reviews for: listing #27781 - Lake Gaston, North Carolina House rental

Family Ties
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Timberline Shores
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $215 - $357 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Family time

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time reconnecting with family in a comfortable, peaceful atmosphere. The owners were very gracious and did a great job of making sure everything went smoothly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This home was everything our family needed. It was very clean and the kitchen was well stocked. We had children ages 2-7 yrs old and the shallow water was perfect for them to play and swim in. The guys had a blast fishing on the deck which by the way they caught many different type/size fish. The owner Chris was very responsive! She made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay great. Our family will be coming back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Family Vacation!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We rented this home with two other families and had a fabulous vacation! Everything was clean and the home was well-stocked. We had 9 kids all together and they all absolutely loved it and can't wait to go back again. We never had a boring moment and felt at home immediately. The house is tucked away in a corner which is great for families with younger children. The area in general was beautiful, we spent time in the lake everyday, rode bikes, did some running and just sat and relaxed. The vacation all around felt magical. The owner, Chris was extremely friendly and a joy to work with. She answered all of our questions quickly and was a joy to communicate with. We definitely will be coming back to this home and recommend it for anyone seeking a vacation where you can completely escape and frankly lose track of time, because I know we did!! Thank you Chris!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Erica, Thank you so much for your review! We really do try hard to make our renters comfortable and keep the house well stocked and updated.
It is an absolute joy to have people in our home who had a wonderful vacation!

We love the not only the lake, but the neighborhood and are glad you were able to enjoy biking and running. It's a great place and we feel blessed to have a home there.

Please visit us again!
Chris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Must Rent

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

This vacation home is absolutely beautiful! Layout of the house is very functional for a large family. The kitchen is extremely well stocked and versatile. All home furnishings were beatiful and like new. The property is off the main lake which makes docking your boat very easy and the atmosphere relaxing. Lots of outdoor furniture both on the porches and in the yard. If you want a fun, relaxing vacation that suits your entire family, this rental is a MUST!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Treasured Memories

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Our family of 8 gathered here from SC, GA and PA, ages 19-52. The house was
very clean, nicely decorated, had a well stocked kitchen, lovely views and a nice boat dock. We enjoyed the many gathering places, including lovely porches and nice yard. We played games, enjoyed each others company and good food.
We will treasure our memories with our family in this great home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you had a good time! We work hard to make sure that our home will exceed expectations for your vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Family Ties is a perfect family vacation home. It is spacious, well laid out and has great views of the Lake. Our whole family (my husband and I, our 2 daughters, our son-in-law and two grandchildren) loved it the first time we vacation here, so we decided to return again this year. We enjoyed so many fun activities, such as boating, wake boarding, tubing, kayaking, swimming, fishing, playing pool, reading, playing games, watching movies and eating lots of good food. I would highly recommend this home for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation spot. Chris is terrific to work with and very considerate of the needs of her guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic vacation !

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Our extended family had one of our best vacations ever at this lovely home. Our 2 children had a great time with the pool table, when we finally made them actually get out of the lake where they did spend most of their days. Loved the sand beaches, the many outdoor chairs and tables, just wonderful ! The property is huge, even a horseshoe pit set up for more fun !
Very comfortable furniture in the house, nice to be able to curl up in the sofas and comfy chairs with a book at night. The gorgeous kitchen is wonderfully equipped, everything upgraded. The house is large enough for privacy, which is much appreciated with an extended family vacation.
The owner provided a nice book with helpful instructions and local attractions, such as a nice little nearby restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed.
We all loved this place and heartily recommend !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Bonding on the Lake

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We all had a wonderful time! My 84 year old mother, our two children, their spouses, and 4 grandchildren had a terrific week. We fished, skiied, kyaked, swam, and floated in the lake. The house was conducive for togetherness, but also had plenty of space for those of us that wanted to have some down time. The decor in the house is pretty. The house is CLEAN with comfortable furniture. The appliances are top of the line with plenty of room in the refrigerator. We do a lot of cooking so we appreciated the kitchen supplies. The short, level walk to the dock was appreciated by all of us, but was especially nice for my mother and the toddler.
Chris has been very helpful and responds quickly to our emails.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome House!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

The house was very spacious and the perfect getaway for our Memorial Day vacation. Chris was very nice and made every attempt to make our stay enjoyable. Nice clean lake and great dock. Would definitely return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantasic House

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

The house was very clean and a great layout. A lot of windows with an open kitchen and living space. With the basement play area, there is plenty of room. The deck was fantastic with tons of seating. We loved swimming near the dock and it was great for our 5 and under kids as water was shallow enough for them to enjoy.

