reviews for: listing #27787 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Apartment rental

Best Accommodations & View with relaxing private garden
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Penamar Ocean Club
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,225 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Paradise in Fajardo

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

This is the perfect rental in Fajardo. My family and I stayed there
for a week, party of six including teenagers and we had an absolutely
fantastic time. The apartment is gorgeous, the rooms are large and has all the amenities you can possibly think about. The kitchen has all new appliances and we were able to cook a few times during the week. The patio adds that extra advantage as you can sit outside and enjoy the beautiful views of the Fajardo Bay. The views from the condo are incredible. We saw the sun rise and set over the water almost every day. The location of the condo is also superb because all the water activities, snorkeling, scuba and sailing take off from the marina just a couple of blocks away. Coming back from a long hot day in the sea and driving to your place two blocks away is
priceless. The El Conquistador Hotel is a short drive away and it is
beautiful. Has a casino and a night club. There is also plenty of shopping in the area, local supermarkets and fast food for the kids. The location is great, we will love to go back again. Luis is so responsive to your calls it
was a pleasure to deal with. He was available everytime we call with any
questions we had. I highly reccomend this stay in Fajardo. It exceeded our
expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our rental is treated as our home so we take direct and professional care of it. Our location is truly unique as it is the only garden apartment in the complex with direct views to the bay and islands.

We are happy you enjoyed your vacation and hope to have you back soon.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

I already miss this place!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

My wife, two daughters (age 3 and 1), grandmother and great-aunt and I stayed here from the 9-13th of APR 2014. We really enjoyed it! The pictures on the website, in my opinion, do not do justice to the home. IT is beautiful with beautiful views, in a safe and secure community, with awesome amenities.

I consider myself a very cautious shopper-- we looked at about 15 different homes before deciding on this one. I'm SO glad we picked this one, too. Luis was a great person to deal with. He was available, via text of phone calls, for quick questions during the duration of our stay. Not only would I HIGHLY recommend this unit for families, I full expect to stay here on our next trip to PR! A+++++++
Payten & Alaina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent rental and perfect location

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

Luis Sanchez was a perfect host and had the property ready upon our arrival. A well laid out condo with a full kitchen, breakfast area, 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The backyard was a nice touch to sit in the evening and enjoy the sea breeze. The condo is close to the Culebra Ferry, Seven Seas Beach, the National Rain Forrest and many restaurants. The property is secure, in top shape and well maintained. You cannot go wrong by renting this property for a great Puerto Rico get away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very accommodating owner, wonderful stay !

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

First of all, Luis meets you at the airport ! Welcomes you Puerto Rico, and proceeds to tell you all the details relative to his property.Very helpful man. This place was easily found for us first timers, and it's location both within the complex and in Puerto Rico IDEAL ! The condo is easily accessible from the parking area AND from the directions the property owner gives you. The best thing about the property is the ocean views from the patio. The very best Fajardo views are yours if you stay here; morning sunrises the tops. Great property, more than accommodating for six, and will return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay with ideal accommodations!

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

We were met in San Juan with the key, directions, and other information about Fajardo. The owners provided lots of good tips about how to make the best use of our time and what attractions to see and/or avoid.

The property was wonderful - everything in the space designed for comfort and convenience - even better than pictured or expected. Location was ideal for day trips; the pools were a lovely way to relax without leaving the premises; security provided us with a safe yet friendly experience; the private garden was the perfect place to relax. We even enjoyed the karaoke machine!!

My family will definitely return to this property - it felt like home!

Owners response: Thank you! and hope to have you back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Stay

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

I highly recommend this place. The apartment is in great shape, clean, very well decorated and with an excellent view of the ocean. The private backyard is very nice. The guards protecting the facilities are well trained and very courteous. The entire complex, including the swimming pool and the gym, are in excellent condition. The apartment owners are well educated and friendly.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place for family stay!

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

This place is great if you bring your family on vacation. It's well maintained, neat and the decors make you feel like home. My wife has high standard of staying places when on vacation and she loves it! We didn't chat much with Luis but I could already feel how well he treats it like home. Then why don't we? The location of this place is also awesome if you have a lot of water activities to do. It's only 5 min drive to ferry terminal to Culebra and Vieques and 10 min drive to biobay tour launching sites. Luis is quite thoughtful -- you can find almost anything you need during your stay, like dryer and washer, cooking sets, spices, even water toys for kids. We were too busy to enjoy the outdoor balcony much, but the one time we had, we had a really good time. The gas grill is convenient, and the ocean view relax you on your chair. We very much enjoyed our stay here and we'd love to visit this place again for our next Puerto Rico trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great view, great breezes, great condo

