reviews for: listing #276029vb - Kona Coast, Hawaii rental

Luxury Coffee Estate - Infinity Pool - Endless Ocean Views!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

WONDERFUL BEAUTIFUL SPECTACULAR!!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We arrived at night to Kona View and just the drive there was awesome! Once we arrived we were greeted by Randy and Atsumi. The house was lit up and we could see the infiniti pool and some of the beautiful vegetation in front of the house. The house was clean and bright and modern. Our first morning at Kona View Estates was quiet and we had fresh Kona ground coffee delivered hot to us by Randy. The next 12 days were full of rest and relaxation and its finest! We will definitely be returning next year if we can!!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven in Holualoa

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Kona View estates for two wonderful weeks.
Just 15 minutes from the airport but in a world far removed for what passes for hustle and bustle on the Big Island, this property is exceptional. We've been visiting Hawaii for over
30 years and this vacation ranks as one of the very best we've experienced.
Incredible views, infinity pool, large well stocked kitchen and complete privacy.
Very responsive owners. Wonderful relaxing time.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing views

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Kona View Estate and truly enjoyed the experience. The owners were so accommodating and made us feel very welcome. We spent the day exploring the island and then came home to the best views in Kona!
The kitchen was well equipped for cooking meals at home, which I appreciated since I like to relax in the evening. It's also near the town of Holualoa, which has a great restaurant for both lunch and dinner. Great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Days in paradise

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We booked 5 nights at Kona View Estate - I just wish we'd booked more.
The accommodation was fantastic for our young family and our hosts could not have looked after us better.
We spent hours in the pool after sight seeing. The boys spent longer swimming as I cooked dinner on the BBQ keeping an eye on them.
We woke to a carafe of hot coffee on our first morning, had an endless supply of oranges which we juiced and Atsumi made us some wonderful cookies.
We would highly recommend Kona View Estate as well as Randy and Atsumi - very genuine couple. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Coffee Lover's Dream

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

In May of this year, my boyfriend and I spent four very comfortable nights at Kona View Estate. Besides the beautiful view (and sunsets!) over Kona, we really enjoyed the accommodations -- the living and sleeping arrangements were great, the kitchen modern and well-equipped, and the hot tub was FANTASTIC after days spent exploring the island. And if you're in need of sports gear, fear not. Boogie boards, beach umbrellas, snorkel gear and more came with us each day to the beach!

Randy and Atsumi are wonderful hosts -- their tips for coffee tasting and eating in Holualoa were fantastic. We couldn't get enough of Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe up the road and so many great coffee growers / roasters are a stone's throw from the estate. The coffee grown right there on the property is also delicious -- they take extreme care to make sure their guests can have a wonderful brew in the morning. Even better is pairing a rich cup with tropical fruit grown on the property for breakfast!

Highly recommended. Mahalo!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Coffee Lover's Dream

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

In May of this year, my boyfriend and I spent four very comfortable nights at Kona View Estate. Besides the beautiful view (and sunsets!) over Kona, we really enjoyed the accommodations -- the living and sleeping arrangements were great, the kitchen modern and well-equipped, and the hot tub was FANTASTIC after days spent exploring the island. And if you're in need of sports gear, fear not. Boogie boards, beach umbrellas, snorkel gear and more came with us each day to the beach!

Randy and Atsumi are wonderful hosts -- their tips for coffee tasting and eating in Holualoa were fantastic. We couldn't get enough of Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe up the road and so many great coffee growers / roasters are a stone's throw from the estate. The coffee grown right there on the property is also delicious -- they take extreme care to make sure their guests can have a wonderful brew in the morning. Even better is pairing a rich cup with tropical fruit grown on the property for breakfast!

Highly recommended. Mahalo!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona View Estate - Awesome.

