reviews for: listing #28653 - Manhattan, New York Studio rental

Theatre District! Times Square!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Times Square
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $325 /nt
    $1,155 - $2,275 /wk
    $3,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Wow! You Won't Be Disappointed

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 4, 2009

My husband, son and I stayed in Tamara's apartment. This was our 5th trip to the city, but our first staying in an apartment, and now I will never go back to a hotel again. The apartment was absolutely spotless when we arrived, and was just as described and viewed in the photos. The building was lovely and the front desk staff were always friendly and most helpful. I will certainly contact Tamara again for our next visit to New York City. Thanks for all your help with the arrangements. You made the transaction seamless and provided a wealth of local information.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 46 / 50

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

The condo was perfect! Everything was just lovely and just as described. Clean, comfortable and perfect for a get-away with the family. Location was perfect - walking distance to everything! Thank you so much – we will definitely be contacting you again next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Attention to Details

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

The apartment was very clean, no clutter, well maintained. quiet, nice view, and very convenient for our needs. It is exactly as others have said and as advertised. Tamara was great to work with: the paper work is clear, she is available to help, and resolves any question quickly. I am a cautious renter, this experience and property far exceeded my expectations.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Woo Hoo! Thank you for this positive review Karen! I read every single review in order make sure that my clients are happy. I truly appreciate your kind words. Please keep my info for future visits. Have a blessed day!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tamara delivered excellent service!

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed in two of Tamara's apartments during our trip to NYC in October 2013 and both apartments were spotless and Tamara responded quickly to any of our requests. She was perfect. I use her services again without any doubt.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy that you were comfortable. Please look me up again when you visit Manhattan. Have a great day!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Apartment & Service

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

My husband, young son (7 years old) and I stayed in Tamara's apartment and it exceeded every one of our expectations. It was larger than any hotel room, comfortably decorated and thoughtfully stocked. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is family friendly and ideally located. We walked to the subway, which became our sole means of transportation for the entire trip. We never needed a cab. We went EVERYWHERE--The Empire State Building, The World Trade Center Memorial, Grand Central Terminal, Times Square, Broadway, Central Park, etc., etc.--and we were never more than a 15 or 20 min. subway ride back to the apartment.

The apartment's location was of vital importance to us because we were visiting NY to see a specialist concerning our son's life threatening multiple food allergies. We do not eat in restaurants with our son because he might consume food that could cause him to stop breathing. We have to prepare all of his food and that isn't a simple thing to accomplish when you are away from home. We were worried the logistics of seeing the doctor multiple times and getting around the city to see all of the important landmarks would be impossible to manage if we had to keep returning to the apartment for every meal, but Tamara's apartment 9A fit our needs perfectly. We could go back and forth quickly and easily making this one of the most enjoyable trips we've had in the six years since our son was diagnosed.

Tamara herself was a joy to work with. She responded quickly to emails and answered the phone both times I called her with questions. We have to return to NY for a follow up visit to the doctor in six months and we will most defiantly be staying in one of Tamara's apartments.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy that you and your family were comfortable. I really enjoyed reading your review. I'll be here in 6 months when you need me. Thank you so much for your kind words. Have a great day!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Studio

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

WOW, WOW, AND WOW! We only rent from VRBO and another vacation rental that did not disappoint.
Not only was this studio very clean but it was also very well-maintained. Located in a great area and not that far from the Subway, I will never have to think twice about staying here again.
I loved the location of where the studio is located, quite stree,t but still close to all the action. A BIG Thank you to Tamara Knight who answered my call at 6:00 a.m.....now that's GREAT Customer Service!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. Customer Service is a priority. Please look me up again during your next visit. You were a joy to work with. Thank you again for such a kind review.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

In a word..."PERFECT"!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Hi Tamara. I just returned from my trip to NY and NJ. I just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed the apartment. The location was perfect so we walked to many of the venues and restaurants. I would definitely recommend you again in the future. I may contact you again next year since my sister couldn't make it this trip and she would love to go. Thanks again for the charming accommodations!

Sincerely yours,

Penny

Owners response: Hi Penny! I am so glad that you were comfortable. Please keep my info for future visits. I will personally make sure that you have a clean & comfortable place to stay in Manhattan! You were an absolute delight to work with. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Convenient, clean, cozy, comfortable

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for four great days. Tamara was very accommodating and the reviews about 16D are correct. It is clean and comfortable and easy to relax in after a long day exploring the city. Bed and sleep sofa were great, large and fluffy bath towels. Easy walk to Restaurant Row, Central Park, Times Square and subway. La Bergamote downstairs is fantastic and numerous markets are close by - we particularly liked the Amish Market for the outstanding selection. We will definitely look at availability of this unit or Tamara's other properties for our next visit.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your lovely review. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Texas Traveler

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

My grandson and I took a recent trip to New York. Tamara's apartment couldn't have been any better. We walked up Broadway from Penn Station to 52nd. Check in was smooth and staff were all very friendly. The apartment is exactly as pictured on Homeaway. Everything is furnished with the exception of personal items such as shampoo and bath soap.The beds were comfortable, the view was great and we were in walking distance to little grocers, good pizza, Chinese (Joy's) and my grandson couldn't go a day without a Dunkin Donut. Walking to every point of interest was very doable. Check out the Siegfield Theater if you get a chance and the weekend flea market in Hell's Kitchen. Thanks Tamara for sharing your lovely place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exceptional Value and Convenient location

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

We are fellow VRBO owners and travel often so we are very discerning and picky about our accommodations. I lived and worked in NYC for several years in the 90's so have stayed in many different accommodations in the city since when I visit which is often. This apartment offers exceptional value for the money and the service from the owners is outstanding. It is a clean, new bldg. and offers panoramic views from the rooftop garden (it was cold in Dec but still snapped a few great pics!). You can walk 10 min and be right in the heart of times square, but retreat to this quiet apt afterwards. Upscale grocery located just 2 blocks way for all you might need. Doorman (woman actually) was very friendly. The entire booking process was turnkey and responses were quick to any questions I had. A few things to note - if you have a car, parking is conveniently located practically underneath the building and the apt location is an easy on/off the westside hwy which offers fantastic access to HPN airport.I avoid JFK an LGA at all costs! I recommend getting a good deal for 24 parking on internet just prior. You really can't go wrong with this place. It's small but that is NY and you will get that anywhere. I recommended new pillows and the owner already responded that she is looking into this. We will definitely be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect Everything

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here over New Years week and were pleased with everything. The location is easy to get to from either Newark of LaGuardia. The apartment was clean and definetely more spacious then any NY hotel making it feel like a home away from home. The building was very clean with friendly front desk staff to greet you 24 hours a day. We were even surprised to find we had a view of the Bay and not just looking into another builidng. The location was in perfect walking distance to everything you want to see when you are visiting the city.
Both Tamara and Aunt Edie were friendly and professional. Any question asked was immediately responded to. If you are planning a vacation in the NY area, I without hesitation recommend you contact Tamara.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I humbly thank you for this review. It means more to me than anything. It's easy for anyone to to write and complain about an experience but to know that I made a positive impact on your vacation means a lot to me. Thank you for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Ahhh so relaxing... love the place

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

What a wonderful room, location and rooftop view! Enjoyed our stay in your lovely little condo! It was nice to have all the comforts of home every evening as we prepared for the next day's site seeing adventures. This place is close to shops, dining, walking distance to Time Square and the subway.