The layout worked really well for our 3 families:
- 3 bedrooms upstairs (One w/ King bed, One w/ Queen, and One w/ 2 twin beds)
- 2 bedrooms downstairs (One w/ King, One with full/twin bunk, and a futon for overflow)

Since the weather was perfect, we couldn't have asked for anything better for our stay. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just what we needed!

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Every year my family gets together for a week long vacation. My husband, brother and dad love fishing. The rest of us love to relax, read, play games and go swimming. This house had it all! The cove was quiet and great for swimming and fishing! We had perfect weather. The house is beautifully decorated and the kitchen had everything we needed. Chris was great and we look forward to renting this house again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a family reunion

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time during our August week at Family Ties. The 2 living areas were large enough for the 8 adults and little children to spread out. The eating area was more than enough room for us and the kids table was perfect for our family. The two swings at water's edge were perfect for this grandmother to sit and rock babies and watch the others play in the water. The only negative is the kitchen is on the second floor and the week's worth of groceries and supplies had to be carried up the stairs. Chris was great to work with and I received my damage deposit back very promply. We look forward to a future stay and would strongly recommend Family Ties.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic vacation home!

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Family Ties is a great place to take a large family. There was plenty of room for everyone to stretch out and plenty to do. The teenagers could hardly be pulled away from the pool table to come to dinner, and the men loved the horseshoes. The teens hung out downstairs, listened to their music, played video games and pool, and the adults played quieter board games upstairs each evening. We never disturbed each other!

During the day, of course, we were out on the lake. We put 46 hours of running time on our boat the week we were there. Amazing! The view from the deck and dock is awesome. We made many wonderful memories here and took hundreds of pictures to prove it.

All in all, this was the perfect home for us. We anticipate coming back next summer.

Thanks to Dan for coming over and patiently fixing the oven door. What a trooper!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hoping to go back real soon!

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

We could tell from the Pics that we'd love the house. However, it was an even better experience than we expected because the place was very warm, a great location on the water, and well stocked in the kitchen. We felt like we were using a friend's place rather than renting and my parents and in-laws both enjoyed it as much as my family did. We had great times on the deck (overlooking the boarthouse and water) and the dining area handled the 10 of us with room to spare. The descriptions were very accurate and we even had concerns over the depth of the water at the end of the pier. However, it turned out to be a great spot for soaping up the kids and letting them jump in to clean them up (an old tradition of ours on vacation). Lots of fun and great pictures, too. We got a total of three boats in with no problem (we had two and rented a pontoon boat for one evening). We also loved the quit little cove which protected both boats from the usual chop or boatwakes. It is a very peaceful little setting and only about 100 yards from a great ski/wakeboard run. In short, this place fit so many of our needs that we plan on going back just as soon as we can,
Thanks Chris, Charles, and Dan (property mgr) for making our week so great. We hope to see you again, soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We would love to keep Family Ties a secret but...

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

we will share if we have too! Family Ties has quickly become our family's favorite vacation spot. The home is beautifully decorated, well stocked and maintained. The location is amazing for kayaking, boating, fishing and if you have to relax, it doesn't get any better than this. It's perfect for kids of all ages. The beach/play area is shallow and the water is clear. We couldn't pull our 3 year old away from the water at night. (In fact, he wants to live there forever!) When we weren't wakeboarding/tubing on Pea Hill creek our older boys kayaked, fished off the dock and swam in the cove. This is definitely the best place to be on the lake. We won't mention the deer that visit and Mr. Blue (the Blue Herring we named) that seems to agree that this is a little bit of heaven. You will not find a better value on the lake. We have paid MUCH more for vacation rentals and they didn't compare to Family Ties.

...the secret is out now. Please save a spot for us next year! We are looking forward to it. As for the owners, you couldn't ask for nicer folks to work with.

What a great experience. Regina C. and Family of 5

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT PLACE FOR A FAMILY VACATION

Review submitted: May 24, 2009   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

had to let you know - ours was the best vacation ever! we will definitely be back next year!

your home is so lovely. we've been looking for a place to have a family vacation every year. the beach was so much fun for the kids; and the fishing was great. even with a broken arm, i had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review