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We rented the VIsta suite and found it perfect in every way. The place was wonderful and the hosts were even better. The suite was very well maintained and the views were to die for. Strongly recommended. Randy and Atsumi were awesome hosts and were helpful and gracious throughout our visit. We would definately go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

House was spotless and had lots of room. Cupboards were well stocked with basic daily needs like spices, coffee, salt and pepper. Had lots of fresh towels and beach towels. The sundeck and pool are huge with a beautiful view and also very clean. The hosts are very accomodating and very friendly. They live right next door but were not intrusive at all, very nice people, and informative for all our questions. The only drawback for us was the distance it is from everything, like the beach, but other than that a wonderful place for our vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

July 2012

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My family and I had an excellent time during our stay. The accomodations were bright, sunny, clean and comfortable. The pool, hot tub, deck, view, property and coffee fields added up to a peaceful experience. The owners were always accessable yet never intrusive. They are very kind and have great advice for adventures around the island. The little artist town down the road was worth the visit. The coffee and fresh fruit given to us from off of the property was a nice bonus.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent view, wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

First, when I was interested in this property, Randy gave us a quick response with tons of information. Soon after that, Atsumi, his wife, wrote to us in Japanese and helped us to get many tips. So we did not have any worries about our stay even before we leave Japan. There was everything we need, not only the kitchen items including a rice cooker but also detergents, shampoos, sun blocks, and items for beach. In addition, there was a dish of welcome fruits and coffee from their farm.

The stay was more wonderful than we expected. The view from the window was spectacular. It was so comfortable because of lower temperature and humidity than that of Japan. Of course, there was no need of air conditioner.

Our sons, 13 & 10 years old, enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi. (We recommend swimming in the morning rather than afternoon because we may have shower every afternoon.)
They also loved a farm tour that Atsumi gave us. They were excited about harvesting a variety of fruits during the tour.

My husband was happy to use a well equipped BBQ grill by the pool. The dinner at pool side was unforgettable for us.

We always felt comfortable because we could ask anything to our supervisor next to us. We really want to come back one day.

Thanks again Randy and Atsumi,
With our warmest regards,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

venus transit visit

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

My wife, two physics students and I stayed at Kona estates for the first two weeks of June. Everything about the place was top-drawer. Randy and Atsumi were pleasant and extremely helpful. They even helped us with our astonomical research project, in addition to suppling us with huge avocados and papayas. The villa was super- clean and well-equipped. The big island has the most diverse climate and geography of anyplace we have been. We would recommend this place to anyone. There is a great variety of activities available. The only negative is that long plane flight from the east coast. Otherwise, we would go back in a heartbeat!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family vacation in paradise

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

My family of four (2 adults/2 teen boys) stayed at this property over our Canadian spring break. As per the other 5- star reviews, we can attest to the kindness/ discretion of the owners, wonderful coffee and produce upon arrival, cleanliness and the exceptional view from all rooms. This is our 3rd property rental from vrbo and have been really thrilled with our experience with the web-site. As I usually hate the e-mail back and forth, I was really happy that I saw that the property was available, phoned Randy, gave my credit card number, and was booked pending a faxed agreement. The pictures of the Konav-View Estate are accurate, and as others have suggested, do not do justice to the spectacular view. Spending a week here is a spa-like experience. While my family did spend a lot of time hiking on volcanic structures and visiting beaches, personally I could have spent the entire week lolling around on the front deck viewing the lush vegetation, listening to birdsong and watching wild turkeys strutting about. If you stay here, be prepared for a caccophony of roosters and birds greeting the dawn- we enjoyed this, as being from the Eastern time zone were up at 5:00 a.m. anyway. Bring ear plugs if this will be an issue. The property is not air conditioned, but Randy assured me it was much cooler than on the coast, and we did spend all nights with the windows open snuggled under comforters. Words cannot express the specialness of the astounding view gazing down at the Kona coast during the day and at the sparkling lights at night. The amenities-hot tub, infinity pool, gourmet kitchen, health club as well as the thoughtful special touches- beach chairs, beach umbrellas, cooler, snorkling gear- all made our vacation stress-free and luxurious. To put the price into perspective- my family spent as much per night squashed into our lovely oceanview Waikiki hotel room. Here we could really spread our wings. We loved having Randy and Atsumi right next door. They were so helpful- one night we asked Randy about driving times to Hilo, and an hour later printed instructions were placed under our door. You do need a car to stay here (I've found this with most house rentals), but please do treat yourself. One practical note- since you'll probably be cooking- Safeway is extremely expensive- if you can, buy ketchup/ BBQ sauce etc at Walmart or Target first- its about a third of the price. A vacation at the KonaView Estates is an investment in happiness. Aloha.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Third trip in Kona and the best one by far