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This 3 BD/2BA condo is located in the Pena Mar development. Safe, secure, and fairly quiet. We were there during some local holidays, so the pool areas stayed busy with vacationing locals, but it wasn't noisy at night. Condo is exactly as shown, clean with plenty of room, nicely outfitted kitchen, spacious bathrooms, and a/c in each bedroom. Our son loved the walk-out patio with garden. Great for lizard and boat watching, it was extra living space. It was great to borrow the beach chairs and cooler for our beach days. The washer/dryer were handy, too. We had to reset the POU hot water heater (press a button) a few times, but we understand thats not unsual in this complex with flux in the water pressure. Large TV allowed us to enjoy the opening of the 2012 Olympics and catch local weather. Luis made it easy, delivering the keys on arrival, checking on us during the week, and contacting us with departure instructions. We highly recommend snorkeling near Los Lobos (we chartered Capt. Mingo), bio bay kayak tour, hike El Yunque, and Humaco nature preserve (kayak & bike rentals). We love this location because you're close to great beaches, tons of fabulous restaurants (la Estation), easy drive to the above places. And breezes are to die for! Wish I could bottle and bring it home...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous for families

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Luis's property was perfect for our stay in Puerto Rico. It was our first visit, and we will definitely be back! The apartment is spacious, comfortable, and well equipped, and the fenced-in yard was perfect for our 4.5 year old, who greatly enjoyed chasing lizards and watching the ferries come and go. Luis is prompt, thorough, and very pleasant. The property complex is secure and offers easy parking and wonderful pools for quick dips before heading to the beach. Seven Seas is a very short drive away, and Luquillo - which is amazingly beautiful and great for small kids - is a 20 minute trip. The ferry to Vieques and Culebra is also a 5 minute drive. Some of the best dining in Fajardo is just up the road. We will contact Luis again on our next vacation to the island!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing rental

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

This rental was perfect in every way. First, the backyard is even bigger than it looks in the picture and is beautiful with an amazing view. There is also an open, covered porch for shade, so you have the best of both worlds. The backyard has lovely sea breezes and is never too hot, even in full sun. We came with our 11 month old and 4.5 year old and it was just perfect - both could play in the completely fenced in backyard with no worry from us. The condo is new, clean, and has every possible amenity. No roughing it here. The pools are great - there are three pools plus kid pool and (not so) hot tub and water slide. The community is friendly, not crowded at all. We love the beautiful surrounding area- lots of great restaurants, only a 3-5 minute drive to the seven seas beach, 20 mins to Luquillo beach, both are beautiful, clean and almost unpopulated. Easy to get ferry to Vieques and Culebra - 5 mins away. You have to drive almost everwhere in Fajardo because it is so hilly and the roads are twisty and not conducive to walking, which makes it beautiful, but there is a really great waterfront restaurant (La Ola) within walking distance, plus a walkable small supermarket and bakery. Easy drive to large modern supermarket and Walmart. Also try our favorite, waterfront El Varadero restaurant in the Marina Puerto Chico a couple minutes down 987. The owner is great and very helpful and accessible. You won't be disappointed with this rental.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great view is half the experience.

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Comforting tropical sea breezes will embrace you while enjoying a pleasant drink or meal in the back yard of this place.

Look no further if you want to stay in a comfortable, well equipped place with an exceptional view high up on a hillside on the approach channel that leads into Fajardo's premier private boat marinas.

The apartment is a short drive away from local shops, a fisherman's market where fresh catch is available, and for that initial stocking, about 15 minutes from Wal-Mart.

We have stayed twice and always look forward to our return. The owners are a pleasant and warm professional couple and keep things running ship shape and in order.

Owners response: Great having you and hope you can come back soon!
Regards.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

June 2011 trip

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Six of us arrived the beginning of June, 2011 and stayed for a week. We found the property to be a very pretty secure gated community. Luis was very helpful. The gym and pool facilities were wonderful. It was peaceful and quiet. The condo was clean and bright with a view of the ocean from the back patio. Unfortunately the week we choose it rained a lot and we didn't get to use the patio much, so having more room and 6 chairs around the inside table would have been nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank for your review and hope to have you back soon with better weather!

We will definitely have more chairs for indoors for when it rains.

Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Beautiful Clean Condo to stay!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Elite place to stay at the Fajardo area. Employees (security) are friendly and funny. Condo has an excellent sunrise and sunset views. Very close to Tours for island hopping and biolumenscent bay tour. All you need to bring is food and liquids. Very cozy place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Beautiful Clean Condo to stay!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Elite place to stay at the Fajardo area. Employees (security) are friendly and funny. Condo has an excellent sunrise and sunset views. Very close to Tours for island hopping and biolumenscent bay tour. All you need to bring is food and liquids. Very cozy place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Beautiful Clean Condo to stay!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Elite place to stay at the Fajardo area. Employees (security) are friendly and funny. Condo has an excellent sunrise and sunset views. Very close to Tours for island hopping and biolumenscent bay tour. All you need to bring is food and liquids. Very cozy place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Robin:

Thank you very much for your stay and hope to have you back soon !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Our stay at this condo truly felt like home away from home. The location was perfect and the view (overlooking Farjardo Marina) from the patio was breathtaking. The condo has all the amenities you need which made our stay stress-free. The kitchen is modern and fully equipped with everything you need. Pena Mar also has a fantastic infinity pool, jacuzzi, gym, tennis and basketball court.

During our stay we enjoyed having breakfast at the local Panaderia (bakery) and dinner at Las Croabas (fishing village) is just steps away from the condo. The view from this property is amazing...even from the parking lot...mountain view on one side and ocean view on the other.

My mother and mother in law fell in love with this condo from the moment they walked in. My husband and I surprised the both of them with this trip as a birthday gift so THANK YOU Luis for making this trip a special one for all of us. We're all looking forward to staying here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Conveniently located & great view

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

This condo is about an hour from San Juan and only a short drive from lovely beaches (Balneario Seven Seas & Luquillo with its well-loved food kiosks); El Yunque; the ferries to Culebra & Vieques; sailboat tours; the beautiful Las Cabezas nature reserve; a variety of restaurants, etc. However, it's definitely an auto-dependent location-- it's hard to walk much of anywhere.

The property is well maintained and the owner is responsive and easy to deal with. It's a real plus to have the private outdoor space with grill and a gorgeous view of the water and islands. Add to that the pools on the property, so if you're not in the mood to drive, you can always stay closer to home.

The layout of the condo works well for a family-- plenty of space for 6 people and a well-equipped kitchen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful trip

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

The apartment and location was great. All the photos on the web are uptodate and the view from the patio is awesome.
Luis was very nice and helpful. I can definitley recomend staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review
Hope to have you back again soon @ Rabirubia's!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fajardo Condo/apartment Rental

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We rented Fall 2010. The apartment is in a good location if you plan to stay in the Fajardo area. The rooms are large and comfortable and would easily accommodate 6 people. We found the apartment very clean. It was very convenient that they had a washer and dryer since we had wet clothes that needed to be cleaned before we packed up our bags to visit our next destination.

Owners were very easy to work with. They always responded to my emails or telephone calls. They also met us at the unit when we arrived.

Directions provided were a little tricky.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Skd hope we can have you back!

We will certainly update the Google Maps directions.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Garden Apartment

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

We just returned from a terrific stay in Fajardo. The apartment was just as described and then some because who can really describe the amazing view. We got in at about 9:00pm and so didn't see the view from the patio until the morning. Wow -- it was our favorite aspect of the apartment. Morning coffee is just not the same at home. We also really enjoyed the pools and the quiet and the sound of the coquis at night. There was plenty of room in the apartment for two adults and one teen age girl!!!

Luis couldn't have been kinder. He met us at the car rental place and gave us the keys and detailed directions to the apartment.

Fajardo is an excellent location for taking advantage of all the water activities that the island has to offer. We went on the bio bay tour at night with Kayak Puerto Rico. The next day we went on their aquasafari trip to Culebra -- absolutely amazing snorkeling!! The staff was also outstanding.

Be sure to check out the Station Restaurant and the bakery down the street for breakfast with local people. The Amigo grocery store is near by and on the way from San Juan you can stock up on groceries at the Econo in the Walmart parking lot.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We had the opportunity of staying at this wonderful place for three nights. All the amenities were just as explained - but words will never do justice to accurately describe great hospitality and attention to details. Luis and Charmaine went beyond expectations in making sure that we felt pampered and well received. Also, how can you explain a beautiful sunset? The apartment was beautifully decorated and the entire complex is beautiful and well maintained. We were a large family with ages ranging from 6 to 80 and all of us enjoyed it to the max. From there we went to Seven Seas beach, took the catamaran adventure and went snorkeling and visited the El Yunque Rainforest. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!! We look forward to staying again in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun in Fajardo

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

My family had an excellent time at this property. Luis was very accommodating and helpful. The apartment is extremely comfortable and was perfect for the four of us. It can easily fit two or three more people. The outdoor living space had a gorgeous view and comfy furniture for relaxing with a tropical drink. We even used the grill and had dinner under the stars.

