reviews for: listing #280466ha - Playa Grande, Costa Rica rental

Stunning, Ocean, Beach View Casa with Private Pool in Playa Grande
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 300 - $ 500 / night
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Great family retreat

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

We just finished staying here for three weeks and loved it. Excellent house for a large family or a few couples to share. Three large master bedrooms and a fourth kid room with a double and a bunkbed. We got to know one of the owners, Mark, and really appreciated his easygoing, friendly personality. Surfing was perfect and our many kids couldn't get enough of the large beautiful pool area. Another huge plus was the covered upstairs outdoor eating area where we ate most every night. Went deep sea fishing and caught enough Mahi to feed our large party every night for 10 days. Best fish tacos ever. Thanks again Mark.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST VACATION/HONEYMOON EVER!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

I went here (PARADISE) for my honeymoon and I could not have asked for a better place to stay. The house has everything possible: everything you need to cook, beautiful pool, ocean view, towels, security system, internet, beautiful spacious rooms, phone, air conditioning/TVs in every room.

The house stayed clean with the amazing help of Natalie. She knows the area more than anybody and provides information on things to do such as activities, food and must sees during your stay. She will book any activity for you and checks up on you everyday. She is avaialble 24/7 if you need anything and always provides the nicest service. She set up a massage for me at the house. I didnt have to leave!!! They came and set up outside by the pool. It was the most relaxing thing I have ever experienced. I can honestly say she 100% became my friend when I left.

The house is super close to a convienent store than has all your essentials. We would go there for snacks, items for cooking, drinks, etc. The house is also close to many restuarants. Our favorite was Bula Bula. My husband and I celebrated our birthdays there the first night and went back there everyday. The food is fresh, unique and plenty. You will not leave hungry. The wal-tini is one of the best drinks I have ever had!!! All in all this restuarant provided amazing food, service, atmosphere and music. You will leave HAPPY :) Also, if you do not feel like leaving the house and you dont want to cook, many places deliver. We had sushi and pizza delivered and it was fresh and amazing!! We spent two full days just at the house, there was no need to leave. The huge pool with bar seats makes you not want to leave. It is paradise in your backyard!!!!!

The house is across the water from Tamarindo which provides amazing shops, food, spas, entertainment and activities. I would suggest zip-lining, horse back riding, hot springs, boat ride (you will see monkeys, cows, horses, alligators, it will amaze you) and surfing (best ever)!!!! Also, be prepared to see beautiful turtles and shells!!!!!!

There is no need to rent a car!!!! Everything is walking distance and if its not (airport, activities) transportation is provided at a cheap price.

All in all, this was the best experience my husband and I have ever had. We never want to vacation anywhere else. There is not one thing we would change!!!! We plan to make this a tradition. The memories and friendships we created will last a lifetime and we cant wait to go back!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Option in Playa Grande

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

An outstanding option in Playa Grande for those looking to escape the crowds, but still have a premium place to stay.

The home is well taken care of and our host Natalie was very gracious and did a great job of getting us settled in. The location was premium with just a short 50 meter walk up the path to the beach. This part of Playa is known for some more aggressive wave action and we were unsure if it would be too much for the kids. However, we could not have been happier and really enjoyed being on the more active part of the ocean with the waves providing a ton of fun for surfing and boogie boarding. It's actually quite shallow in this area, and the kids spent a good part of the day just playing in the waves, and by the end of the week couldn't imagine it being any other way. The pool is top shelf and provided a fantastic break in the daytime heat or evening dip. Something of note, is that the home is very well secured with a private gate and security system which was an added bonus for those concerned in that regard.

Tamarindo is actually just a short walk up the beach and accessible by the water taxi which made for a nice half day trip into town. Plenty of opportunity to look for shells as the beach just seemed to go forever. Sunsets were amazing.

There are a couple of local eateries right down the street by short walk, and a few more options within 10 minute car ride. There is also a small market to pick up a few essentials that you might need during your stay. Surfing, Boogie Boarding, Ocean Sunsets, shells, beaches, pool, and a ton of relaxation.....not sure what else one needs! Thanks to Casa and team for a great trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect week in paradise!

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Our family of 3 generations had a wonderful week at Casa de Amigos, where the home not only met, but exceeded, our expectations! We vacation together for one week every winter, and this was the best place yet!
The layout of the home worked perfectly for our 4 families, which included 8 adults and 5 kiddos. Scott made sure every person had a bed, even making arrangements for 2 blow up beds and a pack and play for the baby.
The house was completely surrounded by beautiful landscaping. What you see in the pictures is just a small glimpse of the gorgeous flowers, plants, and trees that are all around you. There was a gardener that came every day to water and care for the landscaping, as well as clean the pool.
We prepared every meal for the week, and were so pleased with how wonderfully stocked the kitchen was with quality pots and pans, an abundance of dishes and glassware, silverware, and cooking utensils. EVERYTHING that we needed for making meals for 13 people was provided. The upstairs, partially covered deck, had a huge table where all of us could sit comfortably and enjoy dinner together every evening, but not before watching the gorgeous sunsets just steps away from the house!
Nathalie was so very sweet, and kept the home tidy every day. She made sure we had her cell phone number, just in case we needed anything.
We did not rent a car, but hired Secure Travel to transport us to and from the Liberia airport. They were terrific~very punctual and professional, with very nice, clean vans.
If you are planning on making meals at the house, you will need to stop at one of the bigger grocery stores on your way to the house. There is a small market within easy walking distance from the house, but it only has the very basics, and is quite costly. Having traveled to other countries in the past, we knew how expensive snack items were, so we packed 2 suitcases full of boxed food, chips, pretzels, cake mixes, etc. and were very glad we did. We did find good beef, chicken, bacon, etc. at the larger supermarket, but chips, granola bars, processed foods, etc. were very costly, with a limited supply. Be sure to get charcoal if you plan to BBQ.
Without any reservation, we would highly recommend this villa to anyone searching for a beautiful home, a spacious pool, and a gorgeous beach, perfect for surfing or just playing in the waves. We all loved it, and look forward to coming back one day for another week in paradise!