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

We spent 15 beautifull nights at the Kona View Estate. The view is amazing, completely clear and straight above Kona. The owners are very discrete and almost invisible but always there in case of any needs. For our taste, it is the best place to stay, not too hot, not too cold, not in the crowd/loud of the city but 15' away, in the real hawaii ambiance. Just perfect.
It was our 3rd trip there in in 3rd different villa but we gonna choose this one if we come-back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nine unforgettable days

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

We spent nine wonderful days in a luxury house. The view was breathtaking. The owners were very friendly and discret. During nine days, we fellt like millionnaires.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great holiday rental

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay. The house is very nice, very well equipped, has great views from all rooms. The pool has incredible views and the temperature is fine (heating system). The owners live next to the house, they are very reactive when you need them. They were almost invisible when we did not need them. So we defintely recommend this great place!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

In mid-March (2011) my wife and I stayed five nights in Vista Suite, and what a unique and luxurious lodging it is. Two bedrooms were more than we needed, so it seemed palatial. Everything is new and spotless, and the furnishings are smart and comfortable. The view over the coffee fields and out to the ocean is breathtaking. My wife raved about the well-equipped kitchen, and we both loved the hot tub, pool, and the new fitness facility—a particularly neat perk. (Did I mention Randy’s memorable Kona Kappuccinos?) What else could anyone wish for?
Randy and Atsumi are the perfect hosts--unobtrusive but attentive when needed. Their enthusiasm for Hawaii is contagious, and they’re full of great ideas for activities, sight-seeing, restaurants, etc. They gave us directions to one of the most beautiful beaches we’ve ever seen—Makalawena (actually a series of coves/beaches). Maybe because it’s remote and involves a bit of a hike to reach, it was virtually deserted. True Paradise!
When we return to this special property, we’ll bring another couple with us to share the fun--and the space.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Stay In Paradise

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

My five night stay in “Paradise” was so blissful that it put me in an altered state of being. I arrived in a fairly shattered state from work in New York, where I live, but almost within minutes this place started to work its magic.

Let me say that I am a much-travelled woman, recently in Japan at the Peninsula Hotel, Hong Kong at the Mandarin Hotel and in the UK at the palatial Ashdown Park Hotel in East Sussex; so a picky, spoilt traveler.

Nevertheless I could not fault my stay in Paradise at Kona View Estate. Let me describe a typical day for there and you can draw your own conclusions. First, awaken in a huge bedroom facing the spectacular view and the great expanse of the biggest ocean in the world; the Pacific. I enjoy an enormous impeccably clean bathroom and dressing room.

So, leap up and head to the exercise studio, which is located on the bottom floor of the house; accessible from the garden. Leap about until I feel I have made enough effort, then proceed back to my palatial suite’s kitchen. It is state of the art with everything one could want from crockery, cutlery and gleaming appliances to granite topped cabinet tops. Breakfast is fresh 100% Kona Coffee (grown on the estate and available from the delightful estate owners Randy Phillips and his wife Atsumi Hara), as well as fresh orange juice and cereal.

So, an expedition first up. Arming myself with a thermos of cool iced water, I set off to the coast for snorkeling, a touch of surfing, an inspection of fishing outings for another day a visit to the sea horse aquarium where the marine biologist owners are growing sea horses for the sale to pet trade, thereby preserving those wild one in the sea from further depletion


Back to Paradise for a quick dip and change and to admire the pink and orange blaze of the sun lowering itself into the horizon and sending rays into the clouds above, like a Turner painting.

