reviews for: listing #28039 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Kennebeck Ct. Beach House w/Opt. Guest Apt- 55 Reviews!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $725 /nt
    $2,400 - $4,750 /wk
    $3,500 - $18,000 /mth

sort by:

Vacation getaway made simple

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

This property is clean and well stocked. No matter what we searched for, we were able to find. Amazing attention to detail. The owners have done a tremendous job anticipating the needs of their guests. We enjoyed being steps from the beach and enjoying the sounds of the ocean waves. We liked being close to Sea World and elected to get an annual pass that allowed us to leisurely enjoy the park and the rides and at night you can see the fireworks on the upper deck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

This property was more than we could have ever needed, wanted or expected. It is truly a home away from home. Beautifully appointed, bright, lovely, spacious and comfortable... everything that I never get when I travel, until now.
My family enjoyed our time in San Diego, especially the beach time because of this property and being only steps from the beach with all the toys and chairs to make it fun and easy.
Not having to pack or worry about my toddlers safety and sleeping arrangement made travel much more enjoyable than ever before.
The owner Nancy was extremely helpful and answered my emails quickly. Her suggestions of local restaurants and attractions was like having a personal concierge! My kid's hi-light was a bon fire on the beach with s'mores and my oldest loved using the scooter everywhere we went!
Such a delight to have a stress free vacation to a home.
Can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good for the soul vacation!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

Our stay at Kennebeck Ct. was simply perfect. As Seattle-ites, we suffer from a serious lack of Vitamin D and spending hours on the beach, just steps from the house, even in the "cold" (warm by our standards) was truly therapeutic. The house was perfectly sized for our boisterous extended family of friends and cousins with kids ranging from 9-15 yrs old. Super well equipped with absolutely everything we needed in the kitchen plus tons of beach toys, chairs, and boogie boards! Our 9 & 10 year old boys learned to surf! We have said for years that "life is too short to vacation in the same place more than once", but the awesome location of this house with its perfect lay-out for our families has us already actively recruiting friends to join us next year (hopefully we can fill the "dollhouse", too). Thank you! Thank you! We love Mission Beach and we love the Kennebeck Ct. Beach House and can't WAIT to return!

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. We would love to have you and your friends back again. You will love the dollhouse, too. If your group gets really large, we can find you other houses nearby. Still can't believe your kids swam in November without wet suits. Brrrrr. Hope the turkey tacos were delicious.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A San Diego Must!

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

My colleagues and I have made the beach house a tradition every time we visit San Diego. Nestled in the Mission Beach community, this amazing property accommodated all of our needs in comfort in close proximity to excellent dining (gotta do the Mission for breakfast), tourist attractions and of course the beach. Its also only minutes from downtown via car and a straight shot via the bus/trolley. With recent upgrades and remodeling, you won't be disappointed!

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. It was great to have you back again. I look forward to seeing you for the next neuroscience convention!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Home for a Multi-Family and ages Vacation!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this beach house to attend a family wedding in the San Diego area. It was three sisters, two husbands, 6 children (ages 1-16) plus our 82 year old parents. The house was a perfect fit! The kids loved the loft, not to mention the roof top patio - where we watched the fireworks from Sea World one night. The adults loved it as well. We made good use of the barbeque and the coffee nook deck on the second floor. It was an ideal location as far as the beach and other things we wanted to do. (Seaport Village, The Midway, Sea World, San Diego Zoo - even Disneyland :) were all places we enjoyed visiting on this stay.) Each family arrived on different flights but as we were so close to the airport it wasn't an issue for meeting the various flights. We enjoyed walking on the boardwalk as well as relaxing on the beach. The property was clean and the owner and property manager were a delight to deal with. They responded immediately to any needs and contacted us afterward to make sure everything was good. We have already recommended this location to others. We have never done a family holiday like this but we've all said it was such a wonderful time that we can't wait to do it again - hopefully soon! To be able to have a house that felt like home made us all wish we could stay longer. Thank you Nancy for everything!!

