reviews for: listing #28587 - Galveston, Texas Cottage rental

Pointe West Beach House Galveston Texas
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pointe West
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comments

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 14, 2008

This is the first time we did not stay on the busy Seawall Blvd. We decided to try this beachhouse and it was awesome! Comfortable beds, nicely decorated and very clean. The private beach was wonderful! No crowds and very peaceful. The resort was just as described and the pool was just like the photo with a view to the ocean. This was a great family getaway for us and we liked it so much everyone agreed that we will not be returning to the Seawall Blvd. Thanks for letting us share your beachhouse!

Owners response: Pointe West is like no other place in Galveston. A true family resort with safe walkable neighborhoods and nature trails just 20 miles from the hustle and bustle of the Seawall. Take your pick of a groomed, wide uncrowded beach, an infinity pool or a lazy river pool. You'll never stay on the Seawall again!

Helpful votes: 30 / 31

 

ANNE MARIE

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

WE JUST STAYED AT THE ANNE MARIE HOME IN SEPTEMBER AND IT WAS WONDERFUL. EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT. THE HOUSE IS EXTREMELY CLEAN AND ANYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY NEED WAS THERE. YOU ONLY NEED TO BRING YOUR OWN FOOD. THE BEDDING WAS AWESOME FOR A GOOD NIGHT SLEEP. AT NIGHT WE SAT ON THE UPSTAIRS DECK AND IT WAS SO PEACEFULL AND RELAXING. MY GRANDBABY IS 18 MTHS. AND WHEN SHE WALKED IN THE FIRST TIME SHE SAID WOW IT WAS SO FUNNY.WE HAD A GREAT TIME AND I THANK MR. AND MRS.LOCHRY FOR ALLOWING US TO STAY AT THIER WONDERFUL VERY FAMILY ORIENTED HOME. THANK YOU SO MUCH WE LOOK FORWARD TO COMING BACK AGAIN.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We love those grand baby stories!

Tom & Bonnie

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Relaxing and comfortable

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

We loved being together in a clean and cozy beach house, so near the ocean. Tom was a delight to work with, very prompt to reply to my inquiry, and this sealed the deal for us. We loved the club amenities and the family areas provided, lazy river etc. We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Anne Marie

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to rent the Anne Marie. We all had a great time, and what a wonderful home. I hope we can go again. The House was wonderful, We loved the beach and pool. The staff at the resort were all very friendly and helpful.The golf cart is a must, and worth every penny. I cant think of a single negative thing to say. We cant wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome the comments about the golf cart. It is a new amenity and allows our guests to explore the resort's scenic cart paths.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great House!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

We loved the Anne Marie! There were six of us which included a one year old and a three year old. The house was very kid friendly, which was a really important to us. The only problem we had was that the both kids were able to open the front door, even when locked. So we had to barricade the door a bit to make sure they didn't escape, they couldn't get enough of the beach. We loved being outside of the busy downtown. The beach and club house were beautiful and very relaxing. The house was very clean and very well maintained. The decor was nice and homey. The pictures look just like the house, there were no surprises or disappointments. The kitchen was well stocked and easy to use. We loved being able to make breakfast and dinner at the house and not having to constantly eat out. Tom was great to work with, we had a minor issue with the front door code and Tom quickly replied and fixed the problem. We will defiantly be returning and have already recommended the Anne Marie to a friends planning trips this summer. Thanks for the great weekend!

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words about our beach house! My apologies for the issue with the door code. Sometimes I transpose a number, but a new code is easy to obtain and send via text or email. Our guests like access codes much better than trying to keep up with keys at the beach. There is nothing sadder than watching someone frantically digging in the sand for a lost key that fell out of their bathing suit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for a family!