Personally, I've never felt so at home on a vacation and has been a comfortable place to stay for us and we hope you will enjoy it as much as we did! Have a great time!

From San Francisco Bay Area
Lee and Liz

Owners response: I am so humbled every time I receive a positive review. I am so glad that I made an impact on your vacation. Please keep my information for the future & I truly look forward to working with you again. Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great experience

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

My grown daughter and I have been taking yearly trips to NYC since 2003. We had always stayed in hotels. This year we decided to take her children, my grandchildren, along. They are ages 9 and 6 so we felt having an apartment setting would make for a more pleasant experience. We were right!!! The apt. was exactly as described and pictured. The views from our window and rooftop were amazing. The location was good so that we did alot of walking. We ordered take out delivery several times with excellent results. I would definitly stay here again. Very clean and comfortable.
Tamara was very easy to work with, no complaints!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm so glad that you were comfortable and I look forward to working with you again. Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

This apartment was better than we could have imagined. The location was fabulous; just a quick walk anywhere. It was super clean; the bed and sofa bed were very comfortable, and plenty of extras in the kitchen to make our stay just like home. Would highly recommend this apartment. Tamara was wonderful to work with and I look forward to our next stay in NYC in one of her apartments.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kindness. It takes a lot of effort to write something nice. Most reviews that you see are negative and it never gets old to hear something nice. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Week in NYC!

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

This was our first time using a rental through VRBO. We chose Tamara's apt. over others by the many positive reviews she had received from past guests. The reviews were well deserved as we had a great experience. The apartment was very well represented in the listing. It was clean and well-maintained. It was close to everything you must see in NYC! We walked most everywhere and were close to the subway when we needed public transportation. We highly recommend Tamara's properties and would definitely rent from her again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet, clean, very convenient and comfortable NYC studio

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay in this lovely studio apt. It was well-appointed, clean and comfortable. It was hands-down the quietest sleeping experience I have ever had in NYC! Perfectly located and an easy walk to the subway station, Central Park, Broadway, Times Square and great restaurants. Tamara was very professional, responsive and a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend that you contact her for your next visit to NYC - I definitely will!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely apartment in excellent location

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely apartment. It was very clean, well appointed and exactly as pictured. We also loved the location of the apartment. It was a very quiet neighborhood but also convenient to subways and many sites. An easy walk to Central Park, Broadway and lots of great restaurants. Tamara was a delight to work with and we will definitely contact her again on our next visit to NY.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent location, nice apartment

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

Tamara's place was ideal for us. It is in the heart of Manhattan,and it is easy to get to all of the major sites of interest......many by walking. Broadway is only a few blocks away. The area is very safe ,and despite what you sometimes hear about New York ,the people in the neighborhood were friendly and welcoming.
The studio apartment is well appointed and very clean. Everything you might need is there. Tamara ,the owner, is a delight to deal with. Not only is she trustworthy and helpful, but really seems to care about your New York stay. We would stay there again on our next trip to New York.
Some hints ...Restaurants . Ther are two very good Italian places close by, Maria Pia ,and Il Melograno. Both are very good. The Middle East /Turkish restaurant on the corner (Taboon) is also good. If you want to eat with the locals,try the 24 hour Empanada Mama ,just down the block It was a pleasant surprise.
You can't go wrong with Tamara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Phillip! You're the best! Please keep my info next time you come to Manhattan, Los Angles or Miami Beach!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

MY DAUGHTER'S GRADUATION PRESENT!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

I wanted to take the time to write a review for Tamara on our stay in NYC. Upon initially looking for hotels to stay and the extreme cost was going to hinder our time spent in the city. A friend referred me to the VRBO website to see if it would meet our needs. Met and exceeded our needs was more like it! I chose Tamara's based on the number of great reviews written. I'm going to be truthful i was a little scared to commit at first due to the "fraud alerts" by so many, but I'm so glad I didn't cancel. The pictures you see are exactly as the room is set up and clean is an understatement. It was so much better than a hotel room! The view of the Hudson River was nice and we even saw a cruise boat over the weekend docked outside the window. We went up to the rooftop once and it was spectacular but we didn't get to enjoy it due to our hectic schedule each day. This was for my daughter's high school graduation present and with the itinerary i planned for each day, we were able to get in most of the highlights that NYC has to offer. The weather was superb every day! We couldn't have asked for a better trip and i want to thank Tamara personnally for helping to make this a most memorable trip for my daughter. We will be back and now know we don't have to worry about looking for a hotel. We will call Tamara!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: OMG! I'm in Tears! Thank you for your kind words! I'm so glad that you and your daughter were comfortable. Please keep my info for future visits.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great apartment with an outstanding rooftop patio!!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Tamara's apartment from 5/1/12 through 5/5/12. This was of our first trip to NYC and we were a little anxious booking a private apartment. However, upon arrival, all of our concerns were eased. The apartment is as described, except even better. The apartment was spotless, the bed has excellent linens and sleeps great. The rooftop view alone is enough to make us want to return again.

One other note, if you considering booking an are concerned about the bad reviews, please weigh them based on all reviews collectively. Else, you may miss out on a great apartment based on one persons judgement. The reservation process was easy and all emails were answered timely. We had a couple of questions for Tamara upon arrival, and she answered both quickly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I do my best behind the scene and believe me, it's not easy when dealing with the public. There is no room for error. I'm so glad that your first visit to NY was wonderful and I could be a part of that experiences. This is what makes my job worth while. Thank you for sharing your experience. It means a great deal to me. Please look me up agin on your next visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BEST APARTMENT IN NEW YORK CITY!!!!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

My daughters and I recently stayed in this apartment and it was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! We travel to NY every year and we have always stayed in an apartment but this apartment was beyond the BEST!! The apartment was extremely bright during the day and the skyline of New Jersey and the Hudson River are amazing! The pictures do not do this apartment justice at all. The sheets, towels and linens were white and the beds were extremely comfortable. The beds were so comfortable that we overslept every morning. I was reluctant for my daughters sleeping on the sofa bed but the sofa bed was just as comfortable as the actual bed! We felt very safe in the building and the neighborhood was central to everything that the city had to offer. We walked to the Theatre District and was only a block away from restaurant row. There is a cute little wine & cheese bar, which is located in the building, and we had a glass of wine every night after long days of exploring the city. I totally recommend this apartment and am more than happy to write a 5 star review. I couldn’t help but notice one negative review on this apartment and truly don’t understand why. That guest might have been commenting on the wrong apartment because this apartment was spectacular compared to the other apartments that I’ve stayed in while visiting NY. I loved this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words Kathy. It was a pleasure having you and planning your entire vacation stay in NY. I look forward to having you back in the near future. Thank you again for this great review.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

