reviews for: listing #28415 - Sunday River, Maine House rental

Fabulous Sunday River House Rental
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $530 - $1,450 /nt
    $1,400 - $5,900 /wk

sort by:

paradise in maine

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

I recently stayed at this sunday river house with a few couples and we all had a amazing time. The view and the weather was perfect, we were able to watch movies and Celtic games on the GIANT projection screen along with the numerous other flat screens located in the house. The kitchen was great for cooking big meals and the dinning room table sat all of us. I can confidently say i had one of the best nights sleep in my life in the master suite. The owners were also helpful with any questions that we had which made the stay that much better. I would recommend this amazing home to anyone looking for a great getaway.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Very nice, but needs some work

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

The house is beautiful and spacious and well set up, with an amazing view, but needs some TLC! When we arrived there was a note saying that the big screen TV was not working (which is critical to entertain the young ones and provide relax time to the older ones). Also, avoid the room in the basement nearest to the bathroom as the water pump runs every 10 minutes and sounds like someone is using an industrial vaccuum above your head. There were no wires for video games, the TV in the kids bedroom was not hooked up to anything (DVD players are cheap!), the ipod docking station did not work, one hottub was not filled, water in downstairs kitchen did not run. It seemed also that some of the minor things were not being addressed like towel racks etc. Overall though this is a very very nice house very near the hill with plenty of space and if there were to take the time to get someone in who knows about electronics to get everything working, and get someone in to address plumbing, and the other minor annoyances, it would be great! Just seems to be such a waste to be writing a negative review on what could be a great spot, but hopefully this will lead to these minor things getting addressed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great ski trip to Sunday River

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Hi Carrie, and as requested I'm posting a short note about our wonderful ski weekend at your house.

Big house indeed, you weren't kidding. it's like 2 houses with kitchens upstairs and also lower level. Surprisingly even the lower level had killer views of the mountains and ski trails.

Love the huge home theater room with pool table which attracted the kids while we adults mainly congregated in the oversized kitchen with those huge walls of glass facing the mountain.

The views are incredible.

Nice comfy bedrooms with the extra blankets, outdoor hot tub got some usage and the crackling fireplace every night made us not want to go out for dinner at all, so we cooked in

Sunday River is a very large ski area with plenty of trails for beginners or experts so it's our favorite mountain and just a 3 hour ride from Boston.

I didn't know Newry is the next town over from Bethel but each is just a few minute ride to the lifts or main lodge where we buy our tickets.

Thanks so much for hosting us there and we'll be back for a spring ski long weekend in April we expect.

Sincerely, Joy and Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great trip for foliage

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

hi Carrie,

The foliage was terrific and so was your house. We loved the views and hiking around the neighborhood.

This house must really be something in ski season with the views of most of the ski slopes.

The hot tubs out on the decks got a lot of use. We had a little trouble trying to figure out the big screen home theater, but eventually got it working. You get very spoiled watching a movie on that sized screen.

it was a great long weekend and maybe we'll bring the grand kids up this winter for a ski trip.

best personal regards,

Signe Q.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome summer vacation at Sunday River

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

Thanks Carrie for keeping the pool open later than you normally do. Yes, we did need the pool heat as the nights were quite cool.

What a beautiful home. The 30 foot ceiling with wall of glass and the view over to the ski mountain was terrific.

We got lots of use from the Home Theater room and pool table and did lots of hiking around the neighborhood which is quite hilly, but again, beautiful views.