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Anne Marie so much. It comfortably slept our family of 5: our daughter in the queen room, our 2 sons in the twin room and my husband and me in the king master. The kitchen was well-appointed. It was a short walk to the beach and short drive to the Beach Club and Lazy River pool. We basically had all the amenties to ourselves since our trip was in late September. The ocean & pool water was still warm and the weather was milder than the summer. It was perfect!! One excursion not to miss if you have kids was Pleasure Pier, an amusement park that just opened in May 2012. It was about a 20 minute drive. Thank you, Tom & Bonnie, for sharing the Anne Marie with us! We cannot wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfy and relaxing

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

My husband woke up Friday am and decided he wanted to take the family to Galveston for the weekend! We emailed several places.....Anne Marie was very quick to respond and whala we were on our way with our 9yr old twins. We found the house to be very cozy and inviting. The kitchen is fully equipped, linens fresh and clean. The kids loved the golf cart! We will look forward to doing business again in the near future. Thanks for the memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

My family rented the "Anne Marie" with some of our dear friends. The arrangements worked out very well with both of our families and small children. We were minutes from the beach and the pool. The location of the home was perfect! The home was just the right size for our small group and was well equipped with everything we needed! We will certainly return next year! I highly recommend this location. The owners are very kind as well. They ensured we had everything we needed prior to the trip and even placed a personal phone call with some really fun ideas of things to do with our kids and places to eat! Top notch!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We just returned from an amazing vacation at the Anne Marie house in Pointe West. The house was perfect for our group of 5 adults and 3 small kids. There was plenty of room and it could have easily accommodated a few more people. It was perfect for two crawling babies - kid proof so we didn't have to worry about them breaking things or getting into things they shouldn't. House was VERY nice, clean, and felt like home. It was fully stocked with everything we needed. We did have to run grab extra toilet paper, paper towels, and trash bags, but that was all that we were missing. VERY short walk to beach, patio was perfect to play and hang out on. Grill was nice to have for easy dinners after playing all day. Kitchen was perfect with all everything we needed. Loved the pools nearby (short drive from house). I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and we look forward to returning soon. Thank you for opening up your lovely place to us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome Easter Weekend

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Anne Marie at Pointe West is a beautiful Galveston beach home; it’s very relaxing with all of the amenities. Can’t wait to go back and enjoy even more time on the beach. We were able to go to the Strand for dinner one night, shopping was not too far for last minute Easter supplies and the walk over the bridge was short, as described. My mother and three kids had a great time (one in college, one in high school and one in elementary) – perfect for all ages. Even Lucy (our dog) found out that the beach is fun!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

anne marie at pointe west, galveston tx

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

My family and I stayed four nights at the Anne Marie Pointe West and had a relaxing vacation. The accomodations were comfortable for 5 people, and could easily handle 6 to 8. The linens were soft and fresh. We like to cook, so the kitchen worked out great. The full size refrigerator and oven, along with all the utensils, plates, glasses, pots and pans made everything easy . Plenty of parking in the driveway for 3 cars if you use the garage. There's also a propane bbq if you want to cook outside. Very nice and quiet neighborhood very close to the beach pedestrian bridge. The beach is private and clean. Bring your own beach chairs and towels. The Anne Marie has beach toys if you have kids. The balcony is nice with a view of a small pond with fountains...pretty at night. There's not much around the pointe west area so bring your supplies and groceries. The nearest grocery store is in Jamaica beach...about 5-10 minutes up the road. It's a solid 25 minute drive to restaurants in the Galveston city area. Great place to relax away from the hustle and bustle, great place for kids. The beach club was closed at the time we were there...would have been a fun thing to do because it has a pool and other stuff...don't know what the status of that will be for the summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great for Families!

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

My husband, three boys, and I stayed Mardi Gras weekend and had an awesome experience. We typically stay at the Galvez, but decided we needed more space as they boys are getting older (and bigger!!) The Anne Marie has awesome beds and looks just how a beach house should-both inside and out. The kitchen had everything we needed. I especially appreciated the big stock pot for boiling fresh gulf seafood. A week later, the kids wanted to go back. You can't have a better compliment than that!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

BEAUTIFL HOME, CLOSE TO BEACH, QUIET, QUALITY PROPERTY.

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Really nice home like one that you would furnish yourself if you owned a beach home. Well maintained home. The pictures and the description are spot on. Would recommend this home to anyone who is in the market to rent a home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We loved our stay at "The Anne Marie"

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

My family had a wonderful time at this lovely cottage. Lots of room - the placement of the bedrooms is perfect for the "older parents" that like to get up early and have coffee sitting on the back deck - not disturbing the youngsters and their late sleep. I've never stayed in a rental where the kitchen was as well equipped. We all enjoy cooking, and there was not a thing we needed that was not there...thank you Lochrys.
The short walk to the beach was great - our 4 year old granddaughter could not wait to cross the bridge every day and head to the sand and water. The beach was so clean and the sand so white - I love this part of the Galveston beach and we will be back.
Our family ate diner each evening downstairs on the covered patio - grilling and the guys playing games in the grass. Granddaughter loved the chair swing - she asked Mimi to get her one...I'll be looking for one of those for her :) :)
Thanks again for a wonderful stay in your lovely beach home!!! We all highly recommend it!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wish I Was There Now