New beds are desperately needed

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

The location is good. Other than the mold growing on the shower curtain the apt is fairly clean. Tamara has 3 apts. We were in the older building & it showed. The one in the newer building is 10x nicer.
Ours was not suitable for more than 2 people. The fold out is horrendous. We were with our 2 teens & the could never sleep. Even there knees would be sore in the morning. I'd you have kids under 40 pounds then maybe it would be ok.
Also the actual bed my husband & I were in was terrible. My shoulder, back & neck are still messed up. Lots of physio is going to be required. We are not heavy people either. I'm only 105. Husband is also slim.
There was only 3 pillowcases so someone had to sleep on a hot satin slippery
pillow. The pillows also need to be replaced. There are only 4 & they are So lumpy & thin you couldn't find any relief from the matresses..
After walking all day in NY all you want is a good night rest. This never happened. We actually left to go to a hotel for a night b/c we were all in such pain.
I had a friend whom stayed in the newer building the same time we were there. She booked it last minute, we booked about 4 months in advance. Not sure about the booking process. We were 4 , she was only 2 guests. The newer building has 2 beds, ways more storage, is cleaner. There is actual proper bedding.
I would stay in the new one but never in the old one.which is the one she shows the picture of on the website.
This was our 5th time to NY & definitely the most uncomfortable we have ever been. If you are there for 2 nights I think you could survive the old place but We were there a week. Otherwise make sure you request the newer one.

Owners response: Dear Kara - It is with great regret to hear about your experience. I'm shocked to see this review but out of 69 possitive reviews and 6 years of advertisement on VRBO, I welcome your review because it shows that these reviews are real. I would like to take the time to address your review. First of all, I am shocked to hear of any negativity during your stay because I never received a phone call to rectify any uncomfortable situation that you may have encountered. I am like a Dr. on-call. My phone is on 24/7 for my clients. Secondly, there is no way that mold can accumulate on the shower curtain because I use mold free plastic shower curtains from Beth Bath & beyond & my professional cleaning staff sends me pictures of my apartment after each cleaning. Also, you speak of an older & newer building? Are you sure that you stayed in my apartment because both of the buildings are new & both buildings were built at the same time 6 years ago so your statement is very confusing. My apartments are studio apartments (500 square feet). There is 1 queen size bed & 1 queen size sofa bed. I'm sure that the hotel room that you stayed in was much smaller. I specifically bought $200 dollar Temper-Pedic sofa bed mattresses for my queen size SOFA bed so the fact that it was uncomfortable for you really throws me for a loop. Your review just does not sound like you stayed in my apartment. As far as the pillows are concerned, I just replaced new pillows, pillow protectors & sheets in January 2012. No disrespect but are you sure that you stayed in my apartment? My regular queen size beds are Sealy Pillow Top Mattresses which are extremely comfortable. You mentioned in your review that you are not sure about the booking process. That part of your review confuses me & I don't know how to respond. Again, are you sure you stayed in my apartment? In any event, I thank you for your review. I wish you would have called me with your concerns because I received absolutely no complaints from you written or orally until now. If you were so uncomfortable & moved to a hotel room, I am confused on why I never received a call or email from you. Something does not feel right about your review to me. In any event, I will take the high road and apologize for any uncomfortable experience that you may have had. I work hard behind the scenes to make sure my guests are comfortable & regret that you were not happy. I can't please everyone but I will do my best to try.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great location! Million Dollar View From the Rooftop!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

My friend and I took a weekend trip to NYC in March. I had looked all over VRBO and decided on this apartment because of the rooftop area. I was hoping it would be as awesome as I thought it was going to be. We arrived at the apartment and took a bottle of wine up to the rooftop. I was blown away! The view was amazing, the weather was incredible, there was tons of seating and views looking out to the skyline and on the other side, the Hudson. We sat up there for a while before venturing out on the town. I had to rave about the rooftop first. It's incredible and a must see.
The apartment is on a quiet street yet close to so many things. You can get great food and access to taxis just a short walk up the street. This is a great location to everything that we did in the city.
The apartment itself was very clean. The kitchen was very nice. The only thing we used were glasses, but it is fully equipped if you wanted to cook anything. The doormen were very nice and accommodating.
Tamara and Edie were very easy to work with and could be reached easily during the reservation process. We had no issues at all during our stay, but I knew they would be available should anything have happened or if we needed something.
If you are visiting NYC and are looking for an apartment instead of a hotel, this is the place to be! When we return, I will be staying here for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: OMG! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am going to forward this message to my aunt Edie who is my rock & helps me through the reservation process. I am also going to forward this to my manager Chris & Tony who supervise my cleaning staff. Thank you so much again. We work so hard behind the scene. I am so happy that you enjoyed yourself. Please look me up again the next time you are in New York, Miami Beach or Los Angles. I will personally make sure that you are well taken care of.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

10 Days in NYC

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We stayed in this apt for 10 days in NYC. I ran the NYC Marathon and then we just enjoyed the city for the rest of the trip. What a trip it was! NYC is hard not to love. :) The apt was so convenient for everything we wanted to do and it was just as described. Leading up to our trip Tamara was very helpful and quick to respond with any questions I had. We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't ever go back to staying in a hotel after this experience!

Owners response: Hi Melissa! All I have to say right now is that It sure feels good to read your review after a long grueling day of servicing the apartments & having a 4 hour meeting with my cleaning staff. There is so much behind the scenes that I do not only to make sure that you have a clean, safe & comfortable apartment, but also to know that you have someone that you can trust and talk to throughout your reservation. New York City can be a strange beast. I'm just glad you were able to enjoy the Fun of Manhattan in your Home Away From Home : ) Please look me up again on your next visit ; ) Kindest Regards, Tamara Knight

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

AUTUMN IN NEW YORK

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We stay from September 30th through October 3, 2011. My first time in New York and my husband hadn't been there since the 60's. It is a very comfortable Studio Apartment. The towels were soft, The view of the Hudson Spectacular and the bed was very confortable. Also, the apartment was very clean and quiet. The doorman staff was very helpful. The apartment is in a very nice and safe area. The Roof top deck was wonderful with great views. There is a market just around the corner. The area was within walking distance of many of the sights. Tamara and her Aunt were great to correspond with and gave us lots of tips. We were very lucky with the weather. If you have never been to New York with suggest On Board Tours, and get your Empire State Building tickets on line before you come.

Again, we had a great time and felt very safe and well taken care of.