Owners response: No need for the "charcoal", as we have added a gas grill for your convenience ! Thanks Susie for taking time to provide a review, hope to see you soon at Casa de Amigos !!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Christmas in Casa de Amigos

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

A huge "thank you" to Scott whose Casa de Amigos we returned from last week having had a fabulous time in Playa Grande.
The outdoor space met all our expectations. The pool was sparkling. The open covered space upstairs (deck) was exceptional for late afternoon reading in the hammock, pina coladas or observing the special entertainment of howler monkeys in the tree tops across the street.
The beach is lovely. Clear, blue water and soft sand. One only need look out the front in the morning to determine the boogy and surfing conditions on the mostly uncrowded beach----literally "a stone's throw away."
Fresh French home baked goodies can be ordered and will be delivered "warm" the next morning.
We are looking forward and counting the days until we can return to relive our memories.
Best to Nathalie and Ludo who were always available.
10 from New York and Chicago

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect house, perfect location

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

LOVE this place! Close to Tamarindo, close to the Liberia airport. Perfect surf, wonderful fishing and mere steps from the beach. Stayed here 3 times already. Beautiful BBQ outside by the pool and these days numerous supermarkets close by. The property managers were fantastic and organized everything we needed. They checked in with us every single day and kept the house impeccable. This is definitely our home away from home. And the best part......sitting on some driftwood on the beach, with all the neighbors....and cocktails of course, watching the most spectacular sunsets in the world. Pura Vida!
We are already planning our next trip.........

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation House!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

A fabulous vacation!!! Casa de Amigos is a beautiful home! The home is very beautiful and comfortable! All the amenities you need are here and it is immaculately maintained by Natalie, who even does your laundry! The pool was perfect!!! Especially after a hot day at the beach or on an excursion. The location of the house can't get any better, a path leading to the beach is just in front of the house. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets gorgeous! There are wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed a special dinner at Manford's (a local chef who will cook for you at your house or his) house down the street where he cooked us a wonderful dinner and we ate in his beautiful back yard! We enjoyed the estuary tour, horse back riding, zip-lining and a sunset sail and snorkel trip.

Scott (one of the owners) was great to work with! He was very helpful in recommending activities and helping to plan a wonderful vacation!

This was the best vacation I have ever had! I highly recommend this house! I can't wait to go back again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Vacation House!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

A fabulous vacation!!! Casa de Amigos is a beautiful home! The home is very beautiful and comfortable! All the amenities you need are here and it is immaculately maintained by Natalie, who even does your laundry! The pool was perfect!!! Especially after a hot day at the beach or on an excursion. The location of the house can't get any better, a path leading to the beach is just in front of the house. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets gorgeous! There are wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed a special dinner at Manford's (a local chef who will cook for you at your house or his) house down the street where he cooked us a wonderful dinner and we ate in his beautiful back yard! We enjoyed the estuary tour, horse back riding, zip-lining and a sunset sail and snorkel trip.

Scott (one of the owners) was great to work with! He was very helpful in recommending activities and helping to plan a wonderful vacation!

This was the best vacation I have ever had! I highly recommend this house! I can't wait to go back again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite vacation house in Playa Grande