Owners response: Thank you for this wonderful review. It seems that you were able to enjoy all that San Diego has to offer. Glad you enjoyed the house. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous way to end the summer!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We shared this rental with another family and the 9 of us fit great inside this well appointed house. It was so great not having to load up the car with beach chairs, umbrellas, sand toys and boogie boards--because everything was there!! The kitchen is also very well stocked. No need to bring extra items from home. The keycode entry was awesome, as we didn't need to pass around or look after keys and the teens could come and go as they pleased. The location was perfect! We enjoyed longer walks up to Pacific Beach as well as the quick walk to Belmont Park for ice cream, rides, games, etc.. And only 63 steps to the beach (as counted by my daughter). It was a quick 5-10 minute drive to all our outings too, like Sea World, the movie theater, the Sports Arena to see Taylor Swift and the Univeristy of San Diego. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you again Whalen Family for a great beach house experience. We loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Review from Utah Family

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We have stayed at this property twice. It is ideally located within the Mission Beach area. The house is comfortable and functional. It looks exactly like it does in the pictures. It has been very clean both times that we visited. It comes with beach chairs, beach towels, beach toys and a place to wash the sand off your feet before you come in the house. The free wi-fi works great too. The owners are very pleasant to work with and they provide helpful information that makes planning your trip very easy. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Lynn! Thank you for the wonderful review and I'm glad you had such a great vacation. Don't forget us in the off-season, too. It is beautiful in San Diego year round and the rates are much lower.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mission Beach Fun House

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The owner was very helpful with our arrangements. The listing description of what, when, where, and how of the property was very accurate. We enjoyed the short (10 -15 seconds) walk to the beach. The house was very clean and the furnitures were very comfortable. The kitchen appliances were excellent. Everyone commented how quiet the dishwasher was. I would recommend the Mission Café for breakfast which is a good 10 minute walk from the property. For activities, we rented a couple of kayaks and 2 SUP's from Mission Bay Sports Center (10 min from property). Everyone had a blast. Of course, there's the beach which everyone enjoyed and spent most of our time. The owner provided plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, and beach towels for everyone. Thank you for sharing your home away from home Beach Fun House.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Teo. Sounds like you took advantage of all the fun Mission Beach activities and water sports. Hope you come back again next summer.

Thanks
Nancy
PS: That is a Bosch dishwasher. We have one at home, too and they really are so unbelievable quiet.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wedding Celebration - AWESOME!!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

We celebrated the marriage of my son and his fiancée (now wife!) and had a spectacular time. We all gave it 10 stars!! We rented the beach house for most of us, and the dollhouse for the bride and groom so they could have some private time away from the group after the wedding. The best part was that during the entire stay, we all felt completely at home. We wanted for nothing! Everything we could possibly need was here, the location is incredible, and both places were cozy and comfortable. It was extremely clean and well-kept, and the décor is beachy and adorable. This place is perfect for families, groups with small kids or big kids, or several couples. There is ample bathroom space, and it's really easy to plan the sleeping arrangements so that the light sleepers (read: old folks) can get their rest while the partiers (read: twenty- and thirty-somethings) have at it. The area is lively, there is PLENTY to do within walking distance - the amusement park, the beach, a couple of great bars, the boardwalk, and many restaurants, cafes, etc. While there were quite a few big parties over the holiday weekend in houses around us, the police were excellent about keeping things under control (we never had to call; when things got too loud, they took care of it pretty promptly). The roof deck is exceptional - a beautiful view of the ocean on one side and the bay on the other. What sunsets!!! The stairs between the three stories and the roof made me grateful that my fulltime home is only one floor, but it also allowed for plenty of privacy and quiet time when needed away from the main group. Parking is a little tight, but the fact that there IS parking (in an attached garage, no less!) makes this location far superior to many, many places in the area that have no parking at all! Thank you so much for the privilege of staying in your beach house and dollhouse and letting us make new memories and blend two families in such a wonderful setting!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review! I'm glad the house and dollhouse worked out so well for your group and for the newlyweds. You described our house so well, especially how well it works for big family groups and different ages. Come back SOON.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Spring Break Getaway

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in San Diego. Close to EVERYTHING. The house is great and very close to the beach and many wonderful restaurants. Nancy was a joy to deal with. My daughter lost her purse and Nancy found it ad returned it to us two months later. Can't say enough positive things about this place...

