reviews for: listing #28627 - Jerome, Arizona House rental

Historic Jerome Getaway - The Kelly House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

An Arizona treasure.

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 4, 2014

One of the best stays of our many trips. This had everything from a spotless kitchen and bed rooms to a small backyard. I have lived in Arizona for 52 years and never seen a better view from the balcony. We will be back. A+ Jeff and Kelly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond expectations!

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2014

My friends and I were floored upon our arrival at the Kelly House. The owners are beyond nice and accommodating. The house is beautiful and has everything you could ever need. All you have to bring is a toothbrush and clothes and everything else is there for you. I will definitely go back and I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a fantastic place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4 Sister get-away

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

Wonderful time with my three sisters. House was great, photos do not do it justice. Not a large place but a perfect place. Outside garden with great artwork and places to sit outside. you will love the balcony and it's view is absolutely beautiful.. Close to the shops and restaurants. Would definitely return. Thank you, Donna, for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous getaway for my family!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

This was a wonderful property, so much better than the pictures can even tell. I loved the views, and the location was ideal. We could walk to everything. I am already planning my next vacation in The Kelly House!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love the new chairs and pots & pans!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

We stay here as often as we can and consider the Kelly House our home away from home!
We love the new chairs in the living room. The new pots & pans are great too!
I made a loaf of bread while I watched the sun rise, my idea of a relaxing vacation. :)
I can't say enough how much we enjoy being in Jerome at the Kelly House.
See You again soon!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We absolutely love out repeat visitors like you folks.
Glad you like the changes we have made and that you feel so at home. This is our goal! Looking forward to your next trip to Jerome!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Terrific Time ~ Terrific Apartment

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

This apartment is the best! The view is spectacular and the layout allows for everyone to have enough space. The side yard ismperfect if you have a pet. You could not ask for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our visitor's happen to be some of the nicest people in the world. These repeat guests have not only made The Kelly House their home away from home but also have become a part of the quirky and super cool town of Jerome. The house is actually better after this visit as we added some amenities as requested. Cushy leather recliners for watching TV, new pots and pans, kitchen gadgets and more.
See you next year, my Georgia friends!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Jerome. Very comfortable and fun, great views!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic place for fun or relaxation

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and absolutely love it. The view is fantastic from the front porch, the yard is good if you bring your pup, and the kitchen is well stocked with everything you could ever need. I can't praise this house enough. Best place ever!

Owners response: Thanks for coming back, Mary. We always welcome well-behaved pups and their people!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The BEST vacation EVER!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

There are not enough nice things to say about the Kelly House or Donna and Ken. Beautiful house stocked with everything you can think of! Love the yard!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying at The Kelly House. We appreciated your feedback on our new additions to the house (luggage racks and a new reading light in the living room).
We are always trying to make your experience in Jerome something really memorable.
Please come visit again.
Donna and Ken

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exquisite apartment

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The Kelly House is right on Main Street in Jerome, so all the charms of this funny little town are readily available -- Flatiron Breakfast, Quince lunch, Grapes dinner, art just below as well as all around. The Mogollon Rim view and the sunrise will stun you -- the front picture window faces the Verde Valley, the Mogollon Rim, and even the San Francisco peaks, and everything is photographable from the front balcony.

Donna and Ken are welcoming, serious about making sure everything is just right, and the apartment is beautiful. Tile bath with great tub and shower, a kitchen with everything you can imagine needing, the beds are firm and comfy -- we can't speak too highly of the place. It was immaculate, of course, and had all kinds of little extras, like aspirin and a new toothbrush, just in case we forgot ours.

The furnishings are both comfortable and easy to live with -- it's a calm apartment, with black and white enlarged photographs being the primary wall decor. Both bedrooms have doors to the back patio, so in warm weather, coffee in the back could be an additional benefit. The art along the side yard is delightful.

The Wifi works beautifully and we used it a lot; the TV is nice and big and the couches and chairs good for TV watching. The gardens are fun and the two patios, along with the front balcony provide an ever-changing view of the town, the Verde Valley, and the Rim. We learned to climb the back steps and wander around hidden areas of the town, above the main street, up into the back areas that are so much fun to explore.

We wanted to return in March of next year, but another couple, who had had the place last year but were slow to make reservations this year, beat us out. Donna is trying to entice us to come in April or May, when the trumpet vine that covers the back wall will be in bloom.

