reviews for: listing #286761vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Casa Panoramica Ocean/Mtn Views High Above the Rest - 3 BR/2BA
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Amazing

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

Words can't begin to describe how pleased we were with our stay. The house exceeded our expectations and as other people have stated, the pictures don't do it justice. Scott was easy to work with and Jose was there when we had questions. The drive up the mountain takes about 15 minutes and 4 wheel drive is a must but the view makes up for it. The kitchen was well equipped and there were plenty of towels and linens. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying at the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Spot

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

I stayed here w/ my father, mother, brother and his girlfriend in July '12. The house was as decribed - clean and beautiful with an amazing view. Jose and was quick to help when we needed him, otherwise he was not intrusive in the least. Scott the owner was very patient and open about answering questions which was a huge help for first time visitors. The forests surrounding the house were loaded with trails and we took walks every morning to work off the meals from the night before! I'd say a legit 4WD truck is a must to get up the mountain. There are some pretty steep parts, but nothing scary. The ride up and down the mountain was part of the fun. There is no TV there, but we didn't mind and just watched movies on my laptop. The internet when we were there was spotty as well, but I think that comes with being on top of a mountain in a rainforest! Again, wasn't an issue.The house was really well located to hit Dominical, Uvita, or even Manuel Antonia. There are a couple of good markets down towards Uvita - short drive away. Toucans were a common site each morning which was pretty amazing! Also Aracaris, but these were more rare. All in all, an awesome place to stay and I would definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great experience at Casa Panoramica

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

My family and I stayed 3 nights here at the end of our trip to Costa Rica, and we EASILY could have stayed longer. The view was absolutely AMAZING! My husband and I have done a lot of traveling and sight seeing in Costa Rica, and the view from this property is among the best. This house far exceeded our expectations. It is very well kept and is equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Four wheel drive is definitely a must. It's a long way up to the house, but the view and the accommodations make it all worth while. Jose, the grounds keeper, was very helpful when we needed him. He and his family are WONDERFUL. The owner was very easy to work with, and he answered any questions or concerns very promptly. Next time I am in the Dominical area, I will DEFINITELY be staying at Casa Panoramica!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply amazing

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We stayed for a week in July and had a great time. A killer view and cooler weather than at sea level make the drive up the hill worth it; just make sure you have a 4WD (which I would recommend of Costa Rica in general). I doubt I will every stay at a place with a better view. The house was very upscale, cozy and well appointed. I spent quite a bit of time lying in the hammock and taking in the view. Scott, the owner, was extremely helpful and responsive. Jose, the caretaker, took good care of us. I highly recommend Casa Panoramica.

One note, my guess is that most that come here may spend a lot of time in the house, but when they go out they will head down the hill. You would be missing out if you did not walk around Costa Verda Estates.The views are amazing and you will see tons of birds. Flocks of parrots, parakeets, toucans. Many others whose names I have forgotten. Early morning or late afternoon seemed to be the best time. Scott's property also has trails through the jungle which we were remiss in not exploring.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Panoramica

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

As the locals say...Pura Vida! That explains our stay at Casa Panoramica. We traveled with a family of 5 to Costa Rica this past July. As we arrived at the property, we were excited to get out and explore. The home is spacious and open with all the comforts of home. It had everything we needed from towels, to kitchen appliances, speakers (for our iPOD) and washer and dryer. It was easy for us to get in a vacation state of mind. Not to mention the views, which were AMAZING!! The home is nestled on the side of the mountain with views of the ocean and mountains at every angle. The pictures shared on the site do not do this property justice. Nature all around, so don't be surprised if you wake up early in the morning to a song from the birds. The home does not have AC, but I promise it's not needed. The breeze that flows through the house provides enough airflow. You might even need a blanket.
The adventure begins as you begin your trek up the road to the drive way. You will definitely need a 4x4 and we found a GPS helpful. Many of the roads in Costa Rica do not have names and directions are generally provided by landmarks. So, having turn by turn directions as you venture out to activities is helpful. There is a small town about 10 minutes away (Uvita) that has a supermercado (supermarket), visitors center and a bakery (panaderia). All of them come highly recommended. Some of the activities we participated in were Horseback Riding (Don Lulu's Naucaya Waterfalls), ZipLine Canopy Tour, ATV Tour and White Water rafting. We are a pretty active bunch! Our favorite spot... the local waterfalls. There a few near Dominacalito and Uvita, which are about 10 km from Casa Panoramica.

