reviews for: listing #28691 - Big Bear Lake, California Cabin rental

Steps-2-Summit - Walk to Snow Summit
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Snow Summit
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $850 /nt
    $1,340 - $2,750 /wk

sort by:

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

My brothers and sisters (six of us, all in our fifties and sixties, plus two grown kids) wanted a place at the base of Snow Summit, where we could walk to the lifts and have room enough within the cabin for all of us to spread out as well as visit with each other for a weekend. This cabin was perfect. It's clean, well-appointed, obviously cared for by the owners. We really enjoyed sitting in the living room by the fire and talking, lounging around the huge dining table after dinner with coffee and stories, playing some pool and foos ball downstairs. And we really appreciated the cleanliness, the comfortable furniture, excellent beds in their large wooden bedsteads. This is just an all-around perfect place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for taking time to post your review. Knowing you and your family had a good time at Steps-2-Summit makes all our efforts in pleasing our guests worthwhile.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location for Snow Summit

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We had several families with small children. The goal was to take them to learn to snowboard. We signed them up for classes for Saturday and it was great to have a cabin within walking distance of the resort. Literally, it is a few hundred steps to the parking of Snow Summit Resort.

The little kids had their morning session of class and we picked them up and brought them home for lunch and then took them back for their afternoon session. It was perfect!

The cabin is even more spacious and comfortable than the pictures give it credit. Several TVs and the game room located on the bottom of the 3 levels is a great place for the kids to hang out while the parents relax a bit upstairs. I called the property manager for some balls that were missing from one of the games and within 20 minutes she was over getting them for us. The owner was great as well. She made us feel very welcome.

This was a great place to stay with our children. We are going to plan to come back to this cabin in the summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Cesar - thank you for the nice review. We look forward to hearing from you next year. Big Bear is also fun for the children during the summer months.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in Many Ways

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Steps-2-Summit is a really wonderful getaway. This location is amazing, we had two families with kids of various ages and the convenience of being able to walk back and forth to Snow Summit several times a day to drop off and pick up kids was priceless. All the kids enjoyed sledding and snow ball fights across the street. I was surprised at how comfortable and accommodating the cabin was. No one in our group wanted to leave when it was time to go home! Mary Ellen went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. We are hoping to make our stay at Steps-2-Summit an annual tradition.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Get-Away!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

We brought our children and extended family to Steps-2-Summit for a pre-Christmas reunion/get-away. Our time there could not have been more perfect. The home is nicely furnished, equipped and amended for the fun and relaxation of all ages (10 people, ages 2 to 50 in our case). We skied at Summit two days and the short walk made it easy to go on and off the slopes. Even though the Summit parking lot is only a stone's throw away, you wouldn't know there were any cars in it because of the small hill that separates it from the house. In my opinion, the house is in the perfect location for Summit. When we weren't on the slopes, we had plenty of other things to do: sledding across the road, playing pool, pingpong, and foosball, or just relaxing in front of the cozy fireplace, watching a good movie. It was nice and warm inside, showers were hot and the beds very comfortable. I got more sleep than I've had in ages. Those who know me, know that says a lot by itself.

Mary Ellen went out of her way to make sure we had a great time at Steps-2-Summit. It isn't easy for our family to schedule such events. It is an investment in time and money. But the payoff in strengthening family bonds and making memories is priceless. We look forward to making Steps-2-Summit an annual family retreat! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We work very hard to insure the cabin is perfect for our guests, and your response makes all the effort worthwhile!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding home in Big Bear

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

My family of 10, some from Hawaii and some from Pennsylvania decided to meet at Big Bear lake for a a family vacation. This magnificent home completely exceeded our expectations.

The location is extraordinary, the view is so beautiful. Each room is so comfortable, great beds, and the common areas are great for family gatherings. Every detail was there for us. The kitchen was perfectly appointed. The house was spotless and the amenities perfect.

The area is so wonderful for family activities, we went hiking, rented a boat and cruised the lake, we even had a family soccer game at a park near the lake. Grocery shopping is super convenient.

I am in the Luxury Hotel business and the personal touches from Mary Ellen the owner with the booking process, the confirmation, the pre arrival communication and the on site contact was absolutely beyond my expectations.

I would recommend this place to stay to anyone seeking that perfect peaceful get away.

Mahalo from Hawaii!

Owners response: Kelly,

Thank you so much for the special review of our cabin. We put a lot of effort in presenting the cabin to our guests, just as we would like it for ourselves. Our family absolutely loves our cabin and it is so nice to know that others appreciate it as well. We hope you can celebrate your family reunion again at Steps-2-Summit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter in Big Bear

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We loved your beautiful clean home. The location is great. There were 6 adults and 5 children,
everyone enjoyed the play room. There were plenty of beds so that everyone was comfortable.
Seven of our family had ski lesson's and are ready to go again, they all loved it and couldn't stop
talking and laughing about the whole trip. Five of them were here from Australia. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer in Big Bear

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

We recently rented this house for our yearly family vacation. We had 7 adults and 2 kids. There was plenty of room for everyone and the property was exactly as described. The home was clean and well maintained. The owner was easy to deal with and contaced me immediatley upon receiving my VRBO request. The owner was prompt in refunding my security deposit too, which was not the case for other properties I had rented in the past. There are many activites available in Big Bear. We enjoyed the boat ride around the lake, the Alpine Slide, hiking and biking. We also enjoyed shopping in the Village and the great hamburgers at Get A Burger. I would definitely recommend this property for your vacation stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Big Bear House!

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

We stayed in this house over New Years - a total of 4 families and had a great time. House is very clean, spacious, and well-stocked. We especially enjoyed being able to go right out back and go sledding and build snowmen. The pool table and fooseball table were also lots of fun. Also very conveniently located for all local activities - skiing, intertubing, zoo, village, lake, etc. Would highly recommend this house!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so very much for the nice comments. We are very happy you had a special time at the cabin.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review