reviews for: listing #28605 - San Juan Del Sur/Rivas, Nicaragua Villa rental

Casa Buena Vista All inclusive ocean view villa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Finca Las Nubes
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,400 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Rocking Family Vacation!

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

This is not the Four Seasons!
If what you want is a genuine adventure, good, healthy eating and lots of stuff to do, Finca Las Nubes is the place for you. Get yourself a four-wheel drive vehicle, mud is part of the fun!

Why Nicaragua?
Cheaper than Costa Rica, a bit edgier, and so close to Miami...
We are a family of 2 adults and 2 extremely sporty, active children of 7 & 5. We are also picky with our slow food meals and the all the home cooking made by local hands was an enticing factor for us to book 10 days at Las Nubes. The price was good, considering it was all inclusive. Wireless internet connection was plus!

We stayed at Villa Hermosa, one of few villas at the farm. Views of San Juan del Sur Bay were spectacular from the infinity pool and balcony.

The many wild animals at the farm were a wonder: frogs, butterflies, insects, birds & monkeys. The pets were another source of joy. My kids loved to feed fruit in the morning to the monkey, Juanito, and the parrot, Rosita.

Farm animals, were also very much part of the experience. We explore the farm on horseback twice. Johnny, who manages the cattle, was exceptional with the children. He taught them to guide the horses and showed us all the amazing work of re-florestation going on at Finca Las Nubes. Trees are marked with their native names and the nursery houses hundreds of seedlings for planting. Milking the cows is optional.

This is not only eco-tourism--Las Nubes has a strong social message. The farm employs many people, some of them, you will never see, others are always around.

Javier, the driver/tour guide is a "nica" history lesson in human form. Ask questions and practice your Spanish! Ada Luz, his lovely wife, managed all the people working in the house. She cooked and her fruit smoothies in the morning were divine! Our house was cleaned constantly by Fernando, another incredible person, a veterinarian by profession who also makes the best potato fries in the world. All and all what made our experience at Las Nubes was its human element.

The farm has 2 gates and 24/7 guard, authorizing people in and out. We definitely felt safe, even though all doors were unlocked, even at night. To get to the houses, one must drive for 3 miles onto a hilly, non-asphalt road, making access difficult.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Villa/People

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

We just returned from this place, and what a fantastic experience!! There were 8 of us celebrating our family Christmas- and our family grew as we got to know the people at Finca Las Nubes. Everyone was so kind-hearted, loving, and helpful. It seemed we only had to think about something and it was done! Food was outstanding- with many typical Nicaraguan foods to try and enjoy. Javier- I can't say enough about that man- heart of gold and strength of a lion. Adaluz- so warm, loving, and always smiling and willing to share herself and her country with us. Julio and Xiomara worked all the time to make our stay pleasant. Can't wait to return- thanks to all.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous place, people, and projects!

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

Combining luxury with ecology, Finca las Nubes offers the rare balance of beauty, relaxation, and cultural immersion. With transportation provided, comfortable lodging, fine organic meals, and poolside ambiance, we were free to enjoy the breathtaking views and beautiful sunsets from the hilltop overlooking San Juan del Sur Bay. Excursions to the quaint fishing village, local surf spots, and golf course were surpassed only by walks around the farm with it’s gardens, forests, and animal life. The staff was friendly and warm, allowing us to try out our limited Spanish, while serving us graciously. We recommend this vacation spot highly….it is both enjoyable and educational.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 23, 2009

Our great adventure started at the airport with Marcelino greeting us with a smile. After managing to get the luggage of all 6 of us either in or on top of the car, we started on the long 2 hr. drive to the farm. Once inside the farm gate, Marcelino stopped the car and it was with awe and excitement that we looked at the fantastic sweeping view of San Juan Del Sur from a high point in the road. Marcelino drove us everywhere we wanted, suggested several places and gave us an insight that only a local could. Juan Pablo and Julio took excellent care of us at the house with a grace and warmth that made us feel right at home. Adaluz cooked meals that a five star restaurant would serve, and no two meals were the same!! Several times Chris would show up with little Mia in his arms to make sure that we had everything we wanted or needed. Each time we went out sight seeing,we couldn't wait to get home to Case Buena Vista.... we soon learned that was our paradise. In my 'mind's eye' I can still see the town stretching below us as I either laid in the hammock or on a floaty in the infinity pool. Amazing how many stars there were at night, even with the full moon. The Howler monkeys entertained us with their agility to swing from tree to tree and seeing the sloth on the ground was phenomenal!! We even got pictures of Becky and Suzanne petting it. All the people we met on the farm...from 'colonel Jose' the colorful, whistle blowing guard at the gate; the guys who took us on a horse back trip explaining the different fruit trees in limited English; Marcelino who never tired of answering our many questions; Julio and Juan Pablo who met our every need with a smile and a "no problem'; and dear Adaluz who watched over us..made our stay one that will be in our hearts and minds forever. Hopefully we will manage to come back and stay with our friends at Finca Las Nubas. Thank you for enriching our lives.