Julie & Larry Rice,
Camarillo, CA

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Larry & Julie! I am so glad that you were comfortable. I am so grateful when I receive a good review. I know that I am not perfect and I am holding my breath never to receive a bad review. There is a lot of behind the scenes work that goes on to make this ship sail...When I receive reviews like this, it makes my job worth wild. Please look me up again on your next visit and thank you for the bottom of my heart for your encouraging words. b Kindest regards, Tamara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean, close to everything!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed in Tamara's apartment. Again, everything was wonderful. The reservation procedure was smooth, the apartment was exceptionally clean. It's location is walking distance to many places. Unfortunately, we were in NYC the weekend of Hurricane Irene. The first time in history the mass transit was completely shut down. Because of this, numerous shops & restaurants were closed. It was nice to have a full size kitchen. We went to the grocery & bought a few items that we were able to keep there. We spent more time inside than we wanted to, so it was wonderful we had an exceptional place to stay! We look forward to staying in other properties owned by Tamara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we hoped for!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in May for the Essentially Ellington Jazz Festival. MTHS placed third by the way ;-). It was our first trip to NY and the location was great. The accommodations were clean and in good condition. We stayed in another apartment than the one pictured here but it was just as nice and had a view of the Hudson. We would stay here again for sure. Tamara Knight and her staff were great. Thanks for a lovely stay in NY!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome experience!! Highly recommended!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

I really enjoyed my accommodations. The unit presented better than the listing photos and description. The owner made sure that I was well taken care of. Not only is this awesome apartment comfortable and well decorated but is also a great location to stay to explore the city. Everything is within a 15 minute walk including shopping, Radio City, Carnegie Hall, Time Square, the theater district, and lots of great restaurants. Based on the lines at one of the neighborhood restaurants, there is a great ramen place up the street from the building. I will definitely try to be a repeat guest. I highly recommend this property for single travelers as well as couples. It is also a great property for a girlfriends' New York City adventure.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. Life can get very hectic It takes effort and time to take time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I am very grateful. I work 7 days a week behind the scenes in order to make sure that my clients have a clean & comfortable place to stay while visiting Manhattan. I look forward to working with you again on your next visit. Thank you again for writing a positive review. It makes me feel good to see that My hard work is paying off.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wow! What a terrific location

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a week stay in this lovely apartment. What a wonderful place. Lots of room, very clean, well maintained, well stocked kitchen amenities and very quiet. The location was perfect for walking to the theatre, Time Square, shopping, Empire State Bldg. etc. The sundeck on the roof was great--going up there to have coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening while having a spectacular view of the surrounding area. The whole booking process went very smoothly--Our questions were answered very quickly. When we had a very minor maintenace issue it was dealt with immediately. Great week, great place. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for the great review Victoria!!! Please look me up again on your next visit!!!!

Kindest regards, Tamara!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

With the whole family in the middle of NYC

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

The owner has a great process to make it easy to rent the place: sign the contracts, description and how-to's etc. Everything was documented both before we arrived as well as in the apartment. It was the perfect place for our family vacation with our son and daughter for Spring Break 2011.
The welcome in this nice fairly new 31 high condominium building with concierge was very easy.
This rental is conveniently located and we did lots and lots of walking to gospel church, musea, theaters and sight seeing.
The apartment is not huge, but even with 4 adults comfortable to sleep, make your own breakfast (and any other type of food, the kitchen is well equipped) and watch TV or a video..
Definitively a place to come back to!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review! I don't get a chance to respond to all of the reviews because I am so busy working behind the scenes in order to make sure that my client's have a clean and comfortable place to stay. It's a lot of work behind closed doors. I sincerely thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review! I am humble and I am honored.

Kind regards, Tamara Knight

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice apartment in reasonable price.

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Me and my wife stayed in Tamara's apartment for 4 days. We stayed not in the same apartment as on the pictures however very similar and not less beautiful. Both the apartment and the building are very clean and welcoming. The underground station and many attractions are pretty close. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Darn! I always try to get 5 Stars!! I really have to step it up!!! I'm glad that you were comfortable!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We were a party of 3 (girls) and this was our first visit to NY and also our first experience with Vacation Rental - and it was EXCELENT.
The location is perfect;we attended two musicals that were a few minutes walk from the apartment, we also went to the opera /Met/ and it was also nearby. The neighbourhood is very safe and the Doormen are more than kind and friendly.
The suit itself is full equiped, clean with a beautiful view of the Hudson river.And the roof graden is amazing.WE had a great time in Tamara s apartment and would certanly recommend it to our friend and relatives.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm glad that you were comfortable and thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a positive review. There is a lot of behind the scenes work that I do to keep my little organization running smoothly for my customers. Please look me up again on your next visit to Manhattan! Kindest regards, Tamara

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

EXCELENT!

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

We are a couple from Barcelona who stayed in one of Tamara's appartement form February the 3dr to february 10th. Is was excellent! Perfect! everything was ok! The appartament was just 15 minutes walking from times square and 5 minutes from subway station. The kitchen was full equiped and the bes was very confortable.
Doormen were also very kind. And, what I can say of Tamara? She is a very kind person. We were affected by the Spanish air controler strike in december and she was very empathic with us. I only have nice words about Tamara.
When we return to NYC we will repeat, for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just great

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Tamara's place was just perfect for me. In New York for a work-related month, I was also game to hear great live jazz and to do some serious exploring of the city. I could walk to the subway in 7 or 8 minutes and from there get to just about anywhere in Manhattan in short order. Add to that the abundance of good local restaurants and ease of access to food stores, and I was set. And nice to be close to everything without feeling like I was living in a tourist trap like Times Square.

The suite itself was great. It is really set up as a hotel room (two double beds in the main room, for instance), but with a good working kitchen, great closet space, and a less institutional feel than you get in a typical hotel. Nice touches, too, like proper wine glasses, decent dishes and cutlery, good knives, and a fully stocked spice rack. Nice to have a gas stove and a good fridge. Clean, well cared for, quiet.

I also liked the feel of the building as a whole. Great rooftop views, good laundry facilities, very helpful and friendly staff.

No hesitation whatsoever in recommending this to a single or couple... four would be a bit cozy, so if you're planning on that configuration you better make sure you all like each other...

Thanks, Tamara. I'll be back.

Owners response: Thank you!! I look forward to having you back!!! Kindest regards, Tamara :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very accommodating!!!

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Me and my two daughters just left New York. We stayed at this VRBO location which felt safe and was located close to the theaters and lots of places to eat. I would definitely recommend this place. It was clean and accomadting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, Secure, Good service, Super Clean

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

I began looking at this property and actually stayed in another (almost identical) place owned also by Tamara. It is in the adjacent building apt. 9A. Tamara made the transaction fast and totally up-front. The apt. is SUPER clean and contains everything that you will need for your stay. I highly recommend this place...Tamara runs a tight ship! You will not be disappointed. Overlooks the Hudson, aprox 3 blocks away. Close to metro, food, major sights in mid-town. Walk or short cab everywhere.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

INCREDIBLE!! Will stay here every time!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

Four friends in their early 30's came to NYC for four days to see shows and soak up the city. This place was PERFECT in so many ways. We parked our car under the building for the four days and walked everywhere. 10 minute walk to Times Square and all the shows. We gasped when we walked into the room the first time. We were surprised at how spacious it was! The room was even better than it was in the pictures! Perfectly clean and gorgeous! The kitchen was great to have breakfast before we left each day. The beds were so comfortable and the AC was such a relief to come home to after a hot NYC day. Tammy was so great to answer any questions and made us feel very welcome. The people in the building were so nice, especially the doormen. Very helpful. Oh...and the rooftop terrace!! OM MY!! What a view!! We will NEVER go back to a hotel after this experience. Why would you? This place has so much more to offer and is so beautiful. When I read the reviews before we chose a place...I thought people may have been exagerating about this place...they weren't, it is everything people have said it is and more. No question...we'll be looking Tammy up again on our next visit.

