reviews for: listing #285253vb - Playa Langosta, Costa Rica rental

Casa Oasis - Langosta Paradise
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Casa Oasis

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 10, 2014

Great house in nice location. Everything listed was as it had been disclosed. The nine of us enjoyed every minute. The cable went down and DVD was not working but playing cards, talking with family and reading was not a bad compromise. Everyone loved the resident cat and the surprise visit from a neighborhood raccoon. the store down the street is a nice convenience. Better prices can be found in town but nice for those last minute items. We will be back to CR.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming house

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

We were 5 adults (7 during a few days) who vacationed during two weeks at Casa Oasis. This casa is ideally situated, 5 minutes from Playa Langosta and within easy walking distance to Playa Tamarindo. We decided against renting a car and never missed it. We only occasionally used a taxi (4$ or 5$US) when groceries were too heavy.
Every day, preferably in the morning, we walked to Playa Tamarindo, not only for the walk itself but to take advantage of its shops and good restaurants. In the early evening, we favoured Playa Langosta for its wide, deserted expanse and to take in its beautiful sunsets.
Casa Oasis is very charming with its open concept, cathedral ceilings, warm wooden beams and it's well-landscaped and shaded gardens. Not surprisingly, we lived mostly out of doors, breakfasting on the front terrace, dining in the rear and spending the hotter hours lounging around or in the nice cool pool.
To note: we were visited by an intruder who must have jumped over the wall and gained entrance through a partially open bathroom window. The culprit must have been interrupted, for only a small amount of money was missing. Lesson learned: we kept the window closed and always locked whatever patio door when no one was on that patio.
All this being said, we would like to add that Casa Oasis could benefit from the " loving" touch of its owner. Foremost, the hot tub was much too hot to be enjoyed and neither the "pool boy" nor any of us could control it except to shut it off, if only to save energy. Also, a thorough house cleaning and some upkeep seem required. The kitchen and bathroom floors show water damage; the sofa and curtains are dusty; and the wiring behind the TV and VCR is an unsightly web trapping dust balls. The guest house must not have been used recently as there was a broken light bulb in the ceiling socket and we mopped and dusted both the room and the bathroom before using it. Although the large master bedroom had ample closets, the other bedrooms lacked hanging facilities: a few hooks on the wall or a coat-hanger would have helped.
Despite these minor drawbacks, we spent an enjoyable stay at Casa Oasis and have warm souvenirs of the house and it's surroundings.
Finally about Prince: he/she is an amazing animal commanding respect if only because of its ability to endlessly adapt to new families. And he/she can effectively convey its needs, making it endearing even to those who are not cat people.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: We have just remodeled the kitchen and bathroom so the house is in even better condition. The dust is a problem during February and March from the Papagayo winds and cannot be helped as it's this way in all of Tamarindo/Langosta. I wish that I could have had the floor fixed prior to this group's rental, but there were too many back to back rentals and I didn't want to cancel reservations over a minor issue, which is how they described the floors anyway. If there are any inconveniences during your stay, then please contact the property manager as they will be dealt with in a timely fashion. And please keep in mind that petty theft is a problem throughout the communities of Tamarindo/Langosta. The house instruction sheet does state to lock up when you're not around the house as this would be the same situation that you might find in your own country as well. What I've found is that homes in Costa Rica require constant care as upgrading from a harsh climate. From a new roof to new flooring to a remodeled pool deck, I'm always upgrading something. Oh, and the jacuzzi has been fixed too. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

