reviews for: listing #27631 - Gaylord, Michigan Chalet rental

The Chalet On Lake Louise - Air Conditioned
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Louise
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Cozy Lake Chalet

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

Our stay in this cozy chalet on Lake Louise was relaxing and entertaining. We tubed on the lake, rowed across to a friends place, and had bonfires by night. The accommodations were pleasing. Plenty of room, cooked meals inside and out, and bedrooms were furnished as pictured on the website. We would definitely return for another vacation! We had an awesome family vacationšŸ˜Š

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Lake Chalet

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

Our stay in this cozy chalet on Lake Louise was relaxing and entertaining. We tubed on the lake, rowed across to a friends place, and had bonfires by night. The accommodations were pleasing. Plenty of room, cooked meals inside and out, and bedrooms were furnished as pictured on the website. We would definitely return for another vacation! We had an awesome family vacationšŸ˜Š

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We loved this clean and comfortable chalet on quiet Lake Louise. We had everything we needed for a relaxing week. We saw a pair of loons and a heron, and enjoyed using the canoes and row boat. The chalet faces the beautiful sunsets. Loved the balcony off the master bedroom. Not too far from Gaylord downtown shops, farmer's market and movie theater for rainy days. Delicious homemade pies were 1 mile away at the "Old Depot". Nice little neighborhood to take walks. Enjoyed staying here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The chalet is truly comfortable. We're so glad that you thought so too. It's even better in the fall, while relaxing by the warm fireplace, with a good book. Please keep us in mind for your next vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfy home away from home

Review submitted: August 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

Roomy chalet with 3 good sized bedrooms and 1.5 bathrooms. Loved the washing machine, dryer, dishwasher and full sized oven/stove. Beautiful view and lake, not terribly deep which was great for swimming. Kayaks were awesome as was the fishing boat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! Be sure to keep us in mind again for your next trip. We also have two other lake houses in the area that you may be interested in as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and comfortable.

Review submitted: July 27, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

My wife and I arrived for a week in July and the weather turned cold but the chalet has baseboard heating YEAY! so we were comfortable day and night. The furnishings are up north style and comfortable, and the beds are just right. The kitchen, baths, and bedrooms are fully equipped and allow immediate use - and everything was very clean. I spent two days rowing around the lake fishing before I discovered that there are no fish. Too bad because it is a beautiful but shallow lake. Nevertheless, we enjoyed canoeing and building a campfire at night looking over the lake and northern sky. The reviews are accurate, the owners are available and helpful, and the chalet is clean and comfortable. We had a very relaxing week. Thank you!

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. Lake Louise really is a beautiful lake. I wish that fishing could have been better for you though......

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

J. McQ

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet secluded place to recharge and reconnect with your family and/or a base point to explore the area this is it. The owner Steve provides plenty of towels, comfy beds and all the basic supplies you need. The Chalet was super clean and the property was well looked after and just as described. Booking the Chalet went smoothly and Steve responded promptly to all our questions.
We did daytrips to Petoskey, Travers City, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Mackinac Island. Mackinac is fairly expensive but worth the trip. Sleeping Bear Dunes is a must see!
This area of Michigan is beautiful and just hanging out at the Chalet and sitting on the deck watching the chipmunks and birds was great.
We took home a lot of wonderful memories. Thank you Steve for allowing us to stay at your Chalet On Lake Louise !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! We're very pleased to hear that the chalet met your expectations, and that you were able to take part in so many of the great things to do in northern Michigan. Please come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we were looking for

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Scheduled a last minute golf weekend with 3 buddies in the Gaylord area, and Steve's accommodation's were just what we were looking for. The reservation process went super smooth, the price was great and the cabin had everything we needed. It was very clean, well equipped, and the Wi-Fi access also a major plus. If there was any downside, satellite program package limited our football viewing in the evening after golf, but instead we took advantage of the fire pit at the lake with good conversation amongst friends. Would definitely use choose one of his properties again. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A much needed vacation was mastered beautifully at this lake cottage.