Thanks so much!!
Lisa, Mark, Becky, Juliette

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Good alternative to a hotel

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

I stayed here for 2 weeks in April and found the apartment to be clean and Tammy's service can only be categorized as fantastic. Tammy is very responsive to queries and is very accommodating.

The apartment itself is a good alternative to a 4* hotel with 5* service to accompany it. It is very convenient to walk to Times Square, the Theatre District and even to Midtown West, which is where my office was located.

I would highly recommend Tammy's place to anyone looking to stay in New York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

Having recently returned from a weeks stay at Apt 16D, we would highly recommend this property. Starting with first entering the building, the lobby was spotless, front desk very friendly and helpful. The apartment itself was lovely; spotlessy clean, everything you want is provided for, everything is very new and there's plenty of space for storage, etc., It was also lovely and quiet (you never heard noise from adjoining apartments). Use of the gym on the top floor was a great extra bonus plus free wi-fi was brilliant (most hotels that we have stayed in in NYC have charged as much as $16 per day for this facility). Views from the apartment and the roof top area were lovely. The location was very convenient with only a short stroll to the nearest subway, plenty of restaurants nearby also. This was our 1st stay in an apartment as opposed to a hotel and would definitely do it again.
If you are planning a trip to NY and are thinking about an apartment stay, then try here. You wont be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

Loved the apartment and attention. Tamara was extremely gracious and helped make my girlfriend's first trip to NYC memorable. She always picked up her phone.

I booked this place because of the overwhelming positive comments, and now I am leaving one myself.

Owners response: Thank you Sean! I hope that you and your girlfriend had a wonderful time. Please look me up again on your next visit.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: December 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

Just returned from our second stay at apt. 16d. Could'nt have asked for a better apartment. The view over the Hudson River from the window and also from the roof garden is quite spectacular. We found it so easy to walk to Central Park, Time Square and Radio City. Thankyou Tamara for helping to make our trip to New York so enjoyable, we will certainly recommend you to all our friends.
Alexander and Anne Porteous

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Choice!

Review submitted: November 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

This was our first trip to New York, and we were very pleased with our choice of accomodation. The apartment was just as advertised, small, but very clean and containing everything you need and then more. The kitchen was well stocked. We just had to add groceries! The location was perfect. We walked almost everywhere. We found the neighbourhood very safe and the staff in the building friendly and helpful. There is a yummy Italian restaurant only one block away, and a great grocery store one block the other way. We attended two musicals and were able to easily walk to and from our "home". The rooftop garden is a great place to take a glass of wine and sit and watch the skyline. We saw the gym, but didn't have time to use it as we were busy seeing this amazing city. Tamara left explicit instructions and helpful hints. This is necesary until first timers to New York get their wings and become adventurous enough to strike out on their own. It was always great after a day of walking and exploring to come home to our own space to rest and relax before we headed off again. Thanks, Tamara. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Five Star Rating

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

Four sisters celebrating a birthday stayed in Apt 16D for four nights and could not have asked for better accomodations. Tamara made the whole process so easy for us. We walked everywhere and the views from the rooftop of the Hudson River and the skyline were fabulous. We also had a view of the Hudson River from our apartment which was such a nice surprise. We couldn't believe how centrally located we were. We walked to Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City and Central Park. Tamara had everything provided in the apartment that we needed and it was great to have a kitchen, plus there was no noise from hotel guests at all times of the night. The doorman answered our questions and was so helpful. After seeing the sights all day we went up to the rooftop deck each night and discussed our day. We highly recommend staying here. It was a great decision for us and we have already recommended it to other people we met in New York who were staying in hotels and not happy with their choice. Thank you Tamara for an experience we will talk about for years.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent

Review submitted: September 26, 2009   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

I have just arrived home after staying in one of Tamara's apartments in this building. It was immaculate! Tamara provides everything you could possibly need, from extra towels to take out menus The apartment is spacious bright and a stones throw away from everything in manhattan! I suggest that you contact Tamara before
This was my 7th time in NYC but the first time i have stayed in an apartment and will never go back to a hotel again! It excellent value for money and Tamara provides the highest standard of customer service. I will be contacting her on my next trip to NYC!
Make sure you visit the rooftop. By say it has a beautiful view of the river and by night you can see the city in all its glory!

Tamara thanks again for the most comfortable and enjoyable week in NYC and for all your help making the booking & payment process so easy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

We just returned from staying in apt 16D for 4 nights. It was great, very accessible, clean, and the view of the Hudson out the apt, and the views from the rooftop (especially at night)are unbelievable. My family enjoyed it alot. There are many great,affordable restaurants on 9th ave. Try Chelsea Grill and Pam Real Thai (on 49th and 9th). We walked two blocks to the theater to see Jersey Boys and about 6 blocks to Times Sq. Also walked to Central Park and Rockefeller Center, so very centrally located. Had a great time, and Tamara was so helpful with all of my questions. Hope to be back some day!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

first time in new york

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

As this was our first time in New York I was very careful about booking our accommodation and researched for quite a while before booking 17D with Tamara. The apartment lived up to all my expectations and more!! It was just as it appeared in the photos and immaculately clean. The kitchen was very well stocked and all appliances worked well.The bed was beautifully comfortable (with a great view of the Hudson River), the roof garden lovely to relax in after a hard day sight seeing and the concierge was always helpful. Customer service from Tamara was exceptional - we were even given a late check out due to our late night flight. The apartment was about 10 minutes walk from Times Square and the subway. I would certainly highly recommend the apartment to friends and relatives and would love to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed staying in this apartment. It was the perfect size for the two of us. It was clean and in a good location. We were a couple of blocks away from getting the subway and walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, and other subway stations. We really enjoyed going to the top of the roof and relaxing in the evenings after a long, busy day of sightseeing. There is a wonderful view from up there. The doormen were very friendly and helped us with some of our sightseeing plans and other questions we had. Tamara does a great job with customer service and I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone else visiting New York City!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great view and easy access!

Review submitted: April 23, 2009   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

This was a great apartment with an outstanding view of the Hudson. The roof top view at night is gorgeous and the evening doorman was especially helpful with any of our needs/requests. The location also worked out very well as it is just south of central park and within a few blocks of all midtown has to offer.

I would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Views!

