reviews for: listing #27947 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Mid Century Modern Mini Estate Old Las Palmas
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Old Las Palmas
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $700 /nt
    $1,750 - $3,450 /wk
    $6,000 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

This place is truly Fabulous!!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We spent a month at this home and loved every minute of it. The house has a wonderful layout, wonderful mid century, great neighborhood and amazing views! We had guests visit us during our stay and all were "wowed" by it.

The house has a great location, quiet, close to downtown, very private and in a truly beautiful area. In the evening the exterior lighting made us feel like we had our own private resort.

We had a few questions during our stay and the owners were quick to respond and very easy to deal with. The home was well stocked, clean and very comfortable.

We love this home and we're already planning our return visit.

We would highly recommend this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gracious family from MN

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Dear Anna,

We had a wonderful family vacation at your home. It is a spectacular and convenient location . This was our third rental location in Palm Springs and we voted it the best place that we had stayed at.

Thanks again,

David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Old Las Palmas

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

My 3 grown children and each brought a friend had 2 wonderful
Weeks in this awesome house! The set up was perfect with each bedroom
Having its own bath! Also, t-v room/den plus living
Room was great for some to visit and some to veg and
Watch a movie!! We loved the house all the way around!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Australians Visit Palm Springs for Modernism Week

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

Our Australian tour group needed a big house. We were 3 couples and 1 single, and we were all easily accomodated with individual rooms and private facilities in this lovely large home, including comfortable living spaces suitable for a group. The quality of furniture and facilities were first class, and the spa and pool completed the total resort feel. We didn't have cars, so the house location was important for us, Las Palmas is a beautiful prestige area, and is also an easy walk to the Palm Springs design and shopping district. Booking a house rental from half way around the world was daunting, and I must commend the owners for being contactable during the process, I was also able to make additional enquiries during our visit (thankyou Anna). Our group all agreed that the quality of the house and facilities was excellent, 'our house' in Palm Springs provided a wonderful base for a week in Palm Spring., We highly recommend this house for other visitors, it's perfect for groups of friends or family groups.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you! It's so nice to hear that our home was enjoyed. It was a pleasure dealing with you and I hope you will be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

We recently spent 10 days at this beautiful property with 2 families. There were 4 adults and 3 children total. This house has such a great layout that we never felt like we were on top of each other. The home is nicely updated, very clean and super private. The outdoor area is absolutely beautiful and majestic! It felt like we were in our own private resort. We hope to get back to Palm Springs in the Fall and this house will definitely be our first choice to rent.

Also, the owner is very easy to work with. She is prompt with returning emails and answering any questions. Overall an excellent experience. Thanks Anna!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's so nice to hear that our home was enjoyed. I really appreciate you taking good care of our home during your stay. I hope you will be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Disappointed!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Each spring, our golf group comprised of 4 professional women rents a VRBO home in Palm Springs and we are quite familiar with a variety of rentals. This particular property was more expensive than others we had considered, but it fit our needs (4 BR, 4BA) and we enthusiastically booked it.
This is an appealing home in many ways. The Las Palmas location is fantastic, the siting of the property ideal, and the layout and flow of the interior of the house is lovely.
Unfortunately, the house did not live up to its VRBO description.
When we arrived, the house was not cleaned to our standards, the carpets were noticeably stained, a slat under the bed in the master suite was broken, noxious carpet remnants were piled in one closet, none of the bedroom doors to the outside opened, a bathroom sink was clogged, the dishwasher wasn’t functioning properly (and we had to hand wash dishes for several days), the AC wasn’t on in one bedroom, the refrigerator door didn’t close properly, all the kitchen knives were dull (and a frustration for the cooks among us), and the jets in the hot tub were markedly deficient (plus, we were advised to turn them on “with a blunt object” and directed to a small rock!)
To her credit, the owner was initially responsive about some of these issues and sent contractors over to address the sink, the dishwasher , AC and the hot tub. However, the jets never worked properly during our stay and the hot tub was never hot enough, a real disappointment at the end of a day of golf! In fact, we gave up using the hot tub altogether.
That we had to spend any energy on these issues while on vacation was bothersome and surely not what we expected in a home advertised as a luxury rental. The house was truthfully not ship shape and we feel a rental of this caliber should be. As if this wasn’t enough to deal with, upon receiving our deposit back, we were speechless that the owner deducted $125 for carpet stains. We insisted that these were there when we arrived; she insisted that her maid had advised her otherwise! It made us wonder when was the last time the owner had personally inspected the property.
We thought it important to share this review, as we surely don’t want others to have an equally disappointing experience.

Owners response: Review readers should know that if an owner charges a guest for damage the guest can write whatever they want as a review. This guest was charged $125 for stains in the carpet and when we would not return it they said they would write a bad review. I explained we had photos but she continued to threaten with the review. I will not be bullied.

