reviews for: listing #27662 - Figure Eight Island, North Carolina Cottage rental

Cozy Cottage on the sound - The Bay House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $450 /nt
    $1,720 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Great retreat at the beach!

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend here with 4 other adults and a child. It is the perfect place to stay if a view of the beach is not essential. The house is rustic in appearance but with all the amenities that anyone needs and expects. The yard is not landscaped but consists of native vegetation. There were herons with two nests in the trees surrounding the house deck. Access to the beach is just across the street and there is a dock on the backside of the house in a little cove where you can park a boat and leave a kayak, canoe or paddle boards. Areas for fishing, clamming and crabbing are about a half mile away, or within the cove. If you want to just relax and read, the deck is a great place for this.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Retreat!

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

June visit to the Bay House was a wonderful escape from the busy world. The house was just as described--cozy, very clean, just right! Fresh flowers on the tables were a nice touch. Futon in living area was quite comfortable. Beach access directly across the street led us to a wide, almost private beach. We once saw 5 pleople way down the beach, and that was as crowded as it got. We enjoyed afternoon breezes on the deck and fishing from the dock. What a treasure, would love to spend more time at the Bay House.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Cozy Cottage (3 Couples and 1 child)...everything we needed was provided and more. This was such a great place for us with such a wide variety of interests; fishing, swimming, paddle boarding, crabbing, kayaking, surfing. The beach was beautiful and we especially enjoyed the sunsets from the deck and dock......a perfect place to relax!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL !

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

we had a wonderful time at the Cozy Cottage. (3 couples and 1 child)....everything we needed was provided and more. This was such a great place for us with our wide variety of interest.... fishing, swimming, paddle boarding, crabbing, kayaking, surfing. The beach was beautiful and we especially enjoyed the sunsets from the decks and dock. A perfect place for relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SAME TIME NEXT YEAR...........WE KEEP COMING BACK TO THE BAY HOUSE!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

What a delightful place to stay! This was my 4th year at The Bay House and I have already reserved it for a week next summer. A few steps in either direction will put you on the beach or on the dock overlooking the lagoon behind the house. Enjoy fishing? All you need is your fishing pole. The dock and fish are waiting for you to drop a line. The owners are easily accessible and live close by. It's sad leaving The Bay House and the Island but I know I will return next year. Enjoy your stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Va

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Great location. House is clean, but very rustic. Think tree house with air conditioning. It would have been great if the picture reflects the house's current condition. The shrubbery is so overgrown that you can only see the bay from the upstairs bedroom, very disappointing as it is a great setting. The outside and deck is in need of some TLC. If done, this would be a great outdoor space.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Our week at the Bay House with our two teenage sons took us back to a simpler time on the island when the houses were more functional than flashy and landscaping was all native and natural. The owners have done an excellent job of maintaining the home's older charm while keeping all the amenities current. The place was amazingly clean and comfortable. We especially loved the outdoor shower, close beach access and upstairs master retreat. The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and promptly addressed our questions. Tranquil. Simple. Private. Perfect. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

perfect for a family with kids

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We came over from europe and were very pleased. The description on this website of the house is accurate and complete. The property and beach is extremely quite and there are hardly any people on the beach. More 'private' is not possible.
You will not miss a swimming pool. Although there is a swimming pool at the yacht club, but we were not allowed to use it.
The owners were very nice to us and did everything to make our stay a very pleasant stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Private beach, close to nature

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Relaxing vacation across the street from a nearly empty beach, even in summer. Family loved getting close to nature: saw turtles hatch, swam with a manatee, chased crabs across the sand. Home is accurately described as "functional beach house" which worked great for us -- no white carpets for the kids to trash or fragile objects they could break. Friendly owner stopped by to make sure everything was perfect. We also used the island's bike paths daily. If you are looking to escape from the real world to a private paradise, this is the island to visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great beach weekend...

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay at the Bay House. The owners were very accommodating throughout and we enjoyed being directly across the street from a boardwalk leading to a deserted beach. The house was rustic (though not too rustic - internet & a flatscreen) and charming. Because the owners have left the maritime vegetation grow up, the house feels very secluded and private. I didn't bring any fishing gear because this was a quick romantic getaway, but maybe I should have since we sat on the dock at sunset and watched as fish jumped all around. The dock also makes it a perfect spot for a pick-up/drop-off by a charter service. Between the privacy and ease of access to a great beach, we felt that it was a great value.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! Glad ya'll had fun - fall is great at the beach!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING WEEKEND!!!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

So we found the Bay House by chance, and we are so glad we did it. We spend 5 nights in the amazing Cottage and it was superb. We have not had such a great time in a while. The rooms were perfect for our family of 5. The baby had his own room with the baby crib the house provided. Our girls shared the 2nd room, and with my wife we enjoyed the master in the 2nd floor. The ocean was perfect and to round up our vacation we even saw dolphin swimming literally 20 feet away from us. Thank you Paula and Jim for such great hospitality. We are already planning our 2nd visit hopefully no later than October.
We highly recommend this Piece of Paradise to anyone interested in a relaxing time.

Lucas, Emilia, Carmen, Marcia and Cristian

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend at the Bay House

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

What a great place to getaway and enjoy this beautiful island. Located right across the street from the ocean, and the sound at your back deck. We've stayed here twice and look forward to coming again. next time we'll bring our boat since they have a boat dock.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Bay House: an Island Haven

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We, three generations of us, had a happy time at the Bay House. The house is comfortable, easygoing, and attractive, nestled among its native plants and trees, with the bay at its feet and the beautiful ocean beach only steps away. Its owners' warmth and hospitality made our stay all the more pleasant. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME HOME

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

We just got home from a great house on a beautiful private island! The Bay House is so quaint and cozy. It was a perfect place for our vacation. The sound was beautiful and we enjoyed much of our time on the dock and swimming area. We also loved the beautiful secluded beach only a walk across the street. The white sands and crystal clear water were amazing! Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Views of the Bay and Marsh

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2008

The Bay House offers great views from the deck of this wonderful beach cottage. The house is clean and well-maintained. We loved having access to the dock for a boat or kayaks, which got us to the adjacent tidal marsh. Service from the owners was great - there were even fresh flowers in the house upon our arrival!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unique bay house

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

Very lovely quaint house with dock on waterway and short walk to beach. Owners were very accommodating and friendly, and made our visit very enjoyable. I was there with my wife while I was doing business in Wilmington and we had a great time. House has all the amenities of home and we'll go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Stay at Bay House

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Very unique and quaint. Owners were extremely accomodating and made our stay extra fun. Would recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review