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

This well-appointed apartment has teriffic views of the Hudson and New Jersey. It is a great value, particularly off-season. The kitchen was well-equipped and the bed was comfortable. D'Agostino's market/deli is closeby for shopping. Tamara Knight provided excellent customer service. I would rent from her again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Immaculate Apartment!

Review submitted: March 30, 2009   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

Tamara's description of the layout, amenities, and location are absolutely accurate. She provided a top notch facility - the apartment was pristine - and well equipped. The outdoor courtyard allows you to enjoy the views from several angles including the Empire State Building. It was a relief to come back to it after busy days in the city! Lie in bed and enjoy the view of the Hudson River. The apartment is well situated - short walk to Times Square, Theatre District, and Carnegie Hall. I HIGHLY recommend booking through Tamara. Thanks again Tamara for all your assistance and professionalism. Cheers, Lynne

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Picture Perfect

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

The property description and photos provided an accurate representation of this small but functional apartment. It was clean, functional and well appointed, and was perfect for the two of us. The view of the Hudson was spectacular. Though it was a few blocks further west than our usual choice of hotel accommodations, we walked to the theatre district, Central Park and 5th Avenue shops without a problem. The building is safe and clean with helpful staff at the front desk. There is an exercise room and lovely roof top deck. Tamara was very helpful and professional; our deposit was returned before our plane landed. I have already recommended this property to friends and we will use it again when we return to New York.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great deal for any trip to NYC!

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

As a former New Yorker I was unhappy about the prospect of having to deal with the crazy costs of Manhattan hotel rooms. This apartment was our saving grace! Such a great deal in every way. Great location, clean, well managed and convenient- this place has it all. Tamara's service could not have been better. Everything was as promised and she really went out of her way to make sure we had everything we might need at our fingertips. I would recommend Tamara to any of my friends needing a place to stay in the city. The apartment is very near the theatre district and we walked almost everywhere we needed to go. The only thing that might bother people is that the apt is pretty far west so the closest subway is about a 5-10 min walk away (if that is of concern to you) but catching at taxi on 10th Ave was very easy. Overall a great trip, a great place to stay and one that we will most likely stay in again on our next trip to the city. Bonus- Tamara returned our security deposit the day after we got back! So great!

Recommended for: people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 7, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Tamara's apartment 16D last weekend and loved it!! It had everything we needed and more! We had a great view of the river and were so close to Times Square that we really couldn't have asked for more.
Tamara was such an amazing person to deal with. She not only answer all my questions about the apartment, but about New York as well. She was quick to reply to me and was just so friendly! I have already recommended her to my friends and I hope we have the pleasure of dealing with her again!!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Stephanie. It's all in a days work. Customer service is a priority. I am so glad that you were comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook comment

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We stayed in Tamara's apartment during the NYC marathon and it was perfect! It was very clean and centrally located with many restaurants just down the street, walking distance (1 mile or so) to Central Park and the theater district, 4 blocks to the subway station. Tamara answered my many email questions within 24 hours and was fantastic. The doormen are always available and were very helpful with directions, etc. The cost was nearly half that of hotels that we looked at and was much more comfortable.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

This was our 1st visit to NY and staying here made it a wonderful experience. The property was as described, safe, comfortable & clean. Internet service was a great addition. Sunset views frm the room were wonderful. Bed was comfy. Tamara was great to work with. Helpful, friendly & responsive. Location was perfect to get around to all neighboring areas. We felt safe. Doormen were all just wonderful. Very professional & helpful. Will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad that you were comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

NY Lovers from Houston, Texas

Review submitted: December 28, 2008   Date of arrival: December 17, 2008

Tamera was a delight to work with from the start of email exchanges. We vacation every Christmas in New York and stay in an apartment instead of a hotel to get the feeling of living in NYC. This was the best experience so far. The view of the Hudson is amazing, the building and apartment very well appointed and service was wonderful. We really liked the indoor and outdoor common entertaining areas. We will stay in one of Tamera's apartments again when we travel. Thanks for a wonderful experience at a great price!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. It takes a lot of effort to take time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I truly appreciate your thoughtfulness. I must be doing something right! I look forward to accomodating you next year. Kindest regards, Tamara (smile)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

This was my first experience with Vacation Rental
by Owner and I will defiantly use this website
again. Tamara keeps a very clean and well stocked
condo. it was perfect. It was close to the subway
and within walking distance to a lot of things. we
walked to time square and it wasn't that bad,even
in high heels. I would defiantly stay here again on
my next visit to NY.We left our luggage at the front
desk on our last day and had no worries about
it,Very secure building. thank you Tamara for a
wonderful place to stay.

Owners response: Hi Anne - I am so glad that you were comfortable! Customere service is my main concern when dealing with all of my clients. Reading your email makes me feel that I am doing something right :) Thank you for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 7, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

My girlfriend and I went to New York to celebrate our 50th birthday. Staying in Tamara's apt. was one of the highlights of our trip. It was convenient to everything and it was absolutely immaculate. We felt extremely safe and the views are beautiful. I have recommended it to several of my friends. I will definitely stay there again.

Owners response: Thank you Kathy - It is always wonderful when I hear that my clients are happy. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I truly appreciate your kindness.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We couldn't be happier with our stay. The accommodations were terrific...beautiful building with contemporary decor, nicely appointed room with a great view, and a wonderful location within walking distance of Central Park, Broadway, Times Square and Rockefeller Center. The room was very clean, and it's in a nice neighborhood. Tamara took care of everything. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and we've already recommended it to our friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 9, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

I am very happy to recommend apartment 16D at 515 West 52nd Street to anyone looking for clean, well-furnished, secure, and convenient accommodation in New York. The view over the Hudson is such a bonus and the lights at night are delightful. We stayed for 13 nights and were able to access all areas by walking and using New York cabs (their rates are very reasonable) when we tired.
La Bergamote is a delightful cafe right next door for coffee, delicious cakes and light meals too. Tamara is an excellent landlady to deal with; friendly, efficient and very reliable.

Sincerely, Kaye from Melbourne and Lyn from Hamilton.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 8, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

For our second trip to New York we wanted to stay longer and feel part of the action, so an apartment was the ideal accommodation choice. Our 11-day stay was preceded by a cruise and 515 West 52nd Street was perfect, being only a short and easy walk from the cruise terminal. Apartment 15D was spotlessly clean on arrival, agreeably furnished and extremely well provisioned, quiet and comfortable, much better than a hotel. The view over the Hudson River is fabulous, especially at night, and it's fun watching the ships come and go. Great shops nearby for self-catering, especially the Amish Market on 9th Ave, which never closes, and D'Agastino's on 10th - ask for a discount card. The friendly staff at La Bergamote on the ground floor serve coffee, salads and scrumptious cakes from early morning to late at night and a doorman on duty 24 hours makes you feel welcome and secure. Tamara's apartment is ideal for anyone leaving or embarking on a cruise and is within walking distance of Times Square, many major attractions, including the aircraft carrier Intrepid with its newly acquired Concorde - and, of course, all those fantastic shops!

