reviews for: listing #27801 - Galveston, Texas Condo rental

Palisade Palms - Luxury High Rise Directly on the BEACH!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Palisade Palms
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $1,895 /wk
    $1 - $3,850 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

My husband and I spent a full month at Jim's condo and enjoyed every moment. The condo building is gorgeous and the unit itself was clean and beautifully maintained. Views from the condo are spectacular and we enjoyed watching all sorts of ships come and go--including cruise ships. The beach directly in front of the building is clean and perfect for long strolls and shell hunting. It was fun meeting other guests and owners, and the staff was friendly and helpful. They pointed us to many of the great restaurants attractions in the area. Jim was extremely accommodating and did everything he could to make sure our visit was a success. We had a wonderful time and hope to return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Galveston at its Best

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

We just spent two months at Jim's condo in Galveston. It exceeded our expectations as a vacation rental! The condo was beautiful with two patios -- one facing the Gulf of Mexico and the other facing the bay. It was really nice to have both views and be able to sit on either side depending on the weather. The condo is furnished nicely and the kitchen is fairly well equipped. Since we were there for two months there were a few things that we needed but we just picked them up. The beds are quite comfortable, although a little bit creaky. We had a couple issues during our stay but all were easily resolved in communication with Jim. The facility is high end and well maintained. We took advantage of the fitness centre and the pool area. It is somewhat like staying at a resort and taking care of your own meals and housekeeping. Would highly recommend -- but don't book the times when we want to go, because we will definitely we back! :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Palisade Palms BC0510

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Palisade Palms and will have to say I will probably never stay in a hotel again when at the beach. Jim's condo is very spacious with all the amenities. The balcony facing the beach was a great place to hang out especially at breakfast time very nice breeze and always shaded. I'll have to say its a great place to take the family .

Kathy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Condo

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Everything about this condo was excellent!! There was plenty of space for a family of 5. The owner is fantastic and very helpful. The Palisade Palms facilities are wonderful. During our stay we enjoyed the pool, hot tub, playroom, game room, and fitness center. There is easy access to the beach which was not overly crowded. We had a great vacation!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful condo at Palisade Palms.

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

This is a wonderful condo with two balconies. The large balcony facing the Gulf was shaded all day with a beautiful breeze. The location is excellent. We were also impressed with the staff at Palisade Palms. They all seemed very dedicated, and everything was kept spotless. Our granddaughter enjoyed the playroom also.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This condo is great, very clean and plenty of room!! Palisade Palms and the beach area are very well maintained and secure. This is a great place to bring your family! The owner, Jim, was very helpful and a pleasure to work with – he responded quickly to every email and went above and beyond to accommodate us. I will definitely choose this condo again!!

I highly recommend this condo!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Condo Review

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Overall, our stay was excellent. Palisade Palms is on the undeveloped end of the beach, away from the rest of the major hotels. This is a very peaceful and relaxing location.
Restaurants are only minutes away if you desire. We liked Papa's Pizza for casual family time, Orange Leaf for frozen yogurt and Olympia Grill for finer dining. Pier 21 area is full of very quaint restaurants and shops.
As stated in prior reviews, this unit is nicer than the pictures show. Condo is very clean and nicely maintained. Our family loved the pool area, tennis, and basketball courts. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Jim was also very timely with any information we requested.
The only disappointment was the quality of the beach. The sand was very nice, but the seaweed in the water and on the beach was a nuisance. We stayed for a week and the beach was only cleaned once-after a couple days the smell was also bad. We are told the seaweed is a temporary phenomenon in the spring, but it is something to check before renting.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic condo! Better than we could have imagine

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

My family was very happy with our stay, the condo was wonderful. We made use of the kitchen several times, which cut to total cost of our vacation and made for less stress than hauling the little ones around town for every meal. The kids loved the beach, and the pools. We will definitely be back. This was our first stay in Galveston and we hit the jackpot with our selection of where to stay.
Thanks so much, we had a fabulous time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Amazing!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

This condo is incredible! The pictures do not even do it justice. The view of the beach is amazing, and sitting out on the patio is so relaxing. The condo has plenty of room and the layout is perfect. Getting to the beach is a breeze, and the beach is kept very clean and neat. The staff at the complex was very helpful and friendly. The pool area was also very relaxing and kept very clean. We will, without a doubt, be back for another stay at this condo.

Also, I would like to thank Jim, the owner, for being so responsive to e-mails and for being so accommodating.

I cannot recommend this condo enough!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Unit!

