reviews for: listing #27843 - Lake Lure, North Carolina House rental

Lake Lure Retreat on Sunset Cove
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,700 - $3,800 /wk

sort by:

Breathtaking views of Lake Lure

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

The photos of the lake and mountains are absolutely breaktaking in person. The colors at sunset are forever changing and beautiful to watch especially in the boat. The house was gorgeous and ready for us to move right in. Plenty of towels in each of the 4 bathrooms and fresh linens on all the beds. The well supplied kitchen allowed us to cook anything we wanted. Or there are plenty of great restaurants to visit by boat or car. Chimney Rock Village has lots of stores to browse & local restaurants to choose from. And Ashville is not far away for a day of shopping or a visit to the Biltmore House. I recommend this home to anyone that wants a relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best summer vacation in a long time!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

What a great place to spend the week with family. The house was clean, was large enough that 8 people had room to spread out and not feel like we were on top of each other, there was a ton of stuff to do, and when we had a question or concern we just called the house caretaker and she would help us in any way we needed.

The house came with linens that were in good shape, it was nice not to have to bring our own. The layout of the house was great that the rec room was downstairs so my two sons could go down and play bumper pool and other games and they did not have to worry about being too loud. The boat house and deck were wonderful at the water, it was nice to have a sunny area and a shady area to sit at by the water. And having a pontoon boat to explore the lake with was perfect. We boated to some of the other restaurants like Larkins and boated to the public beach and did the water slides.

We had an amazing week and would love to come back soon!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful vacation home

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

This was a beautiful vacation home! We arrived to a very cozy, inviting and clean home. The caretaker had everything ready for us upon arrival; air/heat adjusted, clean linens stocked in all bathrooms etc. There was even a pack & play available that we used for our baby!

We had a wonderful time out on the water in a well kept boat and enjoyed many beautiful sunsets.

This is an excellent family vacation home, we will definitely return for future vacations!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well kept secret....

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This is a well kept Lake Lure secret. A very quiet location with a million dollar view off the back patio. Truly idyllic. Homey, well kept house with some neat surpirses to it. A game room in the bottom, a porch with easy access to bedrooms, and well maintained boat and dock area. Everything worked as it should. Its a neat place for a family reunion. It's convenient to stores, restaurants, and other tourist destinations. A good place to base out of for excursions in the local area. Very accommodating owner, and friendly caretaker.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous home, gorgeous views!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I've stayed here twice, most recently in July, and it's been a pleasure both times. The house is not only gorgeous (and huge!) but also kept immaculate. The caretaker and owner definitely keep this house in perfect condition. There's also plenty of room for big families without feeling cramped.

The house is perfectly situated to capture some amazing mountain views - pictures just don't do it justice. Personally, I never wanted to move off the porch - but if the view isn't enough to keep you occupied, touring the lake in the pontoon boat is a lot of fun. There's also so much to see and do within a short drive of this house - hiking, Chimney Rock (& Chimney Rock Village), lots of great little restaurants, etc. I recommend this rental 100%!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Grand Way to Spend Tax Day (April 15th) !!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

After a flight from my home town, it was a breath-taking and tranquil view as I dropped my luggage to sit on the porch and capture the moment! The home decor was warm and cozy, in addition to being impeccibly straightened and cleaned. All the amenities were at one's finger tips, with nothing to ask for; from the kitchen being fully stocked, to the playroom / den with the games, to the pontoon with all the necessary safety equipment! We had a FABULOUS time relaxing, playing, and scouting the town (and all the stores)!

After all the work for Tax Day ... we could not have picked a more relaxing and comfortable rental to wind down at! This is the home and place to be no matter what your vacation agenda is ... this home and surrounding area has it all!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation Disappointment

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We were extremely disappointed! First, we arrived at a dirty house. I spent the afternoon cleaning bathrooms and my family slept on dirty bed sheets since there were no clean sheets in the house. The caretaker arrived the next day and spent a few hours cleaning and changed sheets. She and I discovered the master bed sheets had a blood stain on it that we did not see until we took the covers off. This was the bed in which my parents slept.

My daughter and infant grandson stayed in the children's suite, which apparently the sheets on the trundle bed had not been slept in, but during the night two large roaches ran across the floor as we were doing a night feeding and diaper change (among other insects/pests throughout the week).

The boat only had 3/4 tank full of gas and the large garbage can in the boat house was full. There was food left in the fridge, and dirty, wet towels in the washing machine. Bathrooms were filthy and according to the cobwebs in many areas of the house, it had not been truly cleaned in some time.

Needless to say, the first 24 hours were extremely disappointing (and gross). Fortunately, the caretaker worked hard the next day to our satisfaction.

We do not expect perfection, however, we do expect a clean house with clean bedding. The fee charged lends itself to that along with the statements on the website. I spoke with the owner and he said he would follow up, which he never did, nor did he respond to my emails with pictures included after we returned home.

Needless to say, we will not return.

Helpful votes: 12 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review