reviews for: listing #2863 - Port Aransas, Texas Condo rental

Beachfront, Great Ocean Views, Sleeps 12, 3Bd/2Ba!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Island Retreat
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $335 /nt
    $795 - $2,195 /wk
    $1,750 - $1,750 /mth

sort by:

Amazing unobstructed gulf view

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Great open floor plan! Three bedrooms off the common areas provide enough privacy for 3 couples. Jane very accommodating for spur of the moment travelers! We booked enroute to Port Aransas! Much appreciated break!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surf & Sun fun

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

This was a great, clean, comfortable place to stay with a great view of the gulf!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review. We hope you return! Thank you, Jane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

4generations

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

The condo was perfect for a 4 generation, ages 4-75, family trip. We had lots of space, comfortable beds and everything in good working order. The little ones found a chest full of beach toys on the balcony and had great fun. There was good access to the beach and a rinse shower at the end of the walkway. The pool, playground and laundry area were very convenient to the condo and we used all three.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can be our guests again.

Thank you, Jane

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just the Girls!!!

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Our group of seven women friends just spent a fabulous getaway at this condo. We loved everything about it. We had so much fun in Port Aransas and really think it's a great location with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. And the beach is great! This condo had everything you could possibly want and was very clean, very fun themed bedrooms, had plenty of beds, and a fantastic view of the beach and most importantly, the sunrises. We hope to visit again! Thank you Jane!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Port Aransas and our condo. We look forward to having you again! Thank you, Jane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice, Great View, Great Location, Clean!!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

I absolutely loved the beach front condo it was a short five minute walk to the beach. I just loved falling asleep to sound of the waves crashing against the beach and seeing the beautiful sunrises. The condo was well maintained and really clean. Everything was in a nice order and design that is really helpful for tourists are visitng Port Aransas for the first time. We will be back, Jane!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Condo and Location but dirty.

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Bathrooms, bed linens and refrigerator were clean. Master bedspread needs refreshing. We had to mop our own floor and under the beds were very very dirty. The furniture was grungy and the trash can had fish stink in it. After we dealt with those concerns ourselves (ignoring under the beds), the location was very nice. The pool was lovely, and we enjoyed our stay. A good bargain, but I don't think the cleaning service is up to the task.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We are so very, very sorry to hear that the cleanliness of our condo was definitely not up to our standards. We were surprised to receive this review as we had received your email last week telling us how much you were enjoying the view of the ocean from our condo. We wish we had known about the items you wrote about in your review while you were there, because we would have had them taken care of while you were there asap. While we are happy to know that the bathrooms, linens and refrigerator were clean, it is not acceptable for other areas to be less than clean. Port Aransas is known as a great fishing destination and our previous guests must have had some luck fishing and spilled some fish in the trash can beyond the liner. We strive to have all of our guests enjoy their stay and want to come back again and again. We have spoken with our cleaning service and they had someone new filling in and they will be providing her additional training and overseeing her work more closely. Our couch is less than 9 months old so I am not sure how it can be grungy and the master bed comforter is a Tommy Bahama comforter that is less than a year old. The only thing we can think of is that the Port Aranasas area has some of the highest salt content air in the USA, in fact, so much that it used as an area for testing automobiles ability to withstand corrosive environments. The salt comes in with the air and it will settle on the floor, furniture and everything else. The salt combined with the water it attracts can make things feel sandy when they are just really salty. If you noticed how your car got filmy in just one night, it is the same thing. The salt air settles on the surfaces in the condo and creates a layer of salt on everything that is exposed to the air. Once again, we are very sorry and had we known about these things while you there, we would have had them rectified asap. We are glad you enjoyed our location, the pool and your stay. We do hope that you stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Port Aransas Condo

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Condo was wonderful! We had two families staying 4 adults and 4 kids ages 9, 9, 12, 13. Condo was clean and very well kept. Back balcony was large with a wonderful view over looking the gulf. There was sand toys and boogie boards to use which was great. Kitchen was big enough to cook for the 8 of us the only thing it was lacking was steak knives and other small knives. Pool was great with it right across from the parking lot and the over all look of the Condo complex was beautiful. Would recommend this condo to anyone. Jane was very easy to work with. Thanks so much for letting us use your condo to make memories of a lifetime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Family get away

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

Owner very helpful. Beds very comfortable. Kitchen very well stocked with all appliances and utensils to cook anything. Plenty of dishes. Plenty of hot water and a strong water flow in the bathroom showers. I loved the location - good view, close to laundry room and the swimming pool (which we used every evening). i also loved the hosing down and rinsing off station, at the end of the walkway coming from the beach! great A/C. thank you sincerely.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Allred vacation

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

What a great place. Clean, well stocked, all the amenities . . . and more. Couldn't have asked for a better location or setup. We certainly will be returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as return guests. Thank you, Jane

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Outstanding vacation

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a whole week and I must say that we didn't want to leave. The location was perfect. Right across the parking lot from the pool and the wash room. The boardwalk to the beach was at the end of this building. Staff was very friendly. Accomodations were great.

