reviews for: listing #27950 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan House rental

Corner Penthouse W Private Rooftop In Town -1.5 blk to Ocean
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Meridian
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $142 - $320 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

Perfect for Us

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

We found the penthouse condo to be perfect for us. If you are the type of person that (1) prefers to settle in a "home base" rather stay at a huge resort or all-inclusive, (2) enjoys mixing with locals and visitors from many other countries, and (3) seeks out local restaurants and businesses, then the penthouse condo would be perfect for you, also. Conveniently located close to the beach and close to many restaurants on 5th avenue. We ended many of our days by relaxing on the rooftop terrace with snacks and drinks, and enjoying the evening breeze. The condo was easy to get to from the airport (we used Cancun-Cab and paid $55). Local taxis are inexpensive and we found no need to have our own car. We had a great time and would not hesitate to rent this condo again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

christmas at playa

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

great location property clean close to the beach and 5th ave, food and shopping close by

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay on Playa

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

The condo was really great. We were able to save some cash by making dinners in the kitchen and dining on the roof deck. Sunset was the best time to sit back and enjoy. The Jacuzzi was great but four people is a tight fit. Everyone was very helpful and really wanted to be sure we had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo and location

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We spent two weeks in the condo as a family of four. The condo was quiet, secure, tidy, and had everything we could want - including housekeeping, water service, wi-fi, and two cell phones. The extra private space on the roof, and the communal pool were well-kept. It was a short walk to the beach, and to 5th Ave. with tons of restaurants. The onsite team was responsive to any enquiry we had. We frequently rent condos around the world and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the condo and in Playa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Lori, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome back anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Belize to Playa...

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

My wife Nadine and I decided to give her parents, both 78 a week in Playa, where we have been many times before. It is only a 5 hour drive from our home in Belize. However, we did not want the noise of the bars that are on South 5th Avenue, so we choose this location purposely to enjoy some good sleep while still enjoying the beach, and nice restaurants in the area.

We did so, and my in-laws had a blast between the beach, restaurants, and our dips in the pool in the evenings. Meanwhile, I enjoyed my bike rides early in the morning followed by watching the Tour de France. I must commend Laura's choice of beds, which were just like home, and the AC was always cold, especially considering that Playa was in the middle of the summer.

Laura Pentecost, the owner is a gem, and her people were as helpful. They assisted us with our luggage, groceries from the nearby Wallmart, and you name it. I actually enjoyed seeing my in-laws walking up the 3 flights of stairs and getting a good work out at the end of our daily outings. It kept them alive and fit. Other times, they chose to stay and hang out on the nice balcony while Nadine and I hit the strip in the evenings getting some good exercise while enjoying all the culture, restaurants, and stores surrounding us.

Thanks for your hospitality and that of your people Laura. We will be back...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

from Kelowna, BC

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We had 3 weeks at this condo Mar 24 - Apr 14 & had a great time. The condo is in an excellent location: 1.5 blocks to the ocean, and 2 blocks to 5th Avenue, which is a long pedestrian-only road for miles; full of restaurants,shops,bars. The condo is far enough away from the clubs and bars to be very quiet. We enjoyed the ocean breezes flowing through the condo day and night and didn't use the A/C. The condo is great for relaxed sunning, and also has shaded areas. The hot tub was a treat in the evenings with a glass of wine and our family.
If you want to hang out on the beach nearby, walk down to the ocean, turn right, passing a few resorts, you'll come to "Mamitas" Beach Club. For 50 pesos you get a lounge chair for the day, use of change rooms, showers, & washrooms. They also serve food and drinks. The ocean here is warm, clear, good for swimming, boarding,etc.
There are 2 charming restaurants near the condo. One is Italiam [just opened] - walk down one block toward the ocean on 40 Calle and it's on the corner. [Menu is in the condo]. The other is Origenes, one block toward the ocean, turn right and walk one block. They have great 1 litre mojitos at lunch. On 5th Avenue we enjoyed Vagabunda, Mexican food, & very pleasant waiters.. [open for breakfast too]For groceries, wine and spirits, the Mega and Walmart are about 15-20 min. walk, taxi back, 50 pesos.
We were advised to go to Puerto Morelos to snorkel the reef [a National Marine Park]. It was great early in the day when visibility was best. Snorkeling was $25 US. each inc. all equipment [sanitized in plastic wrappers], boat operator & guide: - all very professional. Walk about 100 metres to right of the main pier to a palapa - restaurant upstairs + dive office. Many restaurants in town offered 2 for 1 drinks all day.
The taxi from the airport to Playa is $75US. We checked internet and booked a van from 'Cancun-Cab' for $55US. [There were 4 of us] We were met by this company at the airport and it all worked out well. The other option for only 2 people is the ADO bus $12US. ea. to Playa bus depot, then a taxi 50 pesos to condo. These are luxury buses with good schedules.
We found Laura's directions to the condo confusing for taxis. Street signs are rare and the buildings are not numbered. We had taxis go down 42 Calle to Primera Avenina. Then two buildings down is the condo 'The Meridian.'
Everyone at the condo, esp. security guys, Emanuel & Wilmar, were very helpful & friendly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Penthouse in Playa Del Carmen