By the Beach

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The house was clean except that the couches had a lot of spots on them. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook and for six of us to eat, but the Teflon on all of the pans was damaged which is a health concern. The pool was very small. The drain in the main shower was backed up and it took a couple of days to fix. The hot tub was warm, not hot, which seems to be common in Costa Rica. The cat Prince knows how to get in when the doors are closed. He really is an amazing cat. There were not a lot of bugs at this property. It was nice and in a beautiful neighborhood. There is a small store half a block away which is very convenient. The walk to the Playa Langosta beach is very easy and the beach is amazing with an inlet from the river to swim in. The beach itself is more suited to surfing due to the large waves. Tamarindo's beach, which is about a 20 minute walk had smaller waves and was fun to body surf in. The water was very warm and pleasant.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Sounds like this group had a good time despite a few inconveniences. Understanding that you are in Costa Rica is important when traveling there. There are problems that occur from time to time that require attention like clogged pipes as there was recently a huge earthquake that shook things up good. The clog was worked on immediately and did get resolved and we would request that a group accommodate by using another shower as there are 3 of them in the house... I did just upgrade the cooking pots and pans situation as I purchased Cuisinart stainless steel pots and pans and a ceramic frying pan. This gives the option for use if a group does not like teflon. Teflon scratches easy, so this should solve that problem... The spots on the couch were from prior renters. This group that followed arrived early and there was not time to professionally clean the couch as it needed for their rental. The house is located in a beach community with dirt roads so the couch will get dirty from time to time. We are in the process of getting the couch lined, so it will be much easier to clean in between renters. This should resolve that problem. I can't do much about the pool as far as size is concerned, but it's meant to be a dip in cooling off pool and most renters love it - as I do when I use it... Finally, I just purchased 18 new acrylic wine and spirit glasses as well as new smaller appliances that needed upgrading like the blender, toaster, and coffee maker. I also bought a mattress topper for the queen size bed to make it a little softer for better comfort. I appreciate the feedback and am serious about making sure legitimate concerns are addressed and improvements made where necessary.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house in an awesome location

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Casa Oasis is a perfect place to get away. We rented the house with another couple (4 adults in total) and had plenty of room to lounge around, have fun, and have your own space. The master bedroom is great with a terrific changing/closet area. The pool is perfect when you don't feel like making the 5 minute walk to the beach and Ronnie the pool guys is SO sweet! Maria, the property manager is very helpful and attentive. One of the other people we were traveling with had their bags lost at the airport and Maria jumped right on the phone to assure that they would get to her. A few hours later and the bags were at our front door! The locations of the house is ideal, very close to Playa Langosta, which is lovely and less crowded then Tamarindo. However, if you are seeking some night life, restaurants, bars, shopping etc. Tamarindo is a short walking distance and quick bike ride. Overall, we had a terrific time at Casa Oasis, we will definitely be back soon!

P.S. Prince the cat is a pretty funny little guy. He brought crabs to the front door every morning and sun bathed all afternoon. We are generally not 'cat people' but he was a really sweet guy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect destination for surf, exploration, and relaxation!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Casa Oasis for a guys surf trip. The house located on a quiet street that is within walking distance to the beach, fun surf, and a quick drive to town. The house is well-maintained, comfortable, functional, and has all the necessities one would need to either stay in to cook/bbq or use as a home base while out exploring the beautiful countryside. The jacuzzi was a great touch after a long day of surf/hiking to sooth sore muscles. Maria(property manager) was wonderful and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Great place, Great trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderfl family trip

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

We just came home from our trip to Costa Rica. Casa Oasis is a wonderful place to stay. We are a family of 6, 2 adults and 4 children and we had more than enough room staying in this home. Maria, the property manager showed us the outlay of the home, there was a very nice gentleman who took care of the pool several times during our visit, as well as a housekeeper to clean up after us. There is a supermarket at the end of the street of the home. We walked to the beach in Langosta every night to watch the sunset, only a block away, and to get to Tamarindo you can either go by a 5 minute taxi or walk along the beach which is what we did most days. Langosta is very quiet at night time, but there are several bars and restaurants within walking distance of the house. In fact, we had met a few locals at the beach in Tamarindo, and saw them later at the local surfpub. Casa Oasis is a wonderful home away from home, and my family hopes it will be available the next time we come to Costa Rica. In regards to Prince, the local house cat, we are normally a dog family, but it was very hard to part from that cat. He is very lovable and became our pet for the week we were there. My youngest daughter misses him very much. Our stay stay in Langosta, specifcally Casa Oasis, had been a wonderful experience, we have travelled with our children to many different locations, but this has been our favorite of all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

A group of my co-workers and I rented this house for a week. It was clean and well maintained. The local taxis are inexpensive.

One side note: lock the front doors and windows at all times after dark because the RACCOONS will open them and eat your food. They even know how to open the kitchen cabinets. We learned the hard way. Oops.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, spacious, clean and well maintained house

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We spent a week in Casa Oasis in July 2011. We had a great time! It was a family vacation and Casa Oasis is perfect for families with kids.