Owners response: Hi Pam and Robert - Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. You are so thoughtful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

My wife and I spent 5 great nights and days at Tamara's 16D apartment. The facility was clean and modern, sufficient space and the kitchen stocked with what we need for cooking sny meals we did not enjoy in Manhattan restaurants. On entering the apartment the first evening I was struck by the great view of the Hudson and the light-dotted hills on the horizon. Being on the 16th floor minimized road noise and the other residents of the building were friendly and unobtrusive.

Tamara was in contact with us to ensure everything was as we wanted. We had one small issue with the DVD player. We talked with her Sunday morning and when we returned that evening there was a new DVD player installed.

Our security deposit was returned to us and posted to our credit card the day after we left. We could not have asked for any better service and the acommodations were excellent. We easily walked to and from Mid-Town, whether it was MOMA, Rockefeller Center or Broadway plays.

We will return.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I am only doing my job...When you pay for an apartment, I feel that you deserve the best...I am competing with luxury hotels so I try to make sure that I am 1 step above the rest. Thank you again for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AUSSIES IN NEW YORK

Review submitted: October 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 18, 2008

As 50 year olds making the long trek from Melbourne, Australia we were so pleased when we arrived at Tamara's apartment and found that it was just as good as the photos indicated. From the front entrance to the rooftop garden this is a clean, welcoming and classy place to stay. The location is great as it is just far enough from the noisier parts of town but an easy walk to a lot of attractions. The room computer was used daily to research events,shows,concerts,etc and to book tickets. The view over the Hudson River was a welcome surprise with cruise ships coming and going and also some lovely sunsets.Please make use of the rooftop garden for pre-dinner drinks and outstanding views. Nice people too! The restaurants,delis and supermarkets in the area are all of good standard and the newly opened bakery/cafe downstairs is great for breakfast. Tamara was superb in every way, making sure we settled in well and that everything was to our satisfaction, even letting me pester her with real estate questions while she was away on the West Coast.A most attentive and competant manager! Now we are back in Oz and missing NYC dreadfully we have recommended this apartment to all our friends and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone wanting a great little apartment at a price well below an equivalent hotel room. Cheers!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. The best part of my job is when my clients are completely satified. I will not rest until my clients get what they deserve when staying in my apartments...I truly appreciate your review. You have no idea! ....Thank you, Thank you, Thank you...If you only knew what goes on behind the scenes to keep my little operation running properly...To know that you are comfortable is my greatest reward, Kindest Regards, Tamara :)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

This rental is amazing! Perfect location! We were in perfect walking distance to all of our needs.
The terrace is a jewel. A great place to sit and relax after a busy day of shopping and the view is spectacular.
We could not have asked for a better host. Tamara always handled our needs in a quick and efficient manner.
Tamara, we are so glad that we had the opportunity to meet you.
We truly enjoyed your apartment and accomodations. We will definetly contact you the next time we are able to visit New York.
Best Regards!
Tanya and Jeanie Las Vegas, NV

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 4, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our first vacation in New York. The whole trip was fabulous and made even better by having comfortable accomadations. We were in awe of the view from our window overlooking the river, watching cruise ships dock and the spectacular view at night. From the rooftop its even better as you see Manhatten from all sides. The apt is very clean and cozy and you feel right at home when you enter. We walked 90% of the time to the theaters, shopping in times square, sightseeing and endless restaurants. What a great location. Thanks Tamara for the hospitality.

Owners response: Thank you Wendy! Thank you so much for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 29, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Thanks very much. We loved the apartment and will definitely tell my
friends and family. We had so much fun!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanks!

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

The apartment was perfect. Exactly what was advertised and I had a perfect stay in New York. Thanks for arranging for exceptional weather. I hope to get to stay here again. Lee

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Apartment

Review submitted: September 15, 2008   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

I stayed here with my husband and 17 year old daughter in August. It was just as described and very comfortable and clean. It was great having coffee and tea in the morning and plenty of towels, pillows and blankets. The doormen were very helpful and courteous. Our entire stay was trouble free. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Sarah

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

If you only live NYC once...

Review submitted: August 30, 2008   Date of arrival: August 7, 2008

...You can rely on Tamara's comfortable, well-located and well-provided apartments. A 15-20 minutes walk to Times Sq and Theater District, this apartment is an open gate to NYC. Do not hesitate to ask any assistance to the doormen, they all are helpful and kind. Here is a beautiful heaven (and top roof) to enjoy the tremendous atmosphere of NY. When do we fly back?

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! for you kind review :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 13, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

I stayed in this apartment with two friends and it was great! Tamara was great to work with and the apartment was in a phenomenal location. I would highly recommend staying here on your next visit. I know I will!

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words Marleene - I look forward to accomodating you on your next visit to Manhattan :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect place

Review submitted: June 20, 2008   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

My wife and I can not say enough about the apartment. This is in a perfect location. We walked to Time Square, the Theater District, Central Park, and the subway which made for easy access to the rest of New York. The unit was very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was provided. We never had to contact Tamara for anything. You cannot find a hotel this nice with all of these amenities for this price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

You Can't Go Wrong!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 10, 2008

My mother and I took my daughter to NYC for her 18th birthday/high school graduation trip and had a fabulous time. My daughter is a budding broadcast journalist so the location was perfect. We spent time at NBC and the Today show and visited other studio locations as well. The life of the city was perfect for her journalistic passions and she found two separate opportunities to conduct impromptu interviews for news packages that she will soon produce. Tamara's unit was within a short walk to all of the midtown attractions, restaurants and theaters and we felt very safe in the area. The unit was well appointed and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay--plenty of linens, coffee, a well appointed kitchen, a corkscrew for our wines etc. The building was only about a year old and very modern and clean. We had a nice view of the Hudson river which was a pleasant surprise and enjoyed seeing the cruise ships coming and going from our 16th floor unit. Tamara was very responsive to phone calls and emails as we followed the steps for the booking process, overall very professional and helpful. We can't wait to return to Manhattan. Book your stay. You can't go wrong!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you so much for the nice review.....Please look me up again on your next trip to Manhattan :)

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 23, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

My husband, son and I stayed here over Christmas break. What a wonderful way to vacation in New York. Rooftop access, computer, printer, big screen, great kitchen, immaculate bathroom, within walking distance of Times Square and subway, superb customer service. Highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, excellent place

Review submitted: November 25, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

This Manhattan studio is well appointed, clean and "comfy". The location is a few blocks from Broadway and just one from the Cobert Report studio. (They were closed due to the writer's strike) The computer, tv and phone work just fine. The coffee and tea provided is good. It is in a great location, absolutely safe with a professional staff manning the lobby, and Tamara takes care of the details with integrity in a timely manner. I would check availibility of this unit before others with every Manhattan visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A pleasure!