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

Nicely located to beach, close to the main business/club area and yet far enough away from all that activity to relax, re-energize and enjoy. This penthouse was a perfect size for 4 adults. The rooms were large and the layout of the main indoor space was open, bright, airy, and very comfortable, watch for the step from the living to the dining, it is a bit awkward. The whirlpool tub on the rooftop terrace was used every day with plenty of hot water to fill it. The rooftop terrace was huge with everything needed to lounge and dine. We would have enjoyed and utilized a BBQ on the upper patio if it were available. We did use the BBQ on the lower balcony. There was really only room for two to dine on the lower balcony comfortably. As a foursome we ate at the main large dining table inside the living space or carried our plates, food to the upper terrace table. The powder room on the upper terrace was very convenient as well. Stairs to the upper terrace were very steep and without handrails we really had to “watch our steps”. We had a very nice stay and would definitely come back to this home again.

Review from the Caldwell/Wilson party of four, from Oregon – stayed Feb 2013

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Connie, thank you for posting your review. We appreciate all of the feedback and are happy that you enjoyed the penthouse as much as we do. You are welcome back anytime. We make special discounts for repeat client s ;-)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

15 Days in Playa

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

My wife and I wanted to go someplace special where we never had been before to take a break from the cold North winter. We decided on Playa Del Carmen. We were not disappointed one bit. Playa is a laid back location with friendly people, terrific food, excellent beaches and great winter weather.
We selected this particular condo because it seemed to be away from the crowds yet near restaurants, beaches and shopping. We were greeted by Diana on our arrival who gave a an orientation to the property and the area.

The condo was in excellent order and the maid service (every other day) kept it neat and tidy. We loved the animals the staff made out of wash cloths and towels! The kitchen was well-appointed as we opted to stay in for numerous meals. The kitchen was supplemented by a gas grill on the balcony.

We spent a good deal of time on our private rooftop area and at the central pool. The evenings were excellent with the cool breeze and clear skies for star watching. We used the jacuzzi on two occasions. We would have used it more but it needed to be filled for each use as the water was not reheated when the tub was filled. We had heard the horror stories of Mexican drug and crime violence. I'm sure we could have found some if we really wanted to be we never felt unsafe in Playa, even when walking on Quinta (5th Avenue) late in the evening returning from dinner.

There are several excellent restaurants nearby or within walking distance. We really liked and for no specific reasons Koolfish and Ajun Maya right around the corner on Quinta and the Mayan Bistro on 10th Avenue and 22nd Calle (street).

We rented a car for 2 days to visit Tulum and Chitzen-Itza. I am glad we did but it is not necessary to do so. In fact, I'd recommend against rented a car other than for excursions outside Playa as most everything is within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The most expensive cab ride we took was about $5.

Shopping for groceries was easy as there is a Super Market and WalMart nearby.There were also two local mini-markets w/i walking distance on 5th (the Banana Market and El Campeo).

All in all this property was as good if not better than advertised or what we expected. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Thank you, Laura, Gaspar, Diana and the entire service staff.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Gerry for staying at our penthouse. We love reviews , especially when someone stays as long as you guys did at the condo. I am so happy that you could experience the love that we have for Playa. You are welcome back to our penthouse anytime, and we give great discounts for repeat renters! We wish you an early summer up there. Take care, Laura Pentecost the owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent stay in at Meridian Condos - Coco Beach

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Two friends and I enjoyed 8 nights in Penthouse 312 at Meridian Condos. Though a little tough for the driver to find at first, we quickly figured out to say 44th and 5th minus a block or two - the taxi drivers usually figured it out.

