reviews for: listing #27914 - Tahoe Donner, California House rental

Pool Table, Gameroom, Loft, Lovely Mountain Retreat!!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $250 /nt
    $150 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful home away from home

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

We had a great stay. Owners were incredibly helpful. Can't wait to go back. Spacious comfortable home in a great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome cabin

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We had a great time at the cabin, went skiing and had a day at Reno for the weekend and it was great , very comfortable great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good place!

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We enjoyed the place a lot!! It was clean and well stocked!! Since we went in peak summer, we didn't enjoy the open air deck ... Really wished that a part of it was covered... And the door leading to the deck definitely deserves a curtain!! Wud I return again? Absolutely!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family getaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The house is well set up for two families and had every thing we needed. It happened to be a very hot weekend and thankfully there were plenty of fans to help combat the heat! The house is very conveniently located to the lake, shops and historic Truckee. The owner was great with communication and provided us with a list of things to do in the area. We very much enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place for family and friends!

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My family and I love this cabin. With room enough to sleep the whole gang, it's only minutes from Donner Lake, the quaint town of Truckee and multiple trailheads for memory making hikes!! And, after all the day time activity, the game room is the perfect place to have some fun playing pool and darts. This is a great place. Comfy beds, well stocked kitchen, beautiful deck. Really nice!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This property was perfect. I had not been to this area in the summer and I asked Lisa for some ideas on activities. She thoughtfully sent a long email listing things to do and places to go. We went rafting, played tennis, went swimming,played ping pong, worked out in the fitness center, hiked in the old snow shed tunnels, and went horseback riding. It was too windy for kayaking, so we are saving that for next time. The cabin was very nice. My wife and I had a private room upstairs, while the kids slept in the downstairs rooms. We played pool in the game room, and cards in the family room. We enjoyed movies on the DVD player as well. I wish we could have stayed longer! You will not go wrong renting this cabin, and the owners Lisa and John we wonderful and easy to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect snow retreat

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

This Mountain Retreat was the perfect snow getaway for our family. The location is ideal, only 3 hours from the Bay Area. For younger children, there are plenty of sledding and snow play areas in the immediate area. For skiers, there is the quaint, clean, and family-friend Tahoe-Donner Ski resort as well as the larger Boreal within 15 minutes. The cabin itself was perfect for us - two bedrooms downstairs, a master bedroom upstairs, as well as a loft. And a game room on the bottom level with a pool table. The cabin was clean and all contact with the owner was seamless. I recommend a stay here and we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Loved our stay! Extremely clean and comfortable. Lots of room for everyone -- inside and outside on beautiful deck. Kids especially loved the pool table and their own private "suite" upstairs. Never felt crowded even with all nine of us there. Deck was perfect spot to watch the magnificent meteor shower. Unforgettable memories! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

This house was perfect for 4 adults and 6 kids ages 10-13. There was plenty of space for all of us within the 3 floors and the bottle of champagne made great mimosas on the deck. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great home with all the amenities and close to skiing!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

What a find! We decided on a last minute trip up to Tahoe to do some skiing on Spring Break and stumbled upon this lovely home. With just two days until we planned to leave, it was great that the owners were so quick to respond. The home was warm and inviting, with plenty of room for everyone to sleep. Loved having everything we needed for cooking and relaxing by the fire and the kids loved playing outside in the snow! We we woke up to find 3 inches of snow on the ground, I was very happy to have that flat driveway! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfy

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Great spot for 2 families. Very clean, great sunlight through the huge windows, good accommodations, comfortable beds, and tons of blankets! Rec room with the pool table a plus. Liked the level driveway too - no getting stuck in the new snow. ;)

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful time

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

We had a blast at your home. The snow belt in the back was great for sledding. We all learned to snow board during our stay. So convenient to the slopes. Your place is so comfortable and the kids 10 and 12 had such a great time with the pool table as well. They even made friends with Carly the dog next door. We couldn't bring our dog so it was nice for them to play with their furry friend. I would definately recommend your place to others.
Thank you

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would love to rent your home again!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Hi Lisa,
Thank you for letting us stay at your lovely mountain home and we really enjoyed staying there. We would love to rent your home again in the future.

Haili

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all had a great time!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Lisa,

We have just returned from Lake Tahoe. We all had a great time. Thank you very much for letting us stay in your house. We really like the neighborhood. We are thinking about coming back again in the winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will come back again!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

Hi Lisa,

Just wanted to let you know that we had a great time! The weather, all the activities and most of all your beautiful home made this trip a fantastic one.

We had no problem with anything, followed your instructions getting in and leaving this morning. We left the house in a very good condition (as it was when we got there).

Thanks again for sharing your home with us, we will come back again.

Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It really couldn't have been better!

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Hey Lisa. I just wanted to thank you for the Rental. It was awesome. We had a great time. It really couldn't have been better.

Thanks again,
Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful house! We shut everything in per your instructions.

We had 18" of fresh snow this am. We loved the rec room and record collection! Those took us back to some old memories!

We hope to see your house again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

We had a great time. Like the new floors and kitchen. We bought some firewood and left them for you. Sure need more snow though...

Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

We had a great time; thank you again for the use of the cabin. Everything looked great. I like all the work you did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2009

Thanks for opening your place to us. Its a great place and we enjoyed our time there last weekend. Thanks again and we'll keep your information for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2008

We had a wonderful weekend with lots of sun on Friday and lots of beautiful snow the rest of the weekend. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Horseback riding
Secret eddies hiding
Golfing with discs
and taking risks.
Sweet gentle songs
making the night long

Anonymous

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

I had such a fun time the entire trip!! The house is incredible, we all loved playing pool with each other. Thank you for letting us stay here, and I hope we can come again. :)

Malia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

Dear Matocqs,

What a great cabin! We had a great time and hope to come again sometime! We didn't want to go home! Thanks again.

Robin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

Had a great time. The kids loved sledding out back. The house was so comfortable and accomodating - space for everyone and we could still be all together.

Stephen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Dear Matocqs,

We had a great time in the house. We enjoyed the pool table and your great taste in music. The old records and record player were great. Everything was comfortable and clean. Thanks a bunch.

Estela and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

We enjoyed our stay so much! The house is wonderful and everything is so close. We fished at Prosser Creek, jumped in Donner Lakr (cold!), played at King's Beach, took a paddle boat out on Lake Tahoe, and went on a horseback trail ride at Alpine Meadows. But it was just as enjoyable to relax here: play pool, listen to vinyl records, watch movies, play xbox, cook meals in the kitchen, eat on the deck, and walk out back.

This is a great house - we hope to stay again!

Jeri and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We especially enjoyed the pool table and records!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We enjoyed it very much, thanks again. We especially enjoyed the pool table and the great records.
Sophia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is great!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Thank you very much Lisa.
6 of us arrive so far and the house is great.
And there is lots of snow!
I'm happy to be here.
Thanks again for sharing your house and for being helpful and quick to respond to inquiries.

Regards,
Cristy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time on both visits!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Lisa,
We went twice to your place for the last 30 days.
We had a great time on both visits.
We have appreciated your flexibility to allow us to stay on Sunday to avoid the traffic back to the Bay Area.
Thank you!
Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Especially enjoyed snowshoeing behind your house!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Our weekend stay was great. We went skiing both days and I especially enjoyed snowshoeing in the area behind your house in all the fresh snow.
-Cristy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I love your cabin!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

Dear Matocqs,

We had an awesome time! I love your cabin! My brother and his friend were the pool sharks!! They could not get away from the table!

Izzy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect house for guests

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2008

Dear Matocq Family,

We spent a wonderful week here with my daughter and son-in-law and their children. You have a perfect house for guests, arranged beautifully and thoughtfully.

Please look us up if you ever come to Isreal, which is where we live.

P.S. No bears, only chipmunks and noisy ravens in the neighborhood.

Patti

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking forward to returning

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2008

We had a wonderful time and are already looking forward to returning. The cabin is beautiful. Thanks, Shandra

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We like the game room!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2008

Dear Owners,

We had lots of fun here in your beautiful house. We were downstairs in the game room most of the time. Your house is cozy. Thank you! Sylvia

We had lots of fun at your house. I like the game room. it was very cozy and fun. This is a beautiful house and it's big. Thank you. Jeeno

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the pool table

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

Dear Matocqs,

We had a lot of fun in your home. Thank you for letting us stay here. Many of us enjoyed the pool table. Gaby

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy and comfortable

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2008

Lisa and family,

Thanksf or a great stay at your house here in Tahoe Donner. We love this area, and used to have a home just around the block. Your house is cozy and comfortable. We hope we can come back again soon. Hey, maybe think about Internet access? Thanks again, Eric and Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a fabulous time!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

Dear Owners,

Your house was very cozy and I had a fabulous time here! P.S. Even though we've been to Truckee before, we still had a blast! Thanks for letting us stay! Hope we can stay again!

Julia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great furniture

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The cabin is great, with all the great furniture.

Simone

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Making Family Memories

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

Thanks for helping our family make more memories. We so enjoyed our stay and would like to return again. Also, a great relief from Iowa humidity!!

The Bill __________ Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A poem

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

Horseback riding
Secret eddies hiding
Golfing with discs
and taking risks.
Sweet gentle songs
making the night long

Anonymous

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your cabin is very awesome!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2008

Your cabin is very awesome and we all had a fantastic time!

Downtown Truckee is the best and Donner Lake is beautiful.

Thanks for having us; I hope we can come back again!

Eric

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots of beautiful snow

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend with lots of sun on Friday and lots of beautiful snow the rest of the weekend. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed the cabin and had a great time

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2009

I can't believe our good luck with weather when we were there - between the storms. We enjoyed the cabin and had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a lovely time

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

We had a lovely time at your home and in the snow.

I will keep your contact information for future trips.

Again, thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Making our Christmas something to remember

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2008

We had a lovely stay -- lots of snow!! The first day when we arrived just after 2ft of snow. The renovations are quite handsome, the kitchen in particular looks splendid with the new countertop.
Many thanks for the experience, once again making our Christmas something
to remember.

Best wishes

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We want to come back again next year

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

Just a note to let you know that we had a wonderful time with our children & grandchildren at your "Mountain Home" this past week.
I'll be in touch with you this summer because we want to come back again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely loved it!

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

I wanted to thank you for allowing us to use your gorgeous house. We absolutely loved it! We would love to rent from you again - maybe in the summer or fall.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the rec room!

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

We have a guest book at the cabin that we leave for guests to write comments and share their vacation stories with us. So, that's where most of our comments are - but I did manage to find these in emails from just a few of our guests:



Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful house! We shut everything in per your instructions.

We had 18" of fresh snow this am. We loved the rec room and record collection! Those took us back to some old memories!

We hope to see your house again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review