reviews for: listing #27618 - Salisbury, Vermont House rental

Vermont Kingsley Mill Manor Four Season Playground
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,850 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful WInter Wedding

Review submitted: February 19, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Our daughter Criss chose to wed in Middlebury Vermont in January of this year. She and her intended Joel wished to make it a winter celebration for our families and in Middlebury so that the elder members of his Vermont family would not have to travel. So that our cozy family and very dear friends from Pennsylvania could spend time together in preparation for the blessed event, we engaged Jalna and David's beautiful Kingsley Mill Manor. The colorful photographs and detailed description on the website hardly did the Manor justice! It far exceeded our expectations in roominess, comfort, cleanliness, availability of activities and provisions, and especially beauty. From the generous welcome basket on the counter as we arrived to the huge Christmas tree especially decorated in Criss' wedding colors (yes, Jalna was sweet enough to ask what they were!) everything was wonderful. There was lots of room for everyone, the house was warm and comfortable everywhere (which says a great deal for the furnace because it was frigid that week) and there were plenty of supplies. Towels, sheets and sundry supplies were there making our stay so much easier. Located on a well maintained, wooded country lane, the house is charmingly decorated and has comfortable furniture. The owners were available if needed, but all of our needs were truly anticipated. There were even books and games in case of boredom, which there wasn't. The surrounding woods and steams were a nature lovers paradise. Even in the icy cold, the rushing mill stream behind the house could be heard adding to the charm. One family member has limited mobility, so the first floor bedroom and sitting room was especially helpful and entry into the home was also easy. For our guests there were nearby restaurants, the terrific shopping at Middlebury and many other locations, and a few even braved nearby ski slopes. The local folks were friendly and maps and directions readily available everywhere. Our time there was like coming home, with the warm familiarity of family. We are hoping to be fortunate enough to arrange another visit soon to perhaps enjoy a different Vermont season and to see what other treasures we find at Kingsley Manor Mill .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We thoroughly enjoy preparing Kingsley Mill Manor for our guests and truly delight in personalizing it just for them. We hope always that our guests will want to return to explore and relax. We thank you for the terrific review. Please come again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

The house is very comfortable and pretty. Lots of sitting rooms and gathering spaces. Listening to the waterfall was great! Great hiking is very close by, and everything a traveler meeds is only a short drive away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kingsley Mill Manor. We are always making upgrades and appreciate our guests' recommendations. Thanks for staying at Kingsley.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Once our family home

Review submitted: December 17, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

This wonderful home used to be our grandparents home. No member of our family had been back in it for 31 years when we discovered that it was now a vacation rental. A gathering of cousins and aunts in September brought about a wonderful long weekend of reminiscing and the feeling that our grandparents were there with us. We brought along old photos of times spent there and we took new photos of this stay. It was fun to try to guess from the photos which bedroom we remembered it as....many times we were wrong. We were surprised with some of the changes made and pleased with many of the others. It was just wonderful to be able to be back into the home that was so warm and welcoming as we grew. We spent a lot of time on the back porch enjoying the sound of the falls. It's a place we always enjoyed as kids. We were never allowed by the falls, so it is great to now be able to see it and enjoy it. We missed the room where the honey was processed and we were unable to get into the huge attic but it was nice to even see that the rhubarb was still growing on the side lawn. I could go on and on about the wonderful memories and how heartwarming it was to be back in the house. We hope to be able to gather again this summer or fall for another reunion with more of the family. David and Jalna are wonderful people to open this house up so that many people can enjoy how beautiful it is. they care about this home in the same way that our family did. Thank you Jalna and David and we will see you this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Middlebury College Graduation Gathering

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

As we looked forward to our daughter's May 2010 graduation, we sought accomodations to encourage extended family and friends to share in this joyful event. The manor proved to be the perfect spot! Fourteen of us, from age eight to seventy-eight, were comfortably housed, fed and entertained in this spacious home. We were even able to invite other families over for a backyard celebration, which was great fun! There was something for everyone - early morning birding or jogging, a comfortable kitchen for meal preparation, croquet and badminton in the evening on the lawn, and even board games that led to a rousing game of Pictionary one night. There was one problem with the dishwasher, but it was taken care of immediately, so there was no interference in our celebration. We all agreed that the manor was the perfect setting for all of us to gather. Thank you Jalna and David!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are so pleased that our guests are happy! 2010 has brought many improvements to Kingsley Mill Manor. This year we have enlarged the back porch to accommodate a large crowd. Our goal is for all of our guests to have a fabulous stay. Thank you "Joyous Parents"!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