Staying in Fajardo was truly the best decision we made. Many great seafood restaurants were down the road. The ferry to Vieques and Culebra were very close and Seven Seas beach was right around the corner. The El Conquistador resort was also nearby but after visiting we were much happier with our choice to stay at this property. It was about an hour to get to San Juan but we much preferred the small town atmosphere in Fajardo. It was very easy to get around and the people were very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation, I highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Getaway!

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

My husband and another couple were looking for a place to stay in Puerto Rico where we were traveling on a business vacation. I had never rented a condo from an owner before, so I wasn't sure what to expect....but if they are all as easy and delightful as this one....I will have no problem doing this again. In fact, I would be more than happy to recommend this particular location to family and friends alike. The location was great....with several wonderful restaurants within a short drive. We recommend the shrimp! The property was wonderful. Very clean, well set up....and the owners....terrific! I loved meeting them, and they were very caring, taking every opportunity to answer questions and give us help. I have nothing but positive things to say....and hope that if you are choosing your next get away, you will give these wonderful people a try. It is worth every penny.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing Get Away

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

My husband and another couple were looking for a place to stay in Puerto Rico where we were traveling on a business vacation. I had never rented a condo from an owner before, so I wasn't sure what to expect....but if they are all as easy and delightful as this one....I will have no problem doing this again. In fact, I would be more than happy to recommend this particular location to family and friends alike. The location was great....with several wonderful restaurants within a short drive. We recommend the shrimp! The property was wonderful. Very clean, well set up....and the owners....terrific! I loved meeting them, and they were very caring, taking every opportunity to answer questions and give us help. I have nothing but positive things to say....and hope that if you are choosing your next get away, you will give these wonderful people a try. It is worth every penny.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay @ Pena Mar

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

Our recent stay at this wonderful facility was nothing short of fantastic! The accomodations were much better than we expected and all six of us agrreed that we slept as well or better than we did at home.The unit was fully equipped with all the necessary hosehold ameneties and we were able to eat most of our meals in the unit thereby saving us a considerable amount of money that we were able to spend on some great excursions. The view from the outdoor patio was spectacular and the facility pools were readily accessible and equally impressive. Again, we are seasoned travelers and this is a facility we recommend and would definitely visit again.We would recommend that ownership consider providing an extra set of keys to the unit and a residents entry remote for the gate to the facility entry.Other then that ,pack your bags as we"re sure you won"t be disappointed !!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise in Fajardo

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

This is the perfect rental in Fajardo. My family and I stayed there for a week, party of six including teenagers and we had an absolutely fantastic time. The apartment is gorgeous, the rooms are large and has all the amenities you can possibly think about. The kitchen has all new appliances and we were able to cook a few times during the week. The patio adds that extra advantage as you can sit outside and enjoy the beautiful views of the Fajardo Bay. The views from the condo are incredible. We saw the sun rise and set over the water almost every day. The location of the condo is also superb because all the water activities, snorkeling, scuba and sailing take off from the marina just a couple of blocks away. Coming back from a long hot day in the sea and driving to your place two blocks away is priceless. The El Conquistador Hotel is a short drive away and it is beautiful. Has a casino and a night club.

There is also plenty of shopping in the area, local supermarkets and fast food for the kids. The location is great, we will love to go back again. Luis is so responsive to your calls it was a pleasure to deal with. He was available everytime we call with any questions we had. I highly reccomend this stay in Fajardo. It exceeded our expectations.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place in a remote location.

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Apartment was clean. With a nice private patio - since it's on the first floor where you can grill. 5 minutes away from all essential shopping ( groceries - Amigo, everything else - Walmart) Nice pools in the complex. Great view. One minus - no Internet. But then again this was vacation - I wasn't supposed to think about work.

This is a great place if you just need a nice place to sleep and you are going to spend the rest of the time exploring Puerto Rico - Rain Forest, beaches, snorkeling, etc. However if you are looking for an active night life - San Juan is an hour away - - but there is NOTHING to do in Fajardo after 10 pm. But the condo itself is great. Highly Recommend it. Also Luis ( owner) was very nice and helpful and easily reachable by cell phone.