We would recommend this apartment to anyone, whether for a couple of nights or for a month.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: How lucky we are to have such wonderful guests stay at The Kelly House. This time, a writer and a photographer who truly did justice to our little town and our special home. It is very rewarding to have our visitors love everything as much as we do! Thanks for coming and please return soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

This place is just beautiful. Everything you could want,. The town of Jerome is interesting and fun. Historical if you like mining museums and shops. I had a great time and loved it there. Would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderment!!!

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

My husband and I have been finding some really great places to stay on Homeaway, This place in Jerome Topped them all, we had such a great time here.
Donna and Ken have such a wonderful place, super clean, well appointed, they seem to have thought of everything you might need. The Apartment was so like being home only better. The Town of Jerome is wonderful. Great people, great food and that view is beyond wonderful.
I can not wait till we are able to visit again, Thanks Donna and Ken, It was great to meet you, I look forward to our next visit!!!
Sandee

Owners response: Sandee, you are so kind. We look forward to seeing you in Jerome again. We are always pleased when nice people discover our little gem of a town.
Donna and Ken

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Never Disapppointed

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Gary and I have been coming to Jerome and the Kelly House for 6 years. We are never disappointed. Everything you need is here. When flying from the East coast to Arizona, it is especially important to have an apartment that is well stocked and pet-friendly (side yard is especially nice).

We enjoy the fact that we can park our car and walk to shops and restaurants. We have the option each day of walking to everything we want or driving into Sedona, Cottonwood, Clarkdale, Cornville, Prescott, or Flagstaff. Jerome is the ideal location.

Jerome is an artistic, ghost town. We enjoy the Art Walk (first Saturday of each month) and GHOST WALK (middle weekend of October). Fall of 2011, we experienced the best Halloween EVER! You've never seen such creative costumes! The "locals" are interesting, well-educated, artsy people. Talent in Jerome is unlimited!

Your visit to Jerome and the Kelly House will not be disappointing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the perks of this business is making new friends. It is a delight to have you stay at The Kelly House. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My New Favorite

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

Wow, what a great time we had in Jerome! The Kelly house was everything we hoped for and more. Coming from a grey and gloomy city we were in love with the spectacular view from the living area. The space is decorated tastefully with the added pleasure of original art. I can't praise this property enough. The apartment was super clean, well maintained and conveniently located within walking distance to shopping and dinning. Amenities like soaps, lotions and abundant fluffy towels were included in the rental. Donna and Ken were super helpful hosts. We loved our visit and hope to find time to return.

Thanks again,
Chris and Julie

Owners response: Thanks Julie and Chris for the kind words. We hope to see you again in Jerome.
All the best,
Donna and Ken

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful! Lovely! FUN!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

This place is gorgeous! It's clean and cozy and decorated adorable! We cooked dinners, drank wine on the wrap around front porch while watching an amazing thunderstorm over the low desert. We traveled to all the haunted spots in Jerome, bought great jewelry. The bars were fun and had great live music and each place we had had wonderful food. (Haunted Hamburger and Flat Iron Grill). But our favorite part of the trip was actually just hanging out at the house. We had two couples and a dog and had plenty of room. It really was wonderful and I definitely would love to go back soon but it's booked!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting Jerome and staying at The Kelly House. You are our perfect guests...people who love the town and like feeling a part of things by 'hanging' at the house and venturing out for adventures.
Please come again. Lots of dates open in the winter and spring.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

STAY HERE!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a girls AZ trip - AWESOME! Donna was so pleasant and did everything she said she would. Jerome is a neat little town with the friendliest locals. The house was exactly as described, spotless, beautifully decorated. It matched the whole town. There isn't a bad place in town to eat - everywhere was delicious. We did the ghost tour - which was interesting and fun (a little cheesy, but very fun). The only thing wrong - we didn't stay long enough to thoroughly enjoy it or Jerome! You cannot go wrong with this house or the homeowner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You 'girls' were a delight. I am so glad you had a great time and look forward to your return.
All the best,
Donna

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sorry to leave Jerome

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We stayed almost 2 months in Jerome and we grew to love this quirky town with it's spectacular views.The house was extremely well designed and everything was provided. It is better than the pictures! Views from the living room, kitchen, and one of the bedrooms! It was extremely clean and comfortable inside and out with 3 different outdoor areas for use depending on the time of day and temperature.
Donna and Ken the hosts are very generous and helpful. A fantastic gourmet general store "Twin Star" is close by and there are artists and art everywhere...
with fantastic music at Quince, Mile High Restaurant...very good food,wonderful shops, galleries and artist studios
We definitely plan to return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sherry and Graham,
People are asking when you are coming back! Hope to see you again soon.
Donna

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best views in Jerome, the Vertical City.