The condo was lovely. it had all of the amenities we'd need for a perfect vacation including a spectacular blender which made our margaritas and pina coladas smooth and delectable. The main living space was nice - we didn't turn the TV on once though we did make use of the WiFi daily. The maid service was great. They were there 3 days a week and it was just enough to keep us neat and tidy. The bathrooms were ample - 4 in all counting the rooftop deck. The spa and outdoor shower plus sundeck for tanning were enjoyed by all and we ended many nights in the rooftop pool. There was an issue with the spa heating properly in the beginning and Gaspar (the manager) had someone out the next morning. Great customer service!

We discovered Canibal Beach Club on our penultimate day - what a pleasure. It is on the beach to the left just a bit. 150 pesos per person in food/drink and we could lounge comfortably all day with drink in had.

The water was amazing - so warm and clear and welcoming on those hot beachy afternoons.

Only caveat would be the lack of an elevator. Not sure why I was surprised and I certainly did need the extra activity considering the quantity of margaritas, guacamole and Mexican Coke we consumed... but just be sure you're comfortable with several flights of stairs each day.

Thanks for an awesome stay - we'll definitely consider it next time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

7 Days in Playa

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from staying in Playa Del Carmen with another couple. The condo was perfect as it was very nicely furnished, everything was clean, and both bedrooms and bathrooms were very comparable in size. The upstairs patio was great, and we spent many days after the beach, and evenings up top lounging around and sitting in the jacuzzi. We felt very at home, and the staff was very helpful and informative as far as where to go for groceries, excursions, restaurants, shopping, ect...

I would recommand this property to anyone that wanted a nice stay in Playa with direct walking distance to everything in town! If you dont want to walk, every single cab ride is only $5 in town. We would stay here if we ever vacationed in Playa Del Carmen again. It was amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mar@Meridian Penthouse

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Property is located between 40th and 42nd Norte, 2 blocks east(towards beach) of 5th Ave. it is 20 to 30 blocks from 5th avenues hoping clubs. That worked well for us as it was nice and quiet at night. Downtown area rumbles with music most of night. Corner condo on top floor had wonderful breeze through main rooms even during heat of day, very comfortable. Penthouse patio on roof was also great. Had breakfast up there most mornings. Complex maintenance, manager and security were great. Very helpful and friendly. Appeared when we arrived however that cleaning had been rushed. We were a little short on towels and needed to wipe down counters and table. That was a little disapointng as a first impression. We called maintenance to look at a toilet that we thought may be leaking and they were very responsive, were out next morning. Condo was two blocks from beach.

Would recommend collectivo public transportation to get to Akumal and Thulum(30 pesos). We ate mostly at restaurants not on 5th Ave as price seemed to go up. Average meal for 4 adults, w/6 beers, was 500 pesos or about $40. Arachera is a marinaded meat in fajitas and tacos definitely recommend. Went shopping for fresh produce at "DAC" which was 15 block from condo by "Mega" grocery. Again very reasonably priced and they tollerated us "Gringos" very politely.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Bryan, thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our penthouse. During the month of March, our busiest month of the year, we are rented back to back without any days in between, so this particular day the maid could have been rushed. I hope that when she came every other day that she kept the place super clean for you.

You are welcome back anytime. Saludos to you in the Midwest

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Loved it, you will too!

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

"We just stayed in this condo for 2 1/2 weeks and had the best vacation ever! The location is absolutely perfect, nice and quiet and still close to everything. It had everything you need for a stress free vacation. We enjoyed having use of the b.b.q. and the washer /dryer was a plus after the day at the beach. We spent most of our evenings on the private rooftop deck relaxing in the jacuzzi and gazing at the stars.

The property manager was also very helpful with recommendations for food, shopping, and responded to a maintenance request on the same day. Thank you Gaspar!

Laura we have already recommended your condo to friends and family. We will stay here again!"

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it, you will too.

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We just stayed in this condo for 2 1/2 weeks and had the best vacation ever! The location is absolutely perfect, nice and quiet and still close to everything. It had everything you need for a stress free vacation. We enjoyed having use of the b.b.q. and the washer /dryer was a plus after the day at the beach. We spent most of our evenings on the private rooftop deck relaxing in the jacuzzi and gazing at the stars.

The property manager was also very helpful with recommendations for food, shopping, and responded to a maintenance request on the same day. Thank you Gaspar!

