reviews for: listing #28252 - Tybee Island, Georgia House rental

"Lovelly" Cottage... Just 2 Blocks from the Ocean!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

Cute cottage; great owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My mom, my sister and her three grandchildren and I stayed here for the first two weeks of last June and had a great time. The weather was hot which made it great for the beach. The beach water was perfect for swimming! The proximity to Savannah made for some fun day and night trips; we did a ghost tour that was silly but fun! We saw many dolphins on Capt. Mikes Dolphin tour in Tybee, and the lighthouse museum was enjoyable if you are not afraid of heights!

The house was just as advertised and fit us comfortably, and was very clean and neat; we loved the large kitchen area. The washer and dryer was very convenient with kids, and the outdoor shower was a hit with everyone! Perfect for after the beach. The beach was within easy walking distance, and so were fast food places to take the kids.

The owner is a "lovelly" woman. Toward the end of our second week there was a problem with the AC, and I called her and she had someone out to fix it the same day. She was very pleasant to talk to. You could tell she loves her beach house and takes care of it! I would gladly stay at Lovelly again if my travels take me there; one of the main reasons being that the owner is such a pleasure to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our summer vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The location and home are fantastic, we made daily trips to the beach with our 4 year old granddaughter, we walked to restaurants, the pier, shops on tybee, everything is in walking distance. We loved the cottage, everything you need for your time away from home is here, (washer, dryer, wifi, cable, phone, outside shower room, deck, gas grill, many amenities I am sure I am not including, We love it here and would recommend it to all!!!!The cottage was clean, the owners provided an easy rental transaction. I would recommend, "The crab shack" and "Lighthouse Pizza". One of our favorite things to do was take nightly walks on the beach and to sit on the swings on the beach under the stars and listen to the ocean waves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Love a Lovelly Place Cottage

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

This cottage is spacious, comfortable, nicely appointed, and has a great location near the beach and a fun restaurant/live music venue. The owners are great to work with. It is the perfect quiet, sunny get-away spot - we go every autumn.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tybee Island and Savannah - We enjoyed our two visits!

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Our family of six from Michigan rented this cottage twice, both times in April. We plan on coming back. We love Tybee Island. The cottage is small but had everything we needed. We made most of our meals in the cottage (large kitchen) and went out to dinner a couple of times (Sting Rays). We had two in each bedroom and our two youngest teenagers slept on the sofa sleeper. Our two youngest wished for better blinds to block out the back yard lighting triggered by the automatic sensors. Great location, 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach, restaurant and souvnier shops. We liked the small deck/driveway area for morning coffee or afternoon cookouts. The cottage is less than a 30 minute drive to Savannah. If you decide to rent this cottage, here are a few of our favorite things to do: fishing on one of the piers, go to the beach, rent a bike and ride on the beach, walk the beach especially the south end. After a day at the beach, have a cookout, try some Georgia shrimp. During your stay, be sure to vist the pier, light house, Ft. Pulaski, Beafort, and Savannah. Have fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

our month at the lovely place

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

we my husband an i spent the month of nov. at this lovely home.even though the weather was not the best we had a great time.as one of our daughters an 34 yr old grandaughter lives in Savannah they came over every weekend,,,,, on rainyan cold days we worked puzzles an played gameswith them.we had family from Orlando for a week,,,an another daughter an husband for thanksgiving,,,,as u can c i was busy,, but did get in alot of beach walking an shell gathering ,,,the house is so nice an beachy luv the large kitchen. It was spotless,,,,an just an the photos said it was.,,,,the short walk to the beach,shops an resturants was great ,,,,our favorite was StingRays just around the corner,,,there we went back for more,,oh how i loved the wonderful outside shower ,,ONLY i was brave enough to use it,,,,the others i said were "wooses",,,it was great ,,,,i left a neat little mesh bag of cute soaps an bath things for the next brave guest. we tried out the sleep number sofa bed it was great,,,for a couple nites at thanksgiving,,,had we known how great it was we may have used it more.lol met an loved some of the neighbors,,,,jamie next door with all the kitties was helpful an very sweet,,, of course we bought cat food to help her out while we were there ,,,,only thing u have to be carefull an stay on the concret may step in poo,,,,would recommend this home to others,,,,would love to stay again,,,,,soon,,,,
luv the flipflop bucket by the door,,,great idea,,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Cottage; we will come back next year!