Owners response: Thank you for the lovely review! We are happy you stayed with us and hope you will visit San Diego and Kennebeck court again.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spectacular Mother's Day

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

Awakening to the sound of crashing waves and cool breezes is any mother’s vacation dream come true. This beach house is a “must stay” for any size family. The location is close to all activities by foot or bike. Rest, relaxation and rejuvenation is what you will find when you stay here. You will never want to return home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed the beach and our home. Look forward to having you back for another Mother's Day or any other time you want to make family memories.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wedding week

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Our stay way amazing. Couldn't ask for more. Everything was perfect. The rooftop is amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Dania. I'm glad you loved the house. Hope the wedding went well. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location for a Family Vacation!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Our San Diego vacation in Mission Beach was wonderful. Thank you so much for allowing us to rent the Kennebeck property - it is an amazing place! Everyone loved the roof top deck and the proximity to the beach and boardwalk can't be beat. The different levels of the house allowed everyone to have their own space while still enjoying time together. The house has everything that you need to enjoy a family vacation in San Diego. Especially appreciated your welcome package with all of the helpful tips regarding surrounding restaurants and attractions. Thanks again and hope to be able to schedule another San Diego get-away at your Kennebeck property in the future.

Owners response: Thanks for the great review Laura. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to having your family come back for another stay on Kennebeck Court. If you rent the dollhouse next time you can bring even more people!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Kennebeck Ct. Beach House Review

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful week in San Diego. I had planned a family vacation with children and grandchildren for mid September. We had a great time. The weather was perfect and the rental was ideal. The location is perfect, walk one way and you are at the ocean....go the other way and you are on the bay side. We visited each every day. The house is well equipped. Everything we needed was there for us. San Diego attractions are all close by. We would definitely return!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing Vacation Home!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had an amazing family reunion at this beautiful beach house. There was plenty of room for everyone to stay and the patio was perfect for outdoor gathering. Just steps from the sand and on a quiet walking court, we couldn't have asked for anything better. The kitchen was extremely well stocked! The roof deck was marvelous, we watched the Sea World fireworks every night! This is a spacious and beautifully kept home. I would HIGHLY recommend it!!!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

This was the perfect vacation spot for two families on spring break with two 3yo and one 7yo. The house had everything we needed and the location was ideal. We had a great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Graduation 2012

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

All I can say is that it is a Awesome Home. We rented both homes and everything you could think of is there. We have a gr8 stay the girls Loved It, It was there graduation gift from us. We'll always rent from Nancy 4ever! Thanks Again for sharing your AWESOME HOME!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Wonderful Family Reunion Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

This gorgeous home was our base for a family vacation. It was our first trip to San Diego and it won't be our last! Everything was even nicer than we had hoped, including the weather; we didn't expect to be lounging on the beach in January! The house comfortably accommodated eight adults and four little ones. One of our sons is an accomplished cook and was very impressed with the kitchen and the equipment provided. The location on Mission Beach is so great for walking, we seldom needed a vehicle. Nancy, the owner, was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful experience. We highly recommend this vacation home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Guests

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

We have stayed at this rental on several different trips to San Diego. We have enjoyed it with our teenage boys and also, just a getaway for my husband and I. It's a lovely place to stay, close to the beach, great for walking, running, bike riding, etc. Not far for sightseeing expeditions and fun events for the children. It's full of up to date amenities, but that great "quaint" family feel (Oh so comfortable!) Plenty of room for everyone. We would recommend this property to anyone visiting San Diego for the first time or if you go regularly. So I guess that just about covers everyone! Can't wait to stay there again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Mom's birthday get-away

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

Perfect place for a family gathering - Mom and her 5 adult daughters. House is beautiful and has plenty of space for gathering together both inside and out, while still being able to have a bit of privacy. Plenty of places to sleep and bathrooms enough for 6 women. The house was spotless and had absolutely everything you could want. We took full advantage of the great kitchen, games and books, laundry, tv and music system, and of course used every towel in the house and the beach toys.

The location is ideal! Literally steps from the beach and boardwalk. Down the boardwalk either direction are multiple places to eat and shop. We walked to dinner every night, using Nancy the owner's suggestion list extensively. Perfect central location to explore beyond Mission Beach - La Jolla, downtown, the Zoo, Sea World, and Coronado are all a short drive away. Easy on and off the freeways and to and from the airport. The parking spot on the street is much easier to use than the garage if you have a larger vehicle. If you only have one vehicle I would suggest not even bothering to try the garage parking at all, it's just a pretty tight squeeze.

The welcome package we received prior to arriving contained all the info we could possibly use. Nancy was fantastic and responsive to any concerns we had, even arranging an extra night's stay at the last minute. Would totally recommend this place! I live in Phoenix and will do just that. Especially good for a large group or family, however the stairs and stone floors may be an issue for smaller kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

All Good!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This is an exceptional beach property!

The house was clean, well appointed, and has a terrific floorplan for entertaining, and enough nooks for getting away from the other guests that you otherwise love!