Laura we have already recommended your condo to friends and family. We will stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Playa stay yet!!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

This Penthouse condo at the Meridian is great. It is in a nice quiet part of Playa Del Carmen. We did not have a car and did not need one. We would walk 5th avenue each night where you will find hundreds of stores and restaurants and a very short walk are two excellent restaurants, Cueve De Changa and Origenes both great for breakfast and dinner. It is an easy walk to the Super Walmart for groceries and a cheap taxi ride back. The nice large beach is right at the end of the street. The condo is very nice and has every thing you need, we spent most of the time on the roof top and the Jacuzzi at night under the stars is great. Laura was very helpful and gave us great information. We highly recommend staying here you will not be sorry!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Simply an amazing Condo!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

This was my first time renting through VRBO. I must say that this property is Amazing! We travelled as two couples for 10 nights & had a fabulous time in this Condo. The rooftop deck was a favorite spot morning, before the sun was to hot, noon for lunch & night to gaze at the moon & stars. A short walk to the beach where we enjoyed playing in the sand & surf, as well as parasailing. We did a lot of walking during our stay, 5th Ave is 1 1/2 blocks away (the north end of 5th) lots to see & do on this Ave. One of our favorite Mayan restaraunts was Yaxche, simple amazing food & a must is their flaming coffee after dinner, prepared at your table!
Thanks again Laura, Gaspar & Jesus as well as the cleaning staff for all your help in making our holiday a very memorable stay. Thanks also to the very helpful Security fellows how were always willing to give a hand carrying bags of groceries or luggage up the three flights of stairs.
Will definately recommend your Condo, Laura to everyone who wishes to visit Playa del Carmen on their own.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

8 days at Penthouse Coco Royal

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We stayed in Penthouse Coco Royal from April 29- May 07, 2011. It is everything the description says it is. Very comfortable and clean- easy access to the beautiful, endless beach. The owner is very accessable and helpful- both before & during your stay. We found 2 wonderful restaurants just around the corner- Coco Como for Italian- so good we ate there twice! And of course Cuevo de Changa for breakfast, lunch or dinner. There was a great market on 10th Ave. on Sunday AM or the DAK market near the Mega store to buy fresh produce. We spent a lot of our time at the Mamitas Beach club and up on the unit's rooftop terrace. Wonderful breezes . It is in a very quiet neighnorhood and within a walk to everything. Would definitely reccomend to friends or family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for Choosing our penthouse. We take allot of pride in making sure that the condo is in the best of shape. We are happy to hear that our place made a great backdrop for your special holiday vacation. You are welcome back anytime :-)

Kindest regards,

Laura
Property Owner

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Elegant and Comfortable for our February Family Get-Away

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay at this property. The location is ideal ... a short safe walk to the action down on Fifth Avenue, and a short walk to Playa's beautiful beach. Eight family members traveled to Playa and rented this condo along with another in the building, four of us staying in the penthouse and four in a first floor condo. We especially enjoyed the rooftop deck sitting area and enjoyed happy hour there on several nights of our week-long stay. The kitchen was well-appointed, and we enjoyed breakfasts and an occasional lunch there, though we preferred eating at area restaurants to doing any "real" cooking. However, all kitchen items were available to anyone who would choose to cook. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and there were all linens necessary, including beach towels. As there were two couples staying here, an extra set of keys was provided so couples could come and go as they please. Our favorite restaurants were very close by, and it was easy to book our trips for snorkeling, exploring the Coba ruins and swimming in a cenote by talking to people on the beach or the "orange shirts" at the MEGA grocery store, also within walking distance. There is not an elevator in the building, so it's best for guests who are able to handle steps to the third floor. Another bonus - the direct access to the rooftop pool was very convenient and we enjoyed our time on the pool deck as well. I spoke to the owner several times on the phone before our stay, and she was very accommodating and answered our questions promptly. Maid service was excellent. Favorite restaurants? La Cueva de Chango (Monkey's Cave) - best cream of habanero soup EVER - La Pammarola, La Delicias and the El Fagon restaurant across from the MEGA store. Tacos El Pastor across from the Scotia Bank were also a winner for lunches - 80 cent tacos. We'll be back. Thanks to Laura, Gaspar and Jesus, who took very good care of us.I would definitely recommend this as a wonderful place to stay. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Barbara, you are welcome back any time! We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed the penthouse as much as we did.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Laura
Condo Owner

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredibly beautiful, spacious, well appointed condo with many decks to take in the sunshine-love it