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

This cottage was perfect! It was so clean and well maintained. We were comfortable and had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Everything is in walking distance of this location, the beach, the shops, and the restaurants. The photos on the website did not do it justice; it was much nicer in person! The outdoor shower is amazing. The people we rented from were very nice and easy to work with, she spent lots of time answering questions and concerns we had and the information she sent us was complete and accurate. We would definitely recommend "A Lovelly Place Cottage" to a friend; we hope to stay there again this year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, but lacking in so many other areas.

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

It's true this little house is very charming and is located close to everything on Tybee. However, we had so many frustrations with this house. The shower in the master is really a "mini" shower and the outdoor shower was dirty and in disrepair. Inside the shower was a broken pallet with rusty nails. The house itself was very dirty when we arrived (even by my lax standards) - toilets were very dirty as were walls, doors and doorknobs. There were nails protruding from the floorboards and the blinds were broken. The house was very bare-bones. We had to purchase toilet paper, paper towels, salt, pepper, hand soap, etc ourselves and there wasn't even a pen or piece of paper in the house. The beach chairs were heavy and rusty and the sand toys mostly broken. My biggest disappointment was how the owners responded to my concerns - with excuses but no offers of compensation. When I asked for a refund, I got no response. I'm still waiting to hear from them. This house is NOT as advertised.

Owners response: We have been renting our little cottage for many years now. We always address each and every concern with thoughtfulness and fairness. Our telephone number is available to all of our guests as is the telephone number of the cleaning service and the maintenance staff.

We use a wonderful cleaning service that, not only cleans our house spotlessly, but also provides each renter with a cute beach bag filled with necessities. Our guests may need to replenish the supplies depending on the length of their trip.

Our cottage is small, not bigger than 900 square feet with two bathrooms. One bathroom has a full size bathtub and the other bathroom has a small shower ~ there simply is not room for a large shower stall. The outdoor shower is completely new, it’s beautiful! Although the old shower was wonderful it did need to be updated. Unlike many outdoor showers it is completely enclosed and has hot and cold running water ~ it feels so good after a nice day at the beach.

We do provide new beach chairs and beach towels at the start of each season, due to the salty air everything rusts very quickly! There are several beach stores within walking distance from our cottage if you would like to purchase your own beach supplies. Broken beach toys would possibly have been left there from a previous guest.

A Lovelly Place Cottage is truly a beach cottage, complete with wainscoting and wide plank pine wood floors; they are soooo charming! In the drawer filled with pens, pencils, telephone books and other things, there is a hammer and a nail set. The beautiful wide planks shift with the weather and at times may need to have the nails pounded in, it’s easy! Our maintenance service is available if you need help with this.

The person who helps rent our house does a fabulous job of screening our guests to ensure that everyone is happy and safe. Unfortunately we have had one incident; some things in the house were broken due to a “rowdy bunch” of boys. The repairs were made as quickly as possible, including new blinds on all of the windows and new flat screen TV’s.

Tybee is a beautiful island and our cottage is cozy and comfortable. Our guests are happy and many of them choose to stay with us year after year. We appreciate everyone who stays at A Lovelly Place cottage and we hope that you will consider spending your vacation with us too.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Beach House !

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We recently stayed at this charming beach house and were thoroughly enchanted by it. I originally went online to find an affordable place on Tybee but also one with all the comforts of home. We really lucked out with our choice, We were close to everything. The beach was only a minute or two away and shopping and restaurants close by for evening strolls around the best part of the island. The home had so much character. We loved the original bead board walls and the wonderful old floors. I personally loved the extra large bathtub and everyone slept like babies on the comfortable beds. We had such an easy time renting this property and we were extremely pleased with the extra amenities we were offered. We want to return already ! Thank you !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway!!!

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

My mom and sisters enjoyed our time at "Lovelly" Cottage. It was a Perfect girls getaway!! The Cottage had everything we needed. It was very clean and comfortable!!! The Beach and Great Restaurants were walking distance as was the shopping. I was amazed by the friendliness of all the people on Tybee!!! We will definitely be back!! FYI - Savannah is a very short drive and WOW what a Beautiful town!! Thanks for sharing your place with us!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2008

My now fiance and I had the opportunity to stay at Lovelly place in March of 2008... though Tybe was beatiful and the house more the accomadating it was the people we worked with that made our stay so perfect. My fiances grandfather had a stroke 2 days before we were set to leave. Lovelly place people worked with us and though we were two days late getting in they were more then accomadting. The house is beautiful, the location is wonderful, but its truely the people that make it so amazing! You are still in our hearts and we appreciate all you did, we plan on coming back for our marriage in March 2011!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review