Owners response: It was a pleasure to serve you, We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we welcome you back anytime.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

Combining luxury with ecology, Finca las Nubes offered us the rare balance of beauty, relaxation, and cultural immersion. With transportation provided, comfortable lodging, fine organic meals, and poolside ambiance, we were free to enjoy the breathtaking views and beautiful sunsets from the hilltop overlooking San Juan del Sur Bay. Excursions to the quaint fishing village, local surf spots, and golf course were surpassed only by walks around the farm with it’s gardens, forests, and animal life. The staff was friendly and warm, allowing us to try out our limited Spanish, while serving us graciously. We recommend this vacation spot highly….it is both enjoyable and educational. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 31, 2008   Date of arrival: March 31, 2008

We'd like to thank you, Chris, your beautiful daughter, Natalie, and your wonderful staff (kind, capable and loving Adaluz and her
family; Lydia; Nubia and all the rest) for an absolutely amazing experience. Traveling with four children, ages eight through sixteen,
is usually challenging. It's hard to take a vacation where everyone will be happy and satisfied. Well, we found the perfect place.
From the time we stepped off the plane, we felt comfortable, safe, and excited to be there. Though I had gone to your website,
fincalasnubes and seen the stunning pictures, I was unprepared for the beauty of the sunset that first day. The pictures give a
glimpse of what is in store, but you don't hear the howling of the monkeys, the chirping of the geckos, the singing of the birds, or
the happy bantering of those who serve you in the kitchen as they prepare your delicious, healthy meals. It's also hard to put into
words the peaceful stillness experienced when you first wake up and greet another beautiful day, the smell of fresh coffee beckoning
you to lazily awaken. My only regret is that we didn't arrange for the horseback tour of your property sooner, to appreciate the
beauty of what you have created. Pablo and his assistant were more than helpful for us novice horseback riders, pointing out the
wildlife and plants on your property and making sure we enjoyed and saw the many aspects of your farm. Ruth educated us on the
organic plants grown on the property which we were fortunate to eat at every meal, and it was interesting visiting the wood shop and
seeing your skilled carpenters at work creating the beautiful and exquisite furnishings for the villas.

We were so relaxed and content lying by the pool, I'm glad you encouraged us to take daily outings. The nearby beaches to both the
south and the north were awesome. Next time we'll definitely learn how to surf in the warm waters, but this time the kids enjoyed
boogie boarding and snorkeling. The Flying Frog Canopy tour was both terrifying and exhilarating. With four kids, it's hard to afford
the recreational activities offered at most vacation destinations, here we were able to do it all!

We can't thank you enough for your hospitality and the kindness of your staff.

With great love and respect for all you do,
The Bells

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 19, 2008   Date of arrival: March 19, 2008

Not knowing exactly what to expect I arrived somewhat pensive at Managua Airport. After clearing customs I grabbed my bags and walked out the door to be immediately greeted by one of the smiling faces that was part of the wonderful group of people that would look after me for the duration of my stay. It only got better from thereon in. Arriving at Las Nubes I was awestruck by the breathtaking view that greeted me when we reached the top of the mountain, making a note to myself that I would come back to that very spot frequently to observe the sunsets. It turns out however, that that was completely unnecessary as I was able to enjoy the sunsets directly from my room, or at the side of the pool while sipping a delicious margherita after another fantastic meal that would be cooked right in front of me with fresh organic vegetables from the gardens, fresh fish from the ocean and deliciously sweet and juicy fruit fresh off a tree.
While I would have been content to just stay on the farm to enjoy the amazing food, the view and horseback rides where you could watch the monkeys swinging from the trees, a sloth lazing in the sun, geckos chirping away and picking a fresh mandarine on the way or watch the carpenters apply their craftsmanship in the woodshop to create all the beautiful furniture that was in all the houses, while enjoying the company of some of the most friendly, kind and generous people I have ever met, I also ventured out under the guidance of my gracious hosts to discover some of the most stunning and versatile landscapes I have ever experienced. From the beautiful beaches in the south to historical Granada to the quaint yet breathtaking mountain villages of the north, shrouded in mist and mystery I was in for a fantastic surprise every morning that I woke up to a new day. My pensiveness had vanished knowing that anything and everything would be looked after immediately. My visit came to an end far too soon, but I will be sure to return promptly to this beautiful farm with its superb service and its wonderful people in a country that is rich with adventure and splendor.
Ruth Schmidt, Toronto Canada

Owners response: You are more than welcome Ruth and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2008   Date of arrival: March 16, 2008

Finca Las Nubes was a wonderful experience for our entire family. We traveled with two young girls, ages 4 and 7, and the staff was more than accommodating and loving to the girls. We all felt very safe and had a peaceful, relaxing week.The food was delicious, from the lasagna to the intricately prepared fish kabobs and chocolate torte. Thanks to Ada Luz's touch, we were very well-fed.We also wanted to thank Javier for driving us all over the country and city and making recommendations for us to see. We felt very safe in his care and very welcomed by the staff.It's not only the country, it’s the people who give those warm feelings to leave with.Thank you,Eric and Jill Miller

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 16, 2008   Date of arrival: March 16, 2008

Thank you, Adaluz for your wonderful cooking it made us feel strong and healthy. You made us feel very welcome. Javier, you are a great man, you made us feel very safe, we would have been lost without you. Thank you, Maria and Juan for keeping everything in order.How can we go home? We are so spoiled now. The meals were exceptionally good, and the hospitality wonderful. Adaluz made extra effort to create special meals for Clint’s diet.Minus a few miscommunications, Javier is such an easy going senor to spend the day with, patient and humorous.Jose and Maria Elainna were also great. Too bad we couldn’t speak more Spanish to get to know everyone better. Next time!Our time in the clouds was truly heaven and all the staff our guardian angles. It was a pleasure to spend this short time with all of you here on the farm in the clouds.Chris, keep the dream alive!Jen & Clint Tarala

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review