reviews for: listing #278230vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Homey & Comfortable, White Water Ocean & Misty Mountain Views
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 100 - $ 110 / night
  • sleeps  2
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

New Years Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

My Family which includes my in-laws, wife, and two kids ages 6 and 9 had a most memorable time here over new years and into the first week of 2014. The house was top notch. The house has everything you need to relax in a most peaceful environment with amazing views of the southern pacific. The pool is great! I think my kids spent more time in the pool than in the house. Most importantly if there is anything you need Natalie the owner lives on site for any help you may need. We will be making this our annual family destination.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa selva - Unforgettable view, perfect hideaway

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

This review regards one of the smaller houses on the property - "Casa Selva", but we have seen and can recommend them all. This is an excellent getaway for a couple or individual with an unforgettable view of the Pacific. Once you find your way from the highway (warning:steep hill climb requires dependable car and 4WD in inclement weather), if you bring your provisions, there is little reason to leave. The temperatures are wonderful - much more comfortable than the beach, and the mountain slope is teeming with wildlife. Our plan for three nights here extended in into 5. A year later we happily returned. The owner was very accommodating but not in your way. Casa Selva is very comfortable and there is a small kitchen so you can prepare meals, as well as a fun and friendly bar/restaurant up on the same mountain. For the environment, seclusion, and accommodation there this is a top choice in this region. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable, peaceful, and beautiful

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We just arrived home from spending the past 2 and a half weeks in this home. We miss it terribly. The homeowner is absolutely wonderful. She made ups feel very welcome, helped us with any thing we needed, such as boogie board, surfboards, beach chairs, laundry, directions, advice, etc... but mostly she became our families friend, auntie, etc...her dogs became our dogs. Her home became our home, we could have moved in.... This home is beautiful, comfortable, homey, and the pool is excellent. The view is breathtaking. We brought 3 teenagers with us and two of them stayed in Casa Vista, it was very comfortable, and they enjoyed using it immensely. All the kids, including our 6 year old absolutely loved the pool, and we loved lounging around the pool. Everything is very comfortable. And the homeowner gives us much privacy as you could possibly want, but if you need her, she's right there. We will rent it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kattia Solano New York

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

I'm from Costa Rica and this has been one of my favorite places to stay! It feels like home and Ben and Natalie are absolutely wonderful!! They know everything about this area; the best beaches, restaurants and local adventures that you can experience. The house is located in a very private area with the amazing views. Once you get there you will be greeted with the most beautiful tropical gardens filled with toucans,humming birds and the sound of howler monkeys; all right in your back yard. The house is very comfortable and clean. I love the open loft bedroom and high ceilings. The pool is fantastic and relaxing on the hammocks while watching the Toucans makes this an unforgettable experience. I would highly recommend staying on this property while traveling to Dominical.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation & Fabulous Casa Vista!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We just stayed for 10 days at a wonderful paradise retreat -- Casa Vista! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there including all the personal interaction with the hosts, Natalie and Ben. You can just veg out by the pool or on your own private covered patio area with magnificent views of the Whale's Tale from both locations The roar of the howler monkeys in the distance, the view of the sloth nibbling away on the leaves of a tree by the pool, and the lush tropical setting completely surrounding you will transport you to another world filled with beauty, tranquility, and peace. There are not enough good things to say about this special place other than "get there as fast as you can"!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved Our Stay!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

We had reserved Casa Vista at Finca Solla Sollew but Casa Vista was having some construction work done on the landscape in front so Nat and Ben moved us to Casa Selva. Both locations are phenominal though! We loved staying on the property, we loved the local insight they gave us, we loved all the personalized attention we received. Don't be shocked by the road to their house, it is rugged but part of life. We will definetly go back to Dominical and would absolutely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

We stayed four days in March 2011 as part of our first vacation in Costa Rica. The house and property are very nice and we were pleased. Natalie and Ben have put together awesome maps of the area that were so helpful. The view from the house is amazing. We woke to howler monkeys every morning and had fun located them in the trees in the distance. We were visited by toucans and humming birds by the pool. It was a great place to stay. So close to beautiful beaches, and yet tucked away in a jungle paradise away from the tourists. We really liked it.

I will say that the road to get to the house is a bit challenging. You WILL need 4 wheel drive (if you rent a car) to get to and from the house. Just a heads up.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Find Solace in Finca Solla Sollew

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

This property is beautiful and well-maintained. The view is everything you could hope for. Natalie and Ben are wonderful hosts that can give you as much or as little help and advice as you would like. They are long-time residents and incredibly knowledgeable about the area. They are entrenched in the community and know the best places to go (and not to go). They have created detailed maps of each nearby area that you will find in the house, along with all the beach accessories you will need.
Do not stay on the beach! It is cool and delightful in this jungle hideaway. We saw sloths, toucans, and monkeys on the property. We drove to different beaches everyday, and loved coming home to a private jungle spot. The pool was awesome, and we did not want to leave. This property is safe and secure, with all the comforts of home.
Possibly the best chicken wings in the world are located at the Bar Jolly Roger right down the road. We did not experience a bad meal in the area, and all were very reasonably priced.
We loved it. We highly recommend Casa Vista and can't wait to go back. The location is ideal-not yet too touristy, but with all the services you need. We fell in love with Costa Rica and made new friends! You will too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review