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

We arrived at Casa de Amigos for a two week stay on New Year’s Eve. We have stayed in five other houses in the Playa Grande/Playa Flamingo area over the past several years and this is, by far, the best one we have experienced. What made it the best? The house, pool and garden are very clean and well cared for, the kitchen is equipped with everything you need, rooms are laid out in a convenient/comfortable way and the air conditioning, internet/wireless and TVs worked perfectly. The only strange thing, the bathroom of master bedroom is actually in the bedroom. Nathalie, the caretaker/housekeeper, is a gem and did a great job keeping the place clean and was very helpful when we had questions.
Since we have spent several vacations in the area, we have already ridden horses, zip lined, birded, snorkeled, sailed and stayed up at night to view the turtles lay their eggs. Mainly on this trip we took advantage of the beach (access directly in front of the house). The big kids surfed and the small ones rode the waves on boogie boards (latter supplied at the house). The very nice pool was another favorite spot after spending time on the beach. Also there is a roof top kitchen/eating area -great eating place if you have a large group. Kids loved the hammock up there.
We like the location of the house on the south end of Playa Grande. We stock up on groceries at a supermarket on the way from the airport or in Tamarindo but, for the items we forget, there is a small grocery store very near to the house. There are also three restaurants within easy walking distance and a several more only a short drive away. The atmosphere is laid back and not “touristy”. Casa de Amigos is only a five minute walk to the estuary where you cross on small boats (for about a dollar) to Tamarindo where there are also good restaurants and if you want "touristy" you will find it there. Seek out the french pastry shop near to where the boat drops you off on the Tamarindo side.
Playa Grande is one of the best beaches in Costa Rica (great for a good hour walk or, if you are more energetic, jogging). Even during the holidays, it is not at all crowded. Early in the morning you may find yourself one of only a few people on the entire beach-watch for the turtle tracks from the night before.
Scott (owner) was very good to deal with and helped make this a terrific vacation.
We recommend this for groups of friends or for families with or without kids- in other words, everyone.

Owners response: We have re-designed & improved the "strange" master bath for your comfort ! We have installed custom wood doors so that it offers complete privacy from the bedroom area of this suite. Thanks again Diana, we are most appreciative of your high praises of the casa as your "BEST" choice. Looking forward to your next visit !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Fantastic Vacation Experience

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

What a terrific vacation! Our family of nine people spent Christmas week at Casa de Amigos and had a wonderful and relaxing vacation! The house is wonderful, with plenty of room for everyone to have privacy yet plenty of room for the group to be together. The location is perfect for beach activities, as the path to the beach is just in front of the house. The pool area is beautiful and well maintained, and we spent many hours playing and relaxing by the pool - after returning from the beach or one of our many activities!

Scott (one of the owners) was very generous in helping us to plan our first trip to Costa Rica. He made lots of suggestions and answered all of my many questions. We used the tour operator he recommended to plan our activities, and they could not have been any better - a fantastic experience with them.

We had an absolutely wonderful time in Costa Rica and hope to go back soon. And Casa de Amigos will be tops on our list of places to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Ideal Tropical Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We made our second trip in three years to this house. It really is perfect for us...Teenage children can bring friends and everyone still can have some privacy. The house is well maintained with a daily maid service (she even washes your clothes). The kitchen is fully stocked with all the dishware and gadgets necessary to cook anything you want.

The large covered deck upstairs is the ideal happy hour hangout and great for reading a book in the morning. The pool area is large...and clean; as is the pool itself. The beach is extremely private with only an occasional person strolling by...Great waves!

Three good restaurants are within walking distance...two are more upscale (casual) and the third a locals kind of place. More restaurants are available in town about a mile away. The owners have a good network of locals to help you with everything from surfing to tours.

Overall, I highly recommend this house. A great vacation experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect vacation house

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We loved Casa de Amigos! The house is immaculately maintained by the wonderful housekeeper, Natalie. It is in a perfect location, just steps to the beach, and has beautiful landscaping surrounding the property. Mark (one of the owners) is great to work with and is very accomodating and helpful with every aspect of planning a trip to Costa Rica. We would definitely stay here again, and would absolutely recommend this property to anyone! One tip--a car is needed to take day trips to local towns, etc. However, there is a great grocery store walking distance from the house that has most necessities, as well as some very good restaurants within walking distance as well.

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to give us those nice words. We hope you get a chance to come again soon. Pura Vida

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our family vacation at Casa de Amigo

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

We stayed two weeks in June and absolutly loved the house, beach, ocean and the people in Playa Grande.
The Casa de Amigo house was one of the nicest I saw in Playa Grande Palm Beach area. The inside was comfortable, cool and relaxing. We had cable T.V. in every room. The kitchen had all the uteincils we needed.
The pool was a family favorite for all.I spent many relaxing evenings in the open air upstairs patio laying in the hammock.
The housekeeper Natallie was very attentive and a wealth of information for places to go, directions etc.

The ocean was only about 200 ft. away with beach access right in front of the house. We are a family of surfers and got great waves at the main break as well as in front of the house. We surfed alone in front of the house.

We recommend Casa de Amigo and will be back soon.

Bruce, San Diego, CA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Fearon family,

thanks very much for taking time to provide a review, we are always happy to hear that others enjoy the house as much as we do ! thanks again for choosing "casa de amigos" & we would love to host your family again soon !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Wow! What a wonderful home. My family (3 kids;11,10,6 and husband) and I spent the week between Christmas and New Years here. We had an absolute blast. The home is more than we expected with spacious bedrooms and large living spaces. Nathalie, our personal housekeeper, came daily and Ludo kept the grounds in great shape! The pool was also cleaned every day. They were such nice people. The luxury of a 5 star hotel with the privacy of your own home. The beach is right down the path so surfing and tanning were only steps away. The family enjoyed walks on the beach, looking for shells and bird watching. We also saw the most spectacular sunsets we have ever seen. When you get there be sure to go to the local restaurants they were wonderful! We are all looking forward to returning next year.

Owners response: Thanks Vogel's for allowing us to host your family ! Wonderful to here of your experience, and hope you will visit again soon !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review