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

We stayed at Anne Marie on May 24-30, 2011. The cottage was every bit as charming as described. The rooms are well situated with the master on one side and the other two on the other. The walls are nice and thick so our grandson could take a nap without us having to be quiet in the rest of the house. The web pictures are accurate and give a wonderful detail of the house. It sit's on a pond and the back yard area is wonderful. It sits facing West so in the afternoon and evening the patio and back are in the shade. We grilled at night and sat and drank coffee in the morning while watching the sun come up. It was wonderful!!

The house is very well equipped with everything we needed for cooking, eating, drinking and enjoying all the property has to offer. The beds are very comfortable, bathrooms roomy, and living and dining roomy enough that we didn't trip over each other.

The cross over to the beach is a short walk down the road. We went running and walking every day both on the beach and on the paved trails around the resort. At the far end of the resort we found the cross "under" to the Bay side of the property and also walked over there on the trails. We also went to the Beach Club every day to swim and enjoy the wonderful view from the pool that looks over the Gulf of Mexico. We ate lunch pool side two days and enjoyed a cool drink on some of the afternoons.

On three occasions we went into Galveston. One day shopping at the Strand and eating at Gaido's, one day we went to Moody Gardens, and the last evening before leaving we went to see the Elissa and ate at Fisherman's Wharf. While looking out over the Harbor, dolphins provided our entertainment while we ate. A real memory to keep.

The owner of this property has it together in renting this house. It was so easy and I had all the information needed for a wonderful vacation and stay. We loved being out of the hustle and bustle of the city. I loved going to the beach with my grandson and feeling totaly safe from vehicles coming down the beach. We loved everything about this place and don't have one single complaint about anything. I would recommend this place for couples, family, and friends. In fact I have told many about it already. We are looking forward to another visit here soon. We made memories for a life time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reunion at Anne Marie

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

We selected the Anne Marie beach house for a mini-reunion of a college singing group, some of whom had not seen the others for over 40 years. The house was perfect for our extended weekend. We were able to prepare some wonderful meals together, catch up on old times in the comfortable living area, and take the opportunity for our guests from New Mexico, Wisconsin, Georgia, and Florida to enjoy the beach. The neighborhood is very quiet and very beautifully maintained. We were able to use the house as the staging area for day trips to Galveston and the Johnson Space Center. All in all, the beach house was perfect for our needs, being much nicer, much more economical, and much more intimate than a hotel. All of our guests add their hearty endorsement.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

"Great Time In Galveston"

We had the best time! Place smelled so clean & pristine! Shelling the beaches! We walked @ night & saw rise of harvest moon, planets & stars. Beach & area so safe @ night... So unlike our June trip on Seawall.... Please share our comments online w/ VRBO....

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A wonderful weekend at Ann Marie

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Ann Marie. The house was very cute, comfortable, clean and cozy. We enjoyed cooking our 2 breafasts and1 cook-out for dinner. Our 6 years old granddaughter really enjoyed the beach, the pools at the Beach Club. We were lucky that we did not experience any mosquito during our stay there, we even played an "Uno" game with our daughter at the picnic table when the babyback ribs were slowly cooked in the grill.
The pictures of the details for the house were just like how we saw them.
Thank you Mr. and Mrs. Lochry for sharing it with us. Hope we can come back again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect place!

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

We had the best time in the Anne Marie!! The property owner thought of everything! The house was so clean and provided every detail you could possibly need!! The beds were so comfortable!! My family all slept so well! Grilling on the lower patio in the evenings was a big bonus for us! The beach was so close, clean, and not crowded. The entire family enjoyed going to the beach and the beach club pool every day. It was the perfect place for us to vacation!! We hope to return yearly!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We had a wondeful time at Anne Marie. The house was in the perfect location and was everything we expected it to be. It was very relaxing and we loved the fact that the beach was just a walk away. The beach was surprisingly clean! Having access to the amenities was a plus. We will definitely be back again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

Thank you for a most wonderful time at your beach
house. We were very fortunate with the weather and
loved the wide beach and nice community. Your home
was perfect and cozy and beautifully decorated. Our
stay included many memorable moments and we hope
to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Just wanted to touch base with you following our visit to your property in Galveston.
We had a wonderful trip, great weather, with the exception of one day, we had only night time rain.
Your house is very nice and well located, with the use of the Beach Club it made for a really good situation.
I spoke with your housekeeper before we left to ask a few questions, and to also tell her that she is doing a very good job. I also want to tell you the same. The house was very clean and tidy when we arrived. Much better than some rentals I have experienced before.
Thanks again for building your house so we could rent it !!!!!!