Maria was extremely helpful and available at all times.

If you don't like cats, make sure you let Maria know far in advance for her to make the necessary arrangements.

Be aware of the crabs and the mosquitoes during the Costa Rican rainy season.

Pictures on the web are accurate and the house is pretty well-mantained.

Tamarindo is a great place to go for dinner or drinks only 5 minutes drive. There is plenty of activity but it's nice to go back to Langosta and relax!

The sea in Langosta is pretty wild, perfect for surfers but kids will like the rock pools. The beach is a 5 minutes walk from Casa Oasis.

Definitely recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Pretty home, spacious rooms, ideal for large families, close to the beach, perfect for relaxation

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We were looking for the perfect home for our family reunion ( 8 persons, from 1 to 77 years) in costa rica and found it in casa oasis. It is a nice house with many appealing features, with a cute and cozy pool, huge spaces to be together without bumping into one another, in short walking distance to the beach, very practical in terms of maintanance, with a little supermarket nearby, and a friendly owner as well as helpful staff. The many surf spots were ideal for our young men and the wonderful beach with a river and soft waves perfect for the baby. We found the price for this home just right and would recommend it to other guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Getaway Destination

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

I visited Casas Oasis in mid-July and am looking forward to the next opportunity to get back... The house had everything a vacationer/family could desire- excellent sleeping accomodations (with plenty of space for a large party), pool, jacuzzi, wireless internet, high-level security features, cleaning staff, and full kitchen capabilities. The housing location was secluded yet very close to everything- beach, downtown area, surf, food. The owner has done a great job maintaining the property and has created an environment for rest, relaxation, and a perfect location for a vacation. I recommend Casas Oasis without reservation to anyone...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect House/Perfect Location

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

Casa Oasis was an absolutely wonderful place to expereince Costa Rica. The house is a short drive to town where you have numerous restaurants, bars and nightlife to choose from. The house has full kitchen and grilling amenities if you'd rather stay in and cook - contemporary design, granite countertops, stainless steal appliances, dishes, cookware, etc. We stayed for 7 nights, hung out on the patio and swam about everyday. I recommend renting a car to drive to town. The house is very safe with a gated entry for your car and separate locking door - perfect for families and groups of people. The area is surrounded by other private residences, but very quiet. The owner is highly trustworthy and easily accessible by email or phone and the as well as the property manager. The house is very clean. The house cat is great - you'll love him, he lounges around and stays out of your way if you don't want him near you or follows you and will play if your a cat-person. You can walk to the beach in 5 minutes from the house. If you go to Costa Rica for the activities, most tour guides will pick you up at the house so you don't need to drive. You can do all activities the area has to offer by staying in the house. We were able to: surf, swim, deep sea fish, snorkel, ATV tour, canopy zip lines, horseback riding, rapid tubing, volcano hike, waterfall swimming, boogie boarding, boat tours to feed crocodiles & monkeys, eat at restaurants on the beach, & hiking, just to name a few. There is also a couple of day spas in walking distance of the house if you are looking for massages, facials or treatments. The house has WiFi and plenty of outlets inside and out. We took laptops and felt completely safe to leave them in the house. Also, the house has a safe with a key that you can leave all of your valuables.

We highly recommend renting Casa Oasis, you will not be disappointed!! We definitely plan to return and rent this property again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Myself, wife and 8-year old daughter spent 9 days at Casa Oasis, Playa Langosta this February. Langosta is the upscale and more relaxing extension of Tamarindo, only 5 minutes away by car. The area impresses with its marvellous homes and beautiful playa Langosta and would strongly recommend for families or people looking for great comfort and accessibility to Tamarindo and all wonderful beaches in the area. It also feels very safe at Langosta. Casa Oasis itself is everything you see at the pictures, spacious, very good decor taste, very nice pool, fully equipped and ready to acommodate demanding guests for longer stays. We visited other areas and were extremely pleased with our choices. Langosta's sunsets are a show apart. Also, we had a wonderful experience with Peter, the owner. He was very helpful and caring guiding us through the area, restaurants, house amenities, rental car, places to visit, etc. All recommendations were top notch. Look no further around Langosta - Tamarindo area.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review