The owner Scott was great to work with and set our expectations accordingly. The groundskeeper Jose was a friendly face and was very helpful in providing needed directions and recommendations. To share the sentiments of some of the previous house guests - we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at Casa Panoramica again. We stayed for 8 days and it was too short! We all had wished that we could stay a little longer. This is a property that you don't want to over look, it surrounded by the best of everything. You can relax and enjoy the serenity at home, venture out to hang with the loca

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most amazing views

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We stayed in this house at the beginning of May. I have only great things to say about the place, the homeowner, Jose (the caretaker) and his wife. We really enjoyed “Casa Panoramica”. From the very first moment I saw the view, I was swept away. My mother loved it, as did my husband and my sister. The pool is great, actually bigger than it looks on pictures. Jose was always available to help us out and provide information about the area and where to buy the best fish?. His wife went out of her way to get green mangos for me?, as I had a craving for it. I will come back soon as my stay there was cut short because of some unexpected events. As a general recommendation (I am costarican) leave your valuables and travel documents at the house. They will be safe and you will be able to enjoy all the local attractions without a worry in mind. You will not regret renting this house, is well worth the rental fee, beautiful and well kept.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time!!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Scott, the owner was great to work with and answered probably a million questions for me. We traveled as a family of four - the kids are 8 and 6. The place was perfect for us. I'll admit we were apprehensive of the "driveway" at first, but we sucked it up and considered it part of the adventure. The new pool was a great size and stayed very cool. It was a good way to relax after a sweaty day of adventure.

Jose and Cecilia are very nice. We do not speak Spanish, but we got by just fine.

Restaurants, grocery stores, and activities were all very close, but we still felt secluded. We wanted to be on adventure, do some touristy things, and relax too. We were able to go at our own pace and not have to be in a big group. We were able to go zip lining, horseback riding, whale/dolphin touring, and mangrove touring all within the vicinity of the house. We also spent time at the national park beaches. The one at Playa Penuela was gorgeous. We had originally planned on going to Manuel Antonio, but we didn't feel like we needed to with all that was available locally.

The views were simply stunning. Don't miss the moon setting! It woke me up at about 3:00 am shining in my eyes. Unbelievable until you see it!

We'd love to go back again! Don't miss this opportunity!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! March is the height of the dry season and you made the most of it. The gravel and concrete road up the mountain is kept up very well by local standards. Four wheel drive is a must for all the best views. The last section that is my personal driveway is due to be relocated to a much easier and level access in the next year or so. The final touches on such a big building project can take a little time.

Please come visit again any time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

5 out of 5!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

I can easily rate casa panoramica 5 out of 5! The views were amazing and never get old. The elevation provided us with light breezes that made it so comfortable day and night. The ride up to over 2,000ft was an adventure in itself! You will definitely need the 4x4 but I thought it was a lot of fun ripping up the steep dirt road without a problem.
We had visits from the most beautiful rainbow toucans almost daily. They come by early so don’t sleep in too late. One evening as we were enjoying the sunsets we even saw a whiteface monkey climbing along the porch railings.
The house was very clean and I loved how everything was so new. The owner was very helpful in every way and very prompt when we needed something. The caretaker was also very friendly. He gave us a warm welcome and we did not bother us again until we departed. I was very happy with how private the property is.
The location of the house is perfect. It is under a few hours driving to a lot of the popular attractions. In close driving distance you can find, Nauyaca Falls, Zip lines, Ultra light flights, Mangroves, top surf beaches, whale and dolphin watching, and the famous Manuel Antonio Park. If you want to get up close with wildlife, Manuel Antonio is a great place. You can hire a tour guide but beware of the imposter guides. They try to direct you to park and sell you a way overpriced tour package offering a “private tour” with a guide. Make sure you see the Welcome to Manuel Antonio sign and ask for the park guides at the actual front desk of the park. The imposters will be aggressive and working in the area just before the park. Even with as much as there is to do in Costa Rica, we couldn’t wait to get back to the house on the days we left for adventures. We will definitely return for another visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome sunsets!