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We loved our stay at this extremely clean lake cottage very much and hope to return. The Cottage at Lake Louise certainly lived up to it's description in all we had to bring was "food & fun." Our guys enjoyed fishing at all hours of the day. The nightly sunsets on the lake were spectacular. We brought our golf-cart to tour the paved roads of the nice neighborhood and was delighted to discover awesome trails nearby in which we collected wildflowers and wild raspberries. The décor of the cottage inspiring us to be carefree and relaxed. It was a wonderful experience to bring our golden retriever with us on vacation. We enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend this cottage to all our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying for a week at this very clean, very well maintained home. The house was exactly as described, and the lake view was spectacular. There were 7 of us, and I worried a little about how "on top" of each other we would be, but there was plenty of room. We, luckily, had beautiful weather, and spent every evening out by the lake. The mosquitoes were bad, but we had packed our insect repellent, so it was fine. The house was well maintained, clean, and had everything we needed for the week. It was nice not to have to pack sheets and towels! It was also nice having a washer and dryer right in the house. Apparently, the guests who stayed the week before had broken the grill, so there wasn't one there when we arrived. Steve made sure that it was replaced immediately. The dishwasher also wasn't working and a repairman came on Monday to fix it. I was impressed by how quickly my inquires were answered regarding these two matters. We liked the location a lot. Gaylord was only 10 min. away and was a very cute little town. We also visited Petoskey and Charlevoix (about 45 min. away) and even took a day to see the beautiful Sleeping Bear Dunes (about a 2 hour drive, but totally worth it). Finding things for 7 people to do was a breeze because this house was excellent for relaxing and doing nothing, but close enough to give those who wanted to explore the area easy access for doing so. We've been back in the "real world" for almost two weeks and really miss our little chalet!! Last but not least, we loved that we could bring our dog with us. I think he had more fun than we did! All in all, this is a great house for getting away from it all, but close enough to civilization that you really can have it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach Alternative

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This was a great alternative from the hustle and bustle of Myrtle Beach SC. My family and another family usually go to Myrtle Beach every summer for vacation. It is usually HOT and crowded so we decided to go someplace where the weather is cooler and you dont have to fight the crowd that is when we foud the chalet. My son and his friend spent lots of time in the canoes fishing and had sucess with the Pike. My daughter and her friend (not usually fisherwomen) fished for hours in the fishing boat. The calet has a nice shaded yard that you can play wiffle ball or just lay in the hamick. Wal-Mart and anyother store or resturant is very close (within 15 min drive). Looking forward to visiting upper Michigan again. The owner was very kind and answered any questions we had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our week on Lake Louise

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

I found that the Chalet was beautiful and all of the amenities were as described and easily available. Steve was very easy to deal with, and stopped by on our first day to see if there was anything we needed. The lake was beautiful and warm to soak in. We were all sad when it was time to head home.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, pet-friendly

Owners response: We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our lake house, and hope that you'll return again soon. All return guests receive a 10% discount.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Chrismas 2012

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Are stay was just a great time here at Chalet on the lake I will tell everyone this is a great place to get away it feels like home very clean friendly people just like the pictures. We had a great time snowmobileing, we even found a sleighride (cook family farm) Also this family was very nice. We eat at the cabin also ate out we did eat at the nicer restaurants very good food and services.
Although we stayed in the winter very limited sun we did find the cabin was a little dark, some bulbs were burnt out, some were missing ect. there where no replacement bulbs we could find. I would really like to thank Steve he was in the middle of moving his family when I book this Chalet he still took the time to get back to me hope they have got to suddle into there new home. We would love to come back someday Thank You Steve

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

chalet on lake louise

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We had a great time at the chalet. Everything was clean and it was supplied with everything we needed. It's also so nice that you did not have to bring linens or towels.
I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice getaway and for family get togethers. We never left the chalet except to take some walks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. Come back and see us again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

quiet chalet and close to everwhere

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Loved your chalet! Very clean and got everything we needed for cooking! We used your canoes and paddle around the little shallow lake for a relaxing day. We had good weather for the entire week. Chalet is close to everything, we drove 1/2 hour to Indian river for kayaking and about an hour to Mackinaw City. We enjoyed the bon fire at the back. Not many bugs bother us. Chalet is close to the farmer market, honey farm just 3 mins down the road. We really enjoyed our staying at your cozy chalet. The only concern is we didn't swim in the lake because it is too shallow and too many weeds on the bottom. Other than that highly recommend for young family with dog.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! We're so happy that you've found so many great things to do in and around the chalet.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