The great location offers the best of all worlds for a family vacation-a short walking distance to shops and restaurants, with the beach, the boardwalk, and related activities nearby for the kids. The house is also off the beaten path enough for some peace and quiet.

You won't be disappointed!

Tim and Charlotte
La Canada, CA

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

My extended family had a fabulous time staying here for a week in mid-June. Although June Gloom was expected, my kids enjoyed playing in the waves almost everyday, and I enjoyed watching them. It was great to use the provided beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and boogie boards. There was plenty of room for us all to hang out when we returned. The 3 bathrooms came in real handy when we all wanted to shower up. Even with the 10 of us staying there, I never experienced a drop in water temperature or pressure. The rooms were all very clean, but not so perfect that you couldn't relax. Loved the slipcovers on the sofas. The kitchen had everything we needed - even big bowls and serving platters. Nancy was very helpful and very efficient. We hope to one day come back to stay again. Great Experience Overall!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Great place !!!!!!!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This home was perfect for our family getaway. It is in a perfect location and steps away from Mission Beach. There were 6 in our party including our 2 year old granddaughter. There was plenty of room for all of us. The house is well equipped including items for toddlers. The home was clean and comfortable. The TV was an added bonus for March Madness.

We really didn't want to leave. We look forward to renting from Nancy again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Family Spring Break Adventure

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

This property was great! I felt like we had our own home by the beach. Nancey has made sure everything you could need or want is at the house. We spent our days at the beach and our nights on the patio, deck or in front of the fireplace. We had a party of 6 and never felt crowded. I will make sure to rent this home away from home again and again.
The Barnetts

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Best Vacation ever!!

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

My family of 12 rented both the Big House and the Doll House and it was perfect. The attention to detail was amazing. I had packed things like paper products, soaps, etc. and was so surprised that EVERYTHING you could imagine was at our fingertips.
The house is large and yet allows there to be privacy. There are a lot of stairs, but do able for someone how is in poor health.
We would go back over and over without a second thought. Nancy was wonderful to work with on dates and availability. Thank you again for sharing your wonderful family home with us.
Ann LaPado

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Kennebeck Beach House

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Kennebeck Beach House for our annual girls' getaway. The house was clean, charming and very well appointed. The location was great. We will definitely return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Wonderful Beach Retreat

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

This Mission Beach home is a great retreat. Exceptionally well outfitted! We were there for a girls reunion and did alot of cooking. The kitchen had everything we needed and is well equipped for large groups. Beach chairs, towells, boogie boards ect are all there so it was nice not to have to drag all of that from AZ. Two beautiful patios and a roof deck . . it was hard to decide where to adjourn for morning coffee or evening cocktail. Cable and internet provided for the few times we hung out inside- in fact two girls needed to work and chose the rooftop deck as their vacation "office" with their laptops. Tough duty!
The lockbox setup worked very well. The beach is only about an 8 iron away so easy for our group to run back and forth without the hassle of house keys.
Overall, this will be our choice for future visits to San Diego!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Truly Charming

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

"Our family of 3 children, their spouses, and children were fortunate to have found this delightful home (717 Kennebeck Court) to rent over the Labor Day weekend. We were all charmed by the floor plan, decor, "roominess", and overall home away from home feeling we experienced. From the owners family pictures on the walls to the books to read to the games and puzzles for all ages to enjoy, we felt like friends visiting. The online pictures don't do it justice! I loved that it is so close to the beach without being on the sometimes noisier boardwalk. I even loved the keyless locked door as I felt safe leaving all our valuables inside while being outside at the Pacific Ocean making memories with kids and grandkids.
Thank you for sharing your quaint, darling home!"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Best vacation ever! July 17 - 24, 2010

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This was our first year renting from the Whalen's and without a doubt we had the best time ever. The house was large enough for our gang of 10 to stay out of each others way yet it was homelike and cozy so we felt very much at home. My grand children loved the house so much they referred to it as "theirs", guess I will have to break it to them eventually but for now, oh well. The house is very convenient to the beach, shopping and restaraunts we seldom had to use our cars, just walked wherever we wanted to go. Sad to say when Saturday check out time came we were sad to leave but there is always next year and this house will definatley be on the top of our list as first choice. Thank you Whalen's for sharing your beautiful house with my family.
Silva, Kallenberger and Maxwell family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Time After Time

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

This is my 4th year staying at the Whalen home, and it is always a joy to make great memories! The home is just perfect, walking distance to EVERYWHERE, and the beach is less than a minute away! Plenty of room in the Big House, and the home is set up for everyone to have their "own space". All I can say is this year was the BEST ever and I have never had so many great times ever!! Thanks Whalens, your are the BEST!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Authentic beach vacation