We'll be back during ski season for a long weekend and let the kids miss a day of school or two.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

an amazing home

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

I would recommend this vacation home to anyone that loves the out doors. I just returned home from enjoying a wonderful week there with my family. The kids loved the pool and the little playgound i couldnt keep them out. You walk up a few stairs to get to th pool and the view is incrediable. It was also very nice to have a kitchen by the pool so we had cookouts for lunch and at night you could make a nice fire and cook marshmellos with the kids. The house so big and beautiful the kids didnt want to leave. We enjoyed the 2 hot tubs and spent many hours in and out of them. There is just so much to do just hanging at the property, with the pingpong, pool, movie theater,board games at night with the family, hiking, pool, hottub, ect. We also found a nice water hole were you can slide down a waterfall just a few miles from the home. I rented the whole house for the week and it was well worth it we had 18 people with us and with the size of the house you would think that there were only 4 of us there because of all the space there. the kids would make us laugh saying this house is so it took us 10 mins to find anyone. If you are planning a family vacation i would highly recommend this home to anyone it was such a relaxing and peaceful place to be.
When we left the kids were asking when can we go back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: These guests were great people to deal with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation up north

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Hi Carrie

just a short note here to tell you what a great time we had up at your big Sunday River house.

The kids had a blast and our 3 families fit well into the house though we were a total of 16 people plus dog.

The view was incredible as you said. My husband enjoyed that new golf course nearby also.

Kids loved the big home theater screen and the Netflix movies on demand.

Pool was a little cool by the way as it gets cold at night up there so I think next year we'll pay the extra for the heat. We had a few problems figuring out the remotes for the tv's and ceiling fans so I suggest you label them better.

Best regards, Janice

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Big disappointment

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We spent one week in the Berner Haus in July.

Pros:
- House is big
- Nice area

Cons:
- No hot water when we arrived!!!
- House wasn’t cleaned (lots of dead flies/moths everywhere)
- Two a/c units for the entire house!!! (it was 90F in the house)
- Kitchen was messy and dirty (including appliances)
- Trashes left full by housekeeper and food (left over from previous people) molded in cabinets
- 12 foot screen not hooked up to satellite
- Hazardous (broken) toys for children
- Broken sun chairs outside on the deck
- Overall furniture is in poor condition
- The pool is too far from the house (up a hill with steep staircase)

Owners response: This guest complained about everything when they arrived and air conditioning is not at all needed up in the mountains when you open the windows. Only the home theater room is air conditioned which worked perfectly as the guest's kids played with the equipment and threw the inputs off. The pool is gorgeous and furniture is like new. 2 outdoor hot tubs have an excellent view of the mountains. Bank just appraised the house for $ 1.6 million so this guest is nothing but trouble. The hot water breaker had tripped and was easily re-set. A magnificent house rented by the same people year after year. We never get any complaints on this house and many letters of thanks from guests. They also left the place a mess which required extra hours from our two excellent house-keepers. These on line reviews are just people trying to scam owners to get a discount as these folks threatened. these guests also paid for 12 people and we later discovered they had 22 people at our house when the housekeeper came by. These people are bad news as guests. Wish we could review guests so we could single out problems like these people. Demanding and yet they're slobs? Left the place a total mess for our 2 housekeepers who are very dedicated and do an excellent job last 5 years of our ownership

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

loved Sunday River

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

Hi Carrie

You asked me to write some comments on this big beautiful house you folks own so here goes.

It's big and luxurious and the views incredible.

We loved sitting in the outdoor hot-tubs and just staring at the mountain while quaffing wine.

The home theater room with giant screen was a bit hit with the kids and we all loved the pool table and ping pong.

It snowed like crazy so the conditions were excellent as I hear they usually are at Sunday River.

We ate all our meals in using the big gourmet kitchen upstairs so the lower level kitchen wasn't even needed in our case.

Love the high quality sound system in the living room where the adults hung out and just stared at the ski mountain most of the night.

A great vacation for 3 families and 16 people total.

regards, Kenny

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

We usually stay in this owner's Stowe VT house but since our group was very large this ski trip, they convinced us to try Sunday River ski area. With 17 people we filled the house quite well since the home theater has two pull out couches for the kids who were very happy with the giant screen tv. The adults hung around the kitchen and eat-in island listing to music on some excellent speakers thru the TV system which had XM radio channels. The outdoor hot tubs (2 of them) are excellent and you can see much of the mountain and ski trails while sitting there soaking. Very romantic. It's a great ski area and some nice casual restaurants nearby. While we like Stowe area better, it's a good change of pace and a very challenging mountain with 6-7 peaks. Super vacation had by all of us. Kenny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

Dear John and Susan,

Thanks for sharing your magnificent ski house with our group. We have 15 people including kids and babies and everyone was very comfortable.