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

Breathtaking views of Verde Valley, Red Rocks of Sedona, and even the San Francisco Peaks 60 miles away. Morning coffee watching the sunrise from the front porch is heavenly. We're heading back for two months in 2011 after 1 1/2 months in 2010.

Recently remodeled, with first-class kitchen, roomy living/dining area 2 nice bedrooms each with private entrance, roomy, up-to-date bathroom, wraparound porch and private patio. Plenty of room for 2 couples.

Donna and Ken, the owners, are extremely hospitable and cooperative.

Convenient to Cottonwood (15 min.) for shopping (only one small grocery in Jerome) and only 35 min. to Sedona. If you don't want to cook, there's a great breakfast stop a few steps up Main St., and for other meals, a good choice in Jerome and even more in Clarkdale (10 min.) and Cottonwood.

Quite a few steps up to entrance, so not for anyone with respiratory, heart or mobility problems.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

We were there over Thanksgiving, and loved the house. It was very quiet, private, had a great yard, was very clean, cozy and comfortable. The beds were extrememly comfortable too. It is such a charming house. Also it has a great covered patio, with the best view in town. A very nice yard, with table, sun umbrella, and chairs. And your own parking place. Very good restaurants in town, everything is in walking distance, nice shops, a bakery. It beat staying in a hotel anyday. Great art work hanging on the walls too. Very friendly neighbors. A huge picture window in the living room with a wonderful view. It is much nicer than the pictures show. Never saw one bug, inside or outside. It was an awesome place to stay and we will be coming back for sure, when the weather warms up a bit. The owners are very nice too. Claudia Tempe, Az

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You will not find a better home or place to stay.

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

My husband and I travel full time around the country. We have stayed in many vacation homes. This by far has been our favorite. We stayed for two months and wish we could have stayed longer.
The house, located above the best art gallery in Jerome is absolutely perfect. The decor is gorgeous and well thought out. It feels as though you are living inside an art gallery when you stay above the 527 gallery! Part of the yard is an amazing sculpture garden, which became one of our favorite things about staying here.
The wrap around porch was by far one of the best features of the house, we sat out every night sipping tea and watching the sunset over the red rocks of Sedona. If we wanted to stay in to watch the sunset, we were fortunate - there is a giant picture window in the living room with a perfect view!
And of course - the town of Jerome! It is our favorite US city. Filled with art, amazing architecture and friendly neighbors we fell in love with the town. In this small town of 400 people we were never with out something to do and something to see. There are lots of great places to eat, hang out and of course shop. And if for some reason you run out of things to do, Prescott, Sedona and more are a close drive. If you are thinking about vacationing in Sedona, I would definitely suggest choosing to stay in Jerome and driving to Sedona, you will not regret it!
I can't say enough good about this house and the town of Jerome. For a vacation or extended stay it is the perfect spot for anyone wanting to explore the greater Sedona area!
I know you will enjoy it as much as we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

October visit to Historic Jerome Getaway

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

Wonderful location. Very convenient to Sedona and Red Rocks without being overpriced. Great view from the front porch. Apartment was very clean, with lots of amenities in the kitchen. Owner was very friendly and accommodating. Her art gallery below the apartment was fun as well. Only down-side: ate (or tried to) at The Asylum, which had been highly recommended to us. Granted, it was near Halloween and they were having a Halloween celebration, but the host was very rude and we waited so long to order, then to get our food, that we left before it came. It was appropriate that he wore a devil costume; he must have been in character. Would recommend the rental to anyone that can negotiate steps; will stay there again if we have the chance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Generally, The Asylum has very good service and is a popular restaurant. I have forwarded this review to the owner who hopes that the guest will give them another chance. Jerome has 8 other restaurants, all with excellent food so don't let this deter you from expecting a wonderful dining experience in Jerome.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Leisure Palace

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

Had a great time, The robes, the tea, the view from the porch, and the price was great. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review