September Wedding 2009

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

When we decided to have our wedding in Vermont we started looking right away at different locations. I found Kingsley Mill Manor on the internet and set up an appointment to view the house and meet the owners. Kingsley Mill Manor was covered in snow but we fell in love with it! The house was perfect for our family and wedding party to stay in. We soon picked a day and reserved the house for our special event Jalna and David were generous and flexible, and allowed us to come back again in summer to choose where to put a tent and have our ceremony. We even got to take a dip in the swimming hole! When we arrived in September to have our wedding,the house was clean and well prepared for us. The property was perfect for what we had planned. Our wedding party and cook stayed in the house with us. On Friday, Alfresco Tent Co. set up a large tent on the far end of the lawn. Our ceremony was to take place on the beach by the swimming hole. Everyone felt comfortable and relaxed in the space. As we had a truly do it your self wedding there was lots of space for a busy group of friends and family; and we could still find nooks to rest in. The day of the wedding started of overcast but the sun popped out just before we started. It was all we could have wanted and more! We had a fun, beautiful ceremony next to the waterfall,followed immediately by dancing on the lawn with a brass band and appetizers. As the weather started to cool off we headed to the tent for dinner. After dinner our guests spread out around property and found areas that they enjoyed. As it was a cold night we had a fire going in the fire pit; dancing in the tent; and people picking at left overs in the kitchen. There was even space for sleepy guests to take naps. Our guests loved the wedding. Everyone felt relaxed and at home. Our wedding was perfect thanks to the beautiful home of Jalna and David. Shawn and I stayed for 3 more nights at Kingsley Mill Manor to start our honey moon. We enjoyed the quiet and calm of the space and spent hours reminiscing about our wedding day. We had amazing nights gazing at the stars around the fire and listening to owls. There was even a bit of warm weather for a dip in the cold water! We also really enjoyed the town Middlebury and the Moosalamoo Recreation area for hiking. There is so much to do in the area but once you have food there is no reason to leave the manor! We did not want to go home. Thanks Jalna and David.
--
Tonya and Shawn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relax/recharge/explore

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2005

It's hard to know where to begin in describing our relaxing week at Kingsley Mill...but we certainly did not want our week to end! We would have been happy to hang out at the house and swimming hole for the duration. Plenty of room,spent lots of time around that grand table off the kitchen. Fun trips to Brandon,Middlebury and Lake Champlain-all a reasonable distance. We were able to walk to the church in Salsibury to hear our daughters final concert with Point Counter Point Camp. Cafe Provence in Brandon was amazing! Would love to return someday with more friends and family-to Kingsley and the Cafe!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A quiet Vermont vacation place

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

The place is absolutely delightful. It was immaculate, the kitchen well-equipped, and we were greeted on arrival(very late at night) with vases of lilacs, a jug of maple syrup, coffee and cream in the fridge, and the gift of a maple syrup cookbook. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms more than adequate. The living room furnishings are kind of old cottage: lots of comfortable couches, older but clean, and lots of areas for sitting around and catching up, and there's a wonderful screened porch out back with the sound of the waterfall, a great place for morning coffee. We were there for my son's college graduation, and the owners graciously allowed us to have a party for the graduates, along with a couple of other families. The lawns by the creek and the waterfall were a perfect setting. This isn't your decorator-perfect vacation condo; it's more like spending time in a well-loved family home. A great place to get together with family and friends. Close to great hiking, lots of antique shops around and some excellent estaurants in Vergennes and Middlebury. There is one bedroom on the first floor, but the stairs to the second floor might be a little steep for folks with difficulty with stairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Chistmas Holiday

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

Jalna and her family are great to deal with. We went up at Christmas and she had the whole house decorated, even a 8'ft christmas tree!

The house is large and has a very warm and cozy feeling.

We had a wonderful trip and would come back again!

Owners response: Dear PA guests,
You were awesome! We enjoyed decorating the tree and house for you and hope you return in the future. Thanks so much. J&D

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Restful Retreat

Review submitted: November 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

As I am writing this I am preparing to visit this wonderland of restfulness. I absolutely love to visit the Manor where I have found a place of solitude which stimulates my mind and heals my soul.
I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming!

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

What a delightful summer week we had! This house was full of charm! The waterfall was gorgeous and relaxing. It was wonderful having linens and cleaning provided...truly making it a vacation! The house was a perfect size for our family plus a few guests and we enjoyed all the amenities: close to Lake Dunmore, walking trail to the lake, eating fresh raspberries right off the bush, bonfires in the backyard, and many great moments just relaxing and listening to the soothing waterfall. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Welcome Home

Review submitted: September 16, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

I will try to be unbiased with my review, but this house was my grandparents home and we were excited to be able to get back in with siblings, girl cousins, aunts and moms to enjoy a weekend of reminiscing, once again enjoying the sounds of the waterfall and just feeling the hug that this house gives all. Many others came to visit us during our stay so that they could also say that they had once again come home. There wasn't anything that was going to spoil our weekend, not rain, nor mosquitoes (which Salisbury is famous for and we remember oh so well). All of the amenities of the house made it possible for us to never leave and just be able to enjoy every moment we were there. We even took out a jigsaw puzzle that you had provided and put it on the table on the back porch so we could work on it while enjoying the sounds of the waterfall. My granddaughter came to visit and we realized that she was the fifth generation to come into this house. It was always a beautiful old home and still is. Even my grandfather's rhubarb plant was still growing on the side lawn! Thanks for adding the side entrance so that those who have some limited mobility were able to get in to enjoy. All in all, this was the best weekend many of us have had all summer...to be with family and enjoy family time in a space that is large, comfortable and lovely. Thank you again Jalna and David for making this available to people to enjoy. We WILL be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have been thrilled with our guests. It is such a pleasure to know Kingsley Mill Manor is as wonderful a place for our guests as it is for us. For our future guests we have invested in newer appliances, more anti mosquito equipment and continue to update all our bedding and linens We look forward to hosting more happy families and friends in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Absolutely Fabulous

Review submitted: September 7, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

My dear friends and I had a wonderful time staying here. We did not leave the property the whole weekend and, as I'm writing this, we are still here! No one wants to go home! It was everything that we hoped it would be - clean, quiet and restful. I would recommend it to anyone! The property is in charming but with all the modern conveniences.
I'll miss it! We'll come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kingsley Mill Manor

Review submitted: June 20, 2008   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

The house was beautiful! You could hear the water from the creek from the back porch. It was very peaceful. The house is very spacious. We really enjoyed our stay! The house was very clean. Lake Dunmore is just around the corner.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review