Review submitted: November 20, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Dealing with Tamara was great - she was an friendly and organized hostess and the apartment had everything we needed for our week-long stay in New York. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. We even did laundry in the building using the smart card we found in the suite. Thanks Tamara, for your recommendation of Mario's down the street. We went there twice and loved it! We would definitely stay at one of Tamara's apartments again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

We had a fabulous time! Two thumbs up!

Review submitted: November 19, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We spent very little time in the apartment because there is so much to do in NYC, but we would have loved to have spent an evening relaxing in the comfortable bed watching some TV, or having a glass of wine up on the terrace overlooking the lights of the city. To start, the lobby and doormen were most welcoming. The doormen were strict about who comes and goes (loved that security), but very gracious to guests. The apartment had a sweeping view of the Hudson River, which was an unexpected bonus. The linens and towels were of high quality. The location is about a 10 minute walk to the subway and there are too many restaurants nearby to visit in one vacation. Without any hesitation, I would stay here again. Thank you, Tamara!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great place to stay in NYC!

Review submitted: October 26, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Tamara was responsive from the first email asking questions about the apartment. She continued to follow up with me through our arrival. The apartment is absolutely spotless, very inviting and comfortable, too! Great kitchen allows you to cook but with the assortment of local menus she has on hand, you can opt to have your meal delivered. Tamara is professional and I look forward to future stays in her properties. So much better than a hotel!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

An excellent alternative to New York hotels

Review submitted: October 10, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Can't recommend Tamara or this studio highly enough. It's not very big but accurately depicted in all the photos and has everything you need for your stay in New York. Within walking distance of attractions and the subway. Tamara herself was vey helpful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

We Love New York!

Review submitted: September 24, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The apartment was everything we'd hoped it'd be and more! Definitely a comfortable and safe haven after full days/nights on the town. It made our first stay in the city a great experience! Everything was spotlessly clean. All the extras in the kitchen and bathroom, internet access, cable TV, DVD player, parking, secure entrance (with friendly staff) were there and so appreciated. Location was perfect... close enough to walk to some destinations, yet cabs, buses and subway conveniently close by.

We can't say enough about Tamara and the service she provided. Our many questions were promptly, courteously and professionally answered before we booked our stay. She was present at both check-in and check-out, making us feel welcome and helpfully providing more information about the area. Excellent customer service! We would definitely rebook on our next stay! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great place in a great location w/great service!

Review submitted: September 23, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The title says it all! The place is very cozy, quaint, and comfortable. Times Square, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, & Macy's on 34th are a hop, skip and jump away. I can not say enough about Tamara and the impeccable service she provides her clients! She is warm, personable, and a joy to do business with. I can't wait for my next trip to NYC!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: September 23, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

The first thing I noticed was how clean the place was. Yes, it was small; however, it was very comfortable and had everything you needed for a home away from home. The excellent bonus was having a computer and printer available in the room. This made our lives much easier as we were able to check our flights info. and found our flight had been delayed by 4 hours; thus, we waited in our room instead of the airport. We also printed our boarding passes. After all that, we also had a wonderful representative, Tamara Knight, who was super nice and welcomed us to NYC. Overall this was a great place and plan to use it again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 11, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

I can't say enough nice things about this apartment and Tamara's fantastic service. I've used VRBO often and have never had a more professional, courteous experience than with Tamara.

First of all, one word -- SPOTLESS!! I've rented many condos via VRBO and have never found one so clean. Add to that the toiletries, coffee supplies, computer, iron, hairdryer, beautiful and soft linens, USEFUL NY Studio furnishings (little TV tables for laptops, wonderful comfy loveseat, cute stools that function as tables)and computer and printer that Tamara graciously provides and it's more like renting a luxury hotel room than someone's "by owner" condo. But with all the benefits of a condo.

The location is in an up and coming NY neighborhood (Hell's Kitchen) within a block of its famous antique outdoor market on Saturday next to a cute, new posh restaurant. There is a little bit of "seediness" in some surrounding blocks, but you see where the development is changing that. Head five blocks or so south and two blocks east and you're in adorable Chealsea area with the Joyce theatre, tons of restaurants, spas, yoga, shopping, etc.

Only disappointment was no high-speed wireless, but again, Tamara provides high-speed Internet on a computer for your use.

This is only one of Tamara's properties -- I look forward to trying them ALL!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little jewel!

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

As described, this unit is furnished in the most pristine, contemporary and comfortable style, and I was so pleasantly surprised to find a computer with internet access in addition to all the other amenities. Tamara Knight runs her management business in a most professional manner, and her demeanor was exceedingly pleasant and agreeable despite my many phone calls. Access to transportation options is VERY convenient!!
Without a doubt, i will return to this apartment on my next visit to NY.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fantastic Manhatten Apartment

Review submitted: July 6, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Having seen the apartment on the web and read other reviews we felt happy with the standard of accommodation we would receive at this apartment and Tamara did not let us down, the apartment was spotlessly clean and felt like a real home for the week. The level of service we received from Tamara was excellent, she even purchased an air mattress (which was very comfortable) for the apartment as we needed to sleep 5 and the apartment could only sleep 4. The whole experience was a joy and we would definately book through Tamara in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 7, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Tamara made this visit easy and fantastic. The apt is extremely clean, top notch linens, great views, etc. The doormen are super nice. Kitchen is stocked with all equipment and TO GO menus. Computer and printer and phone all work great. Tamara even has umbrellas and an iron for your convenience. She is very prompt, extremely detailed and makes the rental process a BREEZE! Enjoy your stay and I hope you book quickly before others find out this great NYC secret.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Untitled

Review submitted: June 6, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

The apartment was great - everything you need. Tamara is very helpful also.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Exquisit Romance

Review submitted: May 1, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

This apartment was the most quaint, romantic, apartment I have ever been too. The decor was lavish and the amenities were outstanding. The location could not have been better. The 24 hour grocery store had everything which allowed us to cook breakfast when we wanted to. I could not have asked for a better 50th birthday surprise.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 27, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Very nice apartment and building. Close to subway and train station. Easy short walk to 34th for crosstown transit. Everything in perfect condition in apartment and Tamera very easy to work with making arrangements. Good restaurants nearby and delivery available to apartment. Very safe feeling in the area. Hope to go back.

Owners response: Thank you very much for writing these kind words Gwen. I strive to make sure that my clients have a very comfortable and clean place to stay while visiting NYC. I truly hope to see you again in the near future....Kindest Regards, Tamara

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: November 27, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

I cannot say enough about this apartment. The location was great...very close to many subway lines (about 5 blocks) and hot spots yet a wee bit removed from the swarms of people. There were plenty of cabs zooming down 9th Avenue at all hours of the day/night. There was a corner store, plenty of restaurants and a laundrymat right across the street. The staff at the front desk always greeted me with a smile. The apartment itself was perfect! The kitchen and bathroom (loved the soft towels) were a nice size and it was great to have computer and internet access.
Tamara Knight is a very gracious hostess and was present at check in and departure. I have rented apartments in NYC before and this was the first time that anyone was present when I arrived or left.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review