Also this a very safe gated complex - we had a 4-year old with us - no problems! And there was another family in the apartment above with a couple of small kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay @ Pena Mar

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 10, 2009

Our recent stay at this wonderful facility was nothing short of fantastic! The accomodations were much better than we expected and all six of us agrreed that we slept as well or better than we did at home.The unit was fully equipped with all the necessary hosehold ameneties and we were able to eat most of our meals in the unit thereby saving us a considerable amount of money that we were able to spend on some great excursions. The view from the outdoor patio was spectacular and the facility pools were readily accessible and equally impressive. Again, we are seasoned travelers and this is a facility we recommend and would definitely visit again.We would recommend that ownership consider providing an extra set of keys to the unit and a residents entry remote for the gate to the facility entry.Other then that ,pack your bags as we"re sure you won"t be disappointed !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jon-Lin! Hope to see you soon.

We will be providing an extra set of keys to party's of more than 4 guests.

We encourage you to visit us. All of our guests enjoy staying at Rabirubia.

Welcome!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Break 2009

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

My husband, son, and I visited Fajardo for spring break. Luis met us at the unit and gave us a quick overview of the place, showing us how to get to the pool and other info. We appreciated the care package from his wife which was left in the master bathroom! The unit was very comfortable, well equipped, and nicely decorated.. The outdoor furniture on the patio was very comfortable. We ate our meals outside on the table & chair set. The plants in the yard are beautiful. We used the grill on several occasions. Extended family were staying nearby, and we used their pool most of the time. The pool at this complex was also very nice. We visited the rain forest and the biobay in Fajardo. We took a kayak trip to the bay. We frequented the Captains Meat Market, a nearby grocery. One of the workers there was our main source of info, as he spoke very good English and knew the area well. We ate at Pasion por el Fagon and La Estacion. Both were excellent!! We visited El Conquistador Hotel several times. The grounds are beautiful and the concierge there has maps and info on every place. We attempted to take the ferry to Vieques one day, but the ferry was delayed and we were traveling with a four year old who grew tired of waiting, so we left. They did give us a refund. We visited Old San Juan the last day and it is well worth the visit. We had a great time. My favorite view of the entire vacation was from the parking space looking out at the lush green mountains and beautiful blue water. We will recommend this unit to friends and hopefully will return some day. Thank you, Luis, for sharing your beautiful unit with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our visit to paradise

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

We had a total of six of us staying in our condo, and were completely thrilled with the spaciousness. Everything about our stay was perfect! It was great having the kitchen and grill--it saved us a lot of money with six mouths to feed! Our view was spectacular, and having the private courtyard was one of our favorite features. My kids are ages 3, 7, and 14, and the amenities were suitable for all their ages. We all enjoyed both of the pools. This would absolutely be our number one choice to stay on our next visit! My only recommendation would be a small on-site "market" or something for essentials such as grocery items, medicines, and/or souveniers. There is a market around the corner, but their hours were very limited. Other than that, no complaints at all. P.S. My kids cried when they had to leave, that's how much they enjoyed it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: February 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2008

We had a great experience on our stay. The place was quite enjoyeable, with a great view. We loved being close to the marina, also enjoyed a day trip to the rain forest. We took the ferry to one of the islands, and a catamaran snorkel trip. Also enjoyed a day at the Conquistador spa. The owners were very hospitable and kind, leaving us thoughtful gift baskets when we checked in. Security was excellent and the property was well maintained. I would definitely recommend the place to a friend, and we would also consider a return visit.

A few things that need attention: there was not much hot water for showersing....mostly lukewarm, also the "hot tub" by the pool was not hot, and there seemed to be an ant problem in the kitchen....but these things were easily overlooked by the other things we so very much enjoyed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Yet!!

Review submitted: February 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 8, 2009

Our stay at Pena Mar Ocean Club couldn't have been better. The apartment was very well maintained and had the perfect garden with a beautiful ocean view. The location was perfect for walking to near by restaurants, stores, and marinas. Luis and his wife were very friendly and easily available for information or assistance. Fajardo was the perfect place for pure relaxation, adventure tours, and entertainment. We would highly recommend Kayak Puerto Rico for their bio luminescence tour, Julio and Anthony were awesome, and Snuba Puerto Rico for any snorkeling, snuba, or sunset cruises, Adam and Michelle were the best!
Thanks again Luis, we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 22, 2008

Great Deal. Beautiful decorated.
Luxury amenities including 2 Flat tv's

Great service by owners.
Breathtaking views. Near Conquistador Hotel and many attractions.

Will recommend.
Thank You

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excelent Vacation

Review submitted: December 31, 2008   Date of arrival: November 3, 2008

WOW, this property was a deal!
Spacious, breathtaking views, quiet, full equipped as advertised. Great service from owners. Minutes away from attractions (beaches, marinas, hotels, etc.)

Will come again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review