reviews for: listing #28501vb - Kilauea, Hawaii rental

Call for 'Special Spring SALE'! Luxury Moloa'a Stream Front Kauai Home!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 299 - $ 449 / night
  • sleeps  7
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Tree Top Home

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

My wife and I loved this well-maintained rental in the tree tops! The very comfortable furnishings, wrap-around lanai, well-stocked kitchen and beautiful decor endeared us to this home. Lots of privacy too, with tropical fruit trees and flowering shrubs all around. We also really enjoyed the short access by stream to the beach at Moloa'a Bay by kayaks (two provided). That was both fun and adventurous.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Place of Peace, Tranquility and Sunshine

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Arrived to find the Bungalow exceptionally outfitted for us as well as clean and ready for us to enjoy ourselves and do some writing and relaxing. The photos of Jade Lilly do not do it justice and we loved how close the house is to the water and took advantage of all the Kayaks and other toys. Thanks so much to Jesse, the owner who was very patient with us when we had a problem with the BBQ! All in all we highly recommend staying here for any length of time as you will never have a more pleasant experience in all of Hawai'i in a more beautiful place on the ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The only way to see Kauai for the first time!

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We had rented the smaller house next door 3yrs. ago, so when family were interested in going to Kauai for their first time we knew right where to go! Moloaa Bay & it's surrounding beach is paradise! Unfortunately there is not a short walk to the beach. It is a long walk schleping all your stuff, a short kayak ride (in yucky) water, or driving. But your reward is that incredible beach!
The CD player & TV in the master bedrm., much to the dismay of the 15y.o. with us, were not working. The straps on the kayaks were broken so carrying items was alittle more difficult.
All of these are easily repaired however. Also keep in mind all of the stairs up to the house. Not a place for those with bad knees, backs, etc.
A must do if able are the farmer's markets. Support the local economy.
We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of 4

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

We booked a full week stay at the Jade Lily and never stayed a single night. When we got there we noticed an excess of bugs, tried to ignore it, assuming it was just part of the island, grocery shopped, cleaned up and took a kayak run. We came home to SO many additional bugs! We made dinner and began killing bugs. Our daughters started crying and begged us not to make them sleep there. We left and found a hotel for the evening. We called the owner of the Jade Lily (Jessica) in the morning and explained. She asked us to meet an exterminator in a half hour. We told her we were 45 mins away. We missed him. Also, it's unfair to have to kill dirty bugs and meet exterminators on vacation. We spent so much money and were so excited for this Hawaiian vacation :( we spent the day at the beach, came back, cleaned up and decided to make the best of it. We didn't have enough money to pay for double rooms. We made dinner and vacuumed up bugs for 2 hours. Our daughters were curled up together, crying and creeped out. The bugs were on the walls, furniture, counters, tables, bathroom, every surface imaginable. We called the owner and asked for a refund as we never slept there and it was infested with bugs! We left and found another room for the night. We went back the next morning and cleaned the entire property as well as killed many more bugs. We packed up and left. Our children would not even come in, they were so scared of the bugs! A shop owner in Kapaa told us it was termites. The owner of the Jade Lily tried to make us feel silly for being afraid and grossed out. She only refunded us half our money saying there was no replacement renter. I'd understand that if we just left or were a no show. It was. Feared with termites (which lead to SO many geckos because they we there to eat the bugs). We want our entire monies refunded and she will not help. We are reporting the Jade Lily to the BBB and the health department of Kauai. It is a horrible place, was dirty upon our arrival and is under very unfair and poor management.

Owners response: This review and the circumstances under which it was written have been EXTREMELY unusual for us, as we have been renting out Jade Lily VERY SUCCESSFULLY for 11 years. In all of our 11 years, no one has ever had such an extreme negative reaction to what we consider beautiful and natural island living. When Tiffany's husband Marty called us and told us about the bugs, we addressed the issue IMMEDIATELY by calling our exterminators. We were very lucky that our exterminator, Kyle was able to come over right away, despite his busy schedule. Marty agreed to meet him. According to Kyle, who we have known for years, he waited an hour for Marty to arrive and then had to leave to go to another appointment. Kyle surveyed the outside of the property and his professional report states these bugs were not termites, but blister beetles, which swarm the island from time to time and are totally harmless. Tiffany and her family decided to leave Jade Lily and when Melody, our extremely reliable caretaker who has been working with us for years, went over there the next day, she informed us that there were no bugs inside of the home. We cannot highlight enough how strange this experience has been for us. We are extremely concerned with our guests' enjoyment, always. It is our policy to call all of our guests on the day after they arrive and let them know that we are available to them for the duration of their stay, if there are any questions or concerns, we manage them as best we can immediately. To have such a vast and different story told by a guest as compared to what was told to us by our trusted caretaker and exterminator also put us in a new and unknown position, nonetheless, we gave Tiffany and Marty a substantial refund. We ask of you, our potential future guests, to please read the many other reviews Jade Lily has received over the many years that we have been renting it out. We are very excited to potentially be your host and can guarantee to do our best to make your experience at Jade Lily EXQUISITE. All we can do is guarantee that we can do our best, unfortunately, we have not yet figured out a way to be in control of nature:). Thank you for taking the time to read our response to this review.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Magical spot - and a great deal

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We had a fantastic time at Jade Lily. The location is just fantastic and the house is welcoming and comfortable. Kayaking to the beach was a blast. Relaxing on the lanai by the Bismarck Palm was restorative.

Everything about the experience at Jade Lily was really special. I hope to stay here again sometime soon.

Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

Jade Lily was fabulous. Its a beautiful home. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay there. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

Hi Jessica,
just wanted to let you know-- we had an AMAZING time in Kauai and your
house. I'm well traveled and we've never stayed in a house as outfitted as yours.
Thanks so much. Kauai is a beautiful place and we will be back, it is by far the
best of the Hawaiian islands in my opinion. Thanks again for helping it be one
of the best vacations we've ever had!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

JADE LILLY - November 2009 We had a wonderful experience with Jessica and
at Jade Lilly. The house was fabulous, the location secluded and private --
exactly as we had hoped for and perfectly aligned with Jessica's presentation
of it. Jessica communicated extremely well -- we worked through all of the
details of the transaction easily and she made sure we were delighted with
the experience (we were!). We look forward to staying with Jessica again --
we're hoping to visit Taos this coming spring! Thanks, Jessica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2006   Date of arrival: January 5, 2006

The Jade Lily is fantastic!! It's warm and comfortable. We feel at home in your beautiful house on such a beautiful island. We thoroughly enjoy hearing the ocean waters, smelling the fresh island air, sitting out on the deck in the morning and evening looking at all the tropical trees and plants. What an awesome vacation place. We would recommend it to anyone. Thank you sooo much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 29, 2003   Date of arrival: September 29, 2003

(from our hand-written guestbook at the house) "Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. We had the best vacation ever here on Kauai. This has been a great start to our marriage. We'll be back!!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 29, 2003   Date of arrival: September 29, 2003

(another comment from the guestbook at the house) "Paradise was not lost after all! Blessings on this sweet spot, a happy landing place for all who come.... the air and the sea are magical!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review