Off then for dinner at a local restaurant at the quaint village just down the road from Paradise. I take the Special, which is excellent; Ono fish with salad and homemade Greek olive bread, washed down by a glass of very smooth white wine. The restaurant is on a verandah, edged in white wood lattice like something out of Barbados or Florida Keys, and is simply my scene.

Back home in a moment of so to Paradise and I linger on the verandah, looking for one last glimpse of the wine dark sea below me, and so to bed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

disappointment in paradise

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Anyone who rents these accommodations should be aware that there is only privacy if the other accommodation is not rented and the owners are not home. If you rent the main house, you share your vacation with the owners (and visiting workers) and you will see them from inside your space and when you use the space outside your door (outdoor dining, grill, pool). Using the pool is challenging as the owner insists on keeping it covered at all times and constantly comes out to check the water temperature. There is not even visual separation (screen, vegetation, etc) between you and the owners. The master bedroom looks directly into the new Kope Cottage. The newly added exercise space is also a commercial work space for the owner and her visiting clients. The house is furnished with the minimum of what you will need and the pots/pans/dishes are a mis-match of items seeming as if they came from a garage sale. Even the master bath offers no privacy with no door between the toilet and the bedroom. The second bedroom is furnished with twin beds similar to mats or massage tables. The second bathroom is also the laundry room and is located at the entrance - really only room for one person and one has to pass thru the house to access it. The house would not be suitable for two couples but better for parents with 2 children. Definitely not more than 4 people. The owners are very nice but very intrusive. This upper elevation on the island where this house is located does not enjoy the same weather pattern as the coastal areas (when beaches are sunny, weather at the house can be cooler, cloudy and rainy). The fabulous view includes the owners space, the Kope Cottage, a few acres of coffee plants, the neighboring houses below and the ocean. The value of the accommodation does not match the price. We stressed our desire for privacy in our email exchanges and feel the owners had plenty of opportunity to draw a clearer picture of the reality that there is no privacy. We would not go back to this property. Out of our 20 VRBO rental experiences, this was our first disappointment.

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel that you had adequate privacy. In email exchanges as well as on our website we thought that we made it clear that we live here and what the setup was. I believe that perhaps what you were looking for was isolation and that is not something that we can offer. No other guests have found our maintenance of the pool etc. intrusive. While we keep a low profile we are not invisible. Most of our guests actually have been two couples and they have had no problem with the layout. The beds in the second bedroom when you were here were brand new Serta Perfect Sleeper beds that are renowned for their comfort. The house was designed from the beginning as 2 separate houses and actually offers a lot of what many would consider "privacy" including blinds on every window. The new exercise facility has its own entrance and driveway below the house and is not visible from either rental unit. It is available to all guests. It's true that our weather is different from that at the beaches; and as a result we do not require air conditioning year round to feel comfortable. As far as the view goes most guests have commented that the beautiful pictures on the website do not do it justice. We are installing a fence to better separate the cottage from the house. Our rental setup here allows for the cottage to be unrented if a guest so chooses- as you did. We have recently refurnished the unit with new cookware. Again we are sorry for any miscommunication that you felt occurred about this property as it is always our desire to provide the very best for our guests.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Very Best Address in Kona

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

We couldn't believe our luck that this Presidential Suite was available - at such a reasonable - rate during the Lavaman Triathlon. Considering we were with the family, we wanted to be a bit away from the busy host hotel. The home was roomy, open, airy, with two large bedrooms/bathrooms, even washer and dryer. A fully equipped kitchen with everything imaginable available. Upon request, the owners will do the shopping so you can relax when you arrive. I mean, really, who does that? The amenities are terrific, pool, jacuzi, exercise studio, but the most important aspect of this property? Without a doubt, the view! If you are looking for a place for your family with older kids, and wonderful, health conscious neighbors, this is the place to be. The professionalism and communication were outstanding. I would recommend this home to anybody wanting to have privacy and still be close to Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place............

