reviews for: listing #28330 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

65% off Steal on Upper East Side of Manhattan
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper East Side
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $105 - $300 /nt
    $735 - $2,100 /wk
    $2,940 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Fall Vacation November 3 to 6

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

The apartment is located in a very nice residential neighbourhood on the upper east side. Easy access by bus to Times Squares and all other points of interest. Comfortable room, with private ensuite bathroom. We throughly enjoyed our stay and were very happy with the condition of the room and price. The doorman was extremely friendly and helpful and the owners were easy to get in touch with. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind review, not to many people understand the importance of a SAFE place to stay and the quite that is needed to rest after a long day of exploring the city which we provide, clean and helpful is what we try very hard without intruding on our guest privacy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

2012 Summer Vacation in NYC

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a wonderful 5 days and 4 nights at this very apartment. To sum it up; It was very accommodating! The staff was professional and willing to find time to make the checking in experience great. Being in the military, the staff was aware of my limited communication and still managed to accommodate before check in.

Overall the Apartment is in a great area of the city, clean, quiet, and most of you have personal. You feel like you are in a hotel. There are no limitations of luxuries that you would find in a hotel but with half the price.

We plan to recommend this apartment to all close family and friends who are looking for a fun weekend in NYC. We plan to purchase in NYC, but in the meantime, we have a place to call home whenever we need to get away from work and escape to the big apple.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Guest,
We Thank you for your kind words, we try very hard to make everyone feel at home, as we know very well time away from work means R&R, we look forward to your visit again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Alternative to a Standard Hotel

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

Positive experiences: This was a great find for our 2 nights in NYC. We literally booked the master bedroom the day before we arrived in NY. It was awesome that we had the whole apt including the balcony to ourselves because there were no other renters. The location was convenient because of the access to the park, museums and subway! The host was very caring and also recommended Bagel Bobs, which you cannot ask for a better breakfast deal. Also, on our last day, the host was kind enough to allow us to leave our bags in the living room AFTER the 11am checkout time and we were able to just drop off key and pick up the bags at 1:30pm, giving us more time to explore the city.

Negative experiences: *Disclaimer that I had mentioned to the host I was new to renting a “vacation rental” and wasn’t sure what to expect, so I take this as a learning experience to ASK before I rent.
(1) My first negative experience started when the host told me over the phone that everything was a flat rate including the damage deposit and cleaning fee. Because she had said there were no additional charges, I was surprised to see a “charge for credit card use.” Not a big deal, but again, I wasn’t expecting this charge and was surprised by it.
(2) While this issue got resolved, I still need to include this in my review. Being new to a vacation rental, I was not completely informed about the rental process. I had not realize there was no room service (which is fine, we only stayed 2 nights), but we looked around and saw clean bath towels in the hallway closet, so we grabbed two. All good right? Nope. Fast forward a week later and I was told there was a charge for each towel we had used (the charge was not reasonable according to my own standards). I was completely shocked and pissed off! The host had not communicated any of this to us before [or] during our stay! The host did apologize and made sure we got our full damage deposit back.
(3) The bed was comfortable, but very nosy. We heard a lot of creaking sound which disturbed our sleep. I think it was an older ikea bed frame, so that might have been the issue.

Improvements: I would recommend the host include a one pager guide on the “rental fees and additional charges” and “house rules associated with this rental.

Final thoughts: I would recommend this place because it’s a great alternative to a standard hotel. It’s a great experience to feel like we were living the NYC life.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is a apartment rental not a hotel and there is no room service, and only one set of towels are provided you would not go into a supply closet at a hotel and help yourself to as many towels as you like. The bedroom set is a modern Italian furniture two years old, and not Ikea.

Helpful votes: 28 / 32

 

Good place for those who are willing to share

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

We were looking for a 1 bedroom apartment, and the ad says 1 bedroom,
2 sleeps, but this is per room, as another couple was renting the room
next to ours.
It actually has 3 bedrooms.
The room is excellent: very clean, silent, great furniture, and the
neighbourhood is awsome. We were allowed to use also the kitchen,
which was great and functional.
The owner was very kind and helpful at all times, BUT we were really
not looking to share the apartment with strangers and it wasn't clear for us on the ad. Make sure you clear all questions in advance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Our ad is very clear it reads Per Night Per Room.

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

A neighborhood gem!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Thank you for making your apartment available to be our home in NYC.
Being a native NY'er, it was great to stay in a neighborhood apartment
rather than a hotel! We enjoyed staying in your apartment and
had a great time being back in NYC. The location was convenient,
especially to the uptown museums. The neighborhood is very nice, and
many interesting restaurants of varying ethnic foods can be readily
found. The apartment was very clean, which we certainly appreciated.
It was also, for the most part, very quiet. The bed was quite
comfortable, and it was nice that there was so much storage space for
our things in the large bedroom. We appreciated the private bath.
There is a small, but very clean kitchen, where it is possible to make
breakfast or other simple meals if one wishes. We would certainly stay
at your place again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Great Place!!

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

I would highly recommend this place. We had the master bedroom with bath and it was very comfortable. The apartment and area is so safe and clean. The proprietor saved our first trip to NYC. We called at the last minute and were desperate for a place to stay and she came through!! We will try to stay here the next time we come to NY. Location is wonderful, close to bus then to subway. Walking path along the river across the street.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 49 / 49

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review