We loved the views, outdoor hot tubs and home theater room.

You've done a great job with the decor and the moose bedspreads are very cute.

We'll be back to Sunday River next year for sure. Your staff and housekeeper were very pleasant as we had a problem with the outdoor grille and she brought us several fresh tanks of propane when we ran out.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

nice trip, thanks

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Jackie,

Nice seeing you and the kids up at the Sunday River house. I've been to your Stowe houses many times with Nancy but this house blew me away. it's huge !

I'm not a skier any more, but we like to snowshoe and party and that big kitchen was a great hangout. Hope you liked Nancy's famous chicken dinner. Thanks for the nice wines.

Those hot tubs sure got a workout and we loved the views. I think they're more sweeping that your Stowe houses.

Thanks for your hospitality and we hope to see you guys soon.

Regards, bill and nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved our vacation, and the renovations you did

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

Hi all,

We just got back to Boston after a great weekend at the Berner Haus. We met Chip on Friday and he gave us a great tour of the house and filled us in on all the renovations you did.

Your word document was very helpful throughout the whole weekend.

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed all of the new and old features of the house. thanks again, jeremy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Berner Haus vacation rental at Sunday River

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

What an amazing place to spend our one year anniversary !

Though we were impressed and excited from the photos on line, nothing could prepare us for seeing the beauty of the "haus" with our own eyes.

We've thoroughly enjoyed every detail you've put into the house, from the outdoor hot tubs to the cozy fireplaces and the unbelievable views.

We had friends over for a lobster bake and it was terrific. an amazing time.

Leah.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great ski vacation at Sunday River.

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

Your house is amazing.

The movie room was the most fun and I won the pool table championship.

Loved the room with the N.E. Patriots bedspreads and pillows and photos.

Views were incredible.

thanks. Laura

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Best Weekend I Have Ever Had

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2008

Great house loved everything it came with.
Big gorgeous house with excellent views of the Sunday river ski area mountain
2 gourmet kitchens where we cooked all of our meals
12 foot tv screen with 125 movies on disc - ROKU and high def
King beds with beautiful sheets
Heated in ground pool has awesome mountain views while sitting on the decks
2 outdoor hot tubs <- don't mention that only one was working
2 gas grilles
Plenty of firewood
Couldn’t believe owner gives you a free keg of beer
Excellent golf course nearby
2 miles to Sunday river ski area; 3 minute car ride
Short ride to town of Bethel
Great party house for a big family or several families to split


How could you not love the place!!!!!!

From,
Former Guest

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 21

 

amazing getaway house

Review submitted: May 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

The house was AMAZING. My girlfriend and I are in our twenties and both live with roommates so we don't have much money and rarely get the chance to get away from work to enjoy serious alone time. When we went away with a group of our friends here, we found the amenities too good to be true! The TVs were easy enough to figure out for anyone who can use an iPhone. Not to mention that we got our own bedroom with a TV of its own and a California King! We had all the privacy we needed while staying with a large group of our good friends!!

With a group as large as ours, it wouldn't have been easy to bring all our food and beverages up with us and the nearest liquor store would have been ridiculous to find by the time we arrived, which was late, seeing as how we all work and have busy lives. GETTING UP TO MAINE ON A FRIDAY IS ALWAYS A BITCH! but upon arrival we felt relaxed immediately as we were elated to find stocked kegs that were replaced at a moments notice by the local company. I was able to use the grill and make a modest dinner while enjoying a spectacular lifestyle! IT WAS A MANSION IN THE CLOUDS!