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

After reading a few reviews on VRBO about this condo, we decided to rent the place. Payments were easy, owner is very friendly and helpful. The pictures show it how it is, beautiful and very spacious. Loved all the decks. Issac helped us with any of our needs and BRIC loaned us a cell for local calls. It was a perfect stay for our family of 4. Two parents, children 15 and 13 years old. Internet connection was very helpful, in more ways than one. A very short walk to the beautiful beach, only 1.5 blocks away. 100's of restaurants in walking distance for any meals. We took advantage of the shopping they provided for us which was very helpful when first arriving. We felt very safe here, the building is a security building also. Mexico was great again. We love the friendly people and the fun atmosphere. This was our 10th trip to Mexico since 1982, but this was the finest condo we have rented! Would definetly stay here again! and again. I whole heartedly would recommend this condo to all! Outstanding, excellent, fabulous, need I go on?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

This vacation rental is like living in a designer home....

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

This property is one of a kind...I have been to Playa several times in the past 7 years...and I have chosen this rental as my first choice...in fact I have stayed here the past 2 visits and even rearranged my last trip to fit the open slots to stay here. I will start by saying that the owner/s have incredible designer taste...no corners have been cut from the bedding to the draperies this does not feel like a rental...you really feel like you are staying in a modern designer home. The condo is walking distance to beach, the center, and my favorite breakfast place(the name escapes me but it is a 3-5 minute walk). A real treat is the outdoor space on top with a spectacular view and great star gazing in the night....while you relax in the Jacuzzi which is outside on the roof...there is even an outdoor shower and bar area...truly a VIP vacation in my book. The management company even provides you with a local cellular phone that you can use....don't call the US unless you have to...it really is for local use...I learned the hard way and my credit was gone in an instant. The owner/s also have a pretty good DVD selection for your use as well. The kitchen is well equipped and great for entertaining...I could go on more and more but I will stop by saying I highly recommend this place to anyone that wants to have a easy luxurious stay in playa del Carmen...truly amazing place. Five stars!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I'd Return in a minute to this penthouse

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

I brought my family of 4 to this penthouse. It was my first trip to Playa Del Carmen. This condo was large , modern,and had all of the little comforts that we have in our house at home. We loved all of the outdoor space. The beds were so comfortable be didn't want to get up in the mornings, which is rare- we stay at private condos all over Europe and that is not the case there.

The private roof deck was perfect and we definitely used the outdoor living room and giant jacuzzi allot. We wished that the condo had sun loungers on the roof, but there are 10 sun loungers on the common roofdeck, just outside the gate of this condo's private roofdeck.

The location was perfect, no loud music or traffic...just peaceful quiet and ocean waves. There are 10 or so great little restaurants within a 3 block radius of the condo. And the beach was SO close...just 1.5 blocks. I didn't take shoes one day , that was a mistake because of the rocks, so bring your flip flops!

We recommend this condo highly and would return in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

We go on vacation often and have been to Playa more than 5 times. This is the nicest condo we have stayed in to date. It has very comfortable bedding, allot of space to relax, fantastic kitchen, and the rooftop is our favorite. That 4 person jacuzzi and a bottle of wine was our favorite way to view the stars at night after perfect beach days. We thought that the location was quiet at night, so the one night we wanted to party late we took a cab to the other side of town. We were happy that the condo was so quiet, you could hear the ocean waves at night. Perfect Holiday, thanks Laura you have a lovely penthouse. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Winter is better in Playa!

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

We recently returned from 2 weeks at the Meridian. The condo had 2 very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms that were perfect for 2 couples and plenty of space for everyone to find a corner for themselves or gather together for meals and conversation. The condo was clean and well-maintained. The roof top deck is a lovely way to end your day with very comfortable seating but the hot tub was really more of a large jetted bathtub and we once tried to fill it and it only filled a few inches before all the hot water was gone. Air conditioning worked very effectively. The kitchen has everything you need. Watch out for the little step in the living room! We all stumbled on that step until we put a rug down to draw attention to it.
The staff at the BRIC was excellent and the daily maid service made the trip even more relaxed.
The location is off the beaten path which was nice so was very quiet but had 3-4 excellent restaurants within 2 blocks and is only a short cab ride to the action.
The street around the condo is in terrible repair so we often walked the last block and a half so the taxis didn't have to attempt it (our choice). There is an excellent coffee shop 10 minutes away that is wonderful and we started every day there on our way to a Beach Club. We appreciated the security every night but we were not nervous at all coming home at night.
I would certainly recommend this condo to a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review