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

This place is amazing, the view is absolutely incredible. Randy and Atsumi were great. I don’t even know where to start? Atsumi would bring fresh oranges and grapefruit when ever we requested. The limes grown on the property were great in the Corona’s on the deck. The coffee grown on the estate was perfect and I was able to learn a little about how the process was done. I had many questions about the island and Randy was very helpful giving us maps and directions. The house is better than the pictures, very spacious and clean with all of the up scale amenities. I had a family with two teenage girls and they loved the pool and of course all of the sun on the deck. Hapuna beach was a great boogie boarding beach that looks like a post card. We will defiantly come back to this wonderful place. Randy and Atsumi made us feel like family…
We went fishing with Chawk sea service Craig was a great captain and very easonable

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommend

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

This place is gorgeous! The pictures don't do it justice. My husband, brother, sister-in-law, and I spent 3 nights on the Kona coast at the Kona View Estate. Randy was so easy to work with and quick to respond to emails. I'm not a coffee drinker but everyone else in my group was and they said the coffee was outstanding. We bought a few bags as keepsakes and gifts when we left. It was nice having Randy and Atsumi on the property in case we had any questions but they were sure to give us our privacy. We were given a tour of the newly fixed up addition to their home which would be perfect for a couple wanting a romantic get-away. I loved the avocado trees, limes, and coffee trees. Waking up each morning was sooo relaxing looking out over the pool. The infinity pool provided endless entertainment for our group. We wished there was a hot tub, but it sounds like one is in the works. Having laundry onsite was a huge perk as well. Going home with a suitcase full of clean clothes made getting back into the swing of "real life" a little easier. Definitely go to Capital Cook's Monument during your Kona Visit!!! We probably saw 100+ dolphins swimming around us as we kayaked to the monument.

My only regret was not spending more time on the Kona side of the island. We wanted to see the entire island so we spent two nights on the Hilo side and were very disappointed. The paved hikes and lack of flowing lava made us retreat to our Hilo vacation rental wishing we were back on the Kona side.

I can't wait to come back!! You will not be disappointed if you stay at this gorgeous vacation rental! Thank you Randy and Atsumi!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Kona View Estate for 7 nights, and had the time of our lives! Randy and Atsumi are great people, and were so fun to be around. The coffee was great and the fresh fruits and veggies picked from the garden were a real treat.

We felt so at home the moment we arrived. The house is very comfortable with fantastic views. Everything is well maintained and very clean. It is very calm and peaceful around the property, which is exactly what we needed. The pictures on the website really don't do the property justice as it is far more spectacular in person. You will want to spend every sunset on the lanai as it sets right in front of you.

WIFI and TV were great. In fact, they got a brand new widescreen TV during our visit.

The location is good and a short drive down to Ali'i Drive. However, it is a bit of a drive to Volcano National Park, so you may want to spend a night in Hilo if you really want to see the park. If you haven't been to the big island before make sure you do some research on good beaches. Randy and Atsumi know of some as well, and are always more than happy to do additional research for you, or provide you with information they have. The house itself has a ton of information for you to look through as well.

We have viewed our photos many times since our return, and we always go back to how wonderful the house was. Kona View Estate really made our trip so much more enjoyable. We were sad to leave, but hope to return very soon...not just to enjoy the wonderful house, but hopefully to spend time with Randy and Atsumi again as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A PERFECT HAWAIIN GETAWAY OASIS

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

What an amazing place and such great people. Staying here MADE our vacation the best ever.

First, the pictures do not do justice to the reality of this place. It is spectacular. Way better and bigger than it looks in the pics (which are still good)! The home has a beautiful peacefulness to it. It is architectutally gorgeous.

Amenities are endless: laundry, an EXTREMELY well equipped gourmet kitchen, Weber grille, massive master bath, huge closets, gorgeous infinity pool. Everything looks new and high class. They even have beach chairs, mats, umbrellas etc. for trips to local beaches. They have guide books and maps to everything on the island and can advise you and help you with your trip.