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Clean and very well maintained unit and property. Great floorplan. Owner provided great customer service. We have stayed several places in Galveston and Palisade Palms is in a class all its own. Top notch amenities, nicely groomed beach just down the boardwalk (no street to cross), close proximity to the action on seawall and strand. This unit in particular is fabulous because you get bay views and beach views... Don't forget your binoculars! There are 2 balconies. The beachside balcony is especislly large with very comfortable dining furniture. The 5th floor is great because you can still hear the ocean yet are high enough not to be bothered by people at the pool. Will do again and recommend to all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Greatest vacation in years

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

We were very happy with this condo. It was the perfect size for our needs.
It was the nicest unit I found for the money and it was just like the photos.
So many of the units we have rented in the past, the photos did not look like
the condo we rented from other agencies. Our vacation was the most relaxed
vacation we have had in years. alltho the condo was only on the 5th floor & overlooking the pool area, there was absolutly no sound from outside at all.
I can not say enough how much we enjoyed the condo, with the views of the pool,
and gulf. from one balcony the view is of the Gulf of Mexico and from the other
balcony you see the most beautiful sun sets.
We are planning our off season vacation and it will be in this same condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We stayed at this fantastic condo at the Palisades Palms with our two children (1yr and 2.5yr). It was absolutely perfect. The development is wonderful and has two pools, one perfect for the little ones. The beach was great. Just a short walk on the wooden walkway, no busy streets to cross. The beach was swept of the seaweed on a regular basis and being a little off the beaten track it was not crowded with tourists but rather just people staying in the nearby area. Our children also really enjoyed the playroom in the building with the adjoining playscape. Perfect for times when we weren't ready to go to the beach or pool but they were tired of the toys that we brought. The unit itself was exactly what we needed, spacious with all of the amenities and two great balconies. I would highly recommend this to anyone and am planning to go back again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievable :-)

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We spent our family vacation here and it far exceeded our expectations! This place is beautiful! The condo itself is very well kept and extremely spacious. There are staff at the front desk at all hours that were very nice and helpful at all times. Our children absolutely loved the pools and the short walk to the beach neither of which were crowded at all. We utilized the workout room, the game room, the play room, and the coffee bar all of which were fantastic. We had no idea upon renting this condo off of the internet how absolutely amazing it would be. This is our 4th family vacation in a condo and this is one we will definitely come back to. Jim was great and very easy to work with! If you are thinking about visiting Galveston, this is the best place to stay hands down!!!!

The Boggess family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Easily the best place on the island!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Having never been to Galveston, we were unsure where to stay. We chose this location on vacationrentals.com and feel like we hit the jackpot! Everything about this condo was fantastic. The quality and location of the pool were excellent, especially for my 3 and 4 year old boys. The beach is just a short walk over a walkway and was virtually empty for the majority of our stay. (We did have more seaweed than we would have liked, but they came around several times with frontloaders to remove it from the beach).

The condo itself was beautiful and has an excellent floor plan. The view from both balconies was incredible. I also enjoyed the full fitness center in the building.

My wife and I explored the island and agreed that Palisade Palms is, by far, the nicest location we could have stayed in. There is no doubt we will stay here again when we return.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Visit August 2010

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

We absolutely love renting this condo. This was our second year and will rent again and again. The view of the beach is perfect as well as of the pool areas. My Dad loved sitting out on the balcony (fifth floor is perfect) and viewing boats in the Gulf. My husband, son and I enjoyed the workout facility, the pool, and of course the Saturday and Sunday morning donuts and coffee provided on second floor. This condo is immaculate, comfortable, and top notch in all aspects. Security is tight - you feel very safe. The condo is located ten minutes or less from the Strand which is a great place for sight seeing, eating out, and simply strolling. This was our eighth year renting Galveston houses and condos and this location is our favorite!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

location/location/location

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Wonderful unit, great complex. Unit location allows for a good breeze all the time, large balcony that is shaded most of day. Have view of beach and water from inside unit, get much higher and view will be of the horizon. Residents of the complex say this unit is the most popular floor plan. Never have I stayed at a condo with the security offered by this project, can not get to residential areas and pool areas without access key. Must have a code to get from beach which restricts to residents/tenants only. Pools are more like a resort rather than a condo, deepest point in main pool is 3 1/2 feet which makes it great for kids, there is a seperate kids pool with overhead fountains. Pictures in this listing do not do justice to this unit/project.

Jim was easy to work with, quick to respond and takes pride in his property. Would recommend this unit to anyone.

BC in address stands for "Beach Club" which is the east tower.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

galveston vacation palisade palms

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Jim thanks again for the rental of your condo at Palisade Palms. Your condo is very clean and comfortable with a great view of the gulf. The staff at the palms is helpfull with first time visitors like me. I will be returning to the palms next march and would recomend this condo if your staying in galveston.In my opnion the Palisade Palms is the place to stay in galveston. GEORGE

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

Palisades Palms is absolutely great. New. Private. Right on beach. Immaculate amenities. Quiet.
This unit is very nice. 2 balconies. Great view of pool, beach, Gulf.
I would HIGHLY recommend Palisades Palms and this unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all loved it.

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

thanks again, we all loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time in your condo ...

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Dear Jim,

We had a great time in your condo last March.

Our school calendar has just been published and I thought I would inquire about availability March 13 to March 20, 1010 (Saturday to Saturday).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay was excellent ...

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Our stay was excellent and we really enjoyed the property.

NOTE: This renter ended up buying another unit after his stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love your condo and will be renting again ...

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

We love your condo and will be renting again next year about the same time if it is available. If you ever decide to sell a timeshare of it, let us know! Thanks, Gail

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay was fantastic!

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

Hi Jim - our stay was fantastic! We really needed the break. Your condo is very comfortable, clean and was the perfect getaway retreat! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review