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

What a wonderful place to experience San Diego! The house is so centrally located that it made visiting all the sights easy. Very comfortable and clean, with plenty of space to spread out. The outdoor living spaces are wonderful - small deck off the kitchen for morning coffee; the roof deck for watching the sunset; and the main courtyard for grilling. We all loved it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

A home away from home!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

This was a wonderful house to come home to after each hard day at a week long conference in San Diego proper. Clean, easy to get to by car, and it had all the amenities. Best part: just far enough away from the noise of the ocean to not disturb a restful sleep; and if you don't want a lot of joggers and folks around while you walk along the oceanside beach, well, walk a block the other way and you're at the very peaceful Bayside. Long walks on either beach fronts: you can't beat it! Tracy, the property manager was very helpful and this was truely a home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Epic Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

...as declared by the teenagers of our family. This beautiful by the ocean home was great for our vacation with two families travelling. Nancy...thank you so much for the use of the home and all the great tip information you provided. The beach was just steps away...house was fully equipped with everything we needed...and within driving distance to all the attractions we wanted to see. The roof top deck was an excellent place to unwind and watch the fireworks for SeaWorld. The home was big enough so 9 people weren't tripping all over each other and had their own space to read, play on the computer or sit and chat.

We would highly recommend this home to anyone going to the San Diego area and look forward to using this home in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Our winter getaway

Review submitted: March 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

My husband and I had just a great month at the Whalen Beach House. It is extremely well equipped, the management staff were very helpful and Nancy and Rick did everything they could to make our stay most enjoyable. The beach house is well located - near just about everything you could want and Nancy's information package was full of useful and excellent information. We would go back again in a "heartbeat" Thank you for a great time.

Hazel and Bill - Ottawa, Ontario

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Perfect weekend family reunion spot

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Family gathered from three areas of the country and spent a wonderful weekend in this fully equipped and thoughtfully organized beach home. It easily accommodated 6 adults and 3 children. The accommodations were comfortable and clean with great central space for family time together. The proximity to the beach and the boardwalk made for fun romps and easy walks. We would definitely return here, hopefully for a longer period of time next time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2009   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

This rental has everything you could ever want. We cooked Thanksgiving dinner for 8 and there was not one thing missing! Can you believe it?! It is very clean and close to everything. We had a great time and can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 29 / 30

 

Review submitted: December 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

Our family reunion was a huge success! We rented both the big house and the dollhouse and it was PERFECT! We lived in La Jolla so for us it was like coming home. No one wanted to leave. We definitely recommend both these houses.
The owner, Nancy, is very friendly, but at the same time professional. An all around GREAT experience!!

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

WOW...great house!

Review submitted: November 24, 2009   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

We had to come down to San Diego for a convention and we could not have picked better accommodations. The house was in a great location, easy in and out and great separation of space for all of us (non-family). The owners were very easy to deal with, the house was super clean and I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for a true Mission Beach experience. We would definitely rent again when in the area. Thanks again for letting us stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Kennebeck Ct Beach House

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We spent 2 weeks here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had 8 people in our group and found that we had plenty of space to be together or apart. The roof terrace was great for those who didn't want to sunbathe on the beach, and the small terraces were great for those who wanted to sit in the shade.
The house was really well equipped, clean and beautifully maintained, with the feel of a family home rather than a commercial rental. Loads of jigsaws, games and magaziines added to the comfortable feel.
We really appreciated that laundry, dishwashing and cleaning provisions were available - not so much for the cost of buying them, but for the convenience of just having them there - very thoughtful.
The only negativve was a slight feeling of damp in the lower bedrooms, I think due to lack of circulation, so would advise keeping windows and doors open as much as possible.
The house is in a brilliant location - our teenage kids and some of the adults took surfing lessons just along the beach (Surfari - chosen for the name!) for a couple of hours on 3 mornings - others ran and walked along the boardwalks, kayaked, swam, jetskiid and sailed. Having both the bay and beach so close was excellent.
We didn't hire a car and relied on the public transport system (despite our local friends and family thinking we were mad!). The 8&9 buses got us to the Old Town hub where we could connect to almost anywhere. Wouldn't recommend the buses late at night, but taxis were fine and most knew where the rollercoaster was as a landmark.
Our favourite local restaurant was Mission for breakfast, but the others we tried on Nancy's list were also good. We loved La Jolla for a change of scene (easy bus ride) and Mission Valley was close enough for shopping trips late afternoon/evening so we didn't waste the whole day.
I hope we have the opportunity to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Fantastic Vacation! Wonderful Location!