On the 2nd day after their arrival they emailed me letting me know that one of the AC units was not working in one (of 4) bedroom. There are 2 units, both units were working, a blower switch to one of the bedrooms had given out. I called our AC repair person and they were there in 24 hours. I tried to explain to the guest it is like a light bulb, sometimes they break and there is no fault but she continued to talk about it and asked for money back. The temp in Palm Springs during their stay was 85 in the day and 55 at night, very comfortable. Still, we resolved the issue immediately.
She said the dishwasher was not working, our repair tech said they were using cheap dishwasher soap. It cost us $75 for that analysis, a fee was not passed on, it is a 2 year old Bosch dishwasher. New soap was left for her and it was resolved.

NEVER during the guest’s stay did she say the house was not clean when she arrived. We have been using the same cleaners for 7 years and the owner attends each cleaning because she knows how particular I am and so we know when damage has happened. They do an excellent job and I visit the house almost between each guest to make sure that it is in excellent condition for each guest. I told this to the guest. The issue with the knives is just fabricated out of frustration. 2 weeks earlier I had just left 2 commercial grade cutting knives at the house AND there is also a knife sharpener.
On the 2nd day the guest said the hot tub was too hot so they turned it down, on the 3rd day they said they wanted to talk to our pool person (no reason given). Our pool person was never able to catch them because they left before 9 am. On the 5th day they said they were having trouble with the jets, I explained how to adjust and did not hear back. (We never said use a rock.) They were tested after she left and they work fine.
We responded and fixed any inquiries/issues quickly (within hours) she had but she still was not satisified.

During her stay she emailed several times saying how wonderful the house was and how much they were enjoying it. Yes we are scratching our heads too.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Private Wonderful Resort Style Home

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The highlight of this spacious home is the super private resort-like yard. We really enjoyed our vacation here. The house is large and the pictures don't do it justice - it has a great spacious flow. the kitchen is stocked and the grill is on a live gas line making it quick and easy to grill a meal poolside. We were here with our two small boys and they loved playing in the yard. Loved swimming in the black bottom pool while looking up at the mountains. The Las Palmas area is the Beverly Hills of Palm Springs, beautiful private estates. The house is so private and the great view makes you really feel like you are at your own private resort.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect, Everything you'd want and need!

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

This place is perfect for visiting Palm Springs. It's in a great neighbourhood! Excellent for going for walks right out of the gate, and only a 5 minute walk or so to downtown Palm Springs. The layout is super for hanging out in the backyard around the pool. There's 4 master baths, 3 of which open onto the pool deck. Also a great room with a big patio door so it all becomes a big hangout area.
The backyard has a runway good for playing ball and such. It's real nice hanging out in the back at night with some great palm trees and nice accent lighting.
While not unique to this yard, it's wonderful to see all the stars just like you're in the country.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks for the great review! We really appreciate your family taking great care of our home during your stay and hope you will return soon! Great guests help us keep our home a special place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

If you're considering this house you should choose it, it's a great place!

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

We feel pretty lucky that we chosen this house. There are alot of properties out there to choose from and it can be mind boggling but this one is a winner and we will be back. The photos were accurate, but I think it's even better in person. Great layout for sharing with another family or friends because of the two wings - loved that! We also loved the way you could open up the living room to the outside, it had a great resort feel.

We've recommended it to friends and family - you will too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beyond Our Expectations - Gorgeous!

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2009

We had a very special week with our friends at this wonderful home. It was everything we had hoped for an more. It's a great location and we loved the area, it was very convenient to everything. We found that once we got to the home we really did want to leave! Loved the gated privacy, we cooked great meals together, enjoyed the beautiful pool and spa and really relaxed. The house had everything we needed and we totally recommend it to anyone who is looking for a beautiful home for a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Quiet, Roomy and Comfortable

Review submitted: January 5, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We rented this property for a family gathering over the holidays and found it to be comfortable and quiet. Everything was very clean, with adequate linens and towels for eight people. It's in a fabulous location, peaceful, but near downtown Palm Springs, a great neighborhood for walking. The home is well laid out for a group, with adequate separation between rooms and a good central living area. We had only a few quibbles: while large and equipped with good appliances ( except cheap and difficult dishwasher) and an adequate number of dishes, the kitchen was not very well equipped for cooking--no colander, dull knives, few kitchen tools, no salt or pepper shakers--so our family cooks grumbled a good bit. Everyone loved the expansive pool area and the new hot tub, and the orientation afforded long hours of sunshine poolside. We would like the guest book to be a little more informative, with information on the outdoor lights and recycling, for example. When we had a minor problem and left a message for the owners, they responded almost immediately and graciously. Overall, it was a great house for a gathering of our sort and we would recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review