The hot tubs were fantastic, the beds were bigger and more comfortable than any I've ever slept on, I made a breakfast that fed 15 in a beautiful kitchen without any hassle, and - again - the kegs were flowing!

Everything was clean when we got there and easy to maintain, all the information we needed was available - including takeout menus that delivered to what seemed to be a remote portion of the area, and the skiing was right down the road! I was the most lavish vacation I've ever been able to afford, nonetheless I will certainly try to make our memorable trip an annual event!

If you have means for a weekend, a three-day, or a week if you're able, you should get a whole crew together to enjoy each others company in one of the most scenic, relaxing, and beautiful places in the Northeast! I definitely recommend this house.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Note: our Sunday River house has a keg of draft beer upstairs and a 2nd one downstairs, for your enjoyment. john the owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Spectacular getaway!

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

I spent a long weekend last fall at the Sunday river house and was extremely impressed. My time there was nothing like this review states and I WOULD BOTHER! Both hot tubs were working and the views were simply spectacular. The keg was full and ice cold and quite a treat to enjoy after a 4 hour drive. What property provides that? Beds and rooms were gorgeous and extremely comfortable. House was very clean inside and out. Huge flat screen TV (like a movie theater) was amazing with hundreds of DVD's to chose from. Universal remote with instructions????? worked for us. There is a book there filled with comments from previous guests and they were all very positive stating what a great place to stay for a large family gathering and they looked forward to their return. Mountain views are breathtaking from all areas of the property. Heated pool on the edge of a mountain cliff is just amazing!!! .Quaint town of Bethel very close with wonderful gourmet restaurants. I think these peolpe stayed somewhere else!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The house was wonderful

Review submitted: May 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

If you are looking for a great place to vacation at then this is the place. The description about the house was very good. I rented the house last month for a week with my 5 children and my brothers family and we all loved it very much there are 2 hot tubs so the adults went in one and we let the kids use the other one. When we arrived there the owners provided us with a free keg of beer, (the guys loved that) they also had milk bread and juice in the frig. It was very nice looking out the window at the snow filled slopes. The house was very clean and the kids fell in love the the movie theater and the pool table. There is also a nice big pool with a playground in the back yard although the kids couldnt swin becuase i was to cold they enjoyed the playground. I would highly recommend this house I we plan to rent this again some time in the future.
Thanks for a great time

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: these were very nice guests and left the house immaculate which an owner loves ! We open the Swimming Pool Memorial Day weekend. john the owner.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Don't Bother

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

Beautiful house but we had problems with the tv's working properly and one hot tub was broken and the other stopped working as soon as we got in it. The company was slow to get someone to take care of the problem and it took two days to get it running properly and then it broke again. We were told by the pool guy that this happens everytime someone stays there. Just don't count on a hot tub. Also the beer was empty when we got there and the beer guy said that happens every time as well, although he brought kegs right away (let's hear it for Dave!!). No food was stocked for the first night. And signs were posted letting us know that we were expected to wash all our towels before leaving or be charged with one of many random fees. The house was very dusty and the window sills were full of dead flies. More of a headache than a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: These people were the difficult guests and complained about everything. In fact, they did not know how to use the remotes on the TV's as the instructions are posted and rather easy.

Complaining about a keg running out when the beer is free is rather amazing and the kegs were replaced promptly the next morning, just as our written instructions say.

they left the house a terrible mess and it took the 3 housekeepers nearly 15 hours to clean up after them.

Now really, we are the only rental house in the area that supplies free kegs of beer.

Read the guest book on the front page of our website for many comments. There's a link elsewhere on this listing

We have two very expensive hot tubs and while the upper level outdoor one requires new parts, the lower one works perfectly and they didn't realize it was on a timer.

This house has a 12 foot high def TV and 7 plasma tv's so the guests need to push the proper buttons as it's all professionally set up with self-charging remotes.

john , owner

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review