Review submitted: September 24, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

Our entire family just spent a week relaxing in San Diego at this charming house! Everything was indeed provided as described in the info in the listing. We are 2 sets of grandparents, 2 adult children with spouses and one grandchild that celebrated his first birthday while on vacation. The patio has a wonderful gas grill that we used to cook dinner on and the roof deck provides a great place to gather the family for an enjoyable evening. The fireworks were easy to see and the hammock makes a great place to get away from everyone during the day to read a book as it has a huge umbrella over it. As stated by the owners, the house is not child proof but we all had a great time and everyone took turns watching our grandchild. The small balcony outside the living room is a great place to enjoy your morning coffee or eat lunch. The steps to the loft are steep but with a railing on each side, they are safe and easy to use. One set of grandparents even spent the week sleeping in the loft as it is one direction at the top of the steps while the roof deck is the other way. The beds are very comfortable to sleep on and the kitchen has plenty of everything including a dishwasher and a big frig & freezer. On top of that, there is so much to do in San Diego that we decided we have to go back again as we simply ran out of time to do everything we wanted to do. There are lots of restaurants very close and we walked down the boardwalk 3 days to enjoy breakfast or lunch outside at a couple of oceanside spots. If you vacation here once, you will want to go back again! The weather is always good and everyday is sunny! What more could you ask for?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

First Family Trip with Mimikids

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

I chose San Diego for its range of sightseeing activities from the zoo to Point Loma, something for everyone and the Whalen Family beach house to celebrate with just my family the graduation of my youngest daughter from high school. Our stay at 717 Kennebeck was over the top. The house was a perfect fit for my family of 6 adults ranging from ages 17 - 28, 2 mimikids ages 1 and 3, and me (age undisclosed but I will be back to celebrate my 50th next year LOL). The beds were super comfy, the kitchen was well stocked with not just wonderful dishes, pots and pans but the extra things like cute salsa and chip bowls. We enjoyed the roof deck every evening, I think my teenager even slept on the hammock one night. The owners have covered everything for small children from gates to high chair and beach toys in the garage. We enjoyed the close proximity of the beach and all of the San Diego sights. Grocery shopping was conveniently located just up the road a mile and the next door neighbors are great. Next trip I will do more chilling at the house and on the beach and less sightseeing not that it wasn't wonderful but staying at the house and enjoying the beach would truly be a delight in itself .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

We have rented this property on three different occasions over the last four years... which is our testament to how much we love this house and appreciate the Whalen's hospitality! It's an absolutely wonderful place to stay and play in SD with tons of ameneties.

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

I want to come back again and again

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

To Nancy and Family... thank you so much for opening your house to us. It was so beautiful, so well appointed, so close to the ocean. Getting up in the morning with a cup of coffee and strolling the half a block to the beach was so relaxing. Also, it was very close to the bus stop so that we could catch the bus to Old Towne, then hope the blue, orange, or green lines to where ever we wanted! San Diego was beautiful. We plan to come back again soon, Im trying to convince my wife that we should move there! Gas Lamp is a must for everyone. Thank you again!
Michael and Kim from VA

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Wonderful Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 23, 2009   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

We chose this house for the closeness to my sister and beach. It was so wonderful to be able to walk to the beach in a few seconds without being on the busy boardwalk and not having to cross any streets. The house was very comfortable for our family of 8, and for entertaining family and friends. There is so much to do in the area - Sea World, the Aquarium in La Jolla, La Jolla cove, Belmont Park, not to mention being able to walk on the beach every morning and the great boogie boarding! We loved being able to either ride our bikes around to the Bay, or just walk across the street to the Bay. In general, this house was an ideal central place for us to visit family and our old stomping grounds of Julian, Ramona, Borrego. It was so nice to be able to get away from our busy lives and totally relax. We hope to be able to stay here again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

We were looking for a great place to have 10 of us enjoy a college reunion. Having all attended the University of San Diego, this place is in prime location. Easy access to the beach, close to the Coaster, and easy access to bars/grocery stores. Not to mention a large garage to keep surfboards/wetsuits. The roof deck is great for hanging in the sun and the front patio is perfect of an afternoon BBQ.

The place has all the amenities needed for a beach house. The place was well kept and it is set up to accomodate couples and singles in a group.