We came with 2 kids: 8 & 3. It is perfect for families: a big master BR with a second BR with twin beds. Our kids LOVED the place. It is close to the Kona airport and a welcoming, gorgeous home base to come back to after a day of sight-seeing! It is secluded but close to amenities like grocery and other stores in Kailua – 1500 feet and a fun 10 min. drive below the beautiful view of the ocean and sublime sunsets.

Just as important are the owners: Randy and Atsumi. They are there as much or as little as needed – which in our case was a lot! Randy made us cappuccinos every day from coffee grown and freshly roasted on the estate. The best ever. We bought 10 lb of coffee to bring home! Don't forget to ask for the Ko-hito: their version of the mojito - made with fresh mint from their organic garden. They gave us organic produce daily from the garden, which was amazing. Our daughter liked to help Atsumi pick the veggies! They are delightful, interesting, beautiful people whom we now consider friends.

If you are into total privacy and aren't into company (which would be granted - but also your loss!), they are practically invisible. They are busy and working a lot, but there if you need them.

Normally we do not return to the same place twice (just for variety). I would come back here again and again. Not just for the perfectly beautiful place, but to come back and see our friends again. Our kids call it "Randy and Atsumi's place" - followed by, "when are we going back?"

The price is worth every penny and then some. Just book it. Trust us, you will love it. 11/10.

Don't miss:
-Volcano park - allow 2 days + an overnight at the Volcano Guest House
-Blue Hawaii helicpoter tour - from Hilo - pricey but worth it
-Mauna Kea Adventure Tours
-Snorkling (ask Randy)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

March 2010 Hawaii

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Just wanted to drop a note to say thank you for providing such a great house to spend our vacation in! Your care and consideration was apparent from the moment we walked in the door. The kitchen in particular was so well equipped that it made gourmet cooking easy. We also appreciated the thoughtful extras in the rest of the home such as the BBQ, wireless net, beach gear, maps and local information. It really gave us all the comforts of home with the luxury of a wonderful tropical setting! Your house was quiet and relaxing and we really enjoyed your fabulous coffee each morning on the lanai. We found your house very easy to locate and were within minutes of the beach, shopping and activities. And yes, the view from the pool was spectacular!

Adina and Fred
March 2010

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Easter 2010

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

Our stay at Kona View estate exceeded our very high expectations; even though Randy and Atsumi had already sent us some beautiful photos of their stunning property, the view from the pool deck area was to die for! The house itself was extremely comfortable, clean, tastefully designed and furnished, and very well-appointed. We enjoyed cooking our own meals with all the delights from Atsumi's organic vege patch. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, and provided a relaxed atmosphere for our enjoyment. Would highly recommend this property to any of our friends and family intending to visit the Big Island. The home-grown coffee was great and Randy makes a really good cappuccino! Nearby attractions include great snorkelling and hiking. You do need a car to get to all these spots and up that hill too. Will definitely return here one day if it's not too booked out by people reading this review!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved staying here!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

We loved our week at Randy & Atsumi's home. The view is spectacular, the nights cool and quiet in the higher elevation and out of the hustle and bustle of town. We enjoyed entertaining our friends cooking and barbequing on the deck, quiet breakfasts on the deck, and watching the wild turkeys in the coffee plants. Randy & Atsumi were friendly, welcoming and helpful, but also let us enjoy the place without an overpowering presence. Atsumi's baked goods are wonderful, and we were thrilled when they left us fresh fruit from the acreage. The infinity pool is magical at sunset, and very romantic to linger at the edge with a drink and watch the sun go down! I hope to go back again someday. We enjoyed the location, in the country but close to Costco and all the fun activities. The cooler temperatures at that elevation are a bonus. Both of us highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Thank-you so much for making our stay so memorable. We loved everything about our accommodations ... it truly is a paradise. You are both gracious hosts and we appreciated all the fresh fruit, muffins and coffee you brought to us. We will certainly highly recommend your vacation rental to all of our friends and family.

Would it possible for you to forward on the name of that great imported coffee maker that you used to brew our coffee? We made espresso with your 100% Kona coffee on the week-end and it is the best espresso we've had. We can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review