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

My family and I stayed for 10 relaxing days in February. My 2 1/2 year old granddaughter loved exploring for bugs, especially in the evenings, and we all thought the sunsets were incredible. The house is very comfortable although it is good to note that the downstairs bedroom unit is not connected to the main house so there is a separate walkway and stairs to going between the two sections of the house.
The caretaker, Jose', was wonderfully helpful with anything we needed, including lime and honey for my hoarse throat! The road to the house could have used a bit more grading, however. A 4WD is definitely necessary.
The water is good to drink and the house is comfortable with all the amenities. There are numerous beaches to drive to and towns to explore. Try to make it to San Isidro on a Thursday for the fabulous fruit and vege market!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great feedback. I will clarify the listing to explain the outside stairs to the lower bedroom. I have a permit to put in a better driveway that will be much better and more level directly to the house. I hope to have this done within a year or so.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peaceful and Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

We stayed at Casa Panoramica for 10 days in December 2010. What a fantastic place! The location and accessability is as described in the listing. We drove a 4x4 rental from San Jose on good roads and made it in about 3 hours. The pictures in the listing are accurate but in reality the views are the best. We arrived on a sunny afternoon and could easily see the horizon about 55 miles away. The house was very comfortable w/all the necessary amenenties. The owner was easy to work with in setting up the rental. He was most helpful and provided all of the info we needed for access and usage. We would highly recommend this place to our friends and relatives. There is so much to do in the Dominical area: We did a scuba diving trip to Cano Island and saw whales. Did a great canopy line tour on the Osa Peninsula. Checked out waterfalls with great swimming holes. Swam at nice beaches. Did some surfing in Dominical. Ate at good restaurants and enjoyed some nightlife. This trip would not have been the same if we had stayed at a hotel. Casa Panoramica is what made it so special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

impressions

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

What did I anticipate when arranging to stay at Casa Panoramica for ten days? I intentionally sought a location away from city and resort, guided tours and advertised tropical recreation 'must-do'.
These several impressions will unfurl like the new fern I witness on each morning walk: growth that feels organic and restorative.
First day's impression: selfishly feeling cooler with the ascent from the beach to 2100' where this mountain-top home opens opportunities to revel in paradise fantasy. Arriving mid-afternoon allowed me to view a sweeping coastline at low tide with freshening breezes to ease my acclimating to Costa Rica's humidity. Eden welcomed me with promised solitude, cacophonous animal life, over-arching forests from a home comfortably ready for guests. Not a fantasy, these acres of trails and meditation moments redefined tropics and paradise. How could I not feel awed!

First day's impression continued: Sunset at 2100'? Showy! Gaudy leading to subtle; warmly reddened palette with brilliantly edged clouds easing to tender golds. I've imprinted a scale to gauge the vacation's future evening sunsets from comfortable rocking chairs while settled over the forest's canopy. No annoying mosquitoes. No promotions for tourists seeking evenings of club and bar hopping. Instead I beheld an exquisite chorus of cicadas and frogs. (This home has the necessary "what's this?" guidebooks and internet connection for the curious researcher.) And a kitchen to accommodate any visitor's food prep needs. A perfect introduction to eden!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review