Next time we schedule our SD reunion, we will be staying here again!!!

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

My family of four rented this house with another family for our Spring Break. It was one of our best vacations. The house is clean, cozy, well-stocked and best of all NEXT TO THE BEACH!! We loved walking the boardwalk with the kids on their scooters. We loved walking to go to dinner. We loved walking 30 seconds to the beach. We loved Belmont Park. We did not have to drive anywhere. The kids slept great, the parents enjoyed margaritas on the roof top deck and playing board games at night. We will definately be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

A Fantastic Beach House

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 2, 2009

A group of 10 women were looking for a wonderful beach house to rent for our stay in San Diego ... and we found it in this house. It is ideally located just a few houses in from the beach, is exceptionally well stocked and was quite comfortable for this size group.

The photos and information about the house on this site are very indicative of the home's true feel. The property was very clean and well taken care of, the kitchen is well stocked, the courtyard is quite quaint, there is a nice deck off of the kitchen and the rooftop was a great place to sit outside and enjoy the sights and sounds of the Pacific Ocean.

My communication with the owner was timely, informative and she provided a welcome package that gave ideas about local restaurants, grocery stores close by and things to do and see.

We plan on being back in San Diego next year and I am hoping that this home is available the week we need it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

beach house-just like home

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 27, 2009

We took our daughter and 7 of her friends to the beach house to celebrate her 15th birthday. The house was just like home. It is beautiful and so roomy. Clean and set up with everything, from cooking utensils to beach towels. My daughter and her friends had the time of their lives. The beach was so close and Belmont Park walking distance away. It was as great weekend. We would so definitely do this again!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Very comfortable

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 12, 2009

This is a very nice beach home... Great place to stay! Very clean and very comfortable. The home is well stocked with dishes, towels and linens. The Landlord was available and helpful. The DVD player wasn't working so she went right out, bought a new one and had it installed that very same day. Although I tried not to call and bother her, she picked up her phone every time and was very willing to help.
I would consider coming again. Highly recommendable!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Great House and Location

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

My Nephew recently got married in Mission Bay. We had 13 family members flying in from Toronto. I wanted to rent a house rather than stay in a hotel as it would not only save money, but give the family a chance to really spend some time together. Nancy was a great help as the number of people coming to the wedding grew. We not only rented the main house, but also the Dollhouse. Nancy was also was able to recommend the house across the court. My family was very impressed with the arrangements, and how well the house was stocked. They loved the location and we had a great time.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Great family house to stay!!

Review submitted: January 30, 2009   Date of arrival: January 7, 2009

We stayed in this beach house for 3 weeks and it was the best decission I made! It was not direct on the ocean (few footsteps away) and therefor more quiet.
Great Location to visit all surroundings, you are fast in the north, south, downtown and as well fast at the airport.
It is not one of this hip and trendy glass/steel houses you have direct on the ocean front walk that looks like an office building; it is big, familiar and as soon you walk in you feel like home, but home on the beach!
I can highly recommend this beach house to everybody!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Thanksgiving 2008 in Paradise

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: November 23, 2008

To celebrate our 50th birthdays, we brought our grown children and grandchildren to the beach for a beach vacation during Thanksgiving week! My two sisters met us and stayed in the guest apartment. We are from Nebraska, Wyoming, Washington and L.A., and this was a treat for all of us! Our 2 and 5 year old grandsons played with our 12 & 13 year old nieces in the loft. We enjoyed the roof top deck hammock and napped to the sound of waves and seagulls! Quite a treat for people from landlocked states! We collected seashells and washed them in the courtyard using the outdoor hose to keep the sand outdoors! The little boys got some nice play space out there too! We used every space, but didn't feel crowded. Nancy made sure every need was met - she had a turkey roaster for us and even had 5-0 candles in the drawer! We were able to see SeaWorld, take a Harbor Cruise and welcome home two warships returning from Iraq, go to Old Town, enjoy endless biking along the boardwalk, ride the rides at Belmont, and body surf as long as anyone wanted! And come home to a home cooked meal and the warm fellowship of family and evening walks around the bay - just a few blocks away! And of course, we got to watch our beloved Huskers beat CU on Thanksgiving Friday! The vacation couldn't have been more perfect! We would love to come back - I hope we get to some day! By the way, the neighbors across the way were very friendly - welcoming- and helpful! It felt like a home, which it was to us, for 6 wonderful days!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Beautiful beach house, great location!