Jane H. Snyder

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Beautiful and well appointed property. Nice appliances, fixtures, and furniture. Close proximity to the beach. Plenty of electronic gadgets. We particularly enjoyed the wifi access in order that we could stay current with our emails.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 8, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

We spent the month of March (09) at Anne Marie and had a great time. We walked the nearby beach and the trails throughout Pointe West daily. The Beach Club and bayside amenties are an easy walk or drive and are wonderful. Anne Marie is a block from the beach and backs up to a lagoon and it was so relaxing to sit on the deck and watch the egrets and cormorants fishing. The island is definitely recovering from Ike. Restaurants and shops are open and the beach itself is in good shape. Galveston and Anne Marie are a great place for a family or couple vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

The beach house was beautiful. We loved being so close to the beach. Also enjoyed the amenities at the resort. We hope to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

I was able to stay in this beautiful home right after IKE. You couldn't tell that the home was in a hurricane at all. The home is equipped with everything you would need. It was so close to the ocean and was in a great quiet neighborhood on the west end of the island. We stayed in the home in October, November and December and wouldn't have chosen anything else. It is as close to staying in your own home as you can get.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comments

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 25, 2008

We had a wonderful vacation. The house was exactly as it appeared in the photos, very modern, clean and spacious. It had everything we needed, all kitchen equipment, paper towels, laundry soap etc. We had to bring nothing but the food we needed. The house is in walking distance from the beach which was wonderful. We only used the clubhouse facilities once. They were exceptional but we prefer the beach. We would go back in a heart beat, a very pleasant holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

March Break Escape

Review submitted: March 17, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We just enjoyed a wonderful relaxing week at the Anne Marie cottage. It was perfect for our family to enjoy the amazing private beach that spread out for miles. The upscale resort was great for swimming and the hot tub along with many DVD's available to borrow for free. The best part was flying kites on the beach. The house is well furnished with all the amenities and the beds were great. I would highly recommend this house as a family destination and we will be coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 2, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We had a girl's getaway weekend to the Anne Marie at Pointe West and had a fabulous experience. There was plenty of room to sleep all of us, and we loved that it was such a close (and clean) walk to the beach! The pool was luxurious and not over-crowded, which we really enjoyed. We loved staying in your beautiful and stylish vacation getaway! We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We carried our daughter and two granddaughters (ages 8 and 6) to Galveston for 3 nights at this great "cottage". The West side of Galveston Island has really changed since we last visited it many years ago. This is a great place to take kids to enjoy the beach and the Beach Club facilities of Pointe West. We reccommend this facility -- it has everything needed for an enjoyable stay.

Don & Patsy Lee - Dallas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 8, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We had so much fun on our beach vacation at the Anne Marie. It is beautiful with all top of the line furnishings. We felt very at home. The views were amazing. We think it's the best location of all the beach houses because you have the enjoyment of the pond in the backyard and a great view of the beach. Our 6 year old and 4 year caught 3 red fish by the beach house. The pool is beautiful at the upscale beach club. We will be back again very soon.

Thanks
The Bennett's

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We had a great time at this relaxing, beachside cottage away from the busy crowds of downtown Galveston! The home is beautifully decorated and has all new furnishings and appliances. An added bonus is the up-scale beach club with its tropical, islandy feel. We'll definately be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

My wife and I had a fantastic time at this great getaway on several occassions already! We love coming back here and for good reasons. The home is beautifully decorated with all new appliances, comfortable beds - heavenly to sleep in, quick walk to a really nice beach and Beach Club... The Beach Club is 1st class and has a beautiful infinity swimming pool overlooking the ocean! Here, we really enjoy the feeling of serenity away from the crowded main drag of Galveston. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review