The Chalet on Lake Louise was just what Steve said it would be. Everything was provided that we needed, except for our own food. Plenty of cooking utensils, condiments, spices, etc. We found the place clean and neat. Another nice feature was the washer and dryer which allowed us to pack fewer clothes and wash towels (provided) and a dishwasher.
The aluminum row boat held a five horse gas outboard just fine and we were able to cruise all around the lake. There's even a beaver lodge at the west end! Fishing wasn't the greatest but I blame that on our timing (mid-day, bright sun). The weather was perfect all week and we ended each day with a campfire by the lake enjoying beverages and s'mores!
Sault Ste Marie was an all day adventure and worth the trip of 2.5 hours each way. We watched 1,000 foot lake vessels pass through and enjoyed a delicious meal at the unique Antler's Restaurant on Portage Ave.
We enjoyed visiting the Otsego County Fair and the Monster Trucks.
A trip Wednesday to the Farmer's Market in Gaylord provided fine fresh produce for the rest of the week.
Another day was spent enjoying the venues at Mackinaw City. The lighthouse and Fort Michilimackinac. The kids enjoyed running around the fort and watching the muskets and cannons being fired. And of course the popular Mackinaw Fudge was available in the tourist section of the city. We enjoyed a fish lunch at Scalawag's.
Everything you might need but forgot is available about 15 minutes away in Gaylord with major shopping centers and every type of store you can imagine.
Secluded and quiet, the chalet offers a great opportunity for rest and relaxation and is close to many attractions.
We enjoyed our stay and recommend to anyone wanting a home away from home to come here.
If you go during the summer months expect cool nights and warm days. The chalet is well situated under shady trees, but temps in the 80s can still warm it. Plenty of ceiling fans and open doors and windows and you get a good night's sleep. Might want to bring an extra fan if the forecast is for hot days. When we arrived the overnight low as about 45 degrees F. It progressed to a low of 65 by the end of the week.
Thanks, Steve, for being the ultimate host!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is just a great example of how a vacation at the chalet can be complimented by visiting all of the great attractions there are nearby. While we try to provide a large list of amenities, it is up to our guests to see the sights and visit the many wonderful places Up North. The chalet is only a small portion of the good times to be had in Northern Michigan. Thanks for such a great review, and we hope that you'll be back again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Memories, Great Times, Great Place

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Our group of four adults and two young children (toddlers), had the most beautiful vacation at the Chalet on Lake Louise. Steve was wonderful to work with - always so quick to get back to us with answers to our questions about packing and preparing for our trip. His communication was greatly appreciated. We were very pleased with the amenities and the resources provided for us during our stay. We loved taking the canoe and row boat out on the lake, fishing from the very convenient dock, and building campfires at night. We enjoyed several lovely walks, time spent at the park down the street, and being able to grill out on the large deck. The chalet is the perfect amount of distance from town - not too far, not too close. We really were able to have a peaceful getaway with perfect weather, comfortable sleeping arrangements, and never once worrying about the safety of our young children. The chalet was more child-proof than we expected. Thank you for the wonderful time! We hope to return again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time, and look forward to speaking with you again about your next visit to Gaylord. Thanks again for choosing to stay at The Chalet On Lake Louise!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Overall, we loved your chalet.

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We felt it was clean and modern ( yet
still "cabinny" ) and would love to come back and stay again sometime.
Our only significant complaint was the lack of air conditioning - the last
couple days and nights were stifling - yet we would chalk that up to
absolutely bad luck - the heat wave that blew through was almost historic.

