprecciate the feedback.

Thanks for the sun deck idea by the dock, we've been looking for that, but gotta say never got to it, now that you mention it, we will put our efforts to have one for next summer!

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed our home as much as we do.

Hope to have you sometime again in the near future as our special guest at "Remember your Spirit".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

not for kids or families

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

House is over priced and pics don't show the house well at all it is much smaller than it looks kitchen is tiny the deck is nice but the dock it very poor the stairs to the dock are poor landscaping is very poor and no sandy frontage for kids to play.

Owners response: Thank you for your valued opinion of our vacation home.

We are sorry to hear that our pictures make our home appear to be larger than the actual 2,880 square feet of finish living space. When our 12x 12 kitchen was featured on the cover of WOODHARBOR’S annual custom cabinetry publication and sent through the USA, we were as proud as the parents who found out that their daughter was being featured on the front of Vogue.

Our ground's keepers do their best to maintain the landscaping of our home and to preserve the natural beauty (wooded area) and feel of Traverse City’s wine country. I think our lake home’s outdoor atmosphere was best described by one of our guests as feeling like they were in the award winning movie “On Golden Pond”.

We also understand that some guests prefer a sandy beach area. We struggled with the thought of destroying the home’s natural beauty and making a beach play area. In the end our decision was to bring the sand only into the swimming area. Part of the reason we decided to do this is because a short distance away (.5 miles) is a wonderful public park with a sandy beach.

However we NEVER say that our home has a sandy beach area, and we always send a full album of pictures or a Facebook invite so our possible renters can see all the pictures of the inside and outside areas of our property.

Please follow the link below, so you are able to see more pictures of our home, or look for us under Dwayne and Mariana Behrens on Facebook.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Nice property, but beware security deposit policy

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

We really had a very positive experience with Mariana and Dwayne throughout the rental process. So, we were truly surprised and disappointed when they handled the security deposit refund so poorly!! During our stay, the mini stereo system just stopped working right in the middle of playing a CD. Despite several calm, factual email exchanges about the topic, they insisted on charging us $190 for a new stereo. They suggested we needed to take responsibility for the accident. What accident?!? We average about 3 rental property vacations every year, and our security deposit has never been handled this poorly. I am just glad the refrigerator or air conditioner did not break down while we were there.

Owners response: Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to hear that you thought it was unfair for you and your family to pay for a less than 1 year old Sony surround system stereo. Actually we apprecciated the comments in our guest book from your daughter's party, even making the comment about our stereo being the highlight from their vacation at our home.

Unfortunately, in 5 years, we've had to take part of the security deposit to cover any damages only 2 times, and we want our guests to believe us, we don't like it! To be honest it will be the easiest if everything in the house stays as found.

However, one of our lessons this time was NOT to make any exceptions, as your group didn't have any adult over 21 years old in your party, and it was as a spring break getaway.

Helpful votes: 29 / 30

 

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

What a beautiful escape from the hectic pace of everyday life. I planned a surprise party for my husband's 50th birthday, and had 6 friends meet us up there 'unexpectedly'. There was plenty of room for everyone and we had a great time! Its a beautiful retreat and provides a peaceful, elegant atmosphere where you can unwind and enjoy some downtime together. You can tell this place was designed with love, and a strong focus on making guests feel welcome and pampered. We really enjoyed ourselves and will recommend it to friends! We're hoping to return soon to enjoy it ourselves.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 8, 2008

Dear Mariana - Our stay at your lovely cabin.

First, we had a wonderful time. It was great seeing our son, cooking together and experiencing snow!

We don't do snow in New Orleans and our little one was able to play in it safely on your deck and that was a real plus.

The fireplace was cozy and we appreciated the firewood that was available.

We LOVED our stay and were so happy to be here.

Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Nancy C.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

We truly enjoyed everything about your lovely home!!!

We really aprecciated the surround sound system-was fabulous! Beautiful decor and comfortable furniture. Windows everywhere! Amazing views!

We will always remember waking up to the most beautiful view- and enjoying our morning coffee on the deck!

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Your place is OUTSTANDING!

Review submitted: September 22, 2008   Date of arrival: September 15, 2008

Mariana & Dwayne,

We wanted to thank you for being able to rent your fantastic lake home. We had a great time. I don't think we would have had the vision to decorate and furnish a lake house the way you did, but it all came together very well. The place is outstanding yet very comfortable. It's obvious from the way you've furnished it to the way you keep it that it's a special place for you. The beds were very comfortable and all of the bed linens were fresh. It's a great escape.

We enjoyed the decks and fireplace as well as the surround sound music. We rented a pontoon boat it was nice to have for sunset cruises around Long Lake.

Overall it was a great vacation. We hated to leave. It exceeded our expectations. Thanks again. Bryan & Susie.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 22, 2008   Date of arrival: September 22, 2008

Your place is OUTSTANDING!