The only negative is that the stove top burners dont work very well. Only 2 get really hot. The freezer doesn't freeze very well at all so buy lots ice. We bought ice cream and it was soooo soft we couldn't eat it. All these things are easily remidied though.

The owner was great to work with and we will probably stay here again. Thanks Jane, it was wonderful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We just learned about the issues with the stove and refrigerator and we are in the process of ordering new stainless steel ones. We do hope you come back and try out the new stove and refrigerator. Thanks again and may your great beach memories last a lifetime.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

2012 Ya Ya trip

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

What a great time we all had. The condo was wonderful. Had a great view and short walk to the beach. Everything was in good working condition and was very clean. Only one suggestion the two back bedrooms do not have ceiling fans so take a fan with you for extra comfort. I will for sure suggest this condo to others for a great place to stay in Port "A".

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: We are so very happy that you had a great time and enjoyed our condo. There are fans in the closets in the bedrooms so need to bring your own unless you want extra ones.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great beach condo

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Everything was fantastic. The rooms were huge and the house had plenty of space. The pools were great and huge. The boardwalk was not long to the beach and it was very close to town. Jane made the arrangements very easy and convenient.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Would rent again- thanks!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

This condo is not only a great location for the beach, but also a great location within the complex. Very close to boardwalk and across the lot from the pool! Second floor gives a nice view of the ocean. Morning sunrise is beautiful, and then afternoon shade to enjoy the balcony! Ours was a family vacation with ages ranging from 52yrs to 1 yr and everyone enjoyed themselves. I would recommend it to anyone of any age, but especially families with children- very family friendly. Plenty of sleeping room for at least 10 people, but you would want to be comfortable with sharing space with each other! The other families we met at the complex were very friendly and respectful, and most were "repeaters" who agreed that Island Retreat was the place to keep coming back to!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Could Expect Nothing Better

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Simply Fantastic in all regard; Highly recommend ; Great Family Fun; Excellent acomodations & ammenities

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Island Retreat # 55664

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

Great Condo !! Close to Beach, Pool & Laundry, we took our 3 Granddaughters ages 4 , 4 & 6, also along for the Fun was our Daughter, her Boyfriend & our Son. Everyone had plenty of room.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

Wonderful condo to stay in! We had a great time and the views from this condo are awesome! We could see the kids at the pool from the front and enjoy the view of the ocean from the very large balcony in the back. This condo is awesome! If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay in Port A, you MUST stay here! We will be going back. Thanks Jane, we had a blast!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 26, 2009   Date of arrival: March 26, 2009

I want to take a minute to thank you for your flexibility and for allowing us to book your condo in Port A. We had a wonderful trip and enjoyed your condo a great deal. It is a beautiful and one of the best units we have every stayed in.

I just want you to know how much we enjoyed our stay and working with you. You have a remarkable rental unit and we can't wait to stay there again very soon.

Kurt
Austin, TX

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 10, 2007   Date of arrival: October 10, 2007

Great place to stay. We had plenty of room and the condo had every little kitchen thing you could think of. The office staff was very nice also. We will rent here again. Thanks for a great escape!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 13, 2007   Date of arrival: February 13, 2007

Me and my little girl really enjoyed this place. i love that word "enjoy" don't you! I've stayed in a bunch of different condos here in PortA and yours is in the top 5!

From the wireless to the master balcony (love the new big sliding glass doors for optimal view too!) to the comfy
king bed to the tasteful furniture to the peace and quiet, we felt right at home (only with the sound of waves
and an ocean view!)

We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2006   Date of arrival: July 18, 2006

Lovely condo, it was roomy and had beautiful views of the ocean from the living area and master bedroom. We had a great time and would definately like to stay again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 8, 2006   Date of arrival: May 8, 2006

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this Port Aransas condo. Beautiful views of the ocean and dunes, easy access to a well maintained beach and a
kitchen stocked with every utensil we needed made this a great rental. We enjoyed the combination of a sliding glass door and a standard door to the balcony which allowed us to open up the living room to the ocean breeze and sounds when we wanted and yet have the easier access to the balcony through the standard door when wanted that.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2005   Date of arrival: June 16, 2005

Our family had a fabulous vacation at this condominium. It was large, tastefully decorated, and the kitchen was truly fully stocked. Friendly housekeeping staff arrived each morning with fresh towels and supplies. When a minor problem prompted a call to maintenance a serviceman arrived within minutes. The location of this unit was ideal for our small children as the pool, boardwalk to the beach, and laundry are very nearby but far enough to not have many safety concerns. We spent most of our time on the balcony enjoying the sound of the surf and the view that was as the owner described, completely unobstructed in either direction. The sand dunes between the unit and the beach are tall enough to hide from view the people out on the beach providing tranquil scene. We took an evening dolphin watch cruise that was relaxing, shopped in surf stores and unique gift shops, and had some great meals. (Virginia's at the Wharf, and Spaghetti and Seafood Works were good.) We feasted at home on fresh shrimp and catch of the day purchased at the local fish markets. Taking our car across the bay on the ferry was a fun activity as well. My husband enjoyed his trip out deep sea fishing. We would definately recommend this unit to anyone wanting to visit the Texas Gulf and just relax.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review