Pro's - Very comfortable, modern home, yet absolutely retains that "up
north" feel. Very quiet neighborhood. Loved the lot, and the lake.
Nice to be able to access your garage ( we kept one of our cars in
it ) and have access to your tools ( the axe ! ). We loved the fire ring,
by
the way. Your two decks ( upper and lower ) are awesome !
Your DSL service was very good, and the TV service was ok. Your supplies
( and quality ) of paper goods were excellent, as well as your
washer/dryer / detergent.

Con's - No air conditioning was the biggie.

Thanks again for renting us your place....Your off-season deal seems to be
a good one, too. Make no mistake - we really enjoyed your
home, and the way you managed it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Winter Weekend Blast:)

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

This cabin was a very clean and bright place to stay. Although an extra couch in the living room would have been more comfortable. The view of the lake was a great sight to wake up to in the morning. The pictures show exactly what we had hoped for. The last evening we comfortably cooked a whole meal in the kitchen. The frozen lake was a blast to walk out to the middle and light chinese lanterns:) I would highly recommend the Chalet on Lake Louise to my friends and family.

My nieces said we were very blessed to have such a great weekend:)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for such a great review. We are very happy receive such wonderful feedback from our guests. We always try our very best to ensure that your experience is "as expected", and have yet to disappoint. Please consider staying at the chalet, or our other lake house, if you decide to return to the area.

Thanks again!
Steve

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worked well for us

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

The chalet was a perfect fit for our group. We had 4 adult and 2 kids. Our family stayed in the upstairs room while our friends stayed in the bedroom downstairs. The kitchen and dining room space worked nicely as well. I was able to cook and serve efficiently while still being involved in discussions.

Our visit was in January and there was tons of snow. The chalet drive was plowed when we arrived as well as the parking area near the road. We were able to easily park our service vehicle and trailer on the road without impeding traffic. The neighborhood was quiet - not busy - so not a lot of traffic.

The owner was very accomodating to our needs, supplying additional items at our request to make our stay more enjoyable/successful.

The chalet was clean and orderly and well planned for multiple people (lots of hooks for coats and rugs for wet boots, etc.)

We will definitely stay again if our plans take us back to that area. Thanks, Steve! MP

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. We hope that you'll come back to visit soon.

10% off for all return guests!

Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

I just wanted to let you know that we had an absolute wonderful time…..your place is awesome!!! The weather was on our side as well….just a beautiful relaxing time…enjoyed it very much and would definitely rent it again next summer.

Again…..Thank you so much for renting us such a beautiful place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Weekend was once again great again, thanks.......everything was first class as usual. Thanks again, everyone had a good time. We talked about booking again next year, I'll let you know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we were looking for!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We were in town for a wedding and wanted a quiet place to stay and bring our dog. The owner was very accomodating to our schedule and it was better than expected. You never really know what you are going to get and it was perfect! Very secluded, we only saw one other person when we were there. The lake was great for taking our dog swimming, which he rarely gets to do. We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad that you were able to vacation with us this year. And, I am happy that you found everything to exceed your expectations. Please give us a call when you decide to return and we'll give you 10% off of your next stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great up North escape!

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Enjoyed a super week with family coming and going...all the conveniences of home without the work! Everything stated in the write-up was accurate and communications with the owner were A+, timely and helpful. The property was clean and in-order when we arrived and there were minimal departure chores. Lake Louise is a quiet, rustic setting to unwind and re-group from the pace of downstate life. We brought bikes and took the path from Gaylord to Vanderbilt and beyond...golfed at Otsego Country Club (the Tribute course was awesome/beautiful!)...took the rowboat out around the lake, fished, and toasted marshmallows around the campfire in the evening. Also enjoyed a great dinner at J&B's and used the coupon provided. I highly recommend this vacation property for families seeking a place to gather and enjoy. As always, the vacation was too short..look forward to returning next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for such a wonderful review! We've been enthusiastically operating the chalet for the 5th season now and have tried to make sure that we address the needs of our guests to the best of our ability. We're very happy that you were able to explore the abundance of activities that are available in the area, and that the chalet met all of your needs. We look forward to your return in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review