We wanted to thank you for being able to rent your fantastic lake home. We had a great time. I don't think we would have had the vision to decorate and furnish a lake house the way you did, but it all came together very well. The place is outstanding yet very comfortable. It's obvious from the way you've furnished it to the way you keep it that it's a special place for you. The beds were very comfortable and all of the bed linens were fresh. It's a great escape.

We enjoyed the decks and fireplace as well as the surround sound music. We rented a pontoon boat it was nice to have for sunset cruises around Long Lake.

Overall it was a great vacation. We hated to leave. It exceeded our expectations.

Thanks again. Bryan & Susie.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2008   Date of arrival: September 21, 2008

Mariana & Dwayne,

We wanted to thank you for being able to rent your fantastic lake home. We had a great time. I don't think we would have had the vision to decorate and furnish a lake house the way you did, but it all came together very well. The place is outstanding yet very comfortable. It's obvious from the way you've furnished it to the way you keep it that it's a special place for you. The beds were very comfortable and all of the bed linens were fresh. It's a great escape.

We enjoyed the decks and fireplace as well as the surround sound music. We rented a pontoon boat, it was nice to have for sunset cruises around Long Lake.

Overall it was a great vacation. We hated to leave. It exceeded our expectations. Thanks again.

Bryan & Susie.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

Your home made our special celebrations PERFECT!

We will never forget this familiy trip!

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

We loved how everything was already there and waiting!!!

We really enjoyed relaxing looking out at the lake.

Great views and welcoming atmosphere!

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 4, 2008   Date of arrival: January 4, 2008

We spent our 2007 christmas vacation at the house.

We had a beautiful white christmas. The house is beautiful. The view of the lake. The snow covered pine trees. The big beautiful windows in the living room allowed us to display our fresh cut 10' blue spruce Christmas tree. The trip to downtown Traverse City was very convenient and quick.

We loved our stay and will be back again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Dear Mariana,

I just wanted to thank you for renting your beautiful Tuscan Villa to us this past weekend. We had a wonderful time and your place is gorgeous!

Thank you again!

Jodi S.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2007   Date of arrival: September 4, 2007

Hi M & D!

We are coming off of our honeymoon high, as the back-to-work reality hits. We had a fabulous wedding and honeymoon and want to thank you again for allowing us to stay at your special cottage. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and even managed to catch some fish off your dock. Even with all the big, open windows, we felt very private and secluded.

On our first night there, we saw an adult loon with a juvenile loon right in front of the house. The juvenile was dancing and splashing and was very fun to watch. We thought seeing loons must be good luck and a wedding blessing somehow!


We hope we can keep in touch and visit your home again sometime.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!



Diane and Troy
(Mr. and Mrs. T.) ;-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 4, 2007

Mariana and Dwayne,

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely cottage with our family foran extended weekend. Even though there is so much to see and do in the Traverse City area, we often found ourselves eager to get back to thecottage early. We truly enjoyed the comfortable furnishings and relaxing atmosphere. It was a joy to prepare meals for my family in your beautiful kitchen.

We hope to visit again soon and will definetly recommend your cottage to our many friends who also use the vrbo website for travel.

Thank you again for the opportunity to stay at your gorgeous home. It was a nice relaxing time for us. It was a bit sad to leave and I was tempted to quit my job and move in but responsibility got the best of me. However, we did leave feeling refreshed, rejuvenated, and inspired by the beauty of nature and the beauty you created in your cottage.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 4, 2007

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. It was so peaceful I was able to get my writing done. Rod focused on his reading instead. We both said it was the most fabulous stay and so much better than staying at a hotel. Your fireplace was a huge success with us! We kept it burning most of the time. We enjoyed the peace so much we actually stayed in from Friday evening until this morning when we left.

Your marble baths are so elegant. Your windows and views are spectacular! I picked up some good ideas for incorporating into the property development that I'm working on (window trim lights were a surprise and the combo of granite and tile is unusual, I love the brazilian wood floor).

Thank you for a wonderful weekend experience,

Millie and Rod
Muskegon MI

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 22, 2006   Date of arrival: November 22, 2006

Greatly enjoyed our stay at the "Remember Your Spirit" home.

This house is extremely comfortable, beautiful, clean and easy to find. It's very well stocked with pretty much anything that's needed.

A lot of time, planning and thought must have gone into the place - from the lighting to the sound system.

There are so many great restaurants and bars as well as shopping close by.

Bertram's Pizza delivers to the home and is very good as well.

I would definitely rent this one again.

Thanks much,
Lisa L.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2006   Date of arrival: October 19, 2006

Dwayne and Marianna,

We just wanted you to know that your home was gorgeous. We had a fabulous time. Everything that we could have possibly needed was there. It was a pleasure cooking in the beautiful Tuscan style kitchen. We've stayed in homes and cottages before, but this was by far the most luxurious. My son and his wife, and another couple joined us as well and they all loved the house as much as we did. We knew the moment we walked in the door that we would never forget this weekend and we won't. I would love to refer it to anyone wanting that experience that is above and beyond the ordinary.

Thanks again! This has truly been a pleasurable experience.

Thanks
Kathy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review