reviews for: listing #27604 - Pahoa, Hawaii House rental

Hale Pomaika'i - House of Good Fortune
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hawaiian Shores
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $75 /nt
    $475 - $475 /wk
    $1,500 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

Home away from home...

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

A secluded home away from home. Clean, well-maintained, and very well set up, providing everything we needed for our stay (owners even provided earplugs just in case we found the coqui frogs too loud at night -- in fact we loved the sound). Lasting impression of a peaceful, refreshing place. Hospitable owners, and well-located for exploring the Puna side of the island. Lives up to its name. Excellent value!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Lovely and Relaxing Place

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Thank you very much!! We've had a wonderful stay at Hale Pomaika'i. It's a lovely and relaxing place. All of the information you collected about things to see and do was very helpful. We found everything we needed and appreciated the thoughtful extra touches like the Hawaiian music and the books. I love the way the place is decorated and all the colors. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderfully Restful Place

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2010

Our almost-6-year-old daughter will probably best remember feeding the chickens and collecting eggs, looking for geckos, pineapple plants & avocados, and waking to torrential downpours.

What a wonderfully restful place to stay - much preferred over big resorts. A "home away from home" with everything thought of for comfort - down to children's' books and toys!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the Colors

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Thank you for sharing your paradise on the island of Hawaii with us for a few days. Mahalo! Your thoughtfulness in providing everything for your guests' needs is much appreciated. We love your colors on the walls - and everywhere! We hope to see you in the future and have more time together!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Comfortable Home!

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

What a comfortable home you have! Next time we will stay longer. It was good to return to Pahoa.

Good work you are doing here!! You are wonderful hosts. Thank you for the beauty and the sense of well-being you provide here. We are so grateful. 13 thank you's!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location is Great

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Thank you so much for your rental! We had so much fun and still felt like we were at home, very comfortable!

This location is great for seeing pretty much all of the island, a good place to be 'base camp'. We are definitely coming back!

Our first time to Hawaii was unforgettable - we loved it! Thanks again & again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Location!

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

Mahalo for sharing your delightful hale with us. Farmer's Market in the morning, sight-seeing int he early afternoon, then snorkeling in the tidepools before sunset - bliss! You certainly live in a paradise. Loved the location. So many good things! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyable & Memorable

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your home with me.Meeting local people when I travel has made my stay here enjoyable & memorable. Thanks for all the suggestions for things to do & for the helpful hints & information that only the locals would know. I know you love sharing your home and your island with your guests. Your passion for the island and for serving your guests is evident and appreciated.

Thanks for making my stay here awesome!! I'll have to come back when I can stay longer. Many mahalos!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Real Home

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

It was so nice to stay in a real home and not a hotel room. The house has everything we needed. We ate all our meals outside, rain or shine. Everything was very clean. We saved all our pineapple, papaya, and watermelon scraps for the chickens, and enjoyed the fresh eggs. We took a day trip every day and it was great to have the cooler to use. We saw so many wondrous and beautiful sights. Just loved everything! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More Time with Ohana

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2009

If it wasn't for Hale Pomaika'i, we would be driving to a hotel in Hilo after the family luau. Your hale gave us the opportunity to spend more time with ohana. Mahalo again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean, Cute, Friendly

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2009

We didn't arrive at Hale Pomaika'i until 11:00 pm. We were greeted with the house all prepared for us. We were amazed at the price we paid to be able to stay in such a clean, serene, peaceful place. It gave us such a comfort of being at home. Great vacation rental! Will highly recommend to others. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Peaceful Hale

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2008

We had such a wonderful time! The house has a great energy - loved the colors - and was so easy to feel at home in. Never ran into a lack of kitchen equipment. Absolutely everything anyone could want in a home away from home was provided.

We will certainly suggest your peaceful hale to others and hope to be able to come back again ourselves. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Non-Presumptuous Paradise

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2008

Our family was very pleased with your hale. Everything we needed was provided thoughtfully and the feeling of aloha-love was apparent each day. Thank you to the hosts for all your helpful suggestions about where, when, and how to go. You have been great tour guides as well as friendly neighbors.

We have enjoyed the table outside for dining and the well-maintained yard was a great setting. Hats off to the cleaning crew also for the cleanliness inside.

I will recommend your wonderful hale to anyone looking for a peaceful stay in a non-presumptuous paradise. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simple Island Living

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2008

Aloha and mahalo for opening up this 'home away from home' for us. The house is perfect, simple island living... it was nice and soothing. We enjoyed the simple designs and colors of nature. This is definitely "island style living"! Mahalo for the hospitality of aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything I Want in a Stay!

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2008

My goodness, it's amazing this home! Everything I want in a stay. You guys are very warm & inviting. Mahalo & much thanx! I hope one day to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review