Review submitted: December 18, 2008   Date of arrival: December 10, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautifully kept, clean and large beach house. It is very easy access to the beach from the house and was perfect for our family. We have 2 young boys, ages 5 and 7, who loved collecting shells and sand dollars on the beach, throwing kelp into the waves and running in the water. We visited in December and were even able to enjoy the proximity to the beach at this time of year. The house would easily sleep 2 to 3 families, depending on number and age of kids. The loft has steep steps going up to it, which I wouldn't recommend for younger children. There is a rooftop patio with many lounge chairs, as well as a deck/ patio off of the master bedroom complete with patio furniture and grill. The only thing missing is a hot tub. The owner provides detailed information re: things to do in the area, directions to the property, restaurants and grocery stores. She was very accommodating and flexible to our situation. There are a few restaurants within walking distance- more that are open for breakfast and lunch than dinner. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable San Diego vacation and doesn't want to spend all their time sight seeing. It would be a shame to stay at this house and NOT spend at least some time enjoying it and the beach!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Keep coming back

Review submitted: November 16, 2008   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

This year was our first year renting the big house, we rented the dollhouse last year. We just love it. We have 3 teenagers, and the big house is perfect. Just steps from the beach, perfect amenities, wonderful rooftop for watching the sunset. The location is great, we hardly had to use our car to go anywhere. We definately feel like this is our home away from home. We have already rented it again for next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Our Home Away From Home

Review submitted: November 14, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

We have rented this AMAZING family home & Dollhouse for the last two summers. Everything about it is perfect, the location is within walking distance to restaurants, the beach, Belmont Park, shops etc.. There are usually between 8-10 of us, four of which are teenage girls, so we need all the room and bathroom space possible..this house has plenty of room, beautifully decorated with the most perfect beach decor! We love it, and plan to return many more summers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 32 / 32

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: November 5, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

My family rented this with four adults and two very young kids at the end of August for a week. So close to beach, easy to get to stores and all the big spots. House was spacious enough so we didn't feel like we were on top of each other. The kitchen worked out great for feeding everyone. We rarely went out, instead making breakfast and dinner every night. We loved the entire week. Walks on the boardwalk, playing in the water and sand, hanging out and relaxing. Fantastic

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Has it all

Review submitted: November 4, 2008   Date of arrival: September 4, 2008

This is a great house and has lots of room to spread out. Great hanging out upstairs on the deck(s) or down on the patio area with BBQ. Flexible sleeping arrangements make the house bigger than 3 bedroom. Just steps from the beach...where you can either walk north or south on the beach to get to many bars, restaurants and shops. The house comes with 2 parking spots- which is good for this area. ( parking is tight) Property was clean- well maintained and in great shape. We'll go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Kennebeck House

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

Our family has rented this house twice in the last four years, and both times we have been extremely pleased with it. The owners have done a good job of keeping the place clean and updated. Everything one could want for a beach vacation is provided, from the kitchen appliances, beach towels, gas barbeque, washer and dryer, beach chairs and boogie boards. There are three deck areas, including a fabulous rooftop deck from which we watched the Sea World fireworks every night. The house is in close proximity to the boardwalk, Belmont Park, shopping, and of course the beautiful (and very clean) beach. We saw people of all ages there, enjoying volleyball, surfing, walking, wading and just sunning themselves. We highly recommend this house and will undoubtedly rent it again. Both the owner and the property manager were easily accessible and very friendly. Definitely a five-star accommodation, and then some!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Kennebeck House

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 15, 2008

Rented this property for one week for 4 couples, very pleased with location, the house itself, dealing with landlord and manager. We would certainly rent this again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 25, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

What a peaceful,relaxing weekend. One can catch the ocean breeze as you relax on the private roof deck. It's a quiet retreat with a view beyond words. Bring your bikes and rollerblades. This is a home away from home. We call it 'Casa de la memorias'- House of memories! We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 25, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

Ken and I stayed for a weekend in September and found the location perfect. The environment is certainly conducive to relaxation and we enjoyed every minute we spent at your house and in the San Diego area. We're looking forward to more opportunities to go back!

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

We rented this property in December 2003
Great location We walked to restaurants
(Mission Cafe & World Famous were excellent) Close to Beach, 10 minutes from the Airport Very comfortable and spacious house with a fully furnished kitchen We will be back!

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 6, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

Brian, Haley and I had a wonderful time at your beach house! What a great location! We walked almost everywhere